Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower

45 Deluxe Two-Stage Snow Thrower - 420cc Troy-Bilt engine
Average Customer Rating:
3.784 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
76%28 of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Review 1 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wensdayschild
Location:Northern Maine
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:December 31, 2009
Polar Blast 4510 snow thrower
"This is a big heavy machine and handling it is an issue, but once you forget everything you knew about handling a snowblower and learn to use the skid steer function it goes pretty well. If you have any type of hill and need to put your back into it, you had better eat your wheaties. Having said that, it does the trick, wide, tall, big motor, it moves a lot of snow quickly. My previous blower, 28 inch 9hp would take up to 2.5 hours to clear a 12" snowfall. With the new blower, just under an hour. If you have a large driveway and want to get it done fast, this is the machine to go for. On top of all that, it's a bigger machine than all of my buddies, "what only two wheels on your snowblower"?"
+18points
23out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1Pleasedcustomer
Location:Northwestern NJ
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:June 11, 2014
Its a beast!
"This machine is a beast! Capable of throwing heavy snow/slush far, does it all. However, this is not for the faint of heart. Very powerful and take alot to handle. While it steers via a skid steer (locks one wheel to turn), the cables need constant attention. In addition, Im on my 5th or 6th light bulb. They blow out quickly which isnt really a bother since it didnt through off that much light anyway. Since its a troy bilt, its very durable and starts right up. Uses very little oil. The pins are weak and you will snap off alot. I ended up going to Tractor Supply and getting Grade A bolts. Solved that problem. As for the belt, never had a issue. Since this machine is heavy, I would recommend getting chains for it. I did and have no issues on hills or slippery conditions. I would strongly recommend this machine for those who do not have a tractor with a snowblower. Its wide and tall and will clear anything quickly!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SnowViking
Location:Caribou, ME, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:February 15, 2014
Polar Last more like it
"Throws snow well and good distance. Durability is not very good, belts and friction wheel have been replaced every season. Plastic casing controls wires for shoot and the steering have all broken due to cold weather and plastic makes them very brittle. Bushing and clip on one shaft have fallen off 2 times. Duct tape now hold the bushing from being lost when it falls off. They use the same friction wheel for a 24" wide snow thrower so greatly under designed for a 45" wide snowthrower. Same with the belt I believe."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
evaliket
Location:Howard City, MI 49329, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:February 12, 2014
Great snow thrower with only a couple of flaws
"We have had this snow thrower for 4 years now I am 64 years old and my wife is 65 we both can use this snow thrower with no difficulties so I am not sure why some of the other reviews say it is hard to handle. We have a large commercial parking lot we use the 4510 to clear and it usually takes about an hour, being in western Michigan we get a lot of snow so far this year we at just over a hundred inches for the year.
I have two issues with the 4510 the first is it is geared too tall so you want to run it in first or second gear but if you do this it is hard on the rubbing drive disc removing the rubber material off of the disc faster than normal due to it being in the center of the mating disc so far we have replaced this disc twice. We try to run it in third gear which helps but it is hard to keep up with the blower in this gear or above due to the ground speed I wish Troybilt offered a gear reduction kit so the blower could be run in 4th or 5th gear this would help with the placement of the drive disc and make it last much longer.
The second issue is the blower really should have two drive belts driving the blower itself as the one doesn`t last too long recently I have purchased some aramid strand belts to see if these well last longer but currently have my last Troybilt supplied belt in place. The aramid belts appear to be slightly larger too so this may help in the lasting dept. The belt that drives the wheels is still the original so I think this is of sufficient size.
If Troybilt could incorporate these two things into the 4510 they would have a great machine as it will throw snow 25-30 feet depending on how wet it is and makes clearing our parking lot quite easy with no snow banks to deal with.
"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DieselFreak
Location:Hillsboro, NH
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:December 15, 2013
Clears snow like a champion, but has some flaws
"Great machine. Does better with more snow then less. A little tough to maneuver but not to bad, not for old or weak! Flaws, auger is designed so when you break a shear pin you actually break 3....poor design of auger, belts don't last long. Wish it had a diesel option!!"
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rayray
Location:Mechanic Falls,Me
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:December 16, 2011
anyone want to buy mine
"This machine has plenty of power for throwing snow but no power to the wheels so you have to man handle this 400 lb monster.My driveway is dirt but also pretty flat and this thing will not get out of its own way. One good thing about it is after cleaning my 400 foot driveway there is no need to go to the gym that day.BIG WASTE OF MONEY!"
-3points
10out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LSteele
Location:Central NJ
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:July 17, 2011
Gets the Job Done Quickly
"NJ snow is wet and heavy. We have a large, long asphalt driveway as well as a large amount of concrete paving which need to be cleared every season. It requires a large efficient machine. This machine gets the job done quickly and efficiently. Great purchase. Highly recommend."
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
podetroit
Location:Mi
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:July 11, 2011
Jaws of Ice
"Large powerful unit capable of moving lots of snow"
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
delimama66
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:May 16, 2010
Makes winter better
"I hate snow and this machine really helps get it out of my way!"
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
momof3
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:May 12, 2010
My dad loves this
"My father loves this snowblower, he says its durable, easy to use, and it will last a long time."
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mscobra1
Location:Bowling Green, KY
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:April 21, 2010
snow thrower
"Cuts down your work time more than other snow throwers."
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RidgeMan
Location:Pine Grove Mills, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:March 15, 2010
Good Design but Poor engineering
"I was disappointed with the Polar Blast 4510 for several reasons: 1) machine burns out belts too soon, 2) machine sometimes goes into reverse even if you are in first gear, 3) machine sometimes goes at a slower or faster rate each time you use first gear, 4) The operator must engage and re-engage wheel drive to let the machine "catch up" with snow load or it stalls, 5) machine has a plastic chute which will break sometime (when a metal chute will not break) also plastic chute nozzle will not stay in the position you put it in (outpouring snow pushes nozzle end).
The belts need to be at least a 1/2 thick if not more. The shift rod-friction wheel interface needs to be tightened up so that the machine stays at a constant speed in each of the gears (and which doesn't sometimes go into reverse simply because of loose friction wheel swing when shift handle is in first). It needs a lower first gear speed ratio or a larger second stage snow throwing disc to allow the machine to handle the snow without having to engage and re-engage the traction handle. Lastly, plastic chutes ALWAYS break. If the machine was fixed as I outlined above, I would recommend it to all my friends and I would love the machine. As it is now, I feel bad that I have wasted my money.
"
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
homerdodge
Location:New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:December 26, 2009
Workhorse
"This machine has proved to be more than capable. The 45" width makes for a quick job of clearing our 450 ft of driveway plus parking areas. No complaints."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jefferson
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:December 17, 2009
Regreting the purchase
"I bought this monster to blow lots of snow, but to my discouragement it blew snow for about 2 hrs and then burnt the auger belts out.
Nice motor but still underpowered for a foot of wet snow.
A little hard to steer but hey its a big machine so that's to be expected.
2 hrs work and 5 days in the shop and counting, iam not impressed.
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sierrasnowstorm
Location:Lake Tahoe, CA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:December 11, 2009
cuts a wide path
"I have a very long driveway and the 45" wide snow thrower can make short work of big task. The problem is the belts are to wimpy for the 13 hp motor. You either wear out belts quickly or you have to run the machine in 1st gear with wet heavy Sierra snow which then defeats the purpose of a bigger snowblower. Also, the plastic clamps that hold the chute break in wet snow storms. the clamps should be metal. Once hit a softball sized rock and all three shear pins broke on one side. Why do you need six shear pins?"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
snowthrower
Location:Herkimer County
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:December 8, 2009
Great, Durable powerful.
"Amazing, it plowed threw snow! If i don't want to throw the snow, YOU CAN PLOW IT. It's amazing. The only thing i complain is the manual starting. It gets a bit annoying. This thing can chug rocks over 20 feet. (Which is probably bad.) Overall, this is the best snowblower EVER!!!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:November 13, 2009
Polar blas snow blower
"I love my polar blast. It will eat through the heaviest snow with ease. I have had mine for 3 seasons and look forward to the snow like a kid a Christmas. It throws snow a very long distance, will chew through the stuff that gets plowed into my driveway. Very, very satisfied."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
devildog
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:October 31, 2009
Simply Awesome
"Just picked up this machine today and it is absolutely unreal. Its easy to start, easy to manuever, easy to use and it blows the snow like crazy. Does an excellent job, aqnd gets the job done quick!!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unclewigley
Location:Cheyenne ,WY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2009
Model 4510
"This model is very under powered. You get in a very deep snow and you have to keep stopping in low gear or it will kill the engine. The so called power steering does not work well either. Some times after it disengages it will not reengage with out you having to stop. For what you get this machine is really over priced."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Polar Blast 4510 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1tonchev
Location:Hill AFB Utah
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:September 25, 2009
buy 2 smaller ones instead
"we purchased this snow blower for our work. we dont have completely flat ground there are some angled ramps we have to clear. this thing is just to BIG. it makes it harder it use, the trigger steering helps but there is really no way to use it without it. as a shop we were only able to use this snow blower about 10 times and it had 3 serious breaks. first was the cable that engaged the augers came apart and was an easy fix. second the bolt holding the tension pully for the belts came loose which cocked the pully and shredded the belt. thirdly through no fault of the snow blower something was run over with this thing which damaged the impeller, 4 auger blades and bent the shaft that holds all the augers. no one confessed to who damaged the unit but its $700 worth of damage. with the money spent on this and repairs we could have bought 3 smaller ones. unless you have a driveway 1/4 mile long or more and completely flat ground to clear save your money and get something else. i personally bought the 2840 model, heated hand grips are NICE!!"
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>