Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Storm 2620 Snow Thrower

26 Two-Stage Snow Thrower - 208cc Troy-Bilt engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.513 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
86%67 of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Review 21 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheBeardedOne
Location:Utah
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:December 23, 2013
Impressed
"This snow blower is surprisingly impressive. I was skeptical as to how it would to compared to the old "big name" snow blower that I used to have, but that was gone after the first big storm while using this machine. It has always started right away and runs like a champ. I will definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a machine."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Collegemom
Location:Boston, MA, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:December 19, 2013
Strong machine
"We finally had to retire our 10 year old Troy-Bilt snow blower and replaced it with this one. We ordered directly through Troy-Bilt, which couldn't have been easier. We received it a day before the first storm hit north of Boston and used again when another storm rolled in 2 days later. Very easy to use, worked well in both storms, heavy wet snow and light powder. We couldn't be happier the product was exactly as described."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perch6
Location:Canton, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:October 24, 2013
Best investment I have made in years
"Had another brand of snow blower but this one out performs the other hands down have no complaints about this machine I am the unlucky one of the neighborhood as the rest head South for the winter I stay here and take care of the houses and the driveways and walks what took me most of a day to remove the snow it now takes about 2 1/2 to 2 3/4 hours thanks to the 2620 that I got it is a pleasure to run this machine it is very easy to start either electric or pull it starts right up and the one hand operation and the joy stick works great would recommend this machine to anyone have no problems with any snow removal yet"
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DWinCbus
Location:Columbus, OH, USA
Gender:Male
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
My review after 1 season
"I don't normally write reviews and don't believe in writing reviews after just buying a product. but this machine more than met expectations. I turned 60 in January of 2013 and in October of 2012 decided to give myself a birthday gift. Up till now I have always shoveled my drive and walks myself.. I considered it as another form of exercise beyond going to the gym. But I also realized that I need to be careful.
I read reviews, visited my local Lowes and decided to take the plunge. I have never owned a snow thrower before but had used a friends.
Got it home, read the manual (I always read manuals). found some YouTube videos on this model (did this before buying it) and other Troybilt models.
The only change I made was to get some generic hard rubber/plastic skids and change them for the Metal skids.
I have used the electric start , but only out of curiosity.
This thing almost always starts on the first pull. I can only recall 1 time when it did not start on the first pull.
I now not only do my drive and walks, but will do my next door neighbors drive and walks and have even crossed the street to do a couple of other neighbors drives and walks.
I make sure I put stabilizer in the gas can and use it whenever I fill my Snow Thrower and mower.
And since I keep this in the garage I will maybe once every few months (when it is not snowing) go out and start it up and let it run for a couple of minutes and Yes it still only takes 1 pull.
My only complaint would be the reverse gears are not fast at all, but I suspect this may be more of a safety thing. Like others, I don't ever use a forward gear greater than 3. I think you would need to jog or run at gear 6.
I often use this at night and the light does not work (not sure if it is burned our or what) but I don't really need it.
I really like the stick shift to change the direction of the chute. very handy and quicker than a gear you turn,
It chews through wet snow just fine.. I usually take it a little slower when the snow is really wet. It throws powder snow very far. It can throw really wet snow about 8 feet.
I am still getting used to it but overall I am quite happy with it.
Just don't be in a hurry to clean walks and drives.
Enjoy being outdoors and being able to easily clean the driveway and sidewalks.
Be careful of uneven sidewalks and make sure to pick up the newspaper (if you can find it) before doing the driveway.
I am glad I got this and look forward to a snowy season.
"
+11points
21out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnnyO
Gender:Male
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:March 27, 2013
My Gal can work this with ease!
"Nothing but praise! It came one day before a big storm Jan 11, 2011.. worked perfectly! I purchased this unit because I read somewhere it cleared the plow packed snow from driveway, and it worked beautifully! I now clear my neighbors driveways when there blowers bog down. Usually use the electric start, however, I've shut it down on occasion and pull start it with ease. Haven't done any maintenance still works like a charm after not starting for a year!"
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
cnick
Location:Berthoud, CO, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:February 28, 2013
Storm 2620 royally tested
"I purchased the Storm 2620 2-stage snow thrower three weeks ago......just in time for 14 inches of snow! It handled the snow easily. I cleared the sidewalk on both sides of my street (ten houses long), my driveway, and two additional driveways. And it only took about an hour! My old single-stage snow thrower would have taken that long just for my own driveway and sidewalk."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
db2013
Location:Rochester, NH, USA
Gender:Male
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:February 25, 2013
Simply awesome machine
"If you have heard any bad reviews about this machine do not believe them.I have owned this machine now for five years and not a single bit of trouble the chute works well the head light is still origional no gear box problems machine is very light it is not a beast like some reviews say as a matter of fact machine is so light that I have never used reverse I just pull it back by hand.I have used this machine in all kinds of snow without a problem from inches to feet of snow cuts through it like a hot knife through butter.Then we got winter storm nemo I had three feet of snow in my driveway and five feet plus of snow at the end of my driveway from the city plow but this machine went right through it I was impressed the snow was so deep that you could not even see my drift cutters but it went right through it.I am not easy on this machine I run the heck out of it and still works well every time and still looks as good as it did when I bought it.This is by far a very well built and durable machine for the money spent.I would recomend this machine to anybody with confidence because it is that good."
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clayshots
Location:Cleveland OH
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:December 29, 2012
easily starts handles well
"I would highly recommend to anyone. Easily removes snow at the end of driveway from the city snow trucks"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Martin1950
Location:Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
Amazing
"Never got to use it in 2012 but 2011 was a record breaking winter for NJ. This machine completely exceeded all expectations. I had so much fun using it, I cleared 4 driveways and 11 mailbox approches on my street. All this in less than two hours with 24" of snow. Got three friends to purchase the same model
Love It
"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kels
Location:Albany, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:June 6, 2012
Works as easy as pie
"The Troy built snow blower is fabulous and is easy to use and does a fabulous job.
Could not have asked for anything better! We have always used Troy built products from roto tillers to lawn mowers and always liked the product support."
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tobby100000
Location:midwest Illinois
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:May 3, 2012
snow no problem
"This snow blower is the best I have ever had or used, it throws the snow no matter how deep and never slows down, a definate asset"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superkoz
Location:Tinley Park, Illinois
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:December 15, 2011
Great Machine
"I just purchased my second Storm 2620 Snow Thrower, just before Labor Day 2011, sold my 3 year old model to my brother.
Why you ask, well the joy stick control was ok but the chute had a lot of directional play and only so many detent positions, I needed more direction control and less play.
When I saw the new model with a hard connection and no play I just had to have it.
On 2/1/2011 we were hit with just over two feet of wind blown drifting snow. On 2/2 I cleaned my lower driveway of snow plowed from the street three times and the unit made easy quick work of this plowed snow like it was just a few inches even though some of the pile was higher then the input housing and the chute never clogged up.
Cleaned the side walks in front of several of my neighbors homes in forward 4 and the unit ate through the snow like a starving T-Rex on a kill, the unit never stalled even when it hit areas with deeper snow, it grunted some but just kept going never losing speed or snow throwing distance.
The unit is so easy to operate that my wife and daughter can use it without a problem.
Like another poster my first units light didn’t last long, the replacement bulbs from the auto store was still working when I sold the unit. Hint for Troy-Bilt buy Sylvania bulbs.
I also had concerns about the plastic chute but it still looked brand new after 3 years.
I could also use a faster reverse gear, and it would be slick if there was a leaver under the forward lever that would give a quick access to reverse by lifting it up rather than the need to use the speed lever on the control panel.
An automatic choke would be nice; it might even prevent some engine failures due to running too rich too long many younger people today never drove a car with a manual choke and they don’t fully understand the concepts of one and leave it on way too long.
The chute cleaning tool is nice but I wish it was longer and mounted on the handle control panel rather than on the back of the auger housing, once I put the unit in my unheated out building and forgot to clean the snow off the area and the next time I went to use the unit the snow had melted some and refroze over the cleaning tool.
I would also like to see and hour meter on the unit.
Don’t try and take this great machine away from me, not if you value your…………..
"
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AlexT
Location:Long Island, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:April 14, 2011
Good Product
"I purchased this Product in Sept 2010.
We had a big storm on Dec 26th 2010 about 2 feet of snow. This unit worked like a champ. Handled the snow with no trouble. We had another big storm in Jan 2011 again abot 2 feet.
The only trouble I had was with the pull start. The cord broke. Only about 10-12 starts.
I had to switch to the electric atart,which worked well, but I needed to have power to start it.
The pull start comes in handy. Now I will have to lug this heavy monster in for repair for next season. Still glad I bought this unit. I did my research and this was a great unit to buy.
"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wvcjr
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:February 12, 2011
Good Product BUT Joystick control Breaks
"Purchased 2620 snow thrower on 12-26-10 and have used it 8 times. Overall operation is very satisfactory BUT the cotter pin located just below the joystick which controls the chute has broken 4 different times. The joystick rotates back and forth and no longer moves the chute."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bazooka
Location:Western, MA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:January 27, 2011
Great Value & Performance
"Very easy to start with electric start. Plenty of power in deep snow. Simple to operate, my spouse was able to use without any problems."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mac41
Location:Long Island, New York
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:January 12, 2011
Glad I finally purchased this snow blower
"It is January 12, 2011 and I just got to use the snow blower in 18" of snow. The snow blower was delivered January 3, 2011 just after the blizzard of 2010. This machine went through the snow with ease. It even cleared the bottom of the driveway that the plows had piled up with one pass. I just put the throttle in F2 and the machine went right through. The chute worked great. Easy start with power or pull start. The 15" tires track straight. This is a great machine."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rvnemeth
Location:Chagrin Falls, OH
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:January 2, 2011
3 Years and a ton of snow!
"I've had the Storm 2620 for 3 winters now and living in the heart of the N.E. Ohio snowbelt, I've moved an incredible amount of snow. Everything from the heavy wet stuff to packed in snow from the street plows. This thing moves it all! Aside from a few shear pins being replaced due to my stupidity (running over dog toys and frisbees that were buried), the machine has been flawless."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichaelA
Location:Nesconset, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:December 31, 2010
I made the right choice
"In my first opportunity to use this machine.It did an unbelievable job in 2 feet snow. It took me about 40 minutes to do my driveway, when it would have taken my 2 boys and I 1 1/2 hrs with out the thrower. Very easy to start and control. It was actually fun. I am very pleased with the total product."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
weaselsgrl
Location:pittsburg
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:May 11, 2010
no more snow
"this takes care of driveways, sidewalks and the street, this is a great product it takes all the back work out of shoveling"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ranger838
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (78 Reviews)
Date:April 19, 2010
SNOW BLOW
"strong engine, does not bog down, dependable in cold weather"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>