Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Storm 2620 Snow Thrower

26 Two-Stage Snow Thrower - 208cc Troy-Bilt engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
7
85%82 of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Review 21 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PaulC
Location:Scituate, RI, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:March 16, 2015
The 2620 snow thrower is a Champ
"Used this snow thrower for a second year and it made short work of my large driveway again this year. It started and worked flawlessly for every New England snow storm this winter."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rafe1230
Location:SW Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:February 25, 2015
I should have bought this years ago!!
"We live on a small farm in SW Ohio. Usually the snow fall each time is only a couple of inches and not a big deal for the small Ariens thrower I have. The last couple of years the snow falls have been increasingly more, say 4-8 inches at a time. Last week after a wet 6 inch snow I finally pulled the trigger and bought this beast. It went through the ice and wet snow on my 1/2 mile long asphalt driveway in about 3 hours in second gear. If we had not already driven on the snow and packed it down, I could have done it in sixth gear. It will throw snow 30 feet, as fast as you can walk! And, the ice and snow from the snow plows at the end of the driveway were no problem. I must say I am impressed."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doug54
Location:Hooksett
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:February 24, 2015
Snow Thrower Performance
"This product has very poor performance. It doesn't throw snow high or far. Even the light fluffy stuff. It doesn't even throw wet snow 3 feet. My neighbors Ariens throws slush across the whole street but this unit just plugs up in same stuff. It is also the worst thrower I've owned as far as power and drive. It hits the smallest incline and stops. It wont throw snow in any gear except F1 and it crawls at that. When snow is real light and fluffy in any other faster gear, you have to push it."
-15points
1out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rose
Location:Saint Marys, PA, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:February 22, 2015
best purchase ever
"very easy to run and use.love it the best purchase every"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GIJoe
Location:Erie, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:February 19, 2015
Not a happy customer
"Purchased this snow blower from Lowe's.
It was delivered already assembled...which could be part of the problem.
From the first time I used it, it has dragged the right side of the snow blower so badly that I have to exert half of my weight on the left handle to keep it moving straight.
It drags the right side so badly it demolished the right hand metal skid in less than 10 times of use.
I tried adjusting it several times & no matter how I adjusted it, it would drag the right side. It seems to be fine while it is not running, but once you start it, it seems that the torque of the engine causes it to put pressure on the right side of the machine.
The joy stick snow chute control is a joke.
It either wasn't assembled correctly or it was a bad design.
I move the chute as far as I can with the joy stick & then ultimately get it to where I need it by physically moving the chute by hand.
Once this winter season is over I'll take it to a dealer for warranty service, but if they don't fix these problems it's history!
What a waist of money!
"
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
carrera
Location:Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:February 17, 2015
2620 is an awesome machine!
"I hate shoveling snow but I've always lived in townhouses and never had room to store a snow thrower.
I just moved into a rambler with a huge driveway. I purchased the 2620 based upon positive reviews.
I have been waiting for enough snow to use the machine for the first time and that happened this morning when four inches fell overnight.
The machine started just fine but it was running poorly and would barely move then I realized the choke was still open. Once I set it to run the machine was roaring to go.
It made mince meat of the snow and I had my drive way done in literally less than ten minutes. I would say it was a 30-45 minute job if I had used a shovel. It throws the snow I would say a good five feet in the direction you select with the handle. You can walk behind the machine with just one hand on the handle and easily stays in your desired line.
My only issue is that since the machine has a fixed differential and not an open differential, when turning the machine around to make the next pass you have to give it some muscle to turn.
Combined with the weight and the fixed diff maneuvering in the garage is not easy. I rated it average for ease of use for this issue.
This is a quality product and I feel I did get my money’s worth."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rote
Location:East Hampton, CT, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:February 14, 2015
Right back atcha Mother Nature
"Living in New England, Mother Nature has not been nice to us this year with sending us snow storm after snow storm! But, having my Troy Built Storm 2620 Snow Thrower has helped me "throw it back in her face". We have been getting storm after storm this year and my shed is far away from our house I have to keep the snow thrower in our driveway with a cover on it. EVERY time that I use it, it starts the FIRST TIME !!!!! I follow the instructions and it delivers. This is without a doubt the BEST investment I have ever made !!! No kidding, it saves me so much back breaking work not to mention A LOT of time !!!
Very Grateful !!!"
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snowblaster
Location:Mansfield, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:February 9, 2015
Makes winter storms a piece of cake
"I bought this several years ago. This winter has been the most I have used it. I have used it where the snow was over the chute about 4-5 inches and it just kept on going. It starts first pull every time. I do use the electric start too. The unit throws powder about 30-40 feet. Wetter snow about 20 feet. I clean my driveway in about 30 minutes. The only thing I wish it had was a faster reverse speed. It chews through icy banks but, serrated augers would be a nice addition too."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chisox
Location:Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:February 5, 2015
Bring on the snow!
"I should have bought a Troy-Bilt 15 years ago. It was very easy to pull start and electric start. I can't rate durability since I've only used it twice. It's easy to control, although turning could be easier but that's to be expected with a beast of a machine like this one.
We just got 19" of heavy wet snow in Chicago and I actually had fun clearing my driveway and sidewalk and my neighbor's too. For the first time ever the bottom of the driveway with the extra heavy mess from the plows was no problem. And it took less than 5 minutes with my 2620, instead of 30+ minutes digging by hand, to clear the 4' high mound the plows leave on my corner sidewalk. This snow thrower cut right through it and I didn't even realize how wet the snow was until I saw my neighbor struggling with his little snowblower. I was done with everything in 45 minutes and ready for more. With my old snowblower and help from my son, it would have taken at least 2-3 hours and we would have been exhausted.
"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RecoveringSnowShoveler
Location:Norfolk, MA, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:February 5, 2015
Winter 2015
"This has been a "godsend" for me this winter season"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lhgolfer
Location:Indiana
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:February 5, 2015
Makes my life easier!
"Never had a snow blower before. My wife purchased this for me for Christmas. Used it 3 times and love it! Clears our drive quickly and easily. Very easy to start with electric or rope pull. Well built."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pmedic
Location:New Bedford, MA, USA
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:January 29, 2015
Great snowblower
"I purchased this machine after we received over 2 feet of snow. We usually have a slightly wetter snow this was more dry but about 1.5 feet more than we get on average. I own a small tractor that couldn't handle the depth. I fueled up the blower and started it up using the electric start which worked perfect. After running the engine for a while I began to blow snow sending the snow up to 25 feet. I cleared my property a neighbors and about 10 foot x 30 foot area of the street. This machine ran great and got great gas mileage. I would recommend this machine and wished I had purchased one sooner."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
macgyvr
Location:Indiana, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:January 27, 2015
This thing blows!
"One of the most expensive purchases I have ever made since I've been an adult and owned my own house. 2nd only to my riding mower. I consider this some of the best money spent. It throws snow like a beagle trying to get out from under the fence to see his lady friends. I've used it four times now. It clears my large drive in less than an hour. It used to take me 3 or 4 hours to shovel the same driveway. Even in the wind, I can start at one side of the driveway and work my way to the other side, blowing some of the same snow over and over again. This machine does not care. The only thing better would be if it would clean the driveway itself while I sat inside and drank Irish coffee."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doug53
Location:Fairbanks, AK, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:January 17, 2015
Great Machine
"I have only used this snow blower 3 times and it is more than adequate for my wide and long driveway on the hill north of Fairbanks, Alaska. It handles snow on level, and uphill surfaces with great mobility. The only improvement I would suggest is to make the chute that directs the snow away from the machine a little easier to operate and perhaps a little more durable. I assume that will be the first maintenance issue I'll have to deal with. Love it so far!"
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emptynester
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:January 15, 2015
Great snow blower!
"This is our first snow blower! It works great! The fact that it is self-propelled makes all the difference in making it easier to handle. Made quick work of our driveway and corner lot sidewalk! I would buy this again."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clarinetdoc
Location:Roxbury Township, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:January 3, 2015
New Snow Blower
"This replaces my previous SB which is 20 yrs. old and still works. I passed the older one on to one of my sons purchasing this one because of reviews in a consumer mag. and a good sale at Lowes. I have used it only once on a heavy slushy wet snow and the tube did not clog as my old one would. The reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 is the weight makes this more difficult to maneuver."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mountainman079
Location:Garrett county, Maryland
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:December 18, 2014
actual useage
"I am very pleased with how easy the {thrower] starts and operates! We get 0ver 200 inches of snow a season and it is good to know you have the right equipment to get the job done!!"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sadsnowthrower1972
Location:Oswego, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:December 10, 2014
Joysticks are for video games
"Runs great, starts great, throws snow O.K. But I'll tell you, the Joystick operated snow chute control is practically useless! It never stays in the position it is set it in, and at times it is impossible to rotate the chute without physically grabbing onto it and assisting its movement. I don't recommend you buy this unless you enjoy the hassle of fighting with a Joystick operated Plastic Snow Chute to get your snow where you want it."
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BGC912
Location:Mishawaka, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:September 10, 2014
Troybilt yard machines
"I have a Troybilt Strinc Trimmer, Riding Lawn mower, and a 2 stage snow thrower. All work very well for the average person that requires reliability and dependability. No one wants to start our early morning with 2 feet of snow and have the equipment fail. All my Troybilt tools work very well and I am happy that I chose Troybilt. Price is reasonable too."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lizardking
Location:Iowa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (96 Reviews)
Date:July 19, 2014
Nice little snow thrower
"This is my first snow thrower so I cant compare to others. This snow blower is reliable and easy to use. I will say be sure to maintain the fuel system. I let some gas go bad and it hasn't ran right since. Hopefully when I get it fixed it will be good as new."
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>