Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Storm 2620 Snow Thrower

26 Two-Stage Snow Thrower - 208cc Troy-Bilt engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.506 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
86%66 of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Review 21 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lizardking
Location:Iowa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:July 19, 2014
Nice little snow thrower
"This is my first snow thrower so I cant compare to others. This snow blower is reliable and easy to use. I will say be sure to maintain the fuel system. I let some gas go bad and it hasn't ran right since. Hopefully when I get it fixed it will be good as new."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CarrotTop
Location:Wharton, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2014
Blizzard Conditions
"I have no problems going out into the cold to throw the snow away behind my Troy-Bilt Snow Blower. It does a great job throwing the snow and cleaning my driveway and sidewalk. I even use it on the grass to make a path for my dog. Glad I decided on a Troy-Bilt!"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chesrep
Location:Baltimore, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:May 27, 2014
Works great in medium and heavy snow
"Replaced a small, single stage unit I had for many years. I wanted a larger two stage unit. This was not used for almost two years as we did not have enough snow until this past winter. It starts right up and runs well - a little sensitive to old gas but not a problem if you use some gas treatment/stabilizer as recommended. Clears well in both light and heavy snow. Not great on very heavy/wet snow but most similar units are the same so no complaint here. You could do much worse than buying one of these...."
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Porkchop
Location:Fairbanks, AK, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:April 3, 2014
Fast and powerful
"Let me start by telling this machine is the best for the price. I live outside Fairbanks, AK...yes Alaska. This means 6 months of winter, many feet of snow, ice and extreme cold. I have a large driveway and parking area that are paved with recycled asphalt. There is very little paint chipping to the auger and thrower after many uses and tons of snow cleared. The electric and pull start work the first time every time. I read a review where someone didn't like the plastic chute...be assured it's tough. I've used this beast at more than 40 below with no issues and no damage. It works best in 1st gear and the reverse gears are very convenient when dealing with +18" of snow. The chute controls can be operated with heavy gloves and work fast. This machine will pick up snow and send it flying almost 50 ft away. It's tough as nails and has the power and precision you want."
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
squirt
Location:Michigan, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:February 15, 2014
This machine moves the snow
"Decided to upgrade to a new snowblower this year, retired the old machine after 27 years and with this winter I didnt go wrong,this thing throws the snow probably 30 feet does the job in half the time of my old machine. only issue I had is that I wish they would have put the larger skid slides on it. after one use went back to lowes bought a set and it made a huge difference"
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sherrie
Location:Commerce Township, MI, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:January 14, 2014
This is my first snow blower
"We had a huge snowstorm in Oakland County, Michigan. I bought the snow thrower about a week after the storm. So it was harder to move through through to clear the snow then if I would have used it on fresh snow. But I only had it delivered from Lowes 2 days prior."
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheBeardedOne
Location:Utah
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:December 23, 2013
Impressed
"This snow blower is surprisingly impressive. I was skeptical as to how it would to compared to the old "big name" snow blower that I used to have, but that was gone after the first big storm while using this machine. It has always started right away and runs like a champ. I will definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a machine."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Collegemom
Location:Boston, MA, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:December 19, 2013
Strong machine
"We finally had to retire our 10 year old Troy-Bilt snow blower and replaced it with this one. We ordered directly through Troy-Bilt, which couldn't have been easier. We received it a day before the first storm hit north of Boston and used again when another storm rolled in 2 days later. Very easy to use, worked well in both storms, heavy wet snow and light powder. We couldn't be happier the product was exactly as described."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perch6
Location:Canton, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:October 24, 2013
Best investment I have made in years
"Had another brand of snow blower but this one out performs the other hands down have no complaints about this machine I am the unlucky one of the neighborhood as the rest head South for the winter I stay here and take care of the houses and the driveways and walks what took me most of a day to remove the snow it now takes about 2 1/2 to 2 3/4 hours thanks to the 2620 that I got it is a pleasure to run this machine it is very easy to start either electric or pull it starts right up and the one hand operation and the joy stick works great would recommend this machine to anyone have no problems with any snow removal yet"
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DWinCbus
Location:Columbus, OH, USA
Gender:Male
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
My review after 1 season
"I don't normally write reviews and don't believe in writing reviews after just buying a product. but this machine more than met expectations. I turned 60 in January of 2013 and in October of 2012 decided to give myself a birthday gift. Up till now I have always shoveled my drive and walks myself.. I considered it as another form of exercise beyond going to the gym. But I also realized that I need to be careful.
I read reviews, visited my local Lowes and decided to take the plunge. I have never owned a snow thrower before but had used a friends.
Got it home, read the manual (I always read manuals). found some YouTube videos on this model (did this before buying it) and other Troybilt models.
The only change I made was to get some generic hard rubber/plastic skids and change them for the Metal skids.
I have used the electric start , but only out of curiosity.
This thing almost always starts on the first pull. I can only recall 1 time when it did not start on the first pull.
I now not only do my drive and walks, but will do my next door neighbors drive and walks and have even crossed the street to do a couple of other neighbors drives and walks.
I make sure I put stabilizer in the gas can and use it whenever I fill my Snow Thrower and mower.
And since I keep this in the garage I will maybe once every few months (when it is not snowing) go out and start it up and let it run for a couple of minutes and Yes it still only takes 1 pull.
My only complaint would be the reverse gears are not fast at all, but I suspect this may be more of a safety thing. Like others, I don't ever use a forward gear greater than 3. I think you would need to jog or run at gear 6.
I often use this at night and the light does not work (not sure if it is burned our or what) but I don't really need it.
I really like the stick shift to change the direction of the chute. very handy and quicker than a gear you turn,
It chews through wet snow just fine.. I usually take it a little slower when the snow is really wet. It throws powder snow very far. It can throw really wet snow about 8 feet.
I am still getting used to it but overall I am quite happy with it.
Just don't be in a hurry to clean walks and drives.
Enjoy being outdoors and being able to easily clean the driveway and sidewalks.
Be careful of uneven sidewalks and make sure to pick up the newspaper (if you can find it) before doing the driveway.
I am glad I got this and look forward to a snowy season.
"
+10points
20out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnnyO
Gender:Male
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:March 27, 2013
My Gal can work this with ease!
"Nothing but praise! It came one day before a big storm Jan 11, 2011.. worked perfectly! I purchased this unit because I read somewhere it cleared the plow packed snow from driveway, and it worked beautifully! I now clear my neighbors driveways when there blowers bog down. Usually use the electric start, however, I've shut it down on occasion and pull start it with ease. Haven't done any maintenance still works like a charm after not starting for a year!"
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MNM45
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:March 15, 2013
Junk
"I bought this blower in 2008 at lowes. I had to replace the carb last year. I had to replace the pull start cord due to breaking the first year i had it. I have to replace the light bulb because it broke inside the little junky plastic cover which I'm not going to replace for it to break again right away. The electric starter is no longer working. The snowblower surges all the time. The cheap plastic joystick control gets snow in it and freezes making the joystick handle next to worthless. If you have a lot of snow like we do in Minnesota the junky plastic shout pops off from to much snow blowing it straight up in your face.
I am planning on getting rid of this blower this summer and purchasing a new one. I would not recommend this blower to anyone. I take care of my products with regular tuneups and I always keep fresh gas on hand. And with that I am highly dissapointed in this product.
I also do not usually write reviews on products unless I am highly dissatisfied, so I decided that this was needed
"
+2points
19out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
cnick
Location:Berthoud, CO, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:February 28, 2013
Storm 2620 royally tested
"I purchased the Storm 2620 2-stage snow thrower three weeks ago......just in time for 14 inches of snow! It handled the snow easily. I cleared the sidewalk on both sides of my street (ten houses long), my driveway, and two additional driveways. And it only took about an hour! My old single-stage snow thrower would have taken that long just for my own driveway and sidewalk."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BobN1
Location:Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:February 27, 2013
Horrible waste of money
"I have never written a review online before, however, this product has made me so frustrated, I am starting now. I purchased this snowblower in 2009 at Lowe's. In 3 years, I have had to get it serviced twice for "non-starting" issues, and this year the machine has died altogether.
I take good care of my equipment. I have changed the oil and spark plugs at season end. I have ran out the gas at the end of the season so old gas wouldn't sit in the machine. Now, when I need the machine the most, it hasn't started the whole 2012-2013 winter season.
The machine is pretty to look at, but has become a very large waste of space in my garage. Look elsewhere for a better machine."
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
db2013
Location:Rochester, NH, USA
Gender:Male
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:February 25, 2013
Simply awesome machine
"If you have heard any bad reviews about this machine do not believe them.I have owned this machine now for five years and not a single bit of trouble the chute works well the head light is still origional no gear box problems machine is very light it is not a beast like some reviews say as a matter of fact machine is so light that I have never used reverse I just pull it back by hand.I have used this machine in all kinds of snow without a problem from inches to feet of snow cuts through it like a hot knife through butter.Then we got winter storm nemo I had three feet of snow in my driveway and five feet plus of snow at the end of my driveway from the city plow but this machine went right through it I was impressed the snow was so deep that you could not even see my drift cutters but it went right through it.I am not easy on this machine I run the heck out of it and still works well every time and still looks as good as it did when I bought it.This is by far a very well built and durable machine for the money spent.I would recomend this machine to anybody with confidence because it is that good."
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clayshots
Location:Cleveland OH
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:December 29, 2012
easily starts handles well
"I would highly recommend to anyone. Easily removes snow at the end of driveway from the city snow trucks"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Martin1950
Location:Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
Amazing
"Never got to use it in 2012 but 2011 was a record breaking winter for NJ. This machine completely exceeded all expectations. I had so much fun using it, I cleared 4 driveways and 11 mailbox approches on my street. All this in less than two hours with 24" of snow. Got three friends to purchase the same model
Love It
"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kels
Location:Albany, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:June 6, 2012
Works as easy as pie
"The Troy built snow blower is fabulous and is easy to use and does a fabulous job.
Could not have asked for anything better! We have always used Troy built products from roto tillers to lawn mowers and always liked the product support."
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tobby100000
Location:midwest Illinois
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:May 3, 2012
snow no problem
"This snow blower is the best I have ever had or used, it throws the snow no matter how deep and never slows down, a definate asset"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimmyZ
Location:Chicago
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (77 Reviews)
Date:April 22, 2012
Works Great
"Easy starting, really clears the snow, even the heavy fairly wet stuff. However the shute control release mechanism is hard to release properly with big gloves on."
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>