Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Storm 2620 Snow Thrower

26 Two-Stage Snow Thrower - 208cc Troy-Bilt engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.589 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
86%48 of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Review 21 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AlexT
Location:Long Island, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:April 14, 2011
Good Product
"I purchased this Product in Sept 2010.
We had a big storm on Dec 26th 2010 about 2 feet of snow. This unit worked like a champ. Handled the snow with no trouble. We had another big storm in Jan 2011 again abot 2 feet.
The only trouble I had was with the pull start. The cord broke. Only about 10-12 starts.
I had to switch to the electric atart,which worked well, but I needed to have power to start it.
The pull start comes in handy. Now I will have to lug this heavy monster in for repair for next season. Still glad I bought this unit. I did my research and this was a great unit to buy.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gonefishing
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:February 24, 2011
Poor Durability
"Purchased this snow blower 2 years and 2 months ago. Only used 15-20 times to plow driveway over 2 1/2 winters. Gearbox broke and $325 repairs later the machine is functional again. Machine is capable of moving a lot of snow fast, but does not appear to be the least bit durable.
Would not buy this machine again."
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wvcjr
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:February 12, 2011
Good Product BUT Joystick control Breaks
"Purchased 2620 snow thrower on 12-26-10 and have used it 8 times. Overall operation is very satisfactory BUT the cotter pin located just below the joystick which controls the chute has broken 4 different times. The joystick rotates back and forth and no longer moves the chute."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bazooka
Location:Western, MA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:January 27, 2011
Great Value & Performance
"Very easy to start with electric start. Plenty of power in deep snow. Simple to operate, my spouse was able to use without any problems."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
tommy53
Location:Fulton, Ny
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:January 21, 2011
Storm 2620
"I bought this snowblower in the fall of 2008. The very first snowfall I used it, the bulb in the headlight burned out in the first few minutes of use. I replaced the bulb a couple of times and they burnt out after a couple of minutes. So, I quit buying bulbs and run it without the light.
The third time I used it, the augers stopped working, gear box broke, and had to send to a dealer for repair, fixed under warrenty.
Got it back from the dealer and then the chute kept freezing up and you could not turn it until you thawed it back out.
Used it yesterday morning, and the augers stopped turning, looks like the gear box went bad again. Only problem, the 2 year warrenty ran out a few months a go and will have to pay for the repair myself. I have had nothing but problems with this machine and used it only about 20 times in two years.
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mac41
Location:Long Island, New York
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:January 12, 2011
Glad I finally purchased this snow blower
"It is January 12, 2011 and I just got to use the snow blower in 18" of snow. The snow blower was delivered January 3, 2011 just after the blizzard of 2010. This machine went through the snow with ease. It even cleared the bottom of the driveway that the plows had piled up with one pass. I just put the throttle in F2 and the machine went right through. The chute worked great. Easy start with power or pull start. The 15" tires track straight. This is a great machine."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rvnemeth
Location:Chagrin Falls, OH
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:January 2, 2011
3 Years and a ton of snow!
"I've had the Storm 2620 for 3 winters now and living in the heart of the N.E. Ohio snowbelt, I've moved an incredible amount of snow. Everything from the heavy wet stuff to packed in snow from the street plows. This thing moves it all! Aside from a few shear pins being replaced due to my stupidity (running over dog toys and frisbees that were buried), the machine has been flawless."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichaelA
Location:Nesconset, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:December 31, 2010
I made the right choice
"In my first opportunity to use this machine.It did an unbelievable job in 2 feet snow. It took me about 40 minutes to do my driveway, when it would have taken my 2 boys and I 1 1/2 hrs with out the thrower. Very easy to start and control. It was actually fun. I am very pleased with the total product."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BobL
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:December 4, 2010
Good performance, no turns
"I live outside Chicago, just had our first snowfall of Dec. 2010. I just purchased this unit to replace a 25 year old competitor model. Started right up, throws snow like mad, but turning the thing requires some serious muscle. My wife tried to use it, couldn't do more than one 180 degree turn before she was done. If turn assist was available for it, I'd get it."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
weaselsgrl
Location:pittsburg
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:May 11, 2010
no more snow
"this takes care of driveways, sidewalks and the street, this is a great product it takes all the back work out of shoveling"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ranger838
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:April 19, 2010
SNOW BLOW
"strong engine, does not bog down, dependable in cold weather"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike1955
Location:Amsterdam, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:April 15, 2010
Storm 2620
"I needed a new machine as my old Bradford was 30+ years old and the gears were going. Long story short, I researched all brands that I felt offered a good product. Troy-Built was the overall winner because of what I read from owner feedback and because of what I needed. Now, I bought it February 24, 2010 and only used it three times but it's first test was heavy, wet snow. It passed with flying colors. Next season I see no problem with lighter snow no matter how deep. The light burned out after the first day, but inexpensive replacements are available at the store in a twin pack. The light works well in dimly lit areas and I really like that. I always wanted a light on my new machine and was hoping it was more than a decoration. It's a good thing to have. The engine gives me more than enough power. The tires are large and grip much better than my old machine. The gears are easy to work with. I like the one handed chute control. And, although it is larger in size than my old machine it is lighter and easier to handle.It starts on one pull and I like the option of electric start. The cleaning tool comes in handy when the chute becomes clogged. Should I have a bad experience in the future with it, I'll be back with an update. Otherwise I made the right choice at the right price for what I got in return."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phillyman
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:March 25, 2010
Excellent machine
"With record snow fall this season in Philadelphia I was able to use this thrower multiple times on amounts up to 20"+. I am very satisfied with this product. Started right up the first time using the electric and pull start. The mega-tread tires grip the ground well, the joy stick chute control works very well. Yes, there is some minimal wander at times, but not bothersome. The plastic chute was a concern, but has caused no problems so far. I did not rate for durability due to just one season of use, but I suspect that will not be a problem as per the research I've done prior to purchase. Maybe an additional reverse gear could be added, but this in no wat detracts from my satisfaction with this product."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Romo
Location:Long Island, NY
Gender:Male
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:February 28, 2010
"Purchased just before a 16" snow fall in Dec 09. Worked like a charm. I did my 30' driveway my sidewalk, the street for parking my cars and three neighbors walks and driveways. Found it to be amazing. Only find two faults: need to have the gas empty to change the oil, so you must run it to run the gas out. Also find the chute hard to turn at times to direct the snow. However this machine is well worth the money. Have used it during three heavy snow storms and it cleans down to the cement and is very easy to use. I keep saying "one of the best things I ever bought""
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ronaldgt
Location:Lower Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:February 22, 2010
Joystick control is not good
"This is a great snow thrower. However, the joy stick control is cheap and not reliable. After about 3 hours of running and properly using the joystick handle and trigger it quit. The joystick rotates back and forth and does nothing. Now it's a matter of taking this monster in for service. Poor design. While I'm at it, the skids that come with this unit are way too short. They contact every bump in the sidewalk and make the machine lurch. Longer skids with shallower radius on the end would cure this problem."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eddie58
Location:Owings, Md
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:February 7, 2010
Best Value
"Bought this snowblower Dec. 24, 2009.
This snowblower has been the best purchase of the year. It plowed through 20 inches of snow easily and threw the snow 25-30 feet away. I used this at night and the headlight illuminated a wide area with great visability.
The plastic chute is very forgiving, as I was pushing through the snow(36 inches) that the snowplows left at the end of the driveway. The plastic chute hit the mound of snow and was able to flex, as a metal chute would have bent.
This is a great value for the money. It has saved us many hours of shoveling and saved us many unnecessary aches and pains .
I would highly recommend this product."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NCTundra
Location:Mars Hill, NC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:January 15, 2010
Climbs like a goat!!
"Got mine on Jan 3 and had about 4" of new snow. My driveway is VERY steep- 30-40 degrees and it climbed up it with no trouble. Had a little trouble getting the chute assembled, but it works great. It works great on heavy snow, but won't cut the ice underneath-didn't expect it too. Can't wait for more snow to use it again."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
went78
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:January 5, 2010
Let it Snow!!!
"I just bought this blower and did not expect the performance from this machine. I have a large driveway to maintain (150 yds X 10yds wide). It was the only one left when I purchased it and was worried it may be undersized. I was wrong. It cleared the 6 - 8 inch snowfall out of my driveway in about 45 minutes. Even the tracks from my SUV didn't cause much problem, it cut right through. I, like others, made a comment to the salesman about the plastic chute and he assured me they work fine. I can't say I have owned it long enough to have problems, but am very pleased with the machine. I was amazed at the power of this machine. It wades right in and blows a good 30 ft. Of course the type of snow would matter, but this machine is a great bang for the buck. I would recommend it to anyone. I live in a rural area of Western Pennsylvania where the snowplows leave a foot or two in the end of the driveway also. It is usually heavy snow, but this machine chews it up and spits it out of the way! Another nice thing is that it sips gas! Even though I haven't worked it enough, and I''m not fond of the hard plastic chute, I gave it a 5 on durability."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dino
Location:Ludington, MI
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:December 31, 2009
Best for the $
"I have been searching for a new snowblower for awhile and this was the best one for the price. It has all the power you need and some. For those against the plastic chute, you won't find a metal chute at this price range. Plus, you will be glad in 10 years when it is not bent up and rusted out. Questions were asked about Horse Power ratings since most new engines only list cc's. Even though you can not convert cc’s to HP you can estimate for standard, carbureted, non-performance engines such as this one that 25cc = 1HP. So, this one being 208cc, it is just over 8 HP."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Storm 2620 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hogrider
Location:Rapid City SD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (56 Reviews)
Date:December 27, 2009
Storm 2620
"Purchased a 2620 snowblower today and have to say I'm impressed. Question dependabily of the plastic chute, not a plastic lover either. Chute adjust was not the best I thought. Don't know why they don't list the HP, seems to have enought but would like to know. If it lasts as long as my econohorse tiller(19 yrs.) I will be very happy"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>