Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

31cc, 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer, Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.622 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
7
73%27 of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scott347
Location:Surprise, AZ
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:June 18, 2010
Terrific Product
"I bought this trimmer back on 2005 after purchasing a new home with a small back yard. It's a powerful unit with many different attachments which I feel is a huge plus. It fires right up every time by simply pushing the priming bulb 10 times, flip the blue choke lever over till it clicks, then 1 or 2 quick pulls of the starter rope and it fires right up. Even after 5yrs, it runs perfect. I did have to replace the fuel line finally due to the excessive heat here in Arizona, but take down & re-assembly was a snap. I found that using "Gator" Line in size .080 works far far better than the .095 size it recommends, plus "Gator" line is MUCH stronger. a 1/2lb of this stuff will last years with moderate use. I also use a mix ratio of 32:1 vs 40:1. I always use Synthetic oil weather it be 2 or 4 stroke. Running these things too lean will shorten engine life, plus they run a lil cooler and lubricate internal engine parts better. I also add a little bit of fuel additive to the 1 gallon can just to aid in keeping internals clean and eliminating carbon build up on the spark plug. All in all a fantastic product and should last many years to come with these simple maintenance procedures"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigED
Location:Elkhart, IN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:April 22, 2010
SUPERIOR
"First of all,let me just say THANKS to Troy-Bilt for engineering another great product! I love this trimmer,easy to start,and easy to use. I have about two acres to do about once a week, and have been using this for about two years with not one problem! Starts up with ease every time, even after the winter storage. I have read all the other reviews and can not believe some of them. just to help some of them people out, always make sure you have the proper gas oil mixture. Which is 40:1 not 1:40 like someone else wrote. And its only three steps to start, someone else said its to hard to figure out. I guess common sense is not so common anymore in our society without a GPS attached to it!! Overall I love it and would definitely recomend it. the best bang for your buck! You will not be disappointed."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Geggry
Location:Bartlett, TN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2010
Good, Good Product
"I am replacing a electric trimmer/edger. I could have gone with two other brands for the same price but this Troybilt model had a much bigger engine and I have always heard good things about Troybilt. At first trying to edge was difficult; line breaking off easy and engine would just die out. Found out I was using it upside down. After finding that out, it was a breeze using. It would start very easy, on first pull, weed eating and edging was like cutting thru butter. I cut my edging time in half, more than half maybe."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michael
Location:Texas Where else would anyone want to be?
Gender:Male
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:May 3, 2009
Excellent
"After purchasing my second weed eater. I really wanted to know if this one was going to be as good as the last. I poured the gas out of my old weed eater into my new one. After priming and cranking, started and ran, I began the task of weed eating again. No messin' around, just got back to work. My old model was 4 years old and used to maintain a 22 acre property. I would say this exceeded my expectations! I also have a Troy Bilt mower that starts on the first try every time and yes 4 years old. Thanks for the quality!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Countrygirl
Location:St. Louis area
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:April 13, 2010
Tough trimmer
"For a first time homebuyer, this trimmer was very easy to start since the instructions are right on the product. This trimmer got a good workout last year because the property I bought was completely overgrown. It held up through some pretty thick weeds and I only had to replace the line once at the end of the year. Took it out for the first time this year and it fired right up with no problem. I'm looking forward to getting some different attachments and trying them out along with my new riding mower!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
scamps
Location:Clermont, Florida
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:September 16, 2009
Very happy but!
"I like this trimmer a lot and it's very easy to start as long as you take the time to read instructions but it has two flaws. It came with the standard bump head and it also comes with a quick load head which is a nice feature if I knew just how it works. The owners manual fails to give instructions on how this option works and it bugs the heck out of me because I want to use it. There are no instructions on this web site either but overall I am very pleased with this product."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
abcd
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:April 30, 2010
Solid trimmer
"Having upgraded from an electric trimmer, the improvement is almost immeasurable. The construction is sound, it is easy to use, and cuts through everything I use it for. I have not had it for long enough to provide a fair assessment of it's durability. The only negative I have seen is minimal, in that the trimmer line has gotten stuck when trying to "bump" for more when it's worn down. This may also be an operator issue due to poor winding on my part..."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NCBob
Location:High Point, NC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:July 7, 2008
Great economy trimmer
"Very happy with this trimmer, I agree with the other person who said don't use the spool, use the speed lock instead, it works very well and it comes with it now.
I hardly ever had to give it full throttle to trim, it worked very well at 1/2 or 1/4 throttle and was very easy to control. Even with the amount of trimming I did it was well balanced and I didn't feel tired or have to switch hands like I did with my electric which surprised me.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pmac
Location:Boston,MA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:September 3, 2009
Bang for the Buck
"I was apprehensive but have used this all season and have had no problems yet. Bought a new 1 gallon tank to mix the oil in. Also added a drop of sta-bil to the fuel just in case. Gas just don't last a season like it used to? Haven't bought the accessories because they are expensive but like the idea, may get the cultivator and report back.
Buy extra trim line with yours. The start sequence is a little quirky but listed on the handle.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Despiseweeds
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:August 2, 2008
The weed eater TB20CS
"I followed the instructions for starting this machine for the first time and it sputtered as a new machine probably would, so after a few pulls it started. Once it first starts you have to give it gas and speed it up to get it going, after that, it started each and every time. One has to get use to the short string and the awkward position but once I got the hang of this, no problem. Overall, this has been a good weed eater.
DW
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Padymike
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:May 20, 2010
Needed a new trimmer
"I had a convertable trimmer that I had purchased several years back. I have had several problems with it and warranty work done a couple of times. With another problem, I decided to buy a new one. Checking prices, I found TB to be competitive. Knowing their reputation from decades of walking behind my father's tiller, I bought the trimmer. I can't attest to durability yet but I believe it will last for a long time."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
vickery
Location:Atlanta
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2009
Bad Product!
"I have always been a fan of Troy-Bilt products, but this trimmer is the worst piece of lawn equipment I have ever had. It has NEVER been easy to start, inserting new cutting string through the unit from one hole to the other is a nightmare and, after just a year of use, it now refuses to start altogether. It takes me more time to fiddle with this trimmer than it does to cut my entire lawn."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
peoplesalbo
Location:Memphis, TN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:August 8, 2009
Great Value
"This is a great trimmer for someone on a budget. Was easy to start if you follow the directions it comes with and utilize the choke on the throttle until unit is wormed up. I am happy with this purchase and will recommend this to a friend. Also the gas ratio is 40:1 which translates to 3.2 ounces of 2-cycle oil to 1 gallon of gasoline for those who have a hard time figuring this out."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Houstob
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:May 17, 2009
Frustration
"I bought this unit and had no trouble starting it out of the box, problem is that it will not stay on for longer than 2 minutes. Not sure if anyone has any ideas, unit is very powerful, yet blisters start occuring after have to pull the cord 15 times to get through the entire yard. Hard to say it is the fuel, it is fresh, maybe it just needs to be adjusted?"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bobd51758
Location:Quincy ,Mass
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:May 23, 2009
Very Dependable non/commercial
"I love it, but I broke the drive/flexcable from the head to the middle. It was a gift, and I don't think I'll be covered,I don't know yet. One way or another I will get it fixed, it starts easy, and runs great!! ps I bought the brushcutter attachment, and wow, you don't want to cut anything but brush, I hit a wooden fence, and goughed it, it's great too!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nathan
Location:Central Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:April 22, 2008
Painful Painful
"This product did not start very easy for me, multiple attempts, then the engine would sputter. Final after getting the product started and using the product, the vibrations left my hands battered, blistered and bruised. Might not suggest this product unless you have a good set of padded gloves, like boxing gloves."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ladygardener
Location:Central MD
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:May 21, 2008
Easy to start and use
"This trimmer was a gift to me but I like it so much I got the cultivator attachment too. Very easy to start - just follow the instructions on the handle. Spring assist is great - never had any trouble starting. The cultivator is easy enough for my teenage daughter to change out and use."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
annoyed
Location:CT
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:June 13, 2009
don't recommend
"Changing the string line is incredibly difficult. I'm writing this after spending 15 minutes trying to open the spool to replace the string without success. The most frustrating piece of equipment I own. It is also difficult to start. Would not recommend!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wagonmaster
Location:Dalton, Georgia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:September 12, 2008
worst product ever
"Bought From Major Retailer Only Used Twice Would Start And Run About 20 Minutes Would Not Start Back Until It Cooled Down. Returned to Store And exchanged for Another It worked twice and has not started since. Do Not Reccomend This Product"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB20CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Fustrated
Location:Virginia Beach
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (37 Reviews)
Date:July 13, 2008
Does this engine run?
"After carefully mixing the fuel 1:40 and following the directions I spent three days trying to start my first unit. I returned it and purchased another one. To my surprise it was the same thing. I am baffled on how to start this?"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>