Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

31cc, 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer, Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
2.786 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
14
48%20 of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Green9441
Location:San Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:October 28, 2014
Good product
"Had trouble starting initially and called Troy for help. They sent me to local Service supplier who made some minor adjustments and recommended I use a premix fuel. That REALLY made a difference. Haven't had a problem since. Cudos to Mustang Equipment Service Manager."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lisa
Location:California
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:June 23, 2010
Decent trimmer
"Works fine but I would probably pay the few extra dollars for one with a little more power and a little less noise."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Iwantanewone
Location:Virginia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:June 17, 2010
The little troy bilt that couldn't
"This troy bilt COULDN'T be used when I opened it on xmas 2008 because parts were missing.
This troy bilt COULDN'T be used after one season because it will not start.
This troy bilt COULDN'T be repaired because it has no warranty.
This troy bilt COULDN'T be saved.
Save yourself time and money,do not buy it.When your girlfriend say's "let me buy you a new weedeater for Xmas"Say NO NO NO.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WastedMoney
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:May 16, 2010
Wasted Money
"I have owned this for a few years. It's performance has gotten worse every year. I had to fix the fuel line so it doesn't leak. The starting got progressively worse until now I can't get it to run more than a couple seconds. Before it got to this point, it was getting very difficult to start, it would sometimes stall, sometimes it would idle at very high speeds. I tried to take the engine apart to inspect it, but was unable to get to the point where I could remove the head - very service unfriendly. I could tell from looking in the spark plug hole that there are a lot of deposits inside the cylinder head. It is unusable now and it is my first - and last - Troy Built purchase."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highstandardz
Location:Decatur, IL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:May 11, 2010
Very nice product and purchase
"I just bought this from our retailer. I fell into an awesome deal the trimmer was on sale and came with a free blower/vac attachment. I tried it as soon as I got home. Overall, I simply love it. It has plenty of power for average yards, easy to operate, and the strap was a nice touch to take the weight off the arms. The blower has lots of power, and the unit is easy to start without breaking any arms. If great value is what you are looking for in a good trimmer and optional attachments, look no further. I will be purchasing some other attachments later definitely."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Molsen
Location:Niagara Falls, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:April 14, 2010
Not Bad
"I bought this trimmer at a box store about a year ago. At first it was hard to start, but found out I need to use premium fuel and ever since has started easy. The power is decent, and it does not use so much fuel as the old trimmer. The only issue I have is the auto feed uses to much string. I had to re-learn my techniques to accommodate this."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
duckaflack
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:April 11, 2010
not the best, just below average
"starting this trimmer was a problem from the start. Does a good job cutting, but so far I don't think this trimmer is going to last very long in my garage."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Shelbyville, KY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:April 5, 2010
Not the greatest trimmer I've seen.
"I bought my TB7OSS about two years ago. I have noticed a decline in power and ease of start over the past couple seasons. Also mine started dying after giving it full throttle. Those are things that I've worked through by adjusting fuel idle. But the quick release button for the shaft accessory attachments broke…now the shaft will not stay together and unless Troy-Bilt fixes it then I’m left with a useless trimmer."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honeydolist
Location:TACOMA, WA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:November 19, 2009
Great trimmer
"I received this for Fathers day and I love it. I has made my yard care easier and faster. I also purchased the tiller attachment which works great. I am thinking about the blower attachment. Starts easy, lots of power, versatile! A must have for a lawn owner."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NEEDCOUNCILING
Location:Cookeville, TN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:September 29, 2009
This weedeater will have you in divorce court..
"I bought this weed trimer the summer of 08 and from the time i brought it home it would not start did the prime and pull thing and got it to start soon as i let go of throttle it died and wouldnt start back so I used it 3 times 08 and maybe twice this year. What a waste of money. Wish someone from troy bilt would come and run it for me to see what I go through when I try and use it, and tell my wife that I'm not lazy my weedeater is a piece of junk....."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CntlBuck
Location:Abingdon, VA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:August 23, 2009
TB70SS Trimmer
"I have owen Troy-Bilt products for years. My walk-behind mover has never given me any problems. This year I added the TB70SS to my yard tools. Best investment in years. Better than my old trimer. Easy start and enough power to tackle every chore. Thanks Troy-bilt for another great product."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Frosty
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:August 23, 2009
Attachments slip
"The attachments to this trimmer do not mate and engage. The unit will be in the shop next week but the repair service says these units have a problem with mating to the attachments."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
frusterated1
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:July 25, 2009
"I bought this trimmer about 8 weeks ago. Bump head has never worked even after much adjustment and re-wrapping string. During 4th time using after about 2hours total time on trimmer, clutch slips. works when first started until you start cutting and then it just free spins and revs. Shutoff and let cool and run for another 30 seconds. Troy-bilt riding mower bought 1 year ago, replaced both belts and constantly throwing belts valve cover leaking oil on exhaust. No more Troy- bilt for me!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tony
Location:Summerville,SC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:July 18, 2009
Could have made a mistake !
"I'm not sure I made the right choice purchasing the 2-cycle trimmer. Approximately 4-months ago I bought the 20ss trimmer and ALREADY it's in the shop having warranty repairs. A gear in the head apparently broke causing the head to spin free. Also, the kill switch works sometimes and sometimes not. The BIG KICKER is; Troy-Built's warranty shop for my area had to order parts from another city---WHAT IS THIS !!!--- Shouldn't a warranty center have parts IN STOCK? I live in a town that's not in the south forty. They have had the trimmer for a week so far..."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Weekendwarior
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:June 20, 2009
Don't buy until they fix the engine
"Owned only 2.5 years and engine died. Bought it in 2006 summer. Oil leaked externally in excessive amounts running down onto your hands after the the 1 year point. The gas feed is extremely touchy and while starting would always cause engine flooding. Once you got it working it cut well, although it ate string fast. The attachments is a cool idea and I bought three - but if the engine doesn't work it is a piece of junk."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
borabus
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:June 13, 2009
11 june 2009
"worse peice of junk made all time on engine is from wasteing cutting line"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
larryt
Location:Bluffton SC
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2009
2 cycle trimmer
"I bought this to use on a 2 acre lot. This is the second one I've purchased in 2 years. The first one would not start easily and ran rough when it did run. I returned it for a new one and have had this one several weeks. It too is hard to start. After checking that I mixed the oil/gas ratio correctley I changed the spark plug and found it helped. While not as good as a 4 cycle trimmer it seems to perform well once running."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
woody
Location:Winchester, KY
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:May 7, 2009
Best gift ever
"I love this weedeater. I can do any thing and every thing with it. It makes triming my 3 acre yead a piece oif cake. I would tell anyone it is a great trimer."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
metoo
Location:Metairie, LA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2009
sorry i bought this
"Had difficulty starting it out of the box, could not start it the second time at all, then the pull cord got stuck, need to bring it to a service center. Only had it two months and used only once. When I did use it, it did not feel like it was running smooth, a hard whobble while the line wheels turns. I feel like I through my money down the drain."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB70SS Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Junk
Location:Tampa, FL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (42 Reviews)
Date:April 25, 2009
Can't even start it.
"This joke of a machine won't even start when you pull it out of the box."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>