Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter

31cc, 2-Cycle Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter, Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.828 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
1
62%18 of 29reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Review 1 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dvdad60
Location:Springfield, MO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 18, 2008
best ever
"i have used many types and brands of trimmers over the years. craftsman, ryobi, homelite etc. this is by far the best trimmer i have ever used. the heavy duty line cuts great without breaking. i spent 2 hours trimming today without one line break. amazing!
i haven't had it very long so i can't comment on its durability
Awesome Machine!!!
"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Deee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 14, 2011
Bought in 2008
"I bought this in 2008 to handle tough jobs as it comes with a cutting blade. So far easy to start and use."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lemonhead
Location:Decatur, IL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 13, 2011
The Best
"We bought this trimmer a long time ago and it has never failed to start except when I forgot to put stabyl in the fuel and let it sit all winter.. If you maintain it the way it should be, it will do all the work you need. We have cut little trees with the blade and the twin trim lines will cut most weeds up to 1 1/2 inches thick without breaking. I have not tried the attachments yet I am getting ready to order 2 of them."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dfellows5
Location:MS
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:9
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:May 24, 2011
A Work Hog
"Kind of heavy for long use but makes quick work of ditches around my home."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ursi
Location:Louisiana
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2011
Reliable and durable
"After we bought a 7 acre out of shape farm, we were bent over backwards on making the right decision of equipment to buy as the maintenance of many mowers, trimmers, blowers, chainsaws, has become costly and time consuming, now 1 year later we have used it and yes sometimes I think abused it but it starts, works and does the job ever since, no issues, great product!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
country
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:May 13, 2010
2nd one
"The first one quit working a few months after I purchased it and I just purchased another one instead of finding an authorized repair shop. Both were difficult to start. The second one ran pretty good for a while and now the starter pull string broke in it. 2nd one, 2nd repair, one year. When it runs, it definitely does the job, it is just keeping it operable. The attachments are great and I love the ease in interchanging from string trimmer to blade for brush cutting."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hereford
Location:Brazoria, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:9
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:April 17, 2010
Awsome when running
"Bought in summer of 2008. Used brush cuttter blade to trim down some problem areas of my yard and was very pleased with results. Also used string trimmer attachment with good results. Then, in 2009 season, started having problems with the starter assembly. Recoil spring came loose and therfore the starter rope would not pull back into housing. Took apart myself and rewound spring and that held up for a while. After several uses same thing happened again. After many attempts to rewind spring and it came apart with every attempt I finally ordered a new stater assembly on line, has not arrived yet. Hope this fixes the problem. Runs good when it can be started."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
davmel1
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:April 14, 2010
works good
"this works good and will do a good job of trimming your grass"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bunney
Location:Medina, TN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2009
Best weed eater ive found
"I have owned many differatn types of weedeaters in me lawn service but after haveing this one for three years i have to say it is the best around. Not only is it light weight and easy to start but you can change out atachments in seconds. when i stated me lawn service i had to carry around over eight differant pieces of equipment and with this one tool i only carry one tool and small attachments. this trimmer has cut my time in half and would recomend it to all of my friends."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jag4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:September 8, 2009
"i bought this last summer - 08. Have a hard time getting it to start. Now this summer still hard to start and stay running."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buckeye
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:May 13, 2009
Very good combo
"This is my first Troy Bilt purchase. I bought this trimmer in the summer of 2008 and this has been a great machine. It is not recommended, but I have used the "brushcutter" attachment to cut 3" trees. It took a while but I could get through them. It starts easily by just following the instructions and has plenty of power. If you need a beefy trimmer then this is the ticket. If you just trim the grass around the yard, then this is probably too heavy. The shoulder strap is a back saver."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JMOKNOX
Location:Knoxville, TN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:February 9, 2009
Pretty good for the money
"I've had the trimmer and some attatchments for a couple of years now. When i first got the trimmer i had to adjust the carb to get it running right. Nothing new with any brand. After a couple of years this model still starts and runs good with some maintenance and upkeep. I don't baby the product it will run as hard and as long as i want it to. All the attachments work well and interchange very easy. Pretty impressive product."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrassTrasher
Location:salt lake city
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:September 21, 2008
WoW
"This thing was bad. Bad meaning great.
this thing cut weeds and trees 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick and didnt even slow it down dont lession to all them whiners !! This is one bad mo machine.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OwnGardener
Location:Stockton, Ca
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:July 29, 2008
Bad Product
"I owned it since May 2008. Now (July 2008) it does not start. The pull string does not retract. I can't use it any more. DON'T BUY.."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
myuglystik
Location:Craven County
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:July 20, 2008
Trimmer TB90BC poor service
"this weed trimmer had a problem with the carb and it would not stay running then we carried it to the repair shop and they replaced the carb, and a little over a hundred dollars later we still had nothing only leaked gas and still not run, went back to purchase another trimmer and this time got a four stroke maybe it will do better."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
unixra
Location:Perry, OH
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 26, 2008
Broke twice
"The flywheel spun off the shaft just before the warranty expired. I had it 'fixed' and it seemed to work just fine until it happened again a few months later. The flywheel key sheared when it first broke. The repair shop just tightened the flywheel onto the shaft rather than replace it since it was still under warranty. Now I have to consider repairing it again or buying another. It's not that easy to start either."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alamos
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 16, 2008
Ok
"ok at best it does not feed lone very well or run at full speed very well"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
tanglefoot
Location:Luverne Al
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:10
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2008
Trimmer TB90BC
"I have a Troybilt trimmer that I purchased in Jul 05 and after 2 years the warranty had expired the engine has a broken piston rod"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
davidn
Location:Guatemala
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:May 19, 2008
disappointed
"my three-year-old machine accelerates without control and then stops. The dealer said it would cost $143 to repair because the shaft is damaged and a pin had got loose and scratched the inside of the cylinder. Sounds strange because I was using it the morning I took it to the workshop (it was screaming fast whaterver i did to the acceleraltor and then stopped.But it was cutting the grass ok"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for TB90BC Gas String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Based on the average of (10) ratings-only reviews
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Would recommend? Yes 8 out of 10
Durability
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Performance
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5