Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer

20-Volt Lithium Ion Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
85%29 of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Review 1 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Sacramento, California
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:May 26, 2009
Lithium powered TB57, One outstanding line trimmer
"I just purchased the new Lithium battery powered TB 57 12" line trimmer and it is by far the best "weed eater" I've ever used. Light, powerful, easily adjustable and with it's long running, lightweight lithium battery it's a pleasure to use. It has plenty of power for around the house.
The built in power remaining indicators are a great feature. I trimmed my back and front yards and still have 75% power remaining! The best feature is no power cord to hassle with, I'm free at last!!
I also like the fact that it is does not directly pollute our atmosphere and is relatively maintenance free with no gas, oil, air filters and spark plugs to buy. It is also much quiter than a gas powered trimmer, however it still makes that "string" buzzing sound. I guess you can't have it all!
It would be nice for a wire guide (or small wheels) for utilizing it as an edger easier, then it would be like two machines in one, (that's the reason for the four star, Ease of use rating).
A spare battery pack for immediate "pit stop" refueling would also be convenient, that way a fully charged battery pack would always be available. I must admit I haven't tried to acquire a spare lithium battery pack direct from Troy-Built, but my dealer didn't have one readily available.
Thanks Troy-Built, for making a lightweight, powerful, truly mobile and earth friendly line trimmer.
Nick A. Sacramento, Ca."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bofar
Location:Mt. Airy, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:August 25, 2009
TB57 trimmer eval.
""I was excited to find a cordless string trimmer with lithium battery power. This unit has a powerful battery and good power. Not only is it powerful, but it has a variable throttle, which requires less power, making the battery last longer. I'm getting about 80 min. use out of the battery, way more than my old B&D with a lead-acid battery. The line dia. is limited, though, to very small dia. line, .065. Thus, the line does not hold up to much stress before breaking (i.e., you can't chop any heavy brush); however, the Operator's Manual states that it will accept line that is .080. This line size works much better, does not break often and I've never had a line feed problem like I do with the .065 line. I will agree with other comments about the throttle lockout button. You have to depress it at all times when the unit is on and your hand cramps up after a bit. I wish that the trimmer shaft was 2-3 inches longer. I have the "D"handle as close to the battery as possible for ease of handling and I feel that a few more inches would make using it less tiring."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
benemmy
Location:East Lyme, CT
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:August 19, 2009
Poor Design Features
"I was excited to find a cordless weed wacker with lithium battery power. And this unit has a powerful battery and good power. The line dia. is limited, though, to very small dia. line. Thus, the line does not hold up to much stress before breaking (i.e., you can't chop any heavy brush). Additionally, there are two major problems with this unit. 1) The unit has a button you have to depress at all times when the unit is on and your hand cramps up when using it for more than a couple of minutes. There is no switch-on locking mechanism. What a horrible design! 2) The line feeder is terrible. When I rewind new line on the spool the unit keeps letting long pieces of line out that justs keeps getting cut off. So within a half hour all the line runs out. I am an engineer and have looked at his very closely and I am certain I have not made an error in loading the line. This is another very poor design. WHY don't designers of these products give it to thier employees to try before they sell these items to the public. I cannot stand poorly designed products!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
s44888
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:October 2, 2009
Handy for basic trimming, not for tall people
"I have a Honda 4-stroke and this Troy-Bilt electric, and for basic trimming/edging I reach for the Troy-Bilt. It can't do heavy trimming like a large gas trimmer, but shouldn't be expected to.
The positives...
- Great battery life. It does our whole yard and still has over 1/2 a charge left.
- Easy to use. Light. Nice to just squeeze the trigger and go, with no gas, pulling cord, etc.
The negatives - mostly echoing the comments of others...
- The collapsible shaft is nice so the trimmer fits in the trunk of my small car, but the maximum length is too short. I figured with a collapsible shaft it would fit people from short to tall, but I'm only 5'8" and even at maximum length I wish it were a couple inches longer.
- No idea why they chose to make you have to squeeze so hard on the trigger to keep it going.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scooby
Location:Havana, Fl
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:September 3, 2009
Great trimmer but!
"It is a good weight and easy to handle however, when using it for edging, it is awkward and the design makes it difficult to use. My wife and I have used it in many areas around our property and she finds it extremely difficult to hold the button for extended periods of time.
We really like the life of the battery. With a very large area to work, it is nice to have one that will go for the time needed to get the job done.
The string is too light and breaks too easy so we will try a heavier string to work that problem.
Overalll we are very pleased with this trimmer/edger but would like to see a change in the design to make it easier to use as an edger."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bessette
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:September 20, 2011
cordless string trimmer
"Bought this unit in the summer of 2010. During the first year noticed the string would not extend at all. There's a manual release on the head, had to use it all the time. The lock mechanism for the trigger is the worst design I've ever seen. Your hand cramps after just a minute or two. This year it's battery problems. The trimmer only runs for a few seconds before dying. Leave it alone for a few seconds and it will run for a few more. Battery indicates a full charge. Trimmer has had very little use, every other week just to trim along a fence line. This unit was expensive and as far as I'm concerned, junk. Will never buy another of this brand or type."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bob3
Location:Northern New Jersey
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:April 9, 2010
"The TB57 is the best string trimmer I have ever purchased. I've gone through several (3 to be exact) gas models over the years and just got tired of mixing gas, pulling to get them started and the absolute racket produced by these babies. I finally gave up when the cord broke on my 18 month old Homelite.
My TB57 is absolutely great. It doesn't have quite the guts of a gas powered trimmer but is absolutely sufficient for trimming my lawn. Best of all it starts instantly, every time, and the lithium ion battery only required 3 full charges to support an entire season of trimming my 1.5 acre property. I wish some attachments were available."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EddieV
Location:Southern New Jersey
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:November 3, 2009
I LOVE THIS TRIMMER!
"I LOVE THIS TRIMMER!
All I need a string trimmer for is around my yard where the mower cannot reach. This thing is light weight and easy to use. I don't have to use gas! I don't have to suck up exhaust fumes while trimming! To start the trimmer all I have to do is push a button! This is the perfect string trimmer for most homeowners!
Confession time.
This trimmer is so easy to use that I actually let my 11 year old daughter trim while I mow the lawn with my battery operated mower (I don't have to use, keep or buy gas for any of my yard work). My daughter has fun trimming!
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnC
Location:Rural North Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:August 26, 2010
Does the job
"My unit came with the cutter head installed upside down. It took me a few minutes to loosen the screws and turn it over, and ever since it has done a great job.
I particularly like the lithium battery. I haven't run it all the way down, yet, and I have a fair amount of trimming to do.
If there is a complaint, it is that the automatic string extending mechanism keeps the string too short. It has yet to extend to the point where it actually cuts the string with the string guard.
A bump type string mechanism would be better."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kam1952
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:August 7, 2009
Don't Buy This
"The ergonomics on this trimmer are the worst. The switch is awkward to hold and it requires too much pressure to fully engage the switch. My wrist hurts every time I use it, my wife won't use it at all. The automatic string feed works about half the time at best. There is a button you can push to self feed line with out taking the head apart, apparently the designer knew it would be needed. I wish I had never bought this thing as it was NOT cheap. Maybe I can get some money for it at yard sale."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VM
Location:Lexington, KY
Gender:Male
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:September 14, 2009
Battery Powered Trimmer
"I have read some of the other reviews on this product and agree with the comments about the trigger spring being too strong. I removed the locking device and spring from my unit and now I can use the trimmer without finger fatigue. The overall rating of this product would be a 4 without the spring. If the spring was removed and the head would rotate, I would rate it a 5."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bob5958
Location:Bethel Park, PA
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:June 26, 2011
Best one I've owned
"After wearing out two gas trimmers over the past 30 years, I thought I'd try an electric trimmer. I really shopped around. Considered all brands and finally bought the TB57. I couldn't be happier. It runs great, I can trim my entire 1/3 acre yard on one charge (about 25 minutes). It sure appears to be well built and ready for years of use."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Richard
Location:Delaware Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2009
Awesome trimmer
"I was not sure how well this lithium battery would be but it is awesome. I have A LOT of trimming on my yard. I only wish the swath was larger, 16 inch maybe. The auto line feed works perfect, the power and battery life is wonderful. Full power until no power, love it, love it, love it. And by the way, I hate yard work!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RonJon
Location:Mechanicsville, VA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:September 10, 2011
Great Product / Poor Parts List
"Great product when working, but when it brakes good luck on finding replacement parts!! I have owned the TB57 for about 2 years now and the motor wiring connected to the motor broke off the housing. I was looking for a replacement motor to fix the trimmer, but there is no replacement part available!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Casey
Location:Olympia, WA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:June 8, 2010
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT
"My TB-57 has been to the service provider twice and is now broken again.....motor/electrical issues. The safety button is nothing but a nuisance, and the mechanism to feed out more cutting cord does not work at all. The battery, though, does seem to have staying power."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
agatha941
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:July 16, 2011
Good Product
"I use this every week -- it does a great job - it isn't too heavy - and I don't have to try to start it! I have two batteries which is really necessary to complete my lawn trimming. Love this weed trimmer!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
garden90
Location:Georgia
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:2
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:June 19, 2010
good weed wacker
"I love the product, just needs to be angled instead of straight to take a little stress off."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mrstorey83
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:May 16, 2010
Awesome trimmer
"Its easy to use, good power, and the battery lasts a good amount of time."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jazzy1963
Location:Roxboro, NC
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2011
good buy
"Great item. reliable, durable gets the job done, dependable."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB57 Battery-Powered Cordless String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
weinerman
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (34 Reviews)
Date:July 18, 2011
very easy to use
"i love my trimmer, its easy to use and gets the job done"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>