Product Reviews

Troybilt CS 4265 Chipper Shredder

2-in-1 chipper shredder powered by a 205cc Briggs Stratton engine
Average Customer Rating:
3.935 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
5
78%36 of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Review 1 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mulchmaker
Location:Long Island, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
Reduces pile in nothing flat
"A huge pile of tree trimming limbs and lawn waste created bags of mulch in nothing flat. Machine performed flawlessly. Machine started easily
.
"
+21points
27out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
parobi
Location:Kirkland, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:October 2, 2014
clogging of shredder chamber
"BobF I have a 2007 model and have had no problems until last month. I had the same thing happen to me and found, after a lot of looking, the top of the shredder chamber was packed with soil and roots. What I had done is I let the bag get too full and the debris backed up into the shredder chamber and the debris got packed. Once I limited letting soil in and not filling the bag get totally full I have had no problems. Hope this is a help."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lazyboy
Location:berea KY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:September 8, 2014
CS 4265 wood chipper shredder
"Just delivered 2 days ago.ran about 3 hrs that day and about the same yesterday. no clogs no jams started on the first pull every time. after second use the inside of the mulch bag ripped and now needs to be sewn up ."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BobF
Location:Oregon, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:June 27, 2014
Used it twice for less than 3 hrs total
"and now it won't start. The pull rope will not even pull more than a foot. There nothing clogging the works."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gman5969
Location:Delancey, NY 13752, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:May 10, 2014
Very durable, does a LOT of work
"Great product for the money. Keep some pruning tools handy to help reduce the width of branches being fed to the unit. By pruning as I go I have put the tops of numerous maple trees completely through this unit. Anything too big to chip is fire wood."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BigLawn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:October 14, 2013
Flails fall off, hopper jams easily, ...
"... useless as a chipper, jams on grass clippings (SAY WHAT????) Flails held on by single clevis pin. Formula for disaster. When they disconnect, they damage the assembly. Why don't these folks fix the problem and offer an improved solution to retrofit when the flails come off? (And they ALL will eventually.) When the impeller base is damaged, you are out $300. (Don't replace the impeller. Chuck the thing.)"
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
calvin6
Location:Omaha Ne
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2013
cs4265 chipper/shredder
"We bought this chipper/shredder in the fall of 2009 for use on 20 acres with much clean-up needed. Overall I am quite pleased. Two areas have become problems though. The oil is difficult to check with no dipstick and it is very inconvenient to add oil as it needs to have an oil filler tube. The major issue I have is the plastic fuel tank. The exhaust and engine heat traveled to the tank and melted a hole in the side of the gas tank. My son and I repaired that with JB Weld and assumed we had fixed the problem. When we filled the tank with fuel there was another leak in the back where we couldn't reach it. After a few hours of frustration, we used a saws-all and cut the 2 rear bolts holding the tank , repaired the leaks , and remounted the tank using only the 2 front bolts. We also attached a small piece of aluminum roofing to the exhaust to deflect the heat. I am mildly optimistic that our repair will remove the problem. None of this would have been necessary if the gas tank had been metal. If this does NOT solve the problem we are out a chipper/shredder and can't afford a new one."
+37points
42out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rewog
Location:Ralegh, NC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2012
Great Chipper Shredder
"The CS4265 Chippe Shrdder is a great way for a home owner to get rid of unwanted small tree limbs that fall in the yard and also leaves. This product will run smooth for hours and do a great job of makng mulch for the flower beds and garden. It is well worth the money you invest in this product."
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flytime
Location:Maine
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
Not so "chipper"
"Well, it's a nice looking machine and it really did the job....for the first three hours. Then, BOOM!
One of the four flail assemblies fell off, bring the machine to a screeching halt. Closer inspection shows that two more were getting ready to abandon ship as well. Apparently they are held on with nothing more than a little pin. Poor design in my opinion.
"
+31points
37out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Digger
Location:Salt Lake City
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2012
The Good, The Bad & The Ugly
"The Good
A wonderful machine when it works. It gets the job done.
The Bad
Since I have had this machine, I have had to replace the pull starter twice, the flail blades three times, the muffler and housing twice, and the discharge chute. The machine is now developing stress fractures in the hopper, the feed chute and the blade housing.
The Ugly
I would never consider recommending this product to anyone I know. I just wish I knew how to get rid of it.
"
+38points
39out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
jiguser
Location:foristell, mo
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:April 21, 2012
"has some good features , making it easy to use for
first timers
"
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BADONE
Location:sc
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:June 26, 2011
Cs chipper Shredder
"A very good machine. At least it will shred those 2 in..limbs and leaves/straw into a bag for mulch. Not a machine that can be used a lot if you have a small yard. Easy to start."
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jamnry
Location:oklahoma
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:May 19, 2011
Overall Good Machine
"Overall I like my chipper chedder and am glad we have it, but it has some issues.
1) not nearly as easy to start as my troy built tiller.
2) Works great on dry stuff twigs, corn, branches, leaves but not so good on fresh weeds, it tends to get clogged to easy.
3) But the biggest drawback is how hard it is to maintain. Oil is not easy to check or change, and getting into the blades to take them off and sharpen them is a nightmare in the small restricted space. The access panel needs to be redisgned for easier access.
"
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grumpy48
Location:texarkana texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:August 24, 2010
Bad Motor?
"Purchased the chipper/shredder, got home, put gas & oil (what a pain to fill with oil), set the choke and run switch, pulled twice on the cord and the third pull the motor locked up. Had to travel back to place of purchase and fussed with the folks for 45 mins, until the store manager got involved and FINALLY got a replacement chipper/shredder. The replacement machine worked on the first pull. Go figure."
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sucker2
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2010
"motor is good but my chipper ive had to have it rebuilt 3 times cause of poor building materials it has less than 45 hours on it"
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ranger838
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2010
shredder
"shreds good, rugged, noisy, dependable, shakes a lot"
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gtpreacher
Location:Greensboro, NC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:April 13, 2010
Met Our Expectations
"We purchased this chipper/shredder nearly a month ago and have worked it for several hours each of the last three Saturdays. It has performed superbly, and we have been able to reduce a large amount of hardwood tree limbs, leaves, and hickory nuts to very fine mulch. It has also done a good job chipping holly clippings. The only thing the machine doesn't have but should have is an oil fill tube with a dipstick. That would make checking and filling the oil very easy. Aside from that, the machine has done everything we hoped it would do."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Curt
Location:East Tennessee
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:July 26, 2009
Great Performance; Hard to Work On
"This machine does everything I expected, and more. I am cleaning up 2 years accummulation of dirty, sometimes wet, leaves with small sticks in them. The machine chews up everything I put in. After clogging the interior by feeding wet and dirty leaf trash, I found two significant things:
1. The internals are extremely well designed and well constructed for the rugged work. I am a mechanical engineer with major in machine design, and I am impressed by the excellence of design.
2. It is very difficult to get the hopper off for access to the interior, because the 2 bolts turn with the nuts on the machine side of the hopper. You have to get a wrench on the bolt heads in a very tight space to remove the nuts. After the nuts are off it is still difficult to remove the hopper because the bolts on both front and back are fixed in place and it is hard to get the hopper free on both sides. Also difficult to remove the shredding blade for sharpening for the same reason -- have to get a wrench on the back side nuts to remove the two screws holding the blade.
You have to be a fairly skilled mechanic to work on this machine, but it performs the task for which it is designed admirably."
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
talos321
Location:Gaffney SC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:July 2, 2009
It is ok but...
"We enjoy having a chipper shredder but, the tall upright main hopper is horrible! The design of this hopper makes it so even pine cones, leaves, 5" twigs get clogged up in the narrow upright design. I'm hoping Troybilt makes a redesigned hopper that one could buy. It is only comfortable to load up this hopper when one is over 6' tall. We may return this item as the above design flaw makes it useless."
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for CS 4265 Chipper Shredder
GKates1
Location:Kingston, jamaica
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (46 Reviews)
Date:March 27, 2009
bad investment
"I bought a new Troy-bilt CS4265, which I use to shread corn, sugar cane and grass for animal feed. It was awesome at first. I loved it. After 3 weeks the blades became dull and had to be sharpened. It then worked for 3 months then one of the small blades broke. Since then it is in the storage shead as I am waiting to get the replacement blade from the local dealer. Three months have now passed and i am still waiting."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>