Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower

3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag Lawn Mower
Average Customer Rating:
4.514 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (105 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
27
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
1
95%100 of 105reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Review 1 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chkdsk386
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:July 5, 2014
Very good Mower
"very easy to start. one minor thing, the air filter cap kept getting lose. no other problems. used on a 3500 sqf yard."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pooh1978
Location:Edmond, OK, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:June 24, 2014
Great Mower
"Engine fired up on first pull, Easy to put together, Grass looks great!!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joendoodle
Location:Rural Michigan
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:June 23, 2014
TB 130 easy to start, easy to mow
"We've had a High rear wheel mower for years. When we needed the replacement, the TB130 was picked due to features, price and the Honda motor.
This mower Is quieter than any other mower we own. Starts real easy and the ergonomics make it easy for the 4' 11" wife or me (6' 2") to use.
Emergency stop / Brake lever is comfortable to hold.
Fuel shutoff valve is a great idea to keep the carb. from "gumming up".
A hose connection (for cleanup) would be convenient."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Mike123
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2014
Great Machine
"Good Quaility Product for a good price. Also, I like the RED color."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovestogarden
Location:Clarksville, TN, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2014
Wonderful mower
"I have been using this mower for three weeks and I am very pleased. It is light weight enough for me to handle with ease, starts like a dream ever time, and is the best purchase I've made in years. I mow almost an acre over the course of the week and needed something this easy to use."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jen447
Location:Texas,US
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2014
Troy bullt
"One pull start, great!!!, lawn, looks good, live on over 5 acres, have lot of areas have to use push mower, happy, with purchase, this one cost à little more but worth every penny."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SouthCarolina56
Location:York County
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:December 17, 2013
Great deal
"Great price. Easy Start. Very easy to attach bag. Very easy to set height adjustment. Only negative is that grass/dirt gets caught in little niches where top of bag attaches to mower - why are they there?"
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wootobi
Location:Kentucky, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:November 25, 2013
Definitely a Troy-Bilt fan.
"Bought it in 2011 when my last one (not a Troy-Bilt) went south after only two years. Starts every time without effort. With the big wheel design it makes it effortless to mow a 1/2 acre. The motor has consistent rmp no matter how tall the grass is. Troy-Bilt has earned my business since 2008 when I purchased a 4 cycle trimmer. Not looking to change either. Looking to buy a Troy-Bilt riding mower next."
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PeeWee
Location:Ellsworth, WI 54011, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2013
best Decision
"I needed to buy a push mower for trimming but I ended up using it to mow my whole yard. Easy to push, maintain and adjust for your needs. I feel all the way around an excellelnt purchase for what ever your needs are."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heakster
Location:Wilkesboro, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:October 24, 2013
Great Mower, Great Value!!!
"This is the first Troy-Bilt mower that I have ever purchased and I am glad I did. This is also the first mower that I have purchased since 2003 as my last one finally kicked it. I decided to purchase the model that has the Briggs and Stratton engine due to the durability of my last mower engine. My first mow was performed with ease despite the 6 weeks that had passed since my last one. Needless to say, my grass was thick and bent over due to the time that had passed and this mower cut right through it without hesitation. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a new or upgraded mower than the one they currently have!!!"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oldflyer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:October 24, 2013
Good for grass, Poor for leaves
"Works as expected, very well, on grass - The open front blows leaves away from the mower. I try to mulch leaves and then bag them so I have to empty the bag less. If you wait until the leaves are too thick the mower works ok."
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheOx
Location:Jacksonville, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2013
Superb Lawnmower
"Absolutely the best push lawnmower I have ever used. Easy to start, simple to use. Best of the Best! You can't go wrong with this lawnmower! Get it and you will be glad you did!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Felixcat
Location:Syracuse, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2013
What was I waiting for!?!
"I have been an old school walk behind mower guy since forever. I had seen some high wheel models out there and decided to give that style a try. I also wanted to get away from the low end big box base models whose engines typically revved high/low and were of inferior quality. After reviewing a lot of machines, I decided the Troy Built would be the best for me as it had the coveted Honda engine, known for its reliability. I bought the cheapest Troy Built high wheel with Honda engine that I could find, and it is a Cadillac compared to any of the previous mowers I have owned, Throw in the ease of pushing and maneuverability associated with the rear high wheels, and I have been smiling ever since. What was I waiting for!?!"
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jarro
Location:la.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Great Mower
"Easy to start and easy to maneuver. love the bagger and one lever wheel adjustments!"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brenda49
Location:Quinton, AL 35130, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Great Mower
"Glides with ease cuts the lawn great. Best mower I have had."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mmill10227
Location:Ypsilanti, Mich.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
It is a ok mower
"When I received the mower it had been roughed up to the point that the oil container had been broken open. The wheel adjusters were bent. I do not care for the height adjustment, it does not have much adjustment. When it has not been used for a couple of weeks it does not idle well, I have to just let it sit and run for 2 to 5 minutes before it will run smooth."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BillW1
Location:Prineville, OR 97754, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Good Moderate Priced Mower
"Based on the 3 month's I have had this mower I am very pleased with it. The Engine starts easily, usually on the first or second try. I keep my lawn a bit higher than some people, but this mower pushes easily, and cuts cleanly. The bag does plug up when about half full, but this is not a major problem. Overall, a very good home mower for it's price."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dak1
Location:Memphis, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Quality mower, but not the most efficient bagger.
"This is my second mower of this model from Troybilt. I wanted a push mower with a reliable engine that could bag, mulch, and side discharge when needed. This is the best I found that covers all my needs while still staying within my price range.
Pros:
Honda Engine-Starts every time. Great on gas consumption.
Cuts well.
Mulches pretty well, but you may still see some remnants of grass if it starts to get tall or thick.
Light. Easy to transport and maneuver.
Height adjustment located on one side, and adjusts both wheels at same time.
Cons: Bagging. If you are a regular bagger, you may want to give this some serious thought. I don't bag on a regular basis but when I do, I find myself sometimes frustrated with this mower.
1. The bag gets about 2/3 full and stops bagging effectively because the discharge opening gets blocked off. So I end up needing to empty the bag or take it off, turning it upward to shake the grass to the back of the bag, and then I'm able to to get a couple more passes in.
2. The RED plastic headed screws that secure the handle to the frame get in the way when removing and re-inserting the bag. With practice I was able to get a little better at this but it still is cumbersome. I plan on buying bolts at the hardware store that will mount more "flush" with the frame in order to remedy this. But I shouldn't need to do this!
3. LEAVES. It will suck up leaves but not as well as maybe a lawn vac or other baggers I've seen. I've had to adjust the way I pick up leaves with this. If trying to suck up leaves from a straight on approach, it will blow most of the leaves out in front or away before it even gets to them. I've learned to get next to the leaves and use a "sweeping" action from left to right so that it pulls the leaves in from the side rather than blowing them all over from the front. So I found a way to make this suck leaves, but it takes much more effort and time. AND I shouldn't have to do this!
Neutral thoughts: The bag empties well enough. It takes some shaking and effort sometimes, but I've experienced worse.
Many plastic components. The front fork is plastic (my previous same model was all steel), and I'm curious to see how well it holds up. It may turn out fine, maybe even more durable. Time will tell. BUT, the plastic front fork also makes the cutting surface further away from the front of the mower which may pose a problem when trying to trim in tight places.
No wash out plug avaialbe: This isn't the biggest problem but I wan't to point it out. More expensive models come with the water hose/deck cleaning attachment. This one does not, which is fine. But the deck has the stamp for where the attachment would be installed (appears to be identical to the next model up). I'd like to purchase the attachment and install it myself but the last time I checked the parts area of Troy-bilt I could not find it. I will check again and contact Troy-bilt about this but I'd like to be able to add this feature.
IN CLOSING: This is a good overall mower. I'm happy with it overall but it does have some limitations (stated above). Additionally, it's not ideal at cutting taller grass (above 6") which I sometimes have to deal with on my rental property. When it's tall I have to make multiple passes to get it cut properly. But overall it's good.
I hope this helps!"
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shadetree
Location:Bozeman, Montana
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Excellent Mower, But......
"This mower is used to cut ant 3" and mulch a Fescue yard twice a week.
Pros: Excellent Honda GXV160 engine which is very easy to start with good power in heavy grass and weeds.
Cons: Vibration which influences the mowing time. I improved the mowing time by replacing the OEM blade with an Extreme mulching blade, but the vibration was not eliminated.
A quick fit might be vibration damping handle grip like are used on gas string trimmers or some way to better balance the blade."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kinkaid
Location:SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (105 Reviews)
Date:July 31, 2013
First pull start every time!
"This is my second TB130 in 2 months. The front tires on the first one after two lawn cuts kept on falling down from the 3 setting to the 1 setting. This is a great feature being able to adjust both front tires at the same time but my first mower must have had a flaw. My second TB130 is on its 4th lawn mowing and no problems. Both mowers started on the first pull straight out of the box and have started on the first pull every time!"
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>