Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower

3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag Lawn Mower
Average Customer Rating:
4.495 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
26
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
1
95%94 of 99reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Review 1 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SouthCarolina56
Location:York County
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:December 17, 2013
Great deal
"Great price. Easy Start. Very easy to attach bag. Very easy to set height adjustment. Only negative is that grass/dirt gets caught in little niches where top of bag attaches to mower - why are they there?"
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wootobi
Location:Kentucky, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:November 25, 2013
Definitely a Troy-Bilt fan.
"Bought it in 2011 when my last one (not a Troy-Bilt) went south after only two years. Starts every time without effort. With the big wheel design it makes it effortless to mow a 1/2 acre. The motor has consistent rmp no matter how tall the grass is. Troy-Bilt has earned my business since 2008 when I purchased a 4 cycle trimmer. Not looking to change either. Looking to buy a Troy-Bilt riding mower next."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PeeWee
Location:Ellsworth, WI 54011, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2013
best Decision
"I needed to buy a push mower for trimming but I ended up using it to mow my whole yard. Easy to push, maintain and adjust for your needs. I feel all the way around an excellelnt purchase for what ever your needs are."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heakster
Location:Wilkesboro, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 24, 2013
Great Mower, Great Value!!!
"This is the first Troy-Bilt mower that I have ever purchased and I am glad I did. This is also the first mower that I have purchased since 2003 as my last one finally kicked it. I decided to purchase the model that has the Briggs and Stratton engine due to the durability of my last mower engine. My first mow was performed with ease despite the 6 weeks that had passed since my last one. Needless to say, my grass was thick and bent over due to the time that had passed and this mower cut right through it without hesitation. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a new or upgraded mower than the one they currently have!!!"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oldflyer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 24, 2013
Good for grass, Poor for leaves
"Works as expected, very well, on grass - The open front blows leaves away from the mower. I try to mulch leaves and then bag them so I have to empty the bag less. If you wait until the leaves are too thick the mower works ok."
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheOx
Location:Jacksonville, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2013
Superb Lawnmower
"Absolutely the best push lawnmower I have ever used. Easy to start, simple to use. Best of the Best! You can't go wrong with this lawnmower! Get it and you will be glad you did!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Felixcat
Location:Syracuse, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2013
What was I waiting for!?!
"I have been an old school walk behind mower guy since forever. I had seen some high wheel models out there and decided to give that style a try. I also wanted to get away from the low end big box base models whose engines typically revved high/low and were of inferior quality. After reviewing a lot of machines, I decided the Troy Built would be the best for me as it had the coveted Honda engine, known for its reliability. I bought the cheapest Troy Built high wheel with Honda engine that I could find, and it is a Cadillac compared to any of the previous mowers I have owned, Throw in the ease of pushing and maneuverability associated with the rear high wheels, and I have been smiling ever since. What was I waiting for!?!"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jarro
Location:la.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Great Mower
"Easy to start and easy to maneuver. love the bagger and one lever wheel adjustments!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brenda49
Location:Quinton, AL 35130, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Great Mower
"Glides with ease cuts the lawn great. Best mower I have had."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mmill10227
Location:Ypsilanti, Mich.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
It is a ok mower
"When I received the mower it had been roughed up to the point that the oil container had been broken open. The wheel adjusters were bent. I do not care for the height adjustment, it does not have much adjustment. When it has not been used for a couple of weeks it does not idle well, I have to just let it sit and run for 2 to 5 minutes before it will run smooth."
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BillW1
Location:Prineville, OR 97754, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Good Moderate Priced Mower
"Based on the 3 month's I have had this mower I am very pleased with it. The Engine starts easily, usually on the first or second try. I keep my lawn a bit higher than some people, but this mower pushes easily, and cuts cleanly. The bag does plug up when about half full, but this is not a major problem. Overall, a very good home mower for it's price."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dak1
Location:Memphis, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Quality mower, but not the most efficient bagger.
"This is my second mower of this model from Troybilt. I wanted a push mower with a reliable engine that could bag, mulch, and side discharge when needed. This is the best I found that covers all my needs while still staying within my price range.
Pros:
Honda Engine-Starts every time. Great on gas consumption.
Cuts well.
Mulches pretty well, but you may still see some remnants of grass if it starts to get tall or thick.
Light. Easy to transport and maneuver.
Height adjustment located on one side, and adjusts both wheels at same time.
Cons: Bagging. If you are a regular bagger, you may want to give this some serious thought. I don't bag on a regular basis but when I do, I find myself sometimes frustrated with this mower.
1. The bag gets about 2/3 full and stops bagging effectively because the discharge opening gets blocked off. So I end up needing to empty the bag or take it off, turning it upward to shake the grass to the back of the bag, and then I'm able to to get a couple more passes in.
2. The RED plastic headed screws that secure the handle to the frame get in the way when removing and re-inserting the bag. With practice I was able to get a little better at this but it still is cumbersome. I plan on buying bolts at the hardware store that will mount more "flush" with the frame in order to remedy this. But I shouldn't need to do this!
3. LEAVES. It will suck up leaves but not as well as maybe a lawn vac or other baggers I've seen. I've had to adjust the way I pick up leaves with this. If trying to suck up leaves from a straight on approach, it will blow most of the leaves out in front or away before it even gets to them. I've learned to get next to the leaves and use a "sweeping" action from left to right so that it pulls the leaves in from the side rather than blowing them all over from the front. So I found a way to make this suck leaves, but it takes much more effort and time. AND I shouldn't have to do this!
Neutral thoughts: The bag empties well enough. It takes some shaking and effort sometimes, but I've experienced worse.
Many plastic components. The front fork is plastic (my previous same model was all steel), and I'm curious to see how well it holds up. It may turn out fine, maybe even more durable. Time will tell. BUT, the plastic front fork also makes the cutting surface further away from the front of the mower which may pose a problem when trying to trim in tight places.
No wash out plug avaialbe: This isn't the biggest problem but I wan't to point it out. More expensive models come with the water hose/deck cleaning attachment. This one does not, which is fine. But the deck has the stamp for where the attachment would be installed (appears to be identical to the next model up). I'd like to purchase the attachment and install it myself but the last time I checked the parts area of Troy-bilt I could not find it. I will check again and contact Troy-bilt about this but I'd like to be able to add this feature.
IN CLOSING: This is a good overall mower. I'm happy with it overall but it does have some limitations (stated above). Additionally, it's not ideal at cutting taller grass (above 6") which I sometimes have to deal with on my rental property. When it's tall I have to make multiple passes to get it cut properly. But overall it's good.
I hope this helps!"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shadetree
Location:Bozeman, Montana
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Excellent Mower, But......
"This mower is used to cut ant 3" and mulch a Fescue yard twice a week.
Pros: Excellent Honda GXV160 engine which is very easy to start with good power in heavy grass and weeds.
Cons: Vibration which influences the mowing time. I improved the mowing time by replacing the OEM blade with an Extreme mulching blade, but the vibration was not eliminated.
A quick fit might be vibration damping handle grip like are used on gas string trimmers or some way to better balance the blade."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kinkaid
Location:SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:July 31, 2013
First pull start every time!
"This is my second TB130 in 2 months. The front tires on the first one after two lawn cuts kept on falling down from the 3 setting to the 1 setting. This is a great feature being able to adjust both front tires at the same time but my first mower must have had a flaw. My second TB130 is on its 4th lawn mowing and no problems. Both mowers started on the first pull straight out of the box and have started on the first pull every time!"
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RubyRed
Location:Meriden, CT, USA
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:June 15, 2013
Meets my needs
"Perfect mower for me. Easy to push, starts first pull every time.
Anyone having trouble may want to set the choke, grab the starting rope then squeeze the handle and pull the rope at the same time. Works every time for me. Once it warms up don't need to use the choke. Have had this about 2 months and so far so good.
"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Karl
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2013
Great Mower
"Really great little mower, bought it two months ago. What sold me was the 160cc Honda, very reliable engines in the past. I bought the push style for some additional weekly exercise, personal choice. As to what others are not liking about this mower such as the auto choke, you just cant prime and let it sit while you get ready to mow, you need to pull it within 5-10 seconds, but that is how it protects the engine from flooding. I have had no issues of multiple pulls when following that timeline. As for the bag, I have noticed some of the grass does not reach the back of the bag, but I just push down on the bars and lift the front end up and the grass falls back. You're bagging the lawn, it's going to be a little more work anyways. Not a big deal to me. Great quiet engine and nice mulching ability. I would buy a similar model in the future but with a slightly bigger bag. My lot is .29 and seems to max out the bagging capacity/guideline. I couldn't find a better bang for the buck. Take regular care of this engine and it will last 10 years. It's still new, that is why i gave it a good rating on durability, I have no doubts it will turn to excellent during my ownership."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joebuzz
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:May 19, 2013
Disappointed
"This mower replaced an older model Troy-Bilt mower which was basically the same only newer. The new mower had a smaller grass catcher and a weaker motor. I was expecting the same performance and was disappointed. I had to empty the grass catcher more often due to the fact that the motor didn't have enough power to throw the grass clippings to the rear of the bag. It would only fill about half full before it would clog and I would have to empty it. The rpm of the new mower was less than my older model. Probably would not buy again. I loved the older mower!"
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dogeasy
Location:Bloomington, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:April 27, 2013
Leaky engine
"I had to have the front cover gasket resealed several times as it would leak oil after the mower shut off and sat for a bit. Took several times to fix. Now leaking under, what appears to me the gasoline bowl. I make sure the gas shut off is off and it has just started this. Did not do this last year. Runs good, starts good all the time. It is just these leaks that have me on the fence as if I could recommend this mower to anyone. The engine is made by Honda, so I really did expect better. Change oil regularly, change spark plug regularly, change air filter regularly. Couldn't ask for better."
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pacfan
Location:Illinois
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:April 21, 2013
waste of my money
"I bought this mower last year and have been unable to start it 4 times now. when it does start,it runs fine for a while,but sometimes it dies and then i can't restart it.I pull the plug and cleaned it but that doesnt always work.I like the features when it runs,but unfoutunately there have been to many times it doesn't run."
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB130 TriAction High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hwcj
Location:Louisiana, USA
Gender:Male
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:April 6, 2013
great buy for the money
"this mower starts easy usually first pull and cuts great. only problem i have had is the air filter assembly could have been made better. i have had a continuing problem with the cap popping off and the filter falling out. haven't seen this mentioned before."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>