Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower

21 TriAction Cutting System with 3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag
Average Customer Rating:
4.511 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (139 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
38
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
1
94%130 of 139reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Review 1 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weezer
Location:Palmerton, Pa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:September 30, 2012
The Engine Sold me!
"The engine is what really sold me. I used to work in the equipment rental business and we found that no engine lasted longer, started as easy, runs as quiet, and required less maintainence than a Honda engine. This coupled with a good price had me sold. The bag and shoot are easy to chang out and the mower is easy to clean and service. I have owned my mower for 2 yrs now and it still looks and runs like new!"
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SouthCarolina56
Location:York County
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:December 17, 2013
Great deal
"Great price. Easy Start. Very easy to attach bag. Very easy to set height adjustment. Only negative is that grass/dirt gets caught in little niches where top of bag attaches to mower - why are they there?"
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SayJak
Location:Frederick County, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2012
High-wheel push mower
"Positive features: Wheels appear to have a more durable construction (possibly with HDPE plastic hubs), while the more brittle gray plastic hubs on the previous model of this same mower that I owned cracked after a couple of years (and replacement wheels were so expensive that I gave the mower away). Negatives are: the Honda GCV160 engine still has the same slight oil weep at the back left lower corner (where the governor shaft goes through the engine case) which accumulates a coating of dirt and dust... and the Gas Cap on this newer model is really Horrible: The plastic has a tendency to become static charged and attracts so much dirt and dust that every time I want to fill the tank I need to carefully wipe the cap off before I remove it and, then, very very carefully wipe the bottom edge of the cap... in order to avoid getting the dirt and dust on it inside the tank which would eventually clog the strainer screen. The size and angle of the tank opening is difficult to fill without spillage. The poorly designed gas cap alone is enough to make me consider another Brand of mower in the future."
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TroyBiltMowerDude
Location:Clinton Township, Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:September 22, 2012
TB130 review
"Purchased about 2 months ago and am satisfied with it thus far. The first 2 or 3 times it started on the first pull, now it takes maybe 3 pulls, with choke set all the way first. Mulcher performance is not quite as good as I expected. Blade setting is high, but it still gathers and throws more clippings from the front of the mower than I would like to see. Very light and exceptionally easy to maneuver. Very economical too - I use less than 1/2 the amount of gas my older mower used."
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wujayes
Location:Queensland, Australia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:March 5, 2015
TB130 Mower
"Used this for the fifth time yesterday. So far has started first pull every time and has cut mowing time in half. I used the catcher on the first three occasions and found it easy to handle. Used without catcher the last two times and was impressed how quickly and efficiently the lawn was finished. It took me a while to get used to the fact the engine switches off every time you let go of the handle, but I soon learnt to trust the fact that a quick half pull and it just burst into life again. My old mower would have refused to start for at another least half hour."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoneySams
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:January 15, 2015
Great Mower
"Only have had the mower for about 6 months but it works great. Im glad I went with the Honda motor instead of the Briggs and Stratton. The Honda motor is much more powerful and starts a lot easier."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PeeWee
Location:Ellsworth, WI 54011, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2013
best Decision
"I needed to buy a push mower for trimming but I ended up using it to mow my whole yard. Easy to push, maintain and adjust for your needs. I feel all the way around an excellelnt purchase for what ever your needs are."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heakster
Location:Wilkesboro, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:October 24, 2013
Great Mower, Great Value!!!
"This is the first Troy-Bilt mower that I have ever purchased and I am glad I did. This is also the first mower that I have purchased since 2003 as my last one finally kicked it. I decided to purchase the model that has the Briggs and Stratton engine due to the durability of my last mower engine. My first mow was performed with ease despite the 6 weeks that had passed since my last one. Needless to say, my grass was thick and bent over due to the time that had passed and this mower cut right through it without hesitation. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a new or upgraded mower than the one they currently have!!!"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmanhj
Location:knoxville, Tn
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2012
Yeah!
"Great mower at a good price. It has plenty of power for those times when life happens and the grass gets extra high. I like how quiet it runs as well. this is not really a dislike but a reminder to drain gas when not in use or your carburator will gum up."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tasilium
Location:Wilkes County, NC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:April 14, 2012
TB130 WOW Great Value
"This mower replaced a 190cc mower. I was concerned about the cutting power and lack of throttle control....I couldn't have been more surprised when this push mower far exceeded my expectations. My lawn was terribly overgrown over 1 1/2 ft tall in the lowest places and taller in others, I was impressed with the ease the TB130 breezed thu the overgrowth. Mower didn't bog down or anything. Plenty of cutting power for the average yard.
As for ease of starting..couldn't be better. Cranks on first pull everytime. Just follow the instructions and you couldn't find an easier mower to pull start.
Bag holds an appropriate amount for a push mower, and mulcher feature works as advertised. Also when using the side chute, grass don't clump up, bogging the mower down. Throws it out clean.
Some people complain about weight or hard to push. Well my yard has hills and I have experienced no such problem. Mower rolls along very easy. Set wheel height to an appropriate setting and glide along. If this mower is to heavy for you to push, get in shape or buy a self propelled.....really its not hard to push.
Overall I couldn't be happier (unless it was free, lol)"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lukie
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:November 17, 2014
Best Push Mower I Have Ever Owned!
"This is without a doubt the best push mower I have ever owned!
Most of what I have purchased in the past lasted about 2-5 years. I was "sold" on Briggs & Stratton engines. NO MORE for me. The Honda engine is quieter and more energy efficient. I will never buy another mower with a B&S engine again.
The TB 130 mower seems to be quite durable, yet not real heavy to push. For the money I didn't think that I could go wrong. From every indication this mower is made in the USA.
I am hoping that it will last a lot longer than my previous mowers."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gunny
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:March 22, 2010
Fantastic Mower
"After many years of mowing using a variety of brands, makes, and models, this mower is the absolute smoothest and most powerful push-mower I have ever used in its price range or maybe even a little more.
I have a 3/4 acre yard that is relatively flat, however it is bumpy and made up of a variety of grasses, some very dense and thick. I have owned this property for 33 years and mow about 8 months out of the year. My preference is a walk-behind push-mower putting all the horsepower to the cutting blade.
The Troy-Bilt TB130 is a ruggedly built, well designed mower with a remarkable powerplant. It demonstrates an extremely even cut and due to a great design and well thought-out features, the benefits are an easy to crank, push, and mow product with the most seamless results you could ever want.
This mower is a very affordable and impressive quality product.
"
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnB
Location:Virginia Beach VA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:November 13, 2014
TB130 A JOY TO USE
"Why did I wait so long to replace my old mower? My TB130 starts with ease, a half pull on the cord and it is running. The mower cuts my lawn smooth, turning easily and I've finished the job speedily and very much to my satisfaction. Love it!"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sapper
Location:Virginia
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:September 24, 2012
Great Lawn Mower
"This lawn mower replaced a lawn mower I had only 4 years. This mower is of a higher quality and cost just about the same. My wife and I can both use this mower without any trouble. A great purchase. We have used it for about 4 months without any trouble."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RKellyGA
Location:Augusta, GA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2012
My First, and probably my last
"I have not personally owned a lawnmower before this purchase. I had several men who recommended the Troy-built line of equipment, so I looked at their selections and was more than glad to make the purchase. I spent about the same as the other premium line of products. The TB130 performs very well, and starts with one easy pull. The mulching option works well and the cut is small enough to work well as mulch. The product performed so well, that I have also purchased a trimmer from Troy-built as well. The product performs so well that with proper maintenance, I believe it to be the last purchase I'll need to make."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rottenweiler2003
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:April 29, 2012
TB130 walk behind
"Just bought the TB130 high wheel walk behind mower and used it for the first time, Wow! I replaced my old walk behind because it pushed hard . Small wheels on a deck that was pieced together with a motor from something else. The TB130 starts on the first pull and runs smooth and quiet. The large wheels make for turning and maneuvering in my small yard quite easy. It has very ample power and didn't bog down in tall grass, in the mulching mode with back and side blocked. I liked the idea of the HONDA engine because they're noted for quiet running and long endurance if cared for maintenance wise, as would probably all the engine brands used on there machines but I just happen to like honda engines, so that was a deciding factor for me with this particular model. I like the way the choke opens itself automatically so you cannot flood the engine accidentally. I would have liked to had the deck wash hose connector on this model as the models that are higher on the model line-up, price wise do. All things considered, I still love this model and it's performance. There are aftermarket kits available that can be installed ( deck wash hose connectors ), so maybe down the road I might go that route. Thanks to TROY-BUILT for a great mower!"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarryS
Location:NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:December 11, 2014
Excellent mower
"Used 5 times thus far with no issues. Easy to push and maneuver. Starts on 2nd pull."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CharliePA
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:December 11, 2014
Great Mower
"I have owned this mower now for two years and have never had any problems with it. Even after hitting a tree root and having to replace the blade it started up without any issue. The blade was easy to purchased and replace."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomT
Location:Pinson, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:November 3, 2014
Great Mower
"Honda engine was the strongest factor in decision to buy this mower. Started on first pull out of the box. Ideal for small level yard - 1/2 acre or less. No need for self-propelled feature on this lightweight but well-constructed unit."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB130 High-Wheel Walk-Behind Push Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dbjcyclist
Location:Charlotte, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (139 Reviews)
Date:November 1, 2014
Simple and reliable
"Love the simplicity and reliability of this mower. Turns well, starts almost telepathically, and is quiet, smooth joy to use. It's a great mulching mower, but if you're wanting to blow or bag, I'd recommend changing the blade. We have a smooth lot, and didn't want the complexity of self-propelled. This mower is just perfect for us."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>