Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower

3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag Lawn Mower
Average Customer Rating:
4.137 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (131 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
30
3 stars
15
2 stars
3
1 star
11
81%106 of 131reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Review 1 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShawnB
Location:Jackson
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2014
Great product, easy to use, good price
"Got this as my first mower in our new house. Very happy with it. it's rugged, easy to use, and gets the job done. Only issue is that I wish it came with a better mulching blade. I live in the south and the grass grows fast in the summer. I can't mow it every week, and a two week grow ends up not being mulched well. but overall, the mower is fantastic, especially for the price."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dancer
Location:Horseheads, NY, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2014
Love this mower!
"I am so pleased with this mower - it is exceedingly easy to start and I especially like the deck washer!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DickS
Location:Lansdale, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2014
Liked it
"Wasn't sure about front wheel drive, but found it to be far superior to the rear-wheel machine I replaced."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keifer
Location:Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2014
Troy-Bilt 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
"This mower is my first self-propelled model and its easy start and dependability is excellent. A feature I like is the hose attachment for cleaning out mower after use. The rear bag works well. Troy-Bilt also comes with an operator's manual that covers everything required concerning maintenance, trouble shooting and putting together the mulch bag assembly; which makes it easier to set up. The mower is an example of the continued quality of Troy-Bilt products, a well-known name in the industry."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nevarez9807
Location:San Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:August 2, 2014
Replacement after Theft
"I had a Tory-Bilt 190cc 7.25 I bought 1 1/2 ago, but someone stole it out my garage while I was home. I bought a new troy-bilt walk behind mower with the same specification as the one stolen, the difference between the one I had and the new one, is the self assist wheel lever. The old one had one "bar" to activate the self assist wheels in front, the new one has a "lever". I personally prefer the "bar" over the "lever", I wish the new one I purchased had a bar, but I'm not a designer of mowers. I also researched mowers before I bought the replacement, during my research I saw frames of other mowers and found that troy-bilt had a better frame design than any other mower on the market. No matter what, I loved the performance the mower gave and bought me a Blower manufactured by Troy-Bilt too. So far, I am completely satisfied with both outdoor product I purchased."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gman110
Location:Logansport, LA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:July 18, 2014
TB 230 nice mower
"Started on first pull, Cuts great.,Like The new Deck washing
Wheel easy to set .
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Col803
Location:Columbia, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:June 28, 2014
Never starts
"I bought this mower and thought that it was going to be great. WRONG!!!!! Being that it was a Troybilt I couldn't go wrong. Since I have own this mower (Bought brand new). Cutting my lawn has been a nightmare. This mower will never start. I changed the oil, new spark plug and still nothing. You can pull on the cord long as you want and nada. I will never invest in a Troybilt again and you can take that to the bank. Waste of money."
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ramig972
Location:Sammamish, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:June 27, 2014
TBS230
"not strong enough, can handle high grass, not push itself in 40 dgree slope, sharp edges makes lifting it up a problem, my son tilted in on the side and smoke is coming out from oil burning
What is your USDA gardening zone? no idea"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
flyguy
Location:Jacksonville, AR, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:June 23, 2014
Very good machine
"My FWD mower has worked very satisfactorily for several years.
It has always started on the first gentle pull except when starting up the first time after winter. The large rear wheels are good at floating over any ruts which makes the mowing much easier. The FWD is variable which make the mower easy to follow by any one using the mower. A good purchase.
"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jimbus
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:June 23, 2014
good mower, bad engine
"I have owned this mower for under 3 months and have not been able to cut my complete yard at one time due to stalling, failure to restart, low power. Now the mower will only run for 3-4 minutes before stalling and I am taking it in for service. The 21 yr old mower this replaced never failed to start or perform and was replaced only because I wanted a self propelled mower. Big mistake!"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorrie
Location:Northbridge, MA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:June 16, 2014
Model TB230 TroyBilt Mower
"I just purchased the TB230 mower. I'm a female senior citizen and when I got the lawnmower home I put it together in 1/2 hr. I knew the real test was going to be pulling the rope to start the engine. I pulled it one time and it started immediately. I was truly shocked because it was so easy. I then cut some of my grass and it cuts fantastic. I'm 100% satisfied with my purchase ."
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KaiserSoze
Location:North Alabama
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:June 10, 2014
First time purchase of a gas mower
"the mower tends to do what i've asked it to do. we use it in concert with a riding lawnmower for hilly terrain. so far, i have no issues. as an engineer in my own right i do have some possible improvements that can be made for a future model:
1. using the new EPA-rated gas containers, attempting to refuel this mower can be difficult to not overfill it with the shallow reservoir.
2. over time it can be tire ones hands to keep the handle compressed and on. possibly a padded handle could relieve some of the hand pain.
3. instead of having several settings to adjust blade cutting height, have each level denote the actual cutting height (ie... 1", 1.5", 2", 2.5", 3", 3.5", 4", and 4.5").
"
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
joebob
Location:Searcy, AR, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:June 8, 2014
very good purchase
"This was very easy to put together. Easy to start and use. Love the self-propelled."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Partlino
Location:Brunswick, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:June 8, 2014
Great lawnmower
"I am well into my second season with this lawnmower and I could not be more satisfied with its performance. I starts 95% of the time on the first pull, and never more than 2, even after sitting idle all winter.
The cut is amazing. There was a definite improvement in the appearance of my lawn after a few cuts when compared to my old mower. Also, this machine moves fairly quickly if you want it to, so I cut the lawn faster than before.
I usually use it in the mulcher configuration, but when I do decide to bag, it switches over easily with no fuss.
Overall, this is a great machine, especially at its price."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Produceman
Location:Winter Haven, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2014
Fantastic
"My old mower died in December 2012, and went right out an got this new mower. Shelf propelled and varible speed. Not know that a month later, I would have health issues. January 5, 2013, I ended up in the hospital, with a valve replacement and a single bypass. My home is on a half acre lot with a slight grade. Five weeks after getting home, I was out mowing my lawn. So happy to have made this purchase. My neighbors wanted to mow, and I told them I need my exercise. Thank you Troybilt."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jj123
Location:Oklahoma, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2014
not
"Difficult to start. Just acquired. Doesn't pull well on uneven ground or going up a hill. Hard to maneuver in small spaces, wish I had stayed with my other smaller mower."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JackF
Location:Crowley, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2014
Best Self-Propelled Lawn Mower I have ever owned
"This is a great lawn mower . It was easy to set up,It came with a great reputation and it surpassed it. It is light weight and moves over the yard with ease, and that is without using the self-propelled drive.Those large wheels make a big difference in the ease of opperation.It was easy to start , just one pull that is all it takes .The only thing i would like to see is an oil plug on the botttom of the mower. (I have seen this on some of my other mowers in the past as well) This mower is a great buy , I am 57 and have owned a lot of different mowers, this is the best"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrLawnBoy
Location:Arlington, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2014
TB230
"This mower was purchased in May 2012 and has performed great. It starts on the first pull 99% of the time. Could not for any better performance."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kozmo
Location:Billerica, Massachusetts
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2014
Best Mower I Ever Purchased
"This is the second TB230 I bought since the experience of buying and using one in SW Florida convinced me to replace an existing mower in the North with a TB230. I also own a 35 year old Troy-Bilt tiller which speaks for itself in long life.
This mower has 'wowed' me from the 1st day of use. Quiet, smooth operation with a nice variable speed control and deck cleaner to keep it like new.
The only thing I'd like to see improved on (and I miss) is a folding handle...I like to fold the handle so I can put in my truck and take for service when needed. Also there's a small degree of difficulty taking off and putting on the rear bagger. It's a little tricky to insert the bag catch on the mower frame. I know I'll get use to it in time, but...
Thank you for a great mower!
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GB54
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (131 Reviews)
Date:May 26, 2014
lawn mower
"so good,so far.starts up everytime on the first pull."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>