Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower

21 TriAction Cutting System with 3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag
Average Customer Rating:
4.116 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (172 reviews)
5 stars
94
4 stars
41
3 stars
16
2 stars
5
1 star
16
82%138 of 169reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Review 1 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bluubuddah
Location:Brooklyn, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2016
so far so good
"Used it only 2 times so far, seems to start easy and has plenty of power"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Upsetting
Location:Anderson Island, Washington 98303, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:March 15, 2016
Test before buy a TB230 mower
"Worst mower I've ever had. Practically get a hernia every time I mow. Catcher is poorly designed; drags on the ground and difficult to carry. I had to cut the rubber flap off the back so I could pull the mower backward without pulling my arms out of their sockets. It's like mowing with a cement block. The front wheel drive digs into the grass. The blade was dull when I bought it new and it went downhill from there. Can't adjust the handle upward so I'm bending over at an odd angle all the time while mowing. Totally exhausting job to mow even a small area of lawn. Very poor mower. Starts easily though."
-17points
4out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BillT
Location:Poquoson, va
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:March 8, 2016
Seems very good
"only had the opportunity to use it a few times so far. Works well. Only comment is the wheels are hard and sometimes make tracks when the ground id somewhat muddy"
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1Flordia
Location:Fort Myers, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:10
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:October 18, 2015
Start and restart
"This mower is so easy to start and also hot start. Saves time and energy through out the job."
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mmmm
Location:Kentucky, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:October 1, 2015
easy to mow with
"this product is easy to use. also starts good. also mows good"
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
12ga
Location:Northern, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2015
Mulching
"Superb mulching. Easy handling. Good price. A bit difficult to install catcher bag."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Busyguy97
Location:ar
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:August 22, 2015
Review
"My old lawnmower came from walmart, heavy, low power, slow self propelled speed, used alot of gas.
My new Troybuilt TB230, light, powerfull, has speed control, can cut as fast as I can walk, cuts heavy deep grass wihout any problems, dosen't use alot of gas.
It's also quiet don't need to use phones.
"
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coltsfan
Location:indianapolis, IN
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:August 13, 2015
Excellent mower
"I purchased this mower 5 weeks ago and so far it has been the best mower I've ever owned. It is very easy to start, usually on the first pull. I love that this mower is self propelled. It makes mowing so much easier!"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shermanator
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:August 13, 2015
Troy Bilt Self-Propelled Mower
"I would recommend this product to anyone. With it being self-propelled it makes mowing the lawn less exhausting.
this is not the only Troy Bilt product I own and it won't be the last.
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paul2640
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:July 30, 2015
Mowers
"good dependable and user friendly. I would recommend this line to any and all friends and family members."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Herman
Location:Wooster, OH 44691, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:July 23, 2015
Best buy
"I spent many hours on the web. researching mowers in this price class. I purchased the TB 230 from Tignor's Home Town Do It Best Hardware here in Wooster, Ohio. I am 67 years old and this is the best bagging mower I have ever owned. The 190cc Briggs&Stratton is quiet, starts easy and has more power than you will ever need and is very economical on fuel. I gave it a 5 in durability in good faith; as the service videos on You Tube are great. I would recommend using 90 octane no alcohol fuel. and changing the oil at least twice a year. I have ordered accessories from MTD receiving prompt and polite service."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Garbage
Location:Greenville, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:July 20, 2015
Don't waste your money
"I've had the displeasure of owning 2 of these lawn mowers. The first one wouldn't start after 3 months of ownership. Lowes replaced for free with the same model. Now, the second one is doing the exact same thing. Based on all other reviews on the net it's clearly a known issue. This is the absolute last Troy bilt product I will own. I'd rather rebuild a 20 year old lawnmower. They lasted longer."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jaye
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:July 19, 2015
TOTAL FRUSTRATION!!
"This has all the potential of being a great lawnmower...that's why I bought it. BUT...I used it for the first time yesterday. It worked great for the first 10 minutes. Then for no good reason, it stopped self-propelling. I adjusted everything the manual said to do and it STILL wouldn't work! I had to finish mowing the rest of my yard (in 98 degree heat!) pushing it manually. What a pain especially for a 71 year old senior citizen! I went back to Lowe's (where I purchased it) and told them what had happened. They will let me return the mower and exchange it for a new one...as soon as I can find someone with a truck to help me take it back! I'm not sure I want the same one again because of its poor performance. Plus, the bag is a pain to attach and remove...dumps grass all over and only fills maybe 1/2 before sluggish. Very disappointed."
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
troublemanjoe
Location:Lake Tahoe, United States
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:July 17, 2015
mostly good
"the first time I used it I cut my front lawn and it worked great. I shut it off and moved to the back lawn and it wouldn't start. I pulled off the air cleaner and found the choke was completely closed. I live at 6200' in the thin air a closed choke is not good. I opened it and it started right up. I haven't had this happen since but it does sputter for a second or two but then starts in one or two pulls. One other issue I don't like is the basket design. It can not be removed without spilling a handful of clippings on the ground. It has to many nooks and pockets that catch clippings and can't be cleaned out until the basket is removed and it ends up on the ground."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jrom
Location:Palm Coast, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:July 10, 2015
My second Troy-Bilt mower
"This is my second Troy-Bilt mower. The first one is still going strong but for medical reasons I had to get a self-propelled mower. The mower is a quality product. The Briggs and Stratton engine starts on the first pull and is easy to use. It doesn't bog down when you hit a little heavy grass and works well in all 3 modes (side discharge, recycle and rear bagger). The deck cleaning port is a great addition. After cutting the grass, just hook up a hose and in a couple of minutes the under deck area is clean. No more tipping it up to flush the deck. I only wish that it had a more aggressive tread on the drive wheels as they seem to spin when the grass is a little wet. I probably should have purchased the rear wheel drive mower. Otherwise, it is an excellent mower and a good value for the money."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tyson
Location:Kelso, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:July 3, 2015
Very Impressed
"Great performance, durable, Easy to use, and fast speed! This is a great mower!"
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EricYing
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
Good So Far
"Engine and handling is a dream. I'm not totally sure about the long term durability as the plastic leaves me a little wary."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOODIE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:June 11, 2015
LAWN MOWER
"IT MAKES A LOAD RATTLE NOISE WHEN IN USE.
NOT SURE WHAT THAT IS?
"
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alphalawn
Location:North Florida
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:June 7, 2015
Sweet mower!
"Like everything I purchase, I shopped in person and on-line extensively! This mower has everything I needed at a very reasonable price. Other mowers have little gimmicks that they charge more for, but I wanted a good straight forward machine.
And boy, did I get it! Assembled in about 10 minutes, added the oil that it came with, poured in some gas, and gave it one half-hearted tug......It started right up! I shut it off after about a minute. My wife came out because she heard it running and I had her give it a try. She barely pulled the rope......And it started right up for her! I will only use this for a trim mower, because I use my rider, but this day, I mowed the whole 1.25 acres with this guy, and was still smiling when I got done. It is very easy to use, and cuts beautifully! I connected the clean-out hose to wash the under-deck, hosed off the top, and put it in the garage,
I love this mower! Even my wife thinks it's cool!
A Troy-Built mower with a Briggs.......How can you lose?
"
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Airhorn7
Location:Ms
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (172 Reviews)
Date:May 28, 2015
Good mower
"It's only a couple of months old, but it does my yard perfectly. One pull to start and it handles the grass without choking."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>