Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower

3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag Lawn Mower
Average Customer Rating:
4.103 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
30
3 stars
15
2 stars
3
1 star
11
80%101 of 126reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Review 1 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gman110
Location:Logansport, LA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:July 18, 2014
TB 230 nice mower
"Started on first pull, Cuts great.,Like The new Deck washing
Wheel easy to set .
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Col803
Location:Columbia, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:June 28, 2014
Never starts
"I bought this mower and thought that it was going to be great. WRONG!!!!! Being that it was a Troybilt I couldn't go wrong. Since I have own this mower (Bought brand new). Cutting my lawn has been a nightmare. This mower will never start. I changed the oil, new spark plug and still nothing. You can pull on the cord long as you want and nada. I will never invest in a Troybilt again and you can take that to the bank. Waste of money."
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ramig972
Location:Sammamish, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:June 27, 2014
TBS230
"not strong enough, can handle high grass, not push itself in 40 dgree slope, sharp edges makes lifting it up a problem, my son tilted in on the side and smoke is coming out from oil burning
What is your USDA gardening zone? no idea"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
flyguy
Location:Jacksonville, AR, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:June 23, 2014
Very good machine
"My FWD mower has worked very satisfactorily for several years.
It has always started on the first gentle pull except when starting up the first time after winter. The large rear wheels are good at floating over any ruts which makes the mowing much easier. The FWD is variable which make the mower easy to follow by any one using the mower. A good purchase.
"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jimbus
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:June 23, 2014
good mower, bad engine
"I have owned this mower for under 3 months and have not been able to cut my complete yard at one time due to stalling, failure to restart, low power. Now the mower will only run for 3-4 minutes before stalling and I am taking it in for service. The 21 yr old mower this replaced never failed to start or perform and was replaced only because I wanted a self propelled mower. Big mistake!"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorrie
Location:Northbridge, MA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:June 16, 2014
Model TB230 TroyBilt Mower
"I just purchased the TB230 mower. I'm a female senior citizen and when I got the lawnmower home I put it together in 1/2 hr. I knew the real test was going to be pulling the rope to start the engine. I pulled it one time and it started immediately. I was truly shocked because it was so easy. I then cut some of my grass and it cuts fantastic. I'm 100% satisfied with my purchase ."
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KaiserSoze
Location:North Alabama
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:June 10, 2014
First time purchase of a gas mower
"the mower tends to do what i've asked it to do. we use it in concert with a riding lawnmower for hilly terrain. so far, i have no issues. as an engineer in my own right i do have some possible improvements that can be made for a future model:
1. using the new EPA-rated gas containers, attempting to refuel this mower can be difficult to not overfill it with the shallow reservoir.
2. over time it can be tire ones hands to keep the handle compressed and on. possibly a padded handle could relieve some of the hand pain.
3. instead of having several settings to adjust blade cutting height, have each level denote the actual cutting height (ie... 1", 1.5", 2", 2.5", 3", 3.5", 4", and 4.5").
"
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
joebob
Location:Searcy, AR, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:June 8, 2014
very good purchase
"This was very easy to put together. Easy to start and use. Love the self-propelled."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Partlino
Location:Brunswick, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:June 8, 2014
Great lawnmower
"I am well into my second season with this lawnmower and I could not be more satisfied with its performance. I starts 95% of the time on the first pull, and never more than 2, even after sitting idle all winter.
The cut is amazing. There was a definite improvement in the appearance of my lawn after a few cuts when compared to my old mower. Also, this machine moves fairly quickly if you want it to, so I cut the lawn faster than before.
I usually use it in the mulcher configuration, but when I do decide to bag, it switches over easily with no fuss.
Overall, this is a great machine, especially at its price."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Produceman
Location:Winter Haven, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2014
Fantastic
"My old mower died in December 2012, and went right out an got this new mower. Shelf propelled and varible speed. Not know that a month later, I would have health issues. January 5, 2013, I ended up in the hospital, with a valve replacement and a single bypass. My home is on a half acre lot with a slight grade. Five weeks after getting home, I was out mowing my lawn. So happy to have made this purchase. My neighbors wanted to mow, and I told them I need my exercise. Thank you Troybilt."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jj123
Location:Oklahoma, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2014
not
"Difficult to start. Just acquired. Doesn't pull well on uneven ground or going up a hill. Hard to maneuver in small spaces, wish I had stayed with my other smaller mower."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JackF
Location:Crowley, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2014
Best Self-Propelled Lawn Mower I have ever owned
"This is a great lawn mower . It was easy to set up,It came with a great reputation and it surpassed it. It is light weight and moves over the yard with ease, and that is without using the self-propelled drive.Those large wheels make a big difference in the ease of opperation.It was easy to start , just one pull that is all it takes .The only thing i would like to see is an oil plug on the botttom of the mower. (I have seen this on some of my other mowers in the past as well) This mower is a great buy , I am 57 and have owned a lot of different mowers, this is the best"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrLawnBoy
Location:Arlington, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2014
TB230
"This mower was purchased in May 2012 and has performed great. It starts on the first pull 99% of the time. Could not for any better performance."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kozmo
Location:Billerica, Massachusetts
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2014
Best Mower I Ever Purchased
"This is the second TB230 I bought since the experience of buying and using one in SW Florida convinced me to replace an existing mower in the North with a TB230. I also own a 35 year old Troy-Bilt tiller which speaks for itself in long life.
This mower has 'wowed' me from the 1st day of use. Quiet, smooth operation with a nice variable speed control and deck cleaner to keep it like new.
The only thing I'd like to see improved on (and I miss) is a folding handle...I like to fold the handle so I can put in my truck and take for service when needed. Also there's a small degree of difficulty taking off and putting on the rear bagger. It's a little tricky to insert the bag catch on the mower frame. I know I'll get use to it in time, but...
Thank you for a great mower!
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GB54
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:May 26, 2014
lawn mower
"so good,so far.starts up everytime on the first pull."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Guvnor52
Location:Kissimmee, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:May 25, 2014
You gotta get one of these!
"After we got ours home and got everything assembled(which was hardly anything at all), we were ready to start her up and go to town on our lawn(It really needed it!)! As soon as I pulled the starting cord, it roared to life on the first pull! Wow! What power! I then pulled the throttle back and off she went like a charm! My grass was at least 6 inches high. No problem for the TB230! Not only did she make short work of the tall grass, but mulched it like yesterdays news! I was impressed! Didn't need to use the bag attachment at all. It took me just over an hour to do both front and back! The ease of the mower on turns and the power of the front wheel drive makes going up hill a breeze. This is the best mower I have owned in years! I highly recommend this mower for anyone who needs a good assist in high grasses and uphill mowing! TROY BILT got it right!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doggone1
Location:New Mexico, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2014
Great Lawnmower!
"Purchased this mower and am very happy with it. It starts an the first pull and cuts my lawn perfectly. I did look at other brands and felt for the money this was a good lawnmower. You can pay a lot more but this machine does a fine job!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Joe1
Location:Maryland
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2014
Epic Fail! Engine wont start
"Used for 1 summer, not even a year since purchased and unit wont start unless you spray starting fluid in then cuts off immediately. Problem with carb, no excuse... Dont buy this brand"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AwesomeC
Location:Lancaster, OH 43130, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2014
Haven't had for long, but so far, so good
"I have only used this mower one time, definitely lighter than the last mower we had, my husband and son have mowed with it each once and both said they liked it a lot. I am an older female and my right hand was aching after using it for awhile from having to pull the lever back but maybe after using it awhile that won't happen. My husband and son said they didn't have any problems so it's just probably me. Like I said, so far so good but time will tell."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GeezerMojo
Location:Nicholasville, KY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (126 Reviews)
Date:May 5, 2014
Difficult to start
"I've not had the results that others report here. It takes 4-5 pulls to get a sputtering/dying response, then another 4-5 pulls to get a running engine. Runs OK after that. I wish I had taken it back within return policy timeframe, but I kept thinking it would get better. Not a good mower for me."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>