Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower

21 TriAction Cutting System with 3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag
Average Customer Rating:
4.114 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (149 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
35
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 star
13
81%120 of 149reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Review 1 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveler
Location:Tampa, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:April 23, 2015
Great Mower for a senior citizen
"This mower started on the first pull, every time. It is relatively light weight, with a variable speed self-propelled feature. The larger rear wheels make it easy to maneuver around structures. It has the feature of 3 ways to handle the cuttings - rear bag, side discharge or mulching mode.
It is economical on gas but has the power to cut cleanly,
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mohsin
Location:Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:March 22, 2015
Won't start after coming out of storage
"I bought this mower in mid August 2014. I used it till maybe second week of November and then stored it away in my garage. Now when I try to start it for the first time in 2015 (March 21) it does not start. Completely unacceptable for this pricy lawn mower. This is my second lawn mower and my first mower was a beast and lasted for 10 years. I should have stuck with my previous lawn mower brand which was in the same price range.
Mower was less than a year old when it came out of storage. I had to send it back to manufacturer to have it fixed. Haven't received it back yet. I hope I don't have to bite the bullet and purchase a new mower. If I do have to buy a new one it will most definitely NOT be a TB."
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
StonyB
Location:Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:March 18, 2015
A Fail
"I bought this mower in September 2013 to cut my yard of about 2000 square feet. I used it twice in 2013 and 3 times in the the spring of 2014 then it would not start. It turned out to be something wrong in the carburetor. Then I used it maybe 5 more times in 2014 and stored it with non ethanol gas with Stabil. Now I got it out and it started on the second pull and I got half way through my yard and it just quit. Not a happy camper. I expect some reliability and now this virtually new machine has let me down twice."
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elvisboy
Location:North Carolina, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:December 25, 2014
Great mower
"Easy to use, good controls. Nice height adjustment and great drive system"
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Duckman
Location:Connecticut, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:December 11, 2014
Very good mower
"I have had this mower for 1 & 1/2 mowing seasons. I use it to mow where my lawn tractor can not, which is only about 2,500 square feet, or .06 acres, per mowing, so it is still a little early to comment on durability, but so far, this is the best lawn mower I have owned (I have owned a house since 1968).
I bought it because of the combination of features and lower price compared to competitors. This mower has not disappointed. I like the front wheel drive because it is easy to tilt back so the wheels do not dig in at corners and around fences. You can also simply release the drive lever to use the mower as a push mower in tight corners. It is variable speed, and the variable speed range is adjustable so you can adjust to a walking speed range within your own comfort zone.
The mower needs no priming or any choke adjustment to start, and typically starts on the 1st try. I use the bag attachment, which works well, so I can not comment on the side discharge performance, but I do not see anything that makes me think that the side discharge would not work as it should.
I rated the mower a 4 star instead of a 5 because of the following two reasons: 1) When changing oil at season end, I have to wait several minutes after adding new oil to be able to get an accurate reading because the oil tends to stay on the sides of the dip stick longer than most mowers rather than settling at the bottom sooner; 2) The mower is a little on the heavy side which makes it a minor nuisance pulling it up a couple of stairs to mow around my in-ground pool. Note, however, that this is the first wheel drive mower I have owned, so I can not comment on its weight compared to other drive mowers (this mower may be lighter than its competitors).
I would have rated the mower a 4.5 if half stars were an option. I read other reviews. I pay particular attention to the low ratings to identify recurring problems that may make me decide to pass on a model, but the low ratings were few in number and I have not encountered any of the problems mentioned in those ratings. So far, I am very pleased with this mower."
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigGus
Location:Mooresville, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:November 13, 2014
Great mower (so far)
"I have mowed three times and find the mower easy to start, cut and mulches well. I will wait to rate durability."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoeSmooth1
Location:Jeffersonville, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:November 8, 2014
Best Self Propelled Mower Ever
"The installation was a breeze. I used the whole bottle of oil as instructed, filled it up with gas and was on my way. The propelled feature is awesome. My yard has no clumps of grass and I got finished a lot sooner than ever. It moves fast and the tires create great deep lines which is want I wanted. The engine runs fairly quiet and its not as heavy as other self propelled models I used in the past. The big rear wheel allows for easy turning which is a great feature. Overall, a smart choice and a great price for a great mower that will last along time!"
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wlake
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:November 7, 2014
Very Satisfied
"After a full season of use I am very satisfied with the TB230. Starts easily, handles easily, and cuts great."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaKN
Location:Boise Idaho area
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:October 28, 2014
Good buy
"Good mower. Bought it this summer and it has done well. no Issues."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BBeck1968
Location:Monroe City, MO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:October 24, 2014
So far, so good
"I've used this mower a couple times now and it has done a great job. The only issue I forsee with it is that there is a lot of plastic components. We will see how they hold up."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Troybiltme
Location:Saint Paul, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:October 16, 2014
reliable mower
"This mower is , so far, a very good starter. NEVER takes more than two easy pulls to start. Rear bagger is a little small- so when picking up leaves, it fills up fast . I usually mulch so it is only an issue in the fall. Mower is light weight too so do not always need the self propell feature. When I do need it, it works well"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Jett
Location:Wi
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:September 25, 2014
Great machine
"I bought this 3 days ago, but I am returning, not because of poor quality, but felt at my age it was heavy when lifting to turn. Only complaint I had, and that is not bad"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Flowersrus
Location:Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:September 25, 2014
I am satisfied
"This mower has an adequate amount of power; it cuts high grass easily. My only complaint is that the mower begins to bog down before the grass catcher is full. Overall I am satisfied with the mower's performance."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GilC
Location:Roanoke, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:September 23, 2014
Simple and Affordable
"I needed something to mow the lawn. I had a regular push mower and I still use it for certain areas, but, for most of my lawn I use my new Self Propelled model and just love the idea of and adjustable throttle, then I can adjust the speed to my walking. As I need to mow the lawn, but, I am not in the best condition, allowing me to 'pick' my own speed, I can mow the lawn safely."
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tomtoys
Location:Bisbee, AZ 85603, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:September 21, 2014
Top of the line for top of the line users
"If you treat this mower right, it will keep your yard looking great. Keep filters clean, empty bag, keep fluids topped off, and this mower will start with one pull. This is a great mower, but like a Jaguar or Cobra you have to treat it right."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
babs2972
Location:New Hampshire, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:September 15, 2014
Used 4 times
"If this mower would work it just might be good. I have used this mower 4 times and it runs like junk. When i do get it started it smokes like crazy until its warm. The only thing good I have to say about this mower is the height adjustment is nice and the adjustable handle height is nice. It will not fill the bag more than 1/3 of the way and then you have to stop and empty it which stinks because you have to fight to get it started again! Wont be buying troy bilt anymore"
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OldLar
Location:Palm Bay, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:3
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2014
Highest cut
"The mower starts quickly. The highest setting for cutting scalps my Florida lawn. The front wheel drive does not pull the mower. I need to lift up on the handle to get the mower to move. If I run into any tall grass (over 4 inches) the mower's side chute clogs.
I believe this lawn mower would be good for cutting golf course putting greens but not a normal lawn."
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bruce412
Location:Apopka, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2014
Very dependable
"I did have a hard start problem but fixed it. I was getting trash in my fuel that ended up in the float bowl and clogged the carb. I cleaned the gas tank and installed a in line fuel filter. Problem solved. This mower is very dependable and cuts my yard which is comprised of Saint Augustine and Bahaia grass. It cuts and I walk next to the mower. Plenty of power and bagging is easy. love this machine."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShawnB
Location:Jackson
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2014
Great product, easy to use, good price
"Got this as my first mower in our new house. Very happy with it. it's rugged, easy to use, and gets the job done. Only issue is that I wish it came with a better mulching blade. I live in the south and the grass grows fast in the summer. I can't mow it every week, and a two week grow ends up not being mulched well. but overall, the mower is fantastic, especially for the price."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dancer
Location:Horseheads, NY, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (149 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2014
Love this mower!
"I am so pleased with this mower - it is exceedingly easy to start and I especially like the deck washer!"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>