Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower

21 TriAction Cutting System with 3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag
Average Customer Rating:
4.073 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (179 reviews)
5 stars
94
4 stars
44
3 stars
18
2 stars
6
1 star
17
82%138 of 169reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Review 1 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Danimaltractorman
Location:League City , TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:9
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:June 30, 2016
Great Mower , bad clipping exhaust chute design
"This is the best mower I have ever had, the issue is I rarely use it as a mulching mower, living in the gulf cost in Texas, the St Augustine grass grows so fast in the summer, I have to exhaust the clippings.
The plastic exhaust on the hinge is a poor connection design being tucked under a hinge with plastic hooks that break and constantly fall off when bumped. Troybillt should make a metal exhaust that has a two position setting, mulch or exhaust."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rabbott5
Location:Peru, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:June 24, 2016
Almost Perfect
"I decided it was time to replace my 20 year old push mower. Nothing wrong with it, the kids bought their first house and I donated it.
After reading reviews and comparing in store/price. I decided on the TB230. Assembly was straight forward and easy. Nothing broke, dented or missing. Added supplied oil and fresh gas. First pull and it started. Front wheel drive is easy to use and doesn't tear up the ground in corners. Just lift the front wheel slightly, just like my old mower. I have used all three methods of cutting. Side discharge, mulch and bagging. I've never bagged before. All work well and I enjoy bagging. Adds a few minutes, but the wife appreciates less grass dragged into the house. I like the hose attachment to clean the deck, it does a nice job. My yard is probably 1/8 of an acre and I usually mow twice a week.
I would rate this mower higher, except for one thing. The handle on the bag tore loose on one side the second time I used it. I misplaced the original receipt and customer service advised I needed it for a warranty claim. I lost it, so I except partial fault.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yaku
Location:ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:June 15, 2016
nice mower
"This is my second self propelled 21" high wheel Troy-Bilt. The previous model, about ten years old, had a bar to engage the drive mechanism. I prefer the older models bar as opposed to the current handle type because it gave me flexibility to change my hands as needed."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Red7man
Location:Brockport, NY 14420, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:May 29, 2016
TB230
"Then is running it is good but the engine is shut off when you are mower . I had fixed by shop, it run a few. days and still have the same problem . What is go on with mower ?"
-10points
2out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TrilobiteBill
Location:Kennesaw, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:May 26, 2016
Marginally satisfied; problem with front drive
"Opted for this model over others slightly more costly and now not sure that spending a bit more would have been better idea. WIthin 2 months of use a bolt and pin came loose in the housing of the front right drive wheel causing wheels to lock up. Rather than incur shop repair cost, I took a chance and removed the wheel and the loose parts fell out. Replaced the bolt but could not figure out where the pin went, so I left it out. It's again working but the right wheel turns slower than the left."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wahoo
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:May 16, 2016
TB230
"1. Very disappointed with the mulching feature. Mower was marketed as a mulcher but did not have a mulching blade installed. It leaves me with large clumps in yard after mowing that I must either rake or go over a second time.
2. Gas cap vibrates loose and causes fuel spillage. At least the exhaust system is located on the opposite side of mower.
"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
skiprope
Location:Flowery Branch, GA, USA
Gender:Male
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:May 6, 2016
DISSAPOINTED
"Used one year, would not start. now running poorly. now in shop. wheels not marked for leveling. waste of money so far"
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bluubuddah
Location:Brooklyn, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2016
so far so good
"Used it only 2 times so far, seems to start easy and has plenty of power"
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Upsetting
Location:Anderson Island, Washington 98303, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:March 15, 2016
Test before buy a TB230 mower
"Worst mower I've ever had. Practically get a hernia every time I mow. Catcher is poorly designed; drags on the ground and difficult to carry. I had to cut the rubber flap off the back so I could pull the mower backward without pulling my arms out of their sockets. It's like mowing with a cement block. The front wheel drive digs into the grass. The blade was dull when I bought it new and it went downhill from there. Can't adjust the handle upward so I'm bending over at an odd angle all the time while mowing. Totally exhausting job to mow even a small area of lawn. Very poor mower. Starts easily though."
-17points
6out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BillT
Location:Poquoson, va
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:March 8, 2016
Seems very good
"only had the opportunity to use it a few times so far. Works well. Only comment is the wheels are hard and sometimes make tracks when the ground id somewhat muddy"
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1Flordia
Location:Fort Myers, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:10
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:October 18, 2015
Start and restart
"This mower is so easy to start and also hot start. Saves time and energy through out the job."
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mmmm
Location:Kentucky, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:October 1, 2015
easy to mow with
"this product is easy to use. also starts good. also mows good"
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
12ga
Location:Northern, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2015
Mulching
"Superb mulching. Easy handling. Good price. A bit difficult to install catcher bag."
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Busyguy97
Location:ar
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:August 22, 2015
Review
"My old lawnmower came from walmart, heavy, low power, slow self propelled speed, used alot of gas.
My new Troybuilt TB230, light, powerfull, has speed control, can cut as fast as I can walk, cuts heavy deep grass wihout any problems, dosen't use alot of gas.
It's also quiet don't need to use phones.
"
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coltsfan
Location:indianapolis, IN
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:August 13, 2015
Excellent mower
"I purchased this mower 5 weeks ago and so far it has been the best mower I've ever owned. It is very easy to start, usually on the first pull. I love that this mower is self propelled. It makes mowing so much easier!"
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shermanator
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:August 13, 2015
Troy Bilt Self-Propelled Mower
"I would recommend this product to anyone. With it being self-propelled it makes mowing the lawn less exhausting.
this is not the only Troy Bilt product I own and it won't be the last.
"
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paul2640
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:July 30, 2015
Mowers
"good dependable and user friendly. I would recommend this line to any and all friends and family members."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Herman
Location:Wooster, OH 44691, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:July 23, 2015
Best buy
"I spent many hours on the web. researching mowers in this price class. I purchased the TB 230 from Tignor's Home Town Do It Best Hardware here in Wooster, Ohio. I am 67 years old and this is the best bagging mower I have ever owned. The 190cc Briggs&Stratton is quiet, starts easy and has more power than you will ever need and is very economical on fuel. I gave it a 5 in durability in good faith; as the service videos on You Tube are great. I would recommend using 90 octane no alcohol fuel. and changing the oil at least twice a year. I have ordered accessories from MTD receiving prompt and polite service."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Garbage
Location:Greenville, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:July 20, 2015
Don't waste your money
"I've had the displeasure of owning 2 of these lawn mowers. The first one wouldn't start after 3 months of ownership. Lowes replaced for free with the same model. Now, the second one is doing the exact same thing. Based on all other reviews on the net it's clearly a known issue. This is the absolute last Troy bilt product I will own. I'd rather rebuild a 20 year old lawnmower. They lasted longer."
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jaye
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (179 Reviews)
Date:July 19, 2015
TOTAL FRUSTRATION!!
"This has all the potential of being a great lawnmower...that's why I bought it. BUT...I used it for the first time yesterday. It worked great for the first 10 minutes. Then for no good reason, it stopped self-propelling. I adjusted everything the manual said to do and it STILL wouldn't work! I had to finish mowing the rest of my yard (in 98 degree heat!) pushing it manually. What a pain especially for a 71 year old senior citizen! I went back to Lowe's (where I purchased it) and told them what had happened. They will let me return the mower and exchange it for a new one...as soon as I can find someone with a truck to help me take it back! I'm not sure I want the same one again because of its poor performance. Plus, the bag is a pain to attach and remove...dumps grass all over and only fills maybe 1/2 before sluggish. Very disappointed."
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>