Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower

21 TriAction Cutting System with 3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag
Average Customer Rating:
4.135 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (156 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
38
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 star
13
81%127 of 156reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Review 1 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EricYing
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
Good So Far
"Engine and handling is a dream. I'm not totally sure about the long term durability as the plastic leaves me a little wary."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOODIE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:June 11, 2015
LAWN MOWER
"IT MAKES A LOAD RATTLE NOISE WHEN IN USE.
NOT SURE WHAT THAT IS?
"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alphalawn
Location:North Florida
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:June 7, 2015
Sweet mower!
"Like everything I purchase, I shopped in person and on-line extensively! This mower has everything I needed at a very reasonable price. Other mowers have little gimmicks that they charge more for, but I wanted a good straight forward machine.
And boy, did I get it! Assembled in about 10 minutes, added the oil that it came with, poured in some gas, and gave it one half-hearted tug......It started right up! I shut it off after about a minute. My wife came out because she heard it running and I had her give it a try. She barely pulled the rope......And it started right up for her! I will only use this for a trim mower, because I use my rider, but this day, I mowed the whole 1.25 acres with this guy, and was still smiling when I got done. It is very easy to use, and cuts beautifully! I connected the clean-out hose to wash the under-deck, hosed off the top, and put it in the garage,
I love this mower! Even my wife thinks it's cool!
A Troy-Built mower with a Briggs.......How can you lose?
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Airhorn7
Location:Ms
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:May 28, 2015
Good mower
"It's only a couple of months old, but it does my yard perfectly. One pull to start and it handles the grass without choking."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Casey4S
Location:North Port Florida
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2015
TB230 great performing replacement mower
"I bought this mower at Lowe's in September of 2012 to replace the TB 210 I still owned. (I donated the 210 to a friend) Just like the TB 210 this starts on the first pull every time. The mowing season in this part of Florida is about 8 months of the year. Every week I cut my yard and several vacant lots next to me for a total of about 1.5 to 2 acres total. I never use the bag but the mulch and discharge functions work as intended. I was a bit skeptical at first about a motor with no choke or throttle but it works great and starts perfectly every time. The wheel adjustment is simple and useful and the overall construction seems solid with a good choice of materials.
I only need to store the mower for about 3 months in the Winter, but I put in fresh gas, change the oil and spark plug each Spring just for good measure.
I have several Troy-Bilt products and have had consistent good luck with quality and performance with all of the products. I think that the price point is excellent and would easily recommend Troy-Built mowers and other products to anyone."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cartrain
Location:Vancouver, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2015
Seem good so far
"I can't give an excellent review until I've had the mower at least one season."
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PackMan97
Location:Raleigh, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2015
Self Cleaning Workhorse
"This is the little mower that could. I currently mow a 1.2 acre lawn with this mower that is mostly weeds. All sorts of gnarly fast growing weeds and this guy gets the job done. With the hose bib in the deck, cleanup is a cinch. Fuel economy is great, it can get the job done on less than two tanks. The front wheel drive is great for having to turn. The best part of this mower is how compact it is when you fold down the handles. It will actually fit in the trunk of my 2003 Toyota Corolla with room to spare! I"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveler
Location:Tampa, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:April 23, 2015
Great Mower for a senior citizen
"This mower started on the first pull, every time. It is relatively light weight, with a variable speed self-propelled feature. The larger rear wheels make it easy to maneuver around structures. It has the feature of 3 ways to handle the cuttings - rear bag, side discharge or mulching mode.
It is economical on gas but has the power to cut cleanly,
"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mohsin
Location:Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:March 22, 2015
Won't start after coming out of storage
"I bought this mower in mid August 2014. I used it till maybe second week of November and then stored it away in my garage. Now when I try to start it for the first time in 2015 (March 21) it does not start. Completely unacceptable for this pricy lawn mower. This is my second lawn mower and my first mower was a beast and lasted for 10 years. I should have stuck with my previous lawn mower brand which was in the same price range.
Mower was less than a year old when it came out of storage. I had to send it back to manufacturer to have it fixed. Haven't received it back yet. I hope I don't have to bite the bullet and purchase a new mower. If I do have to buy a new one it will most definitely NOT be a TB."
+5points
15out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
StonyB
Location:Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:March 18, 2015
A Fail
"I bought this mower in September 2013 to cut my yard of about 2000 square feet. I used it twice in 2013 and 3 times in the the spring of 2014 then it would not start. It turned out to be something wrong in the carburetor. Then I used it maybe 5 more times in 2014 and stored it with non ethanol gas with Stabil. Now I got it out and it started on the second pull and I got half way through my yard and it just quit. Not a happy camper. I expect some reliability and now this virtually new machine has let me down twice."
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elvisboy
Location:North Carolina, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:December 25, 2014
Great mower
"Easy to use, good controls. Nice height adjustment and great drive system"
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Duckman
Location:Connecticut, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:December 11, 2014
Very good mower
"I have had this mower for 1 & 1/2 mowing seasons. I use it to mow where my lawn tractor can not, which is only about 2,500 square feet, or .06 acres, per mowing, so it is still a little early to comment on durability, but so far, this is the best lawn mower I have owned (I have owned a house since 1968).
I bought it because of the combination of features and lower price compared to competitors. This mower has not disappointed. I like the front wheel drive because it is easy to tilt back so the wheels do not dig in at corners and around fences. You can also simply release the drive lever to use the mower as a push mower in tight corners. It is variable speed, and the variable speed range is adjustable so you can adjust to a walking speed range within your own comfort zone.
The mower needs no priming or any choke adjustment to start, and typically starts on the 1st try. I use the bag attachment, which works well, so I can not comment on the side discharge performance, but I do not see anything that makes me think that the side discharge would not work as it should.
I rated the mower a 4 star instead of a 5 because of the following two reasons: 1) When changing oil at season end, I have to wait several minutes after adding new oil to be able to get an accurate reading because the oil tends to stay on the sides of the dip stick longer than most mowers rather than settling at the bottom sooner; 2) The mower is a little on the heavy side which makes it a minor nuisance pulling it up a couple of stairs to mow around my in-ground pool. Note, however, that this is the first wheel drive mower I have owned, so I can not comment on its weight compared to other drive mowers (this mower may be lighter than its competitors).
I would have rated the mower a 4.5 if half stars were an option. I read other reviews. I pay particular attention to the low ratings to identify recurring problems that may make me decide to pass on a model, but the low ratings were few in number and I have not encountered any of the problems mentioned in those ratings. So far, I am very pleased with this mower."
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigGus
Location:Mooresville, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:November 13, 2014
Great mower (so far)
"I have mowed three times and find the mower easy to start, cut and mulches well. I will wait to rate durability."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoeSmooth1
Location:Jeffersonville, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:November 8, 2014
Best Self Propelled Mower Ever
"The installation was a breeze. I used the whole bottle of oil as instructed, filled it up with gas and was on my way. The propelled feature is awesome. My yard has no clumps of grass and I got finished a lot sooner than ever. It moves fast and the tires create great deep lines which is want I wanted. The engine runs fairly quiet and its not as heavy as other self propelled models I used in the past. The big rear wheel allows for easy turning which is a great feature. Overall, a smart choice and a great price for a great mower that will last along time!"
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wlake
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:November 7, 2014
Very Satisfied
"After a full season of use I am very satisfied with the TB230. Starts easily, handles easily, and cuts great."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaKN
Location:Boise Idaho area
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:October 28, 2014
Good buy
"Good mower. Bought it this summer and it has done well. no Issues."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BBeck1968
Location:Monroe City, MO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:October 24, 2014
So far, so good
"I've used this mower a couple times now and it has done a great job. The only issue I forsee with it is that there is a lot of plastic components. We will see how they hold up."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Troybiltme
Location:Saint Paul, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:October 16, 2014
reliable mower
"This mower is , so far, a very good starter. NEVER takes more than two easy pulls to start. Rear bagger is a little small- so when picking up leaves, it fills up fast . I usually mulch so it is only an issue in the fall. Mower is light weight too so do not always need the self propell feature. When I do need it, it works well"
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Jett
Location:Wi
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:September 25, 2014
Great machine
"I bought this 3 days ago, but I am returning, not because of poor quality, but felt at my age it was heavy when lifting to turn. Only complaint I had, and that is not bad"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Flowersrus
Location:Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (156 Reviews)
Date:September 25, 2014
I am satisfied
"This mower has an adequate amount of power; it cuts high grass easily. My only complaint is that the mower begins to bog down before the grass catcher is full. Overall I am satisfied with the mower's performance."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>