Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower

21 TriAction Cutting System with 3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag
Average Customer Rating:
4.138 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (167 reviews)
5 stars
93
4 stars
39
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 star
15
81%136 of 167reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Review 1 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
12ga
Location:Northern, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2015
Mulching
"Superb mulching. Easy handling. Good price. A bit difficult to install catcher bag."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Busyguy97
Location:ar
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:August 22, 2015
Review
"My old lawnmower came from walmart, heavy, low power, slow self propelled speed, used alot of gas.
My new Troybuilt TB230, light, powerfull, has speed control, can cut as fast as I can walk, cuts heavy deep grass wihout any problems, dosen't use alot of gas.
It's also quiet don't need to use phones.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coltsfan
Location:indianapolis, IN
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:August 13, 2015
Excellent mower
"I purchased this mower 5 weeks ago and so far it has been the best mower I've ever owned. It is very easy to start, usually on the first pull. I love that this mower is self propelled. It makes mowing so much easier!"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shermanator
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:August 13, 2015
Troy Bilt Self-Propelled Mower
"I would recommend this product to anyone. With it being self-propelled it makes mowing the lawn less exhausting.
this is not the only Troy Bilt product I own and it won't be the last.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paul2640
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:July 30, 2015
Mowers
"good dependable and user friendly. I would recommend this line to any and all friends and family members."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Herman
Location:Wooster, OH 44691, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:July 23, 2015
Best buy
"I spent many hours on the web. researching mowers in this price class. I purchased the TB 230 from Tignor's Home Town Do It Best Hardware here in Wooster, Ohio. I am 67 years old and this is the best bagging mower I have ever owned. The 190cc Briggs&Stratton is quiet, starts easy and has more power than you will ever need and is very economical on fuel. I gave it a 5 in durability in good faith; as the service videos on You Tube are great. I would recommend using 90 octane no alcohol fuel. and changing the oil at least twice a year. I have ordered accessories from MTD receiving prompt and polite service."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Garbage
Location:Greenville, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:July 20, 2015
Don't waste your money
"I've had the displeasure of owning 2 of these lawn mowers. The first one wouldn't start after 3 months of ownership. Lowes replaced for free with the same model. Now, the second one is doing the exact same thing. Based on all other reviews on the net it's clearly a known issue. This is the absolute last Troy bilt product I will own. I'd rather rebuild a 20 year old lawnmower. They lasted longer."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jaye
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:July 19, 2015
TOTAL FRUSTRATION!!
"This has all the potential of being a great lawnmower...that's why I bought it. BUT...I used it for the first time yesterday. It worked great for the first 10 minutes. Then for no good reason, it stopped self-propelling. I adjusted everything the manual said to do and it STILL wouldn't work! I had to finish mowing the rest of my yard (in 98 degree heat!) pushing it manually. What a pain especially for a 71 year old senior citizen! I went back to Lowe's (where I purchased it) and told them what had happened. They will let me return the mower and exchange it for a new one...as soon as I can find someone with a truck to help me take it back! I'm not sure I want the same one again because of its poor performance. Plus, the bag is a pain to attach and remove...dumps grass all over and only fills maybe 1/2 before sluggish. Very disappointed."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
troublemanjoe
Location:Lake Tahoe, United States
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:July 17, 2015
mostly good
"the first time I used it I cut my front lawn and it worked great. I shut it off and moved to the back lawn and it wouldn't start. I pulled off the air cleaner and found the choke was completely closed. I live at 6200' in the thin air a closed choke is not good. I opened it and it started right up. I haven't had this happen since but it does sputter for a second or two but then starts in one or two pulls. One other issue I don't like is the basket design. It can not be removed without spilling a handful of clippings on the ground. It has to many nooks and pockets that catch clippings and can't be cleaned out until the basket is removed and it ends up on the ground."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jrom
Location:Palm Coast, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:July 10, 2015
My second Troy-Bilt mower
"This is my second Troy-Bilt mower. The first one is still going strong but for medical reasons I had to get a self-propelled mower. The mower is a quality product. The Briggs and Stratton engine starts on the first pull and is easy to use. It doesn't bog down when you hit a little heavy grass and works well in all 3 modes (side discharge, recycle and rear bagger). The deck cleaning port is a great addition. After cutting the grass, just hook up a hose and in a couple of minutes the under deck area is clean. No more tipping it up to flush the deck. I only wish that it had a more aggressive tread on the drive wheels as they seem to spin when the grass is a little wet. I probably should have purchased the rear wheel drive mower. Otherwise, it is an excellent mower and a good value for the money."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tyson
Location:Kelso, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:July 3, 2015
Very Impressed
"Great performance, durable, Easy to use, and fast speed! This is a great mower!"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EricYing
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
Good So Far
"Engine and handling is a dream. I'm not totally sure about the long term durability as the plastic leaves me a little wary."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOODIE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:June 11, 2015
LAWN MOWER
"IT MAKES A LOAD RATTLE NOISE WHEN IN USE.
NOT SURE WHAT THAT IS?
"
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alphalawn
Location:North Florida
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:June 7, 2015
Sweet mower!
"Like everything I purchase, I shopped in person and on-line extensively! This mower has everything I needed at a very reasonable price. Other mowers have little gimmicks that they charge more for, but I wanted a good straight forward machine.
And boy, did I get it! Assembled in about 10 minutes, added the oil that it came with, poured in some gas, and gave it one half-hearted tug......It started right up! I shut it off after about a minute. My wife came out because she heard it running and I had her give it a try. She barely pulled the rope......And it started right up for her! I will only use this for a trim mower, because I use my rider, but this day, I mowed the whole 1.25 acres with this guy, and was still smiling when I got done. It is very easy to use, and cuts beautifully! I connected the clean-out hose to wash the under-deck, hosed off the top, and put it in the garage,
I love this mower! Even my wife thinks it's cool!
A Troy-Built mower with a Briggs.......How can you lose?
"
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Airhorn7
Location:Ms
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:May 28, 2015
Good mower
"It's only a couple of months old, but it does my yard perfectly. One pull to start and it handles the grass without choking."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Casey4S
Location:North Port Florida
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2015
TB230 great performing replacement mower
"I bought this mower at Lowe's in September of 2012 to replace the TB 210 I still owned. (I donated the 210 to a friend) Just like the TB 210 this starts on the first pull every time. The mowing season in this part of Florida is about 8 months of the year. Every week I cut my yard and several vacant lots next to me for a total of about 1.5 to 2 acres total. I never use the bag but the mulch and discharge functions work as intended. I was a bit skeptical at first about a motor with no choke or throttle but it works great and starts perfectly every time. The wheel adjustment is simple and useful and the overall construction seems solid with a good choice of materials.
I only need to store the mower for about 3 months in the Winter, but I put in fresh gas, change the oil and spark plug each Spring just for good measure.
I have several Troy-Bilt products and have had consistent good luck with quality and performance with all of the products. I think that the price point is excellent and would easily recommend Troy-Built mowers and other products to anyone."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cartrain
Location:Vancouver, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2015
Seem good so far
"I can't give an excellent review until I've had the mower at least one season."
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PackMan97
Location:Raleigh, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2015
Self Cleaning Workhorse
"This is the little mower that could. I currently mow a 1.2 acre lawn with this mower that is mostly weeds. All sorts of gnarly fast growing weeds and this guy gets the job done. With the hose bib in the deck, cleanup is a cinch. Fuel economy is great, it can get the job done on less than two tanks. The front wheel drive is great for having to turn. The best part of this mower is how compact it is when you fold down the handles. It will actually fit in the trunk of my 2003 Toyota Corolla with room to spare! I"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveler
Location:Tampa, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:April 23, 2015
Great Mower for a senior citizen
"This mower started on the first pull, every time. It is relatively light weight, with a variable speed self-propelled feature. The larger rear wheels make it easy to maneuver around structures. It has the feature of 3 ways to handle the cuttings - rear bag, side discharge or mulching mode.
It is economical on gas but has the power to cut cleanly,
"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB230 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mohsin
Location:Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (167 Reviews)
Date:March 22, 2015
Won't start after coming out of storage
"I bought this mower in mid August 2014. I used it till maybe second week of November and then stored it away in my garage. Now when I try to start it for the first time in 2015 (March 21) it does not start. Completely unacceptable for this pricy lawn mower. This is my second lawn mower and my first mower was a beast and lasted for 10 years. I should have stuck with my previous lawn mower brand which was in the same price range.
Mower was less than a year old when it came out of storage. I had to send it back to manufacturer to have it fixed. Haven't received it back yet. I hope I don't have to bite the bullet and purchase a new mower. If I do have to buy a new one it will most definitely NOT be a TB."
+8points
18out of 28found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>