Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower

3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag Lawn Mower
Average Customer Rating:
4.146 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (144 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
34
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 star
11
81%117 of 144reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Review 1 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigGus
Location:Mooresville, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:November 13, 2014
Great mower (so far)
"I have mowed three times and find the mower easy to start, cut and mulches well. I will wait to rate durability."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoeSmooth1
Location:Jeffersonville, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:November 8, 2014
Best Self Propelled Mower Ever
"The installation was a breeze. I used the whole bottle of oil as instructed, filled it up with gas and was on my way. The propelled feature is awesome. My yard has no clumps of grass and I got finished a lot sooner than ever. It moves fast and the tires create great deep lines which is want I wanted. The engine runs fairly quiet and its not as heavy as other self propelled models I used in the past. The big rear wheel allows for easy turning which is a great feature. Overall, a smart choice and a great price for a great mower that will last along time!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wlake
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:November 7, 2014
Very Satisfied
"After a full season of use I am very satisfied with the TB230. Starts easily, handles easily, and cuts great."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaKN
Location:Boise Idaho area
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:October 28, 2014
Good buy
"Good mower. Bought it this summer and it has done well. no Issues."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BBeck1968
Location:Monroe City, MO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:October 24, 2014
So far, so good
"I've used this mower a couple times now and it has done a great job. The only issue I forsee with it is that there is a lot of plastic components. We will see how they hold up."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Troybiltme
Location:Saint Paul, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:October 16, 2014
reliable mower
"This mower is , so far, a very good starter. NEVER takes more than two easy pulls to start. Rear bagger is a little small- so when picking up leaves, it fills up fast . I usually mulch so it is only an issue in the fall. Mower is light weight too so do not always need the self propell feature. When I do need it, it works well"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Jett
Location:Wi
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:September 25, 2014
Great machine
"I bought this 3 days ago, but I am returning, not because of poor quality, but felt at my age it was heavy when lifting to turn. Only complaint I had, and that is not bad"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Flowersrus
Location:Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:September 25, 2014
I am satisfied
"This mower has an adequate amount of power; it cuts high grass easily. My only complaint is that the mower begins to bog down before the grass catcher is full. Overall I am satisfied with the mower's performance."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GilC
Location:Roanoke, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:September 23, 2014
Simple and Affordable
"I needed something to mow the lawn. I had a regular push mower and I still use it for certain areas, but, for most of my lawn I use my new Self Propelled model and just love the idea of and adjustable throttle, then I can adjust the speed to my walking. As I need to mow the lawn, but, I am not in the best condition, allowing me to 'pick' my own speed, I can mow the lawn safely."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tomtoys
Location:Bisbee, AZ 85603, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:September 21, 2014
Top of the line for top of the line users
"If you treat this mower right, it will keep your yard looking great. Keep filters clean, empty bag, keep fluids topped off, and this mower will start with one pull. This is a great mower, but like a Jaguar or Cobra you have to treat it right."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
babs2972
Location:New Hampshire, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:September 15, 2014
Used 4 times
"If this mower would work it just might be good. I have used this mower 4 times and it runs like junk. When i do get it started it smokes like crazy until its warm. The only thing good I have to say about this mower is the height adjustment is nice and the adjustable handle height is nice. It will not fill the bag more than 1/3 of the way and then you have to stop and empty it which stinks because you have to fight to get it started again! Wont be buying troy bilt anymore"
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OldLar
Location:Palm Bay, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:3
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2014
Highest cut
"The mower starts quickly. The highest setting for cutting scalps my Florida lawn. The front wheel drive does not pull the mower. I need to lift up on the handle to get the mower to move. If I run into any tall grass (over 4 inches) the mower's side chute clogs.
I believe this lawn mower would be good for cutting golf course putting greens but not a normal lawn."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bruce412
Location:Apopka, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2014
Very dependable
"I did have a hard start problem but fixed it. I was getting trash in my fuel that ended up in the float bowl and clogged the carb. I cleaned the gas tank and installed a in line fuel filter. Problem solved. This mower is very dependable and cuts my yard which is comprised of Saint Augustine and Bahaia grass. It cuts and I walk next to the mower. Plenty of power and bagging is easy. love this machine."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShawnB
Location:Jackson
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2014
Great product, easy to use, good price
"Got this as my first mower in our new house. Very happy with it. it's rugged, easy to use, and gets the job done. Only issue is that I wish it came with a better mulching blade. I live in the south and the grass grows fast in the summer. I can't mow it every week, and a two week grow ends up not being mulched well. but overall, the mower is fantastic, especially for the price."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dancer
Location:Horseheads, NY, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2014
Love this mower!
"I am so pleased with this mower - it is exceedingly easy to start and I especially like the deck washer!"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DickS
Location:Lansdale, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2014
Liked it
"Wasn't sure about front wheel drive, but found it to be far superior to the rear-wheel machine I replaced."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keifer
Location:Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2014
Troy-Bilt 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
"This mower is my first self-propelled model and its easy start and dependability is excellent. A feature I like is the hose attachment for cleaning out mower after use. The rear bag works well. Troy-Bilt also comes with an operator's manual that covers everything required concerning maintenance, trouble shooting and putting together the mulch bag assembly; which makes it easier to set up. The mower is an example of the continued quality of Troy-Bilt products, a well-known name in the industry."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nevarez9807
Location:San Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:August 2, 2014
Replacement after Theft
"I had a Tory-Bilt 190cc 7.25 I bought 1 1/2 ago, but someone stole it out my garage while I was home. I bought a new troy-bilt walk behind mower with the same specification as the one stolen, the difference between the one I had and the new one, is the self assist wheel lever. The old one had one "bar" to activate the self assist wheels in front, the new one has a "lever". I personally prefer the "bar" over the "lever", I wish the new one I purchased had a bar, but I'm not a designer of mowers. I also researched mowers before I bought the replacement, during my research I saw frames of other mowers and found that troy-bilt had a better frame design than any other mower on the market. No matter what, I loved the performance the mower gave and bought me a Blower manufactured by Troy-Bilt too. So far, I am completely satisfied with both outdoor product I purchased."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gman110
Location:Logansport, LA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:July 18, 2014
TB 230 nice mower
"Started on first pull, Cuts great.,Like The new Deck washing
Wheel easy to set .
"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB230 TriAction 21 High Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Col803
Location:Columbia, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:June 28, 2014
Never starts
"I bought this mower and thought that it was going to be great. WRONG!!!!! Being that it was a Troybilt I couldn't go wrong. Since I have own this mower (Bought brand new). Cutting my lawn has been a nightmare. This mower will never start. I changed the oil, new spark plug and still nothing. You can pull on the cord long as you want and nada. I will never invest in a Troybilt again and you can take that to the bank. Waste of money."
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>