Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

27cc, 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer, Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
2.833 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
11
47%17 of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NJRocket
Location:NW NJ
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2012
Solid Performer
"I was reluctant to purchase this trimmer, but after I purchased it and used it a few times I have been satisfied with its performance. It does have a tendency to be hard to start if the gas is old. Other than that I have no complaints."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Poppy
Location:South wWt Missouri
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2012
TB70ss
"I like the straight line trimmers over the curved models. It just seems easier to manipulate and trim with. The first one I bought at the local store lasted about one season. Of course out of warranty! The connecting rod crankshaft pin wore out causing the engine to knock like crazy.I am very matticulate about mixing (2 cycle engine) the correct oil mixture. l bought another one ,same model and had to take it back because the shaft locking screw in shaft would not tighten. They gave me a new one! I figured that if I had the old broken one I had parts to replace on my new one. That decision helped a lot. Over the next two seasons it worked pretty hard,to say the least. Replace ignition coil,2 clutches and a fuel line. It does need carb adjustments often,and its a pain to find a tool that will let you do that. Well its broke again! Clutch and rewind. Also the plastic has melted around the recoil area. I strongly feel that over all its a good product,but not hardy enough for my use. I usually run this cutter at least 2 or 3 hours at a time. It just plain gets too hot. Its doing more than what i`m asking it to cut. It works best with .080 line. The machine is a little bit heavy after using it for hours at a time. After 4 years of trimming at my home its done a pretty good job except for its high percent of break downs. Troy parts has been real good on shipping out to me the parts. Of course I had to pay for all of them! Ugh!! I`m contemplating on buying a new one for next season, but I have to investigate a heavy duty model. I`m hoping Troy has one. Its a pleasure talking to the Troy parts people for answers."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LawncareGuy
Location:Valatie, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2012
Outstanding Trimmer
"This is the best trimmers I have owned. I tried electric and others but this one is the best. I love the interchangeable parts switching from trimmer to edger to blower is easy. I even have the tiller attachment that works great in flowerbeds and general landscaping. I highly recommend this trimmer."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BubbaJames
Location:Eastpointe, Mi
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:August 4, 2012
Just what I needed
"I read alot about people having problems with their trimmer but I just don't see it. I have had no problems whatsoever and would definetly reccommend this to others."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
golf
Location:elgin, sc
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:2
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:July 20, 2012
"I've had this piece of junk for 1 and 1/2 seasons, no problems. Two weeks ago I used it, no problems.
Today it will not start, had it checked; no compression; don't buy!!
"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Carlos
Location:Lubbock, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:May 29, 2012
NOT recommended
"I purchased the TB80 to replace a troublesome TB75. The new one was immediately returned because it leaked gas around the gas tank/fuel line junction. The old one had the same problem, plus it also sucked air into the carb and stalled at full speed. Parts are NOT available, according to the troybilt website. If they don't provide parts for the TB-75, why should I expect them to act responsibly with a newer model. I was fortunate to encounter a similar problem with both models, and will never buy another Troy-Bilt product. Reasonable customer service is a requirement, and this company isn't there yet."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Deuce
Location:Shreveport, LA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:May 27, 2012
REALLY?!?!
"I bought this trimmer w/edging attachment in August last year. Yesterday, after 3 uses this year, (and maybe 5 uses last year) I was trimming weeds (8-10 inches tall) beside the drive way when it suddenly died. When I went to restart this piece of junk, the motor had completely locked up. Yes, I had oil mixed in the gas at 40:1 ratio. Like other owners, I had trouble with stalling and other things. The next time I buy... it WON'T be Troy Built! I would rather pay more for ANY OTHER name brand than to be ripped off like this again. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED about this 27cc junk pile."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JoeGoodfella
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:May 22, 2012
Good Product w/attachments
"Good product overall. this is my second one, as the first one the pull string pulley broke and the maintenance people said it would be better to purchase a new one. This second one has lasted over a year so far. Starting it takes about 6 pulls and it does a good job. I also have 3 other attachments that I use. This is a convenient product."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Garrison
Location:MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2012
mediocre
"i gave this trimmer 3 stars all the way down because it's just that. there's not really much better choices for the money though"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NotBuyingAgain
Location:Ames, IA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:May 10, 2012
Terrible product, do not buy
"This string trimmer is a terrible item. The fact that Troy Bilt continues to market this, even with the terrible reviews on this page, is perplexing. I've had the same problem as everyone else has with the trimmer only running well for a few uses and then failing to run unless it's in half choke. I've finally ran out of patience with it today. If this is a representation of the quality of items Troy Bilt is producing now I'm going to sell my Troy Bilt snow blower and never buy another Troy Bilt item. I'll pay more for better quality."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lahsdfniunajd
Location:Carthage, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2012
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
"I grew up using various other brands of gas trimmers and even owned a troy bilt years ago that worked like a champ, but buying this was a mistake. It started up fine on the first 5 uses even though it never felt like it was putting out the right amount of power. After the 8th use it would only run with the choke on the "2" position. I replaced the spark plug, cleaned the air filter and put fresh fuel in and now it wont start at all. It didnt even survive one season!!! Seems like everyone else who bought this product had the same issue. I dont like the "suckered" feeling. Time to spread the word about Troy bilt."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Brea, CA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:April 25, 2012
Big Disappointment
"Like most other users mine worked fine for several months then became hard to start, failed to idle, stalled when throttle applied. Mixed fresh fuel, cleaned air filter, cleaned & gapped plug. No help. Seemed to be starving for fuel so I removed air filter: maybe slight improvement. Removed fuel filter and flushed fuel lines. Ran, but only at high idle speed. Stalled when throttle applied suddenly. Left it at high idle and set it down. Ran for about 2 minutes then died. Troy-Bilt must be aware of all these problems. Rapair shop would cost more than the unit. Should have read reviews before buying."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ed1real
Location:Tucson, Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:October 30, 2011
was good all around
"I bought this at a pawn shop had to do a little maintance on it (gas & sting) it started right up and the yard was very thick with grass and weeds. plus i got a blower attachment and used it to to blow the sidewalkes and the rocky land scape it gave me no problem at all I ran it for 7 hours (Was a big yard) and I am a landscaper I have another weed eater of the same brand and a 25 cc model (use this 1 lots). I really like 4 the differant attments that can b used on it"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
xcon777
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:10
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:October 24, 2011
junk
"This is the worst Product I have ever use as a weed eater. I am one that does not like to take things back to the store. So I have worked with this piece of junk all year to get to run more than 10 minutes at a time and have changed plugs and changed muffler too. I am a modeler and i fly gas power planes with more than 28cc so i do feel that i do know how to make a motor run. This is the worst design of carburetor and intake I have ever seen it is junk my arm is so tryed of it. I give it my best try to get it to work!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JustaReview
Location:Central Florida
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:October 17, 2011
Byer Beware
"I've used good line trimmers that would run hours a day, 6 days a week. This one is NOT such a trimmer.
As several of the other reviewers have experienced, the TB80EC worked fine for the first month (first 4 uses), but its performance has gone down hill since. Now, it will only run with the choke on position 2-ish, (dies quickly on 1 or 3) has poor power, dies regularly, and becomes more difficult to start & keep running - just in the time it takes to trim ONE LAWN.
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! Either spend a lot less and get an electric trimmer, or spend a little more and get a much better one."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Zman22
Location:Sunbury, NC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:September 8, 2011
Junk, Junk, Buyer beware!
"Wish I had read other's reviews before buying this trimmer. Only owned 2 months before it stopped working. Head gears are completely stripped out. Also develop starting problems after about 3rd time. Would only run in #2 throtle position. Company should replace unit or refund buyers purchase price. Experienced same problems as many others. Product should be redesigned and made more durable; or remove it from the product line."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rock
Location:Louisville, KY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:July 11, 2011
Save your money this is junk
"This trimmer was purchased in June 2011 used once and curently is in the repair shop waiting on parts. Now I know why Lowe's will not take the product back after purchase. I wish I had reviewed the product ratings before the puchase."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
racer
Location:Oklahoma
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:May 26, 2011
junk
"after about a month trimmer ran like it had no power and about 20 pulls to get it started would not run by itself finally got some of that fixed started running alittle better then the shaft that holds the line spool on stripped out today cant even get it apart would not buy another one of these. Although price was right i gave it a try and hope everyone else really likes and has better luck. Thanks"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hangmann
Location:OKC, OK
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:May 26, 2011
Works good
"I dont know what everyone else is doing that I'm not. Mine starts within the first couple of pulls. Runs like a champ. I'm not crazy about using it, but i'm not really crazy about using any edger I've ever had. For the price you cant beat it. I dont have any attachments for it. Lots of torque, Doesnt eat through string very fast, Wish it had a strap to go over my shoulder, very convenient to use. didnt break the bank either. If it last three or four years then I will have got my moneys worth from it."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB80 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
diamondd
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (36 Reviews)
Date:May 25, 2011
good unit
"Trimmer does a good job, use it to do some light edging as well."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>