Product Reviews

Troybilt TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer

29cc 4-Cycle Gas Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.318 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
31
61%65 of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BALLEN
Location:Houston, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:May 16, 2015
2 bad weedeaters in 3 months
"I purchased the TB575 and brought it home. The pull rope stuck from the very first pull. I returned it for a simple exchange and brought the 2nd one home. It lasted for 3 mowing sessions before it did the same thing. I don't think I will go for a third one until Troy Built decides to confront the issues at hand and fix their problems."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Electricyardtoolsstink
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2015
Always starts!
"Plenty of power and very reliable for the 3 years I've owned it. The key to reliable starting and long storage is to use a very good fuel - NOT automobile gasoline. I've used aviation fuel (100 LL) and white gas (Coleman Fuel) and have never had the slightest problem starting. You still have to follow the directions - prime, choke, pull 5 times, 1/2 prime, then start.
I have the trimmer, edger, chain saw, and blower attachments - really worthwhile. It is like having 4 different machines for the maintenance of one (plus much less space and $.) Electrics don't have the power or portability.
"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
LoLoOl
Location:Louisiana, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2015
Do not buy!!
"Piece of garbage!! I have owned this trimmer for 2 seasons and except for the first time out of the box, found it difficult to start. String is awkward to load and breaks frequently. Knob is impossible to turn to load string. I'm cutting the grass for the third time this season and have yet to be able to get the trimmer started. When searching for the owners manual on this site I get the 'unable to find' model number message. Do not recommend - do not buy this product!!"
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
75Porsche
Location:Fresno, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:March 29, 2015
Works great at first but after that...
"Never starts well. Always takes a lot of work. I have a Troy built walk behind mower that always works great. But you can keep your trimmer."
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Schultz
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2014
Good Buy
"We bought the trimmer got it home and put it together. Everything fit per the directions. I filled up the crankcase with the supplied oil put in the gas and it started on the second pull. It has plenty of power and runs well. The string occaisionally gets fouled but it is a simple task to untangle it and get going again. I am looking forward to trying some of the attachments that you can use with the powerhead. It they work as well as the trimmer I will be very satisfied."
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
threers50
Location:Reisterstown, MD, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:August 15, 2014
Best purchase ever
"I love this trimmer, I updated my 4 cycle trimmer with this type of end on it and it is great works like a charm every time I need line just bump the head and the line is there, a great trimmer. Thank You Troy-Bilt."
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Robmark
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:July 4, 2014
You're paying for a headache
"This trimmer comes with all the worst characteristics of trimmers. The line breaks about every 10-50 feet. Then, the tabs on the cover don't push in enough, so you can't get the cap off without prying it with a screw driver. When you do get the cap off, the twine unravels, requiring a complete rewrap. Oh, and while you're trying to rewrap it, you'll figure out that the instructions say you have to have the cap on, but that doing it that way causes the twine to slip out of inside divider, so it won't thread correctly. This trimmer turns a 15 minute job into a 45 minute job which requires multiple stops, and extra tools. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT."
+25points
31out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ExpectedQuality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:June 1, 2014
Disposable JUNK
"This piece of garbage required a carburetor rebuild to make it through ONE season! After storage in the shed over the winter, it needs ANOTHER rebuild because the carb is sucking air with a full fuel tank.
Added to the issues with it failing to start, the attachment between the motor and the shaft is flimsy. I can't help but wonder how long before I'm holding a running motor at the end of the pull rope in one hand and the shaft in the other.
And when I tried to go on the website to look for support, you told me repeatedly that THIS VERY MODEL does not exist even though I typed it in exactly as shown on the trimmer and on the website."
+24points
37out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rod250
Location:Hershey, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:May 28, 2014
Great Little Machine
"This is a great string trimmer. I like that you don't have mix oil and gas. This a very strong machine as I have purchased an edger and cultivator as add ons. The balance is different for those of you switching from a two cycle trimmer. The 4 cycle has a larger engine and takes a few minutes to get used to. I am very pleased with the ease of starting. This machine is also equipped to use the Easy Start for those that do not like to pull start. Finally, attachment change outs are very simple and take seconds. You can switch from trimming to other tasks with ease."
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
gkreg
Location:Tuscaloosa
Gender:Male
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2014
Worked well the first year (except restringing)
"Fabulous item, as described by visiting Troy-Bilt rep. Got this one because our last Troy-Bilt string trimmer died after 2 years (as did this one). Spent more good money after bad... Although easy to start in year #1, spring of year #2 found it unstartable. Cleaned the carb, blew out all lines, replaced one of the suspect gas lines, cleaned the plug, checked all fittings, and still no start. Luckily, it failed right BEFORE the warranty expired (instead of AFTER like the last one). Trying now to go back through their warranty service. From all I've read online - this will be fruitless, then I'll go back to Lowe's, and they'll replace it. Ugh."
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
twoztop
Location:Washington, USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:April 13, 2014
2nd season wont run at full throttle
"I bought this 2 yr ago and it ran fine, although, ihad to replace the lower head as it is cheaply made and bought a 2nd just incase we had to replace in again. Now this year it will start just not run at full thottle. I would not buy this same trimmer as a replacement."
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
badcutter69696969
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2014
good motor awful cutter head
"Absolutely awful cutter head design. String cuts off before spool empty and have to take it apart again and again. Went to buy a good after market head and cannot figure out how to get old head off without a sledge hammer.
Do not buy this product.
"
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
dadsfav2
Location:Joplin, MO, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Love It !
"First thing I noticed was, this weigh's a lot more than my old cheap two cycle Poulan 2 cycle. was not sure if it was going to be right for me because of the weight of it, and I have Emphysema and makes it harder for me to do the things I thought were simple before. I have a large yard that has a steep hill that can only be done with a weed eater. But it really surprised me how smooth and quiet it was and much easier to use than I had anticipated. This thing worked out great even with my Emphysema I was able to handle it just fine, will not go back to any thing else now, but troy built. Starts easy and instruction were right on. the bump head speed feeder could use some more improvement, once I figured it out it did just fine."
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
vpars
Location:Missouri
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2013
Great item
"We really like the attachments we can use on this trimmer. We have used the pole saw and tiller attachments. Also like that you don't have to mix gas and oil."
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LitterFree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:August 1, 2013
Great on Fuel.
"We recently aquired this trimmer as part of our landscaping trailer used during the Great American Clean Up. With several groups using the equipment some items don't hold up but this trimmer is super! All who use it rave about the ease of handling, replacing the twine and no mixing fuel."
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
phread
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:July 18, 2013
gear by bump head
"I replaced the gear by the bump head twice. I have only owned the trimmer 2 seasons. The gear broke again today. Is there anything I can do to keep the gear from breaking?
I am not using the machine on heavy growth.
"
+24points
30out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thelawnman
Location:High Point, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2013
the best troybilt weedeater .
"this product is really good it dose not use the gas up fast and you don't have to stop and put more . twine in and it dose not all fall apart and yeah I use this product all most every week and yes I would buy it and all the attachments . the best lawn tools every troy bilt is bulit for life and yes it dose last along time ."
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sideras
Location:Charleston, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2013
Good product for the money
"I bought this Oct. 2012 and have used it during the Winter and now for Spring clean ups. I have a long drive with overhanging trees that need trimmed to keep the drive open. I purchased the chainsaw attachment and it has worked great. Easy to start and the trimmer works great also. Easy to install new line in the trimmer head without taking it apart. Uses very little fuel and no mixing with the 4 cycle engine. I did not buy the electric starter attachment and have not needed it as it starts very easily. I just wish Troy built a 4 cycle chainsaw with the external starter attachment as once my old chainsaws get hard to start I have to get a new one. Good product so far."
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ewendels
Location:Mesa, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:May 7, 2013
So far...Awesome
"My wife thinks I'm weird for how excited I am to wack the yard. I love the 4 cycle motor and never go full throttle because at half it destroys the grass. Did front and back without loosing string. It looks nice, feels nice and sounds great. I can't wait to get some attachments when she lets me. I've been around Troy Bilt since my grandpa's tiller when I was a kid...and It still runs!"
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JHARR
Location:Narrows, VA 24124, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (107 Reviews)
Date:April 27, 2013
Beware of this weed eater!!!!!!!
"I bought this thing last year I used it like 5 time about 2 hrs max and that's pushing it. I tried to start it this year and it wouldn't start, it does have a major vibration when it was running and the attachment is a joke I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy. So BEWARE DO NOT BUY THIS PEACE OF JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
+2points
11out of 20found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>