Product Reviews

Troybilt TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer

29cc 4-Cycle Gas Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.364 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (110 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
31
62%68 of 110reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnIOU
Location:Pasadena, MD, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:July 15, 2015
Replacement parts
"First off-- I have the TB575EC curved shaft trimmer which the web site shows only the straight shaft . I had to replace the fuel primer bulb and the fuel lines due to not preparing for winter storage . After replacing the fuel lines and primer bulb I could not get the unit to prime as designed . Yeah --I had the lines switched . Anyway before I determined that to be the problem I took the carburetor apart and checked it out . While doing that I tried removing the primer to carburetor gasket ( Not the gasket noted as # 22 ) I damaged the gasket . I looked for the part but since it is part of the carburetor it is not sold as a primer housing gasket but you have to buy the whole carburetor as a single unit . The cost difference is probably about 20 dollars plus shipping & handling . But being stupid does have it's cost so I gotta pay . Other than that I have a great product . Easy start - I bought both the rechargeable and the electric starter for my unit . Works great ."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Squirrel2015
Location:South Carolina, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:May 28, 2015
Extremely Impressed!!!
"OK. I bought the TB575 EC Weed Eater/ Trimmer back in 2010, used it a few times then moved to an apartment where I didn't need it anymore. I put it up in storage and forgot about it. Well, after moving in with my lovely girlfriend, I got it out of storage today, May 28th, 2015. It had the same oil and little bit of E87 gas in it from 2010. I primed it, put the choke on, and pulled the cord twice and it cranked up without missing a beat. I'm not going to lie; I almost urinated in my pants!!! I started weed eating my whole yard I was so happy... forgetting that I had a lawn mower... It still works like a charm like when I first bought it. I would recommend the 4 stroke TB575 EC to anyone who is looking for a weed eater that is awesome!!!"
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MartyT
Location:Cleveland, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:May 28, 2015
Excellent product
"Easy to start (especially with the JumpStart) easy to use. Durable."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BALLEN
Location:Houston, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:May 16, 2015
2 bad weedeaters in 3 months
"I purchased the TB575 and brought it home. The pull rope stuck from the very first pull. I returned it for a simple exchange and brought the 2nd one home. It lasted for 3 mowing sessions before it did the same thing. I don't think I will go for a third one until Troy Built decides to confront the issues at hand and fix their problems."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Electricyardtoolsstink
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2015
Always starts!
"Plenty of power and very reliable for the 3 years I've owned it. The key to reliable starting and long storage is to use a very good fuel - NOT automobile gasoline. I've used aviation fuel (100 LL) and white gas (Coleman Fuel) and have never had the slightest problem starting. You still have to follow the directions - prime, choke, pull 5 times, 1/2 prime, then start.
I have the trimmer, edger, chain saw, and blower attachments - really worthwhile. It is like having 4 different machines for the maintenance of one (plus much less space and $.) Electrics don't have the power or portability.
"
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
LoLoOl
Location:Louisiana, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2015
Do not buy!!
"Piece of garbage!! I have owned this trimmer for 2 seasons and except for the first time out of the box, found it difficult to start. String is awkward to load and breaks frequently. Knob is impossible to turn to load string. I'm cutting the grass for the third time this season and have yet to be able to get the trimmer started. When searching for the owners manual on this site I get the 'unable to find' model number message. Do not recommend - do not buy this product!!"
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
75Porsche
Location:Fresno, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:March 29, 2015
Works great at first but after that...
"Never starts well. Always takes a lot of work. I have a Troy built walk behind mower that always works great. But you can keep your trimmer."
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Schultz
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2014
Good Buy
"We bought the trimmer got it home and put it together. Everything fit per the directions. I filled up the crankcase with the supplied oil put in the gas and it started on the second pull. It has plenty of power and runs well. The string occaisionally gets fouled but it is a simple task to untangle it and get going again. I am looking forward to trying some of the attachments that you can use with the powerhead. It they work as well as the trimmer I will be very satisfied."
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
threers50
Location:Reisterstown, MD, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:August 15, 2014
Best purchase ever
"I love this trimmer, I updated my 4 cycle trimmer with this type of end on it and it is great works like a charm every time I need line just bump the head and the line is there, a great trimmer. Thank You Troy-Bilt."
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Robmark
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:July 4, 2014
You're paying for a headache
"This trimmer comes with all the worst characteristics of trimmers. The line breaks about every 10-50 feet. Then, the tabs on the cover don't push in enough, so you can't get the cap off without prying it with a screw driver. When you do get the cap off, the twine unravels, requiring a complete rewrap. Oh, and while you're trying to rewrap it, you'll figure out that the instructions say you have to have the cap on, but that doing it that way causes the twine to slip out of inside divider, so it won't thread correctly. This trimmer turns a 15 minute job into a 45 minute job which requires multiple stops, and extra tools. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT."
+29points
37out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ExpectedQuality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:June 1, 2014
Disposable JUNK
"This piece of garbage required a carburetor rebuild to make it through ONE season! After storage in the shed over the winter, it needs ANOTHER rebuild because the carb is sucking air with a full fuel tank.
Added to the issues with it failing to start, the attachment between the motor and the shaft is flimsy. I can't help but wonder how long before I'm holding a running motor at the end of the pull rope in one hand and the shaft in the other.
And when I tried to go on the website to look for support, you told me repeatedly that THIS VERY MODEL does not exist even though I typed it in exactly as shown on the trimmer and on the website."
+29points
43out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rod250
Location:Hershey, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:May 28, 2014
Great Little Machine
"This is a great string trimmer. I like that you don't have mix oil and gas. This a very strong machine as I have purchased an edger and cultivator as add ons. The balance is different for those of you switching from a two cycle trimmer. The 4 cycle has a larger engine and takes a few minutes to get used to. I am very pleased with the ease of starting. This machine is also equipped to use the Easy Start for those that do not like to pull start. Finally, attachment change outs are very simple and take seconds. You can switch from trimming to other tasks with ease."
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
gkreg
Location:Tuscaloosa
Gender:Male
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2014
Worked well the first year (except restringing)
"Fabulous item, as described by visiting Troy-Bilt rep. Got this one because our last Troy-Bilt string trimmer died after 2 years (as did this one). Spent more good money after bad... Although easy to start in year #1, spring of year #2 found it unstartable. Cleaned the carb, blew out all lines, replaced one of the suspect gas lines, cleaned the plug, checked all fittings, and still no start. Luckily, it failed right BEFORE the warranty expired (instead of AFTER like the last one). Trying now to go back through their warranty service. From all I've read online - this will be fruitless, then I'll go back to Lowe's, and they'll replace it. Ugh."
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
twoztop
Location:Washington, USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:April 13, 2014
2nd season wont run at full throttle
"I bought this 2 yr ago and it ran fine, although, ihad to replace the lower head as it is cheaply made and bought a 2nd just incase we had to replace in again. Now this year it will start just not run at full thottle. I would not buy this same trimmer as a replacement."
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
badcutter69696969
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2014
good motor awful cutter head
"Absolutely awful cutter head design. String cuts off before spool empty and have to take it apart again and again. Went to buy a good after market head and cannot figure out how to get old head off without a sledge hammer.
Do not buy this product.
"
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
dadsfav2
Location:Joplin, MO, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Love It !
"First thing I noticed was, this weigh's a lot more than my old cheap two cycle Poulan 2 cycle. was not sure if it was going to be right for me because of the weight of it, and I have Emphysema and makes it harder for me to do the things I thought were simple before. I have a large yard that has a steep hill that can only be done with a weed eater. But it really surprised me how smooth and quiet it was and much easier to use than I had anticipated. This thing worked out great even with my Emphysema I was able to handle it just fine, will not go back to any thing else now, but troy built. Starts easy and instruction were right on. the bump head speed feeder could use some more improvement, once I figured it out it did just fine."
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
vpars
Location:Missouri
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2013
Great item
"We really like the attachments we can use on this trimmer. We have used the pole saw and tiller attachments. Also like that you don't have to mix gas and oil."
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LitterFree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:August 1, 2013
Great on Fuel.
"We recently aquired this trimmer as part of our landscaping trailer used during the Great American Clean Up. With several groups using the equipment some items don't hold up but this trimmer is super! All who use it rave about the ease of handling, replacing the twine and no mixing fuel."
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
phread
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:July 18, 2013
gear by bump head
"I replaced the gear by the bump head twice. I have only owned the trimmer 2 seasons. The gear broke again today. Is there anything I can do to keep the gear from breaking?
I am not using the machine on heavy growth.
"
+25points
31out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thelawnman
Location:High Point, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (110 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2013
the best troybilt weedeater .
"this product is really good it dose not use the gas up fast and you don't have to stop and put more . twine in and it dose not all fall apart and yeah I use this product all most every week and yes I would buy it and all the attachments . the best lawn tools every troy bilt is bulit for life and yes it dose last along time ."
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>