Product Reviews

Troybilt TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

29cc 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer Weed Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.402 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
26
63%61 of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
twoztop
Location:Washington, USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:April 13, 2014
2nd season wont run at full throttle
"I bought this 2 yr ago and it ran fine, although, ihad to replace the lower head as it is cheaply made and bought a 2nd just incase we had to replace in again. Now this year it will start just not run at full thottle. I would not buy this same trimmer as a replacement."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
badcutter69696969
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2014
good motor awful cutter head
"Absolutely awful cutter head design. String cuts off before spool empty and have to take it apart again and again. Went to buy a good after market head and cannot figure out how to get old head off without a sledge hammer.
Do not buy this product.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
dadsfav2
Location:Joplin, MO, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Love It !
"First thing I noticed was, this weigh's a lot more than my old cheap two cycle Poulan 2 cycle. was not sure if it was going to be right for me because of the weight of it, and I have Emphysema and makes it harder for me to do the things I thought were simple before. I have a large yard that has a steep hill that can only be done with a weed eater. But it really surprised me how smooth and quiet it was and much easier to use than I had anticipated. This thing worked out great even with my Emphysema I was able to handle it just fine, will not go back to any thing else now, but troy built. Starts easy and instruction were right on. the bump head speed feeder could use some more improvement, once I figured it out it did just fine."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
vpars
Location:Missouri
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2013
Great item
"We really like the attachments we can use on this trimmer. We have used the pole saw and tiller attachments. Also like that you don't have to mix gas and oil."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LitterFree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:August 1, 2013
Great on Fuel.
"We recently aquired this trimmer as part of our landscaping trailer used during the Great American Clean Up. With several groups using the equipment some items don't hold up but this trimmer is super! All who use it rave about the ease of handling, replacing the twine and no mixing fuel."
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
phread
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:July 18, 2013
gear by bump head
"I replaced the gear by the bump head twice. I have only owned the trimmer 2 seasons. The gear broke again today. Is there anything I can do to keep the gear from breaking?
I am not using the machine on heavy growth.
"
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thelawnman
Location:High Point, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2013
the best troybilt weedeater .
"this product is really good it dose not use the gas up fast and you don't have to stop and put more . twine in and it dose not all fall apart and yeah I use this product all most every week and yes I would buy it and all the attachments . the best lawn tools every troy bilt is bulit for life and yes it dose last along time ."
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sideras
Location:Charleston, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2013
Good product for the money
"I bought this Oct. 2012 and have used it during the Winter and now for Spring clean ups. I have a long drive with overhanging trees that need trimmed to keep the drive open. I purchased the chainsaw attachment and it has worked great. Easy to start and the trimmer works great also. Easy to install new line in the trimmer head without taking it apart. Uses very little fuel and no mixing with the 4 cycle engine. I did not buy the electric starter attachment and have not needed it as it starts very easily. I just wish Troy built a 4 cycle chainsaw with the external starter attachment as once my old chainsaws get hard to start I have to get a new one. Good product so far."
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ewendels
Location:Mesa, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:May 7, 2013
So far...Awesome
"My wife thinks I'm weird for how excited I am to wack the yard. I love the 4 cycle motor and never go full throttle because at half it destroys the grass. Did front and back without loosing string. It looks nice, feels nice and sounds great. I can't wait to get some attachments when she lets me. I've been around Troy Bilt since my grandpa's tiller when I was a kid...and It still runs!"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JHARR
Location:Narrows, VA 24124, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:April 27, 2013
Beware of this weed eater!!!!!!!
"I bought this thing last year I used it like 5 time about 2 hrs max and that's pushing it. I tried to start it this year and it wouldn't start, it does have a major vibration when it was running and the attachment is a joke I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy. So BEWARE DO NOT BUY THIS PEACE OF JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
+1point
10out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
msaena
Location:Alabama, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:April 19, 2013
what a piece of JUNK!!!!
"Don't waste your money buying a troy bilt trimmer if you try to replace a simple part as a throttle cable good luck enjoy taking the whole outside assembly apart just to run the cable to the throttle trigger and oh by the way the replacement part inner wire is a joke it will break if your not careful. Troybilt spend 25cents more and make a better machine!!!!"
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JD5DAD
Location:Manchester,tn
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:April 15, 2013
Save your money and buy a better weed whip
"Do yourself a favor PASS ON THIS TRASH I used it twice and the head gear stripped out this has to be one of the worst things I have ever bought I know what the problem is its the attachment shaft its a good concept but not worth the trouble yes I know you can attach a blower and other things but don't get this thing if you want a weed whip buy just a weed whip with a straight shaft the attachment shaft adds vibrations to the machine and the engine is WAY to big and heavy for this thing I worked for a lawn maintenance company for 10 years and this thing wouldn't have been good to use after 5 minutes my hand started to cramp up from the weight so in summery DON'T BUY THIS"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
4toold
Location:North TexasUsa
Gender:Male
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:March 24, 2013
Good Concept Stupid Design
"I was shocked and disappointed at the poor design of the spool design. this trimmer deserves better. I think we customers that have bought thes units deserve our money back or a major discount on a future purchase."
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spooledout
Location:Columbus, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:March 13, 2013
Great engine and attachments......poor spool
"I bought this trimmer as a homeowner tool last yr before I decided to start a part time lawn business. I put a LOT of hours on this trimmer to this day and I have to say that the durability of the engine has been rock solid...starting can be tricky for my 16 yr old son but I can usually start under 5 pulls. The engine is powerful and can blow through very tall grass and weeds.
So...what is the problem? The spool is terrible! Same issues that everyone else in these reviews with spool issues has said. After a few uses, the line is difficult to load...even though it should be simple. If you let the line eat down too far, it will get jammed inside the spool and the head is terrible to try and get off to un-jam. I have learned to listen to the line hum to tell when I need to bump and feed more line. It jams quicker when the line gets too short. Keep the line fed and it rarely is a problem.
Troy- built.....fix the spool and most of these complaints in these reviews would go away."
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gpzrider
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:October 6, 2012
necessity
"this has been a great lawncare tool. it starts easily and has been reliable. it doesn't like being turned on it's side to do edging, which it's not designed for, but it's been a good tool."
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mutlypuppy
Location:Indiana
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:September 30, 2012
Great Trimmer
"I really like the Jump2Start feature. Instead of having to pull on the string a few times, I can attach the tool that my drill fits in to and start it that way, much easier and faster. So much easier that my wife has taken over the trimmer when we do our lawn care. It's lighter in weight then most trimmers, and I love the fact it has so many attachments I can purchase to keep my lawn and garden in tip top shape. Great product!"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
firebird69racer
Location:Hesperia, Ca
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2012
Good Product
"This is one of the better weed trimmers I have owned. I have owned many since they came out. It starts very easy. No mess with the gas and oil mixes"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrHandy
Location:Fayetteville, North Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2012
Love it but needs some adjustment
"I love the functionality of the Trimmer and the fact that you have multiple attachments to choose from, a tool for all jobs in and around the yard. The adjustments that I am referring too would be the string release system. There have been several times while I'm using the product and the string reel comes out, it was not broken and I was able to put it back on and continue the task. The Hardware that holds the attachments to the top assembly strips out too easily, suggest using a higher grade bolt."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stevez
Location:philadelphia, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2012
reliable string trimmer
"I use the string trimmer for edging as well as normal weed whacking. It's been reliable for the 3+ yrs I've owned mine."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
turbobrick
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (97 Reviews)
Date:September 9, 2012
4 cycle
"I purchased this trimmer about a monthe ago have use it a few times now and have zero regrets with my purchase. Overall great product as well as all my troy bilt machines."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>