Product Reviews

Troybilt TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

29cc 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer Weed Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.372 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
28
62%63 of 102reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Review 21 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Chad
Location:Clearwater , FL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:July 21, 2011
Speed Spool is not Speedy
"I have always purchased cheaper trimmers and thought I would spring for a 4 cycle one. I have had this unit for about 1 year and get frustrated everytime I use it. I have had some problems with the pull cord in starting. It seems to get hung up inside every now and then. My main problem has been with the spped spool. I waste so much time trying to thread the spool and it is far from being speedy! I would much prefer to wind the string myself for times sake. Troy-Bilt needs to rethink it's spool design!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 22 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Agepage
Gender:Male
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:July 28, 2011
Another Reason to Despise Trimmers
"I must admit that I don't have the best of luck with trimmers, but I was hoping that this trimmer would be my saving grace. The spool and line feed were a pain! I spent 30 minutes on the trimmer after purchase, before I needed to fix the line. This was understandable, but when I spent nearly 1 hour trying to get the line to stay I gave up. I read and reread the direction. I went to the video on how to properly intsall the speed spool 2. Everytime the same thing happened, the line continued to unravel and jam. I say no thank you to this item."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 23 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dabigcheese
Location:Iowa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:July 31, 2011
Do Not Buy
"I purchased this trimmer at the end of the season last year and have had nothing but problems with it. I have never bought a Troy-Bilt product before and I will never buy a Troy-Bilt product again."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 24 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mikco
Location:detroit, MI
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:August 22, 2011
probably returning for credit
"I had a Ryoby for 9 years and it finaly gave out. Decided to buy a 4 cycle and got the troybuilt straight shaft. Not an easy starter,(10 pulls to prime) Idle for a minute at half choke. I can't say enough bad things about the spool. The line gets backed up inside and you almost have to break it apart when the line is behind the tabs. It gets backed up plenty with sign posts and cyclone fences. Spent more time fixing the spool head than actual trimming. One hour job became 2.5 hours. Just very poor engineering."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 25 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bilt
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:8
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:August 26, 2011
TB575EC Problems
"I have also had numerous problems with the string on the TB575EC model. I spend more time repairing the string on the spool than I do actually cutting weeds. Some of my problems with the string are as follows: the string has broken off inside the spool, The string wraps itself around the base of the unit and the string has melted around the base of the unit. I have tried taking the unit apart to replace the spool with an after-market unit, however, I cannot remove the inner reel from the unit. Nor can I remove the entire head from trimmer. I would like my spool unit to look like figure 20 in my operator's manuel. My operator's manual is for a 4-cycle gas trimmer TB575SS unit. Based on my experience, I would not recommed this unit to anyone
Bilt"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 26 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Plug
Location:Crest view, fl
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:September 12, 2011
Dissatisfied
"I purchased theTB575EC approximately 10 months ago and have used very little. I have had problems with the spool line feed every since I have owned the trimmer, The line gets jammed inside the spool and I have to take the spool apart to get the line to feed again and it is very difficult to get the spool apart. At present time I have a problem with the pull start system, when the pull cord is pulled the engine will not turn every time the cord is pulled
and when the engine does rotate it will only rotate approximately one revolution and most of the time will not turn at all. Very dissatisfied with trimmer and couldn't recommend this equipment to anyone.
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 27 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ralphie12
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:September 19, 2011
tb 575 string trimmer
"Trimmer appears well built at first glance, but after 2 uses the cutting head/bumper failed to feed string, jammed repeatedly, and is now locked in place (can't get it apart). Many users have reported this exact problem. I have worked on it more than I have used it. I am taking it back to the store. Could be a good machine if this problem is resolved."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 28 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AArt
Location:Laredo, Tx
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:February 2, 2012
WORST EVER
"I have made alot of bad purchases in my time, mostly because I had to buy cheap stuff because I didnt have the money to buy the good stuff. Well i finally did and bought this product....no way in the world would you get me to buy, spend and purchase another item from this company. In less than 2 years I had to replace the spool, the elect shut off switch and finally the motor gave out... never again!@"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 29 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hammar
Location:Rocky River, OH
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:April 7, 2012
Difficult starting, poor line feed
"Once you get the trimmer started (and schedule rotator cuff surgery) get ready to turn the trimmer off after a few minutes of trimming. The line feeder constantly jams and the line breaks too easily.
I have a Troy-Bilt mower which I really like and will recommend to friend, but this trimmer is horrible."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Trex700
Location:Dallas TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:April 16, 2012
Never again
"Will never buy Troy Built again. This unit stays broke more that it works. Have had the unit for three months. Hard to start, string jams or breaks. Difficult removing head to fix or replace the string. Fitting where gas line and carb return line go into tank leak. Returned the unit and replacement does the same thing. Poor design. It is a shame Troy Built has gone this far downhill. I have a 30 year old troy built tiller that is still going strong and built like a tank. What happened ??"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 31 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gman176
Location:Gloversville, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:April 17, 2012
Works Excellent
"I've read a lot of negative reviews about this product, but I find that I have had NONE of the problems others seem to have encountered. I find that the product works excellent! I have definitely gotten my money's worth. The engine starts right up, and has plenty of power. I love the fact that I don't have to mix the oil with the gas. I also use various attachments on it, and they work excellent, too! Just follow the instructions, and the machine works as designed with no problems."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nodoko
Location:Yale OK
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
needs improvement
"The 4 cycle engine is great. Starts easily and has plenty of power. The line feeder needs to be redesigned or constructed of better material. I've had to replace the trimmer twice already and that's only within a year. If the line spool were made of aluminum it would solve the problem in the line feed."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Rich3
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:April 25, 2012
"This piece of equipment is an excellant piece of equipment. There is only one problem that I see. The head on this trimmer needs to have the area where the bottom portion of the head connects to the head strenghtened. When the trimmer is used for some time the area where the bottom cap attaches to the head with the two clips the head under the clips seem th break rather easily. There is no fix to this problem after it happens except to get a new head. I really like this trimmer but hate that I must replace the head as often as I have to. I have had this trimer for five years and have had to replace the head three times already."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 34 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jpens
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:May 5, 2012
Great trimmer
"I own various trimmers in the past, and none of them come close to this troy-bilt. This product does a great job, and is easy to start. I received a free electric starter which also works great."
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
grumpi
Location:Hilton NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:3
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:May 7, 2012
MODEL tb575ec
"Looked around for new trimmer and decided on this 4cycle model.. Starts right up with no problem.. Has a lot of power to trim all around my 3 acres.. The biggest problem is the trimmer head.. Easy to load with new string but when string breaks inside the head it's very hard to take trimmer head apart.. Have to bring it back to where I purchased for a refund.. Bad design, don't you people that market these products ever try them.. Would not recommend to anyone......"
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 36 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
YNOT
Location:Lafayette, La
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2012
Constant winding of string!!!
"The unit is well built but, constantly having to mess with the string feeder. Loads easy -- but the string either comes out to much and get wrapped around the shaft, cutting blade does not seem to work well either unit is brand new, or it does not feed when you want it to. Went thru 40 feet of trimmer string the other day and I have a small yard in the city. Loading design is great but does not preform well and spend more time fixing it than trimming the lawn. Wanted to trash it but it cranks right up ... half way their!!!
YNOT"
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 37 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
westkyracer
Location:West Kentucky
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2012
Really Love this Trimmer
"Have had other brands of trimmers and love the 4 cycle no mixing of gas and oil. Has more torque than a 2 cycle and much smoother!"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Timothy
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:May 16, 2012
Excellent
"The only reason I gave 4 stars for ease of starting is because as a USMC veteran I only have one hand. It's not the trimmers fault. I love this trimmer. I have had Craftsman, Poulan, Ryobi, never again....Troy-Bilt for me. I also own the mower, chipper/shredder, and A tiller. All Troy-Bilt. Excellent products and service."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 39 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LAWN
Location:AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:May 18, 2012
Trimmer
"Had trouble starting new trimmer. Once I finally got it started it worked fine."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for TB575 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cdaddy04
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (102 Reviews)
Date:May 20, 2012
A Beast
"Tore through weeds and more like a hot knife through butter. Also, ate line like a hungry elephant. Twenty feet in a few hours. Line came with trimmer, so it was probably old. Salesman gave me a package of 123' of a heavy duty Shakespeare Titanium line with the purchase. Hopefully this beast will use this line effectively.
Easy to start, easy setup. Recommend for anybody needing to tear up some weeds or dress up a yard.
"
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>