Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

25cc, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer, Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
83%19 of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HenryB
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:October 3, 2012
Excellent Product
"I did a lot of internet research before making my choice. Then I talked to a lawn service supervisor who confirmed what I had learned. I've had this trimmer since Nov. 2011 and it has never failed to start. And that's without the power starter. It's well balanced and responds to the throttle better than any of my other trimmers. I've tried the rest and found the best."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DHep
Location:NW Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:September 6, 2012
Quality Item for Price
"I purchased this Weed Trimmer from the positive experience I had with the Troybilt Snow Thrower. I have been just as pleased with this item! It's a durable and very useful machine."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
numbersman
Location:Bountiful, UT
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:August 7, 2012
interchangeability
"The concept of one engine, multiple tools is long overdue, and Troy-bilt has hit on the perfect grouping. 4 cycle engine, line-trimmer, edger all work with little effort to change out. Looking to add the tiller and the chainsaw extension. Once my father-in-laws gas hedger dies, I will get the hedger attachment as well. It just makes sense. A dependable 4 cycle, non-mixed fuel burner engine, powering the various tools, that you only use for a short period each week. Compact storage and dependability. Thank you Troy-bilt engineers."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Clinton, TN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:June 28, 2012
So Far So Good!
"Assembled easily and is nicely balanced. We'll see how it runs tomorrow!"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tlee
Location:Sharpsburg, GA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:June 15, 2012
Great
"I've had this trimmer for about a week and it runs great. Today I used it for about 30 minutes and my back started getting sore. Why doesn't this trimmer come with a strap to go over the shoulder? Should be standard. Went to Lowe's, but they do not carry TroyBilt strap. Having spent good money on the trimmer I did not want generic.
Went to TroyBilt site and searched and searched - try to find something on this site! I.m sure I'll get somewhere eventually, but it should be easier.
I do love the trimmer so far."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Anonymous
Location:marietta, oh
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:May 27, 2012
so far, so good
"this is my 4th troybilt trimmer in 3 years. my last two were the cheaper 4cycle version and neither of them lasted more than a couple of months. whether it was problems with the head or the motor not starting or once it did, doing this weird stutter that made it nearly impossible to use, i have had lots of problems. lowes has been very understanding and helpful, so after the last fiasco i had, i decided to give it one more try and buy the best troybilt option i could. if this one doesnt live up to what it is rated to do, i will be switching brands."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
moses
Location:blue eye,mo
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:May 9, 2012
great weed eater
"this thing is great only reason not 5 stars is weight
and the quick line is a pain
outher than that,Id buy another
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tobby100000
Location:midwest Illinois
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:April 30, 2012
heavy weed eater
"While this is a very durable and great working weed eater, it is so heavy you can't use it more than a few minutes and your shoulder starts hurting from the strap. It definatly has to have a strap to carry it, so either way its tough to carry. but if you want a work out or lift weights, have fun"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sweatyyarddude
Location:Central Florida
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:November 15, 2011
Design issue
"The trigger handle is located too close to the power head which gets VERY hot. If power head gets raised very little it touches the back of your fore arm.
Weed Eater - In high weeds and grass the trimmer head gets bound up and debris needs to be removed by hand."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sbrillha
Location:Broken Arrow, OK
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:May 3, 2011
4 Cycle Beast
"I just had to write a note about my recent purchase of the Troy Bilt TB6040 XP. I am very happy with the ease of which it went from the box to work. I took only about 10 - 15 min to assemble, put oil in crank case and fuel. I did the reconmended 10 pumps of fuel bulb and it started on the 2nd pull, WOW!!!
Quiet 4 stroke power...love it! No more mixing!!!!!
This trimmer has so much torque its unreal. Way more than the Echo it's replacing. I really like the way you load the string on this trimmer, no more springs and other parts to fall out as before on my other trimmer!
Yes it cost a little more than others but I learned a long time ago you got to spend a little more upfront to get the kind of quality that will last. The 3 Yr warranty is a major plus as well.
I also like the ease of putting the attachements on the TB6040. As mentioned before with all the extra torque the attachments work well.
So far so good.....good job Troy Bilt!!!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Atascadero
Location:Atascadero, CA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2011
Poor Trimmer
"I've had the TBP6040 XP for over a year now and have several complaints about this trimmer.
- Oil blows out and saturates the air filter and then leaks down the unit staining my pants and shirt. I am very careful about changing the oil and filling to the correct level but still this thing leaks oil like crazy.
- Poorly designed head unit jams constantly when grass stalks are long. The grass will wrap around the bottom part of the shaft causing a huge jam which causes the string spool to back up and the string retracts. I'll have to pull the spool apart and restring it. Happens ALL the time. Very poor design.
- The bump to feed is too sensitive. I find that the trimmer has enough power, if the string is extended maybe 4-5 inches. Any longer than that the motor starts to bog down. I find that it is hard to maintain this length because every time I hit a little bump, the mechanism will feed out a few inches of string and start bogging down. When this happens, I'll stop and manually twist the string feed mechanism to retract some string. Slows me way down.
The only good thing I have to say about this unit is that it is easy to start, no problems there. It has also been reliable for the 100 hours I've used it this past 15 months."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TroyBiltIsAwesome
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:April 30, 2011
GAs string trimmer
"This amazing product is vary good at doing the job perfect. I recommend it to everyone!!!"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rgamore
Location:Southern Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:August 1, 2010
TBP6040
"I used this trimmer for the firstime and right from the start I was impressed. The 4 stroke is much quieter then my echo staright shaft units(srm2502s). Trimming the drive edge went very well, but the big test was with the pruning saw and a 10 year growth fence line of sapplings and vines. I only wish the shaft was another section longer, but the pruning saw did a fine job. Now I have my side of the fence back. Next will be to remove the sapplings around my retension pond and along the creek. I have plenty of work ahead for this Troy Bilt product, it will be put to the test. So far it's good.
A rating of good(4stars) is all I will give, there is always room for improvement, so I' hold back one star so Troy Bilt will continue to improve their products. Good job so far."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chappy
Location:michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:June 28, 2010
Nice trimmer
"I purchased this trimmer despite the less than sunny reviews on the Lowe's site. It has been my experience that user neglect is the problem 90% of the time. There are is always a bad one in the bunch regardless of what you buy though. This is a very nice trimmer. The key is maintenance. Make sure to follow all the maintenance schedule and you shouldn't have any problems. Remember this is a unit built for home use and is not commercial grade. It has plenty of power and the convenience of a 4 cycle engine. I am happy with its performance and durability. I have used professional trimmers for years, so I do have something to compare it to. I would say if you do not abuse this unit and follow the maintenance schedule, you will find it to be money well spent. I would recommend this trimmer to anyone searching for performance, ease of use, and durability in a consumer grade trimmer."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cap1
Location:irwin , pa.
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:June 23, 2010
try it
"this trimmer has all bells and whistles. troy-bilt has the best built products. i wouldnt buy any other brand. try it you will love it."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Huey
Location:Utah
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Date:June 21, 2010
Counter Clockwise
"For some reason they changed to counter clockwise rotation of the cut head (I couldn't get results even close to my old TB575 very aukward), deflector is too wide to get into tight places, for some reason the moved the handle and shoulder strap attachment a couple inches down the shaft causing balance point for shoulder stap too low and if you release handle you will kiss the cut head, Handle is too low for taller men causing you to stoop quite a bit to get cut head near level at full arm extension (I'm 6' 1"). The motor is great, starts easy and has plenty of power. The new speed spool is also a nice change. Unfortunately I couldn't adjust to the changes in rotation direction, grip move, and the balance move so I returned it and am shopping for a replacement now."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for TB6040 XP Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5 stars (23 Reviews)
Would recommend? Yes 7 out of 7
Durability
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Performance
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Ease of Use
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5