Product Reviews

Troybilt AF720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Straight Shaft String Trimmer with Fixed Blade Cutting Head

String Trimmer Attachment
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
73%8 of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for AF720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Straight Shaft String Trimmer with Fixed Blade Cutting Head
Review 1 for AF720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Straight Shaft String Trimmer with Fixed Blade Cutting Head
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tbone2
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (11 Reviews)
Date:July 23, 2014
Clever idea, but...
"The trimmer blades just didn't last long. 2 sets to do my yard, that's a lot of $$$ and hassle."
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AF720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Straight Shaft String Trimmer with Fixed Blade Cutting Head
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OldGeezerGardner
Location:Santa Monica, CA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (11 Reviews)
Date:July 7, 2014
TRIMMER IS AWESOME - AERO-FLEX LINES ARE PRICEY
"I LOVE MY TROY BUILT TRIMMER with the AERO-FLEX trimmer head. But the AERO-FLEX trimmer blades are expensive and not very durable.
I have started using NYLON ZIP-TIES, looped around the pin, just like the costly AER0-FLEX helicopter blades. The nylon zip-ties are a lot more durable than the cheap plastic AER0-FLEX blades!
I use the largest ZIP-TIE that I can fit through the slot on the outside of the head. They last for months if I am not cutting brush. Along the chain link fence and concrete walks, nylon ZIP-TIES last forever!"
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AF720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Straight Shaft String Trimmer with Fixed Blade Cutting Head
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MarvJr
Location:Charlotte, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (11 Reviews)
Date:May 28, 2014
Attachments
"I purchased my Troy Bilt weed eater when I bought my new home 2 years ago and have bought several of the attachments to go with it. I love using my Weed eater and also own a Troy Bilt Lawn mower. Their products a built well and do a great job."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AF720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Straight Shaft String Trimmer with Fixed Blade Cutting Head
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rogie
Location:chesapeake, ohio,usa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (11 Reviews)
Date:May 7, 2014
no string again!!!!!
"I got tired of winding string and here come troy bilt and does it again...now I can get work done!!!!!!!"
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AF720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Straight Shaft String Trimmer with Fixed Blade Cutting Head
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Duke
Location:VA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (11 Reviews)
Date:April 13, 2013
Trimmer attachment
"I bought this attachment because I had constant problems with the stock head that came on the trimmer. Unfortunately the place I needed to use it the most was around a rather long chain link fence. The fence sure ate up the blades fast. Since the blades are expensive and usually out of stock I replaced the head on it with an "Ugly Head" which works great. I think this head would work great under split rail fences, etc, but it definitely won't work well around a chain link fence."
+30points
34out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AF720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Straight Shaft String Trimmer with Fixed Blade Cutting Head
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
crimsonline
Location:Northport, AL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (11 Reviews)
Date:September 19, 2012
Bought it and was surprised
"Bought this attachment despite some of the bad reviews because I already own the base unit and the original trimmer died. TB obviously realized the original trimmer attachment needed improving and they achieved it. First time out I did a LOT of trimming and my first set of plastic blades are still intact. This was my biggest worry after reading the reviews but I trimmed around concrete, wood, brick and metal. The blades held up. Another plus about blades vs string is you can actually see how close you are as you trim. The only downside to this unit is that it tends to kick up more dirt and grass than other trimmers I've owned. It didn't fling any rocks but the deflector could be wider."
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AF720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Straight Shaft String Trimmer with Fixed Blade Cutting Head
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
towman323
Location:Greensboro, NC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (11 Reviews)
Date:August 19, 2012
AF720
"LOUSY! Easy to use but not a good attatchment. The blades don't last at all. Low speed or high they didn't do the job. I was very dissattisfied. All I was trimming was grass and I had to replace the blades 3 times in about 100 feet of use. I returned it. I'm a tall man and the shaft it too short for me. Troy Bilt makes good products that are affordable but I'm disappointed with this one."
+11points
17out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AF720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Straight Shaft String Trimmer with Fixed Blade Cutting Head
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
EAD00
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (11 Reviews)
Date:May 27, 2012
Weak performance
"the aero-flex line blades are not long lasting as described. I've dialed back the speed on the trimmer and they still wear down quickly."
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AF720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Straight Shaft String Trimmer with Fixed Blade Cutting Head
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TOBOGO
Location:NEW JERSEY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (11 Reviews)
Date:April 26, 2012
ESSENTIAL ATTACHMENT
"GREAT PRODUCT WORKS BEST AT MODERATE SPEEDS, GO TO FAST AND IT TEARS THE BLADES UP, EASY TO CONTROL AND MANIPULATE. ONLY IMPROVEMENT WOULD BE THE AVAILABILTY TO CHANGE THE STYLE HEAD IF YOU WANTED TO."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AF720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Straight Shaft String Trimmer with Fixed Blade Cutting Head
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gricelda
Location:Daly Ciity, CA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (11 Reviews)
Date:April 17, 2012
Good Product
""This is a tough trimmer. It trims just about anythiing."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for AF720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Straight Shaft String Trimmer with Fixed Blade Cutting Head
Based on 1 ratings-only review
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (11 Reviews)
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5