Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower

3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag Lawn Mower
Average Customer Rating:
4.38 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
86%43 of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Review 1 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stevens6464
Location:KY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2015
Good for a year
"When I first got the mower it didn't start with the key start. So I started it up manually until I could figure out how to deal with this. After making an appointment with the a local repair shop that customer service found for me, I decided to check the fuses in the battery box. Sure enough it was just a blown fuse. It work great after I replaced it for a two more mows until I had knee surgery and had to hire someone to cut my grass with their own equipment for the rest of the season. That makes a total of only 3 lawn mowing sessions with this mower. As spring time hits this year, I'm ready to mow the lawn myself again. After checking the oil and gas I'm ready to go. The key start does not work after multiple attempts, I check the fuse and they are fine. So I decided to start manually and nothing. It will not start at all. I now have to hire someone yet again to mow my lawn until I contact the warranty department. I can only hope its something simple and covered under warranty. If it's something on my end that I overlooked I will delete this review and give it a new rating."
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hurryup
Location:GA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:April 25, 2015
horseshoes
"It runs good; it mows good; it mulches good; it makes my yard look nice."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oldfart
Location:Port Charlotte, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:April 11, 2015
front wheel drive terrible
"After having a rear wheel drive mower, I bought this model because it had electric start. I have a small incline in my front yard ( my house sits about 2 feet above the street). I never thought twice about it having front wheel drive, until I mowed the first time. It WILL NOT walk up the slight incline. The wheels just spin and spin. I have to push it up the incline. The rear wheel mower I had before would actually pull me up the hill.
Other than that, it seems to work good. But, to me the spinning front wheels is a big issue. Will never buy a front drive mower again.
For the life of me....I can't figure why they even make front drive on some of their models.
"
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Mouley
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:March 29, 2015
Covered in clippings
"Mower works good but when mulching, it blows the clippings out between the housing and the plastic door that covers the area at the rear of the mower where a bag would attach. If you're mowing up wind, you get covered with clippings.The mower housing also has a pile of clippings at the rear of the motor. Really an issue."
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skip12
Location:Union, KY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:October 30, 2014
I'm Impressed
"Right out of the box I was impressed with this mower. It was easy to assemble and ready to mow in 15 minutes. The electric starter is fantastic."
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noname2
Location:Houston TX USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2014
Best mower for the money
"I like my mowers to be able to make mulch out of darn near anything, and this one does not shrink from the job. What's really nice is that it is the easiest mower to start I have ever had. And that is because it has electric start, powered by a robust 12 volt battery and push-button ease. If I had a complaint it could only be that the battery box cover is not securely fastened down, or possibly that the aesthetically pleasing and ergonomically designed push-button housing might suffer from the same malady. But these are only apparent when one is battling thick and heavy brush that tears and rips at the user and his or her utilitarian implement. The bottom line with this mower is one of satisfaction, and utilitarian purpose. It gets the job done, and in record time. And that, my friends, is what matters most."
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Evnbeta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:September 12, 2014
A Less- Than- Rewarding Experience.
"Battery charged. Instructions followed. Ready to break the mower in. Electronic ignition worked twice and never more. The cord worked flawlessly, but this is not what I had in mind. What else could go wrong, you ask? Front wheels spin and adjustments-per the manual were tried. No luck. I found myself pushing more than I expected. Hard to keep cool at this point. I finished half of the back yard and threw in the towel. To be returned quickly for refund. Logically, when it doesn't perform as new, it is time to move on."
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LifeisGood
Location:Tennesse
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2014
Difficulty in changing the break in oil
"My ES 280 Walk behind mower was due to change the break in oil after the first couple of uses. The manual that came with the mower did not clearly show if a drain plug was on this model or not. After several attempts of looking and removing various bolts to try and locate one, I decided to use the tip method. In order to tip the mower with the spark plug in the up position, as the manual stated, I had to remove the handles. It took too much time to change the oil with this method. Maybe this is in fact a drain plug for my model but I've yet to find it??? Please help..........."
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bmt5
Location:Michigan, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:August 8, 2014
Very nice machine
"I purchased the TB280 ES from Lowes as it was a recommended product by Consumer Reports. The assembly and set-up instruction was straight forward and took me less than thirty minute to complete. I had it now for about two months. The electric start works with just one push which greatly helping with my slightly stain right shoulder (I tried the recoil starter and is very good). The lawn mower is fantastic in mulching. The variable speed makes the corner movement and cutting very smooth. The front and the back height adjustment lever are very good and easy to use. I have not used the side discharging and bagging mode yet but assume would be fine. The only minor nuisance is the slight pain on my arms from holding both the blade control and drive control for extended period of time (reason for my four stars). I just put thin foam plumbing tubular pipe insulation on it and helping a lot."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TankGetts
Location:Central Plains, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:July 30, 2014
After yrs in landscaping, this is the best 1 yet!
"I've worked lawn care, tree services, and golf courses for years, before going out on my own. Now disabled I wanted a simple, easy to use mower. I find myself mowing just to mow cause this thing is just so much fun to use. The electric start always works first time, my nine yr old can even operate this mower."
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
papadrew
Location:pa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:June 30, 2014
no more pulling
"you will love not having to pull to start your mower"
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MICLAN57
Location:WARREN, RI USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2014
My walk behind mower.
"I bought this mower a few years ago and it is used weekly between the months of April to November. I have never had to pull the cord more that once for it to start. Even after being put up for the winter, it starts with the initial pull of the cord. That impressed me a great deal. It has also never stalled on me during any type of operation. Whoever designed this work horse really knew what they were doing."
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exowner
Location:Mocksville, NC 27028, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:May 9, 2014
Leaks oil within one hour of use!
"Ran wonderfully for 30 minutes. Used only for trimming beneath bushes.
Second time of use it began to leak oil and smoke!
Asked at Lowes about a replacement, and was told that the model had been recalled.
Have yet to return the mower... Loved the push button starter.
"
+9points
15out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lawnqueen
Location:Carnegie, PA, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2014
Great purchase
"This is a great mower. I just hope it lasts as long as the mower it has replaced. We had that mower for 12 years. We have a small hill in the font of our house and this self propelled mower makes light work on this hill. My husband actually likes cutting the grass now."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rogie
Location:chesapeake, ohio,usa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:March 29, 2014
Troy Bilt....Where have you been? thank you
"after having a pony rider and a trimmer thought it couldn't get any better and I purchased a 280es and push mowing couldnt have gotten easier.....easy start ,ease of operation and dependability that I have gotten used to from troy bilt....please keep up the good work.....you've never let me down"
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DIaP
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:October 28, 2013
Love to Mow
"I put off buying a new mower an extra season and am glad I did. I was having issues pull-starting my old mower and usually had to wait on someone to start it for me. I am in LOVE with the electric start! I can now mow anytime I want...."
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Opsco
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:October 24, 2013
Best Lawn Mower I've Owned
"And I have owned more than a few.
My complaints would be that the handle is not easily collapsible for compact storage and when in mulch mode (grass catch bag not used) there is a steady stream of grass blowing thru a gap between the frame of the mower and the plastic cover over the rear opening, resulting in a mound of grass collecting around the base of the engine. I also found it took a couple times to get used to the front wheel drive.
If that is the worst that I can say, then this mower is the best."
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JudyK
Location:Amarillo, TX, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2013
Very happy overall
"I have arthritis and this lawn mower has saved me! I want to take care of my yard myself and wasn't able to pull the cord on my last mower anymore. The electric start feature allows me to start the mower with just a turn of the key. The self propelled took a little getting used to but now that I have the hang of it, it's great. I have had to charge it twice this summer and that seems a little too often and it's very inconvenient to have to charge it when you are all ready to mow and it won't start. Mine won't start with the pull cord when the battery is dead. The only other complaint I have is that the belt for the self propel squeaks like crazy."
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeepFamily
Location:Peoria, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
JeepFamily
"This mower is great, starts every time and cuts perfect, the front drive took a little getting used to, after a couple of cuts I figured it out. It works so well even my son wants to mow the lawn."
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Electric Start Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dragonheifer
Location:Northeastern Mississippi
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (50 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Exceeded Expectations
"I actually purchased a 'Reconditioned' model (the person that had it previously complained that it "kept quitting" but the service people found it had water mixed in the gas). Turned the key and it started within 3 seconds! Turned it off and pulled the crank and had the same result! I love the way the drive speed works according to how far the handle is pulled in so it is always going at the speed desired. I have to cut some very rough terrain and it has handled it beautifully, including plowing through an overgrown area of briars. The ONLY improvement I would enjoy was if there was a height adjustment in the handle. I'm on the tall side and my husband is even taller."
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>