Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start

21 TriAction Cutting System with 3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
84%53 of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Review 1 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hatesyardwork
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:November 6, 2015
good lawnmower
"This lawnmower performs adequately and is a good buy for the amount it costs."
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lawnguydave
Location:SW Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:October 8, 2015
Great mulching mower
"This TB280 ES mower is a good value. Mulching performance is excellent. Have gone through 6 inch tall grass with no clumping or tracking of grass. Electric start has been flawless and haven't charged battery even after about 20 starts. On hills it helps to lift handle some to keep the traction going. One negative is with bagging - the gap at top of bag throws grass in your face. Since I rarely bag grass, not a big problem. Also it helps to slow speed down some when traversing uneven ground as mower can waver around."
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JonPeter
Location:Barnstable County, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:September 24, 2015
TR 280 Electric Start Self-propelled mower
"This machine has been flawless so far! Has started every time. Because of some unevenness of lawn, front wheel drive a bit difficult to control. Having owned TB before, and still have, I expect this mower to stand-up as well."
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RSFJR
Location:New York, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:August 24, 2015
Awesome electric start mower
"At our home we need a electric start push mower because my wife has back problems and because of a recent injury I also have back problems. The push button electric start is so easy to use. I prefer it over the key option I had on my previous lawn boy. Its light weight and easy to maneuver makes it a breeze for my wife to use. We have had it for 3 months now and are so pleased with the mower. If you need an electric start mower GO FOR IT you will not be disappointed."
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rone347
Location:Bossier City, LA 71112, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:August 10, 2015
great mower
"This is a very reliable mower. If you do the preventative maintenance it will take care of you. Never a problem starting."
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoeME
Location:Yarmouth, ME
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:July 30, 2015
Electric Start is a godsend
"I have found this mower to be great to this point. It gets good mileage out of the fuel that goes into it, it is easy to maneuver, and the electric start has been reliable and makes it so easy to work with. The cut on the lawn is always consistent and clean, the bagging system also works well, it can be a bit of a crapshoot to know when to empty the bag though. Overall, I am very happy with the mower."
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lenbo
Location:Fleetwood, PA 19522, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:July 9, 2015
MR.
"I really don't like the front wheel drive and can't seem to control its speed. Most of the time the wheels spinning faster than I walk. This spinning is after I tried adjusting the cable on the drive lever. The rear baggier doesn't seal well and some clippings are blown out at me. When removing the bag, large clumps of grass, that don't go into the bag, drop on the ground. The water washing attachment is worthless. The underside walls of the deck still have large amounts of clippings left behind after "washing". The only thing I like is the push button start."
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Swiftbrick
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:June 29, 2015
Good product but a let down.
"I have owned two of these push mowers and both times the electric start has stopped working and i did charge the electric start as instructed. i was very disappointed with the electric start feature.Otherwise it cuts beautifuly."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
minnmac4
Location:Minnesota, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:June 24, 2015
What a dud!
"I bought this for the self-propelled feature and the electric start. It ran for about 6 swipes across my lawn (average size town lot). It stopped dead in its tracks and will not restart. I was also NOT impressed with the self-propelled action. It is hard to control, bounces all over and is hard to keep in a straight line! Don't buy this!"
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cinderella
Location:Alexandria, LA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:June 19, 2015
Satisfied with TB 280 ES
"I am 74 years old. Cutting my yard since I was 14. In 60 years, this is the easiest, best mower yet. Electric start, big engine, variable speed, low price, easy to clean.
Keep up the good products !!!!!
"
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MadMax
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:June 10, 2015
Wonderful mower.
"Easy to start, maneuver and use. Very important to use good gas in all new power equipment.
I don't use gas with ethanol in any of my powered equipment, which will cause problems with storage.
If you read any of the complaints of this board with any Troy Bilt equipment, the vast majority was caused by the improper use of ethanol gas!
DO NOT use ethanol infused gas in any small engine, and you will NOT have engine related problems.
That is why I don't have any engine/starting problems with any of my small engine equipment."
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GCMax
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:June 6, 2015
my mower
"Love the mower. The front wheel drive wheels could grip the grass better. The drive control adjustment doesn't seem to make much difference. easy to start, cuts well."
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ladylawncutter
Location:Western ,Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:May 28, 2015
Electric start & self propelled - a good combinati
"The only thing that kept me from using a gas mower in the past was that I could not get it started with the pull rope (I'm a woman if you haven't guessed it). I love this mower - it is super easy to start and I am cutting 1/2 acre lot with a slight slope and it does the whole lawn on (1) full tank of gas. I also like the deck wash feature. No complaints at this point - I've been using it about 5 weeks."
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stevens6464
Location:KY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2015
Good for a year
"When I first got the mower it didn't start with the key start. So I started it up manually until I could figure out how to deal with this. After making an appointment with the a local repair shop that customer service found for me, I decided to check the fuses in the battery box. Sure enough it was just a blown fuse. It work great after I replaced it for a two more mows until I had knee surgery and had to hire someone to cut my grass with their own equipment for the rest of the season. That makes a total of only 3 lawn mowing sessions with this mower. As spring time hits this year, I'm ready to mow the lawn myself again. After checking the oil and gas I'm ready to go. The key start does not work after multiple attempts, I check the fuse and they are fine. So I decided to start manually and nothing. It will not start at all. I now have to hire someone yet again to mow my lawn until I contact the warranty department. I can only hope its something simple and covered under warranty. If it's something on my end that I overlooked I will delete this review and give it a new rating."
+5points
12out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hurryup
Location:GA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:April 25, 2015
horseshoes
"It runs good; it mows good; it mulches good; it makes my yard look nice."
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oldfart
Location:Port Charlotte, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:April 11, 2015
front wheel drive terrible
"After having a rear wheel drive mower, I bought this model because it had electric start. I have a small incline in my front yard ( my house sits about 2 feet above the street). I never thought twice about it having front wheel drive, until I mowed the first time. It WILL NOT walk up the slight incline. The wheels just spin and spin. I have to push it up the incline. The rear wheel mower I had before would actually pull me up the hill.
Other than that, it seems to work good. But, to me the spinning front wheels is a big issue. Will never buy a front drive mower again.
For the life of me....I can't figure why they even make front drive on some of their models.
"
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Mouley
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:March 29, 2015
Covered in clippings
"Mower works good but when mulching, it blows the clippings out between the housing and the plastic door that covers the area at the rear of the mower where a bag would attach. If you're mowing up wind, you get covered with clippings.The mower housing also has a pile of clippings at the rear of the motor. Really an issue."
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skip12
Location:Union, KY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:October 30, 2014
I'm Impressed
"Right out of the box I was impressed with this mower. It was easy to assemble and ready to mow in 15 minutes. The electric starter is fantastic."
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noname2
Location:Houston TX USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2014
Best mower for the money
"I like my mowers to be able to make mulch out of darn near anything, and this one does not shrink from the job. What's really nice is that it is the easiest mower to start I have ever had. And that is because it has electric start, powered by a robust 12 volt battery and push-button ease. If I had a complaint it could only be that the battery box cover is not securely fastened down, or possibly that the aesthetically pleasing and ergonomically designed push-button housing might suffer from the same malady. But these are only apparent when one is battling thick and heavy brush that tears and rips at the user and his or her utilitarian implement. The bottom line with this mower is one of satisfaction, and utilitarian purpose. It gets the job done, and in record time. And that, my friends, is what matters most."
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB280 ES Self-Propelled Mower with Electric Start
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Evnbeta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (63 Reviews)
Date:September 12, 2014
A Less- Than- Rewarding Experience.
"Battery charged. Instructions followed. Ready to break the mower in. Electronic ignition worked twice and never more. The cord worked flawlessly, but this is not what I had in mind. What else could go wrong, you ask? Front wheels spin and adjustments-per the manual were tried. No luck. I found myself pushing more than I expected. Hard to keep cool at this point. I finished half of the back yard and threw in the towel. To be returned quickly for refund. Logically, when it doesn't perform as new, it is time to move on."
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>