Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower

3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag Lawn Mower
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
91%40 of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Review 1 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Evnbeta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:September 12, 2014
A Less- Than- Rewarding Experience.
"Battery charged. Instructions followed. Ready to break the mower in. Electronic ignition worked twice and never more. The cord worked flawlessly, but this is not what I had in mind. What else could go wrong, you ask? Front wheels spin and adjustments-per the manual were tried. No luck. I found myself pushing more than I expected. Hard to keep cool at this point. I finished half of the back yard and threw in the towel. To be returned quickly for refund. Logically, when it doesn't perform as new, it is time to move on."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LifeisGood
Location:Tennesse
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2014
Difficulty in changing the break in oil
"My ES 280 Walk behind mower was due to change the break in oil after the first couple of uses. The manual that came with the mower did not clearly show if a drain plug was on this model or not. After several attempts of looking and removing various bolts to try and locate one, I decided to use the tip method. In order to tip the mower with the spark plug in the up position, as the manual stated, I had to remove the handles. It took too much time to change the oil with this method. Maybe this is in fact a drain plug for my model but I've yet to find it??? Please help..........."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bmt5
Location:Michigan, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:August 8, 2014
Very nice machine
"I purchased the TB280 ES from Lowes as it was a recommended product by Consumer Reports. The assembly and set-up instruction was straight forward and took me less than thirty minute to complete. I had it now for about two months. The electric start works with just one push which greatly helping with my slightly stain right shoulder (I tried the recoil starter and is very good). The lawn mower is fantastic in mulching. The variable speed makes the corner movement and cutting very smooth. The front and the back height adjustment lever are very good and easy to use. I have not used the side discharging and bagging mode yet but assume would be fine. The only minor nuisance is the slight pain on my arms from holding both the blade control and drive control for extended period of time (reason for my four stars). I just put thin foam plumbing tubular pipe insulation on it and helping a lot."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TankGetts
Location:Central Plains, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:July 30, 2014
After yrs in landscaping, this is the best 1 yet!
"I've worked lawn care, tree services, and golf courses for years, before going out on my own. Now disabled I wanted a simple, easy to use mower. I find myself mowing just to mow cause this thing is just so much fun to use. The electric start always works first time, my nine yr old can even operate this mower."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
papadrew
Location:pa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:June 30, 2014
no more pulling
"you will love not having to pull to start your mower"
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MICLAN57
Location:WARREN, RI USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2014
My walk behind mower.
"I bought this mower a few years ago and it is used weekly between the months of April to November. I have never had to pull the cord more that once for it to start. Even after being put up for the winter, it starts with the initial pull of the cord. That impressed me a great deal. It has also never stalled on me during any type of operation. Whoever designed this work horse really knew what they were doing."
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exowner
Location:Mocksville, NC 27028, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:May 9, 2014
Leaks oil within one hour of use!
"Ran wonderfully for 30 minutes. Used only for trimming beneath bushes.
Second time of use it began to leak oil and smoke!
Asked at Lowes about a replacement, and was told that the model had been recalled.
Have yet to return the mower... Loved the push button starter.
"
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lawnqueen
Location:Carnegie, PA, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2014
Great purchase
"This is a great mower. I just hope it lasts as long as the mower it has replaced. We had that mower for 12 years. We have a small hill in the font of our house and this self propelled mower makes light work on this hill. My husband actually likes cutting the grass now."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rogie
Location:chesapeake, ohio,usa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:March 29, 2014
Troy Bilt....Where have you been? thank you
"after having a pony rider and a trimmer thought it couldn't get any better and I purchased a 280es and push mowing couldnt have gotten easier.....easy start ,ease of operation and dependability that I have gotten used to from troy bilt....please keep up the good work.....you've never let me down"
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DIaP
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:October 28, 2013
Love to Mow
"I put off buying a new mower an extra season and am glad I did. I was having issues pull-starting my old mower and usually had to wait on someone to start it for me. I am in LOVE with the electric start! I can now mow anytime I want...."
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Opsco
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:October 24, 2013
Best Lawn Mower I've Owned
"And I have owned more than a few.
My complaints would be that the handle is not easily collapsible for compact storage and when in mulch mode (grass catch bag not used) there is a steady stream of grass blowing thru a gap between the frame of the mower and the plastic cover over the rear opening, resulting in a mound of grass collecting around the base of the engine. I also found it took a couple times to get used to the front wheel drive.
If that is the worst that I can say, then this mower is the best."
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JudyK
Location:Amarillo, TX, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2013
Very happy overall
"I have arthritis and this lawn mower has saved me! I want to take care of my yard myself and wasn't able to pull the cord on my last mower anymore. The electric start feature allows me to start the mower with just a turn of the key. The self propelled took a little getting used to but now that I have the hang of it, it's great. I have had to charge it twice this summer and that seems a little too often and it's very inconvenient to have to charge it when you are all ready to mow and it won't start. Mine won't start with the pull cord when the battery is dead. The only other complaint I have is that the belt for the self propel squeaks like crazy."
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeepFamily
Location:Peoria, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
JeepFamily
"This mower is great, starts every time and cuts perfect, the front drive took a little getting used to, after a couple of cuts I figured it out. It works so well even my son wants to mow the lawn."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dragonheifer
Location:Northeastern Mississippi
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Exceeded Expectations
"I actually purchased a 'Reconditioned' model (the person that had it previously complained that it "kept quitting" but the service people found it had water mixed in the gas). Turned the key and it started within 3 seconds! Turned it off and pulled the crank and had the same result! I love the way the drive speed works according to how far the handle is pulled in so it is always going at the speed desired. I have to cut some very rough terrain and it has handled it beautifully, including plowing through an overgrown area of briars. The ONLY improvement I would enjoy was if there was a height adjustment in the handle. I'm on the tall side and my husband is even taller."
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CandJ
Location:Utah
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Ok, but not ideal
"I love the auto start and it is lightweight for manuevering. I'm not keen on the front wheel drive. As others have said it jumps around with the front wheel drive. I am learning and if I put just a little up pressure on the handle and go at a slower speed I can mow reasonably straight lines.
Overall, it mows well and is very easy to start. My ideal mower would be a light weight, rear-wheel drive with an electric start.
"
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderwoman
Location:Tennessee
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Perfect mower for women!
"After my divorce, I had a yard to mow.
I had never had this responsibility before and was feeling a bit overwhelmed! Thank goodness I bought my awesome Troy-built lawnmower! With its totally reliable electric starter,
and ease of handling, due to its wonderful self propelled engine, I feel confident and proud that I can maintain my own yard :) Troy-built not only provides me with a very user friendly and well engineered machine, but also gives me access to their terrific website, for everything I need to know about how to operate, care, and repair on my own! I really love the cool way that my garden hose can just snap right onto my mower when I'm finished for a great easy cleanup so my mower stays as clean and shiny as new. I actually enjoy my lawnmower! What more could a girl want?!?
"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gumby
Location:Beaver, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Exceeded all expectations
"I purchased this product this summer. I was looking for a mower that I could count on and operate after having some major surgery. Thus the electric start, front wheel drive, effort of operation, ease of assembly, & adjustment of cutting height ease. The built-in hose connection was a real bonus for cleaning. I had a similar Troybilt mower of 10 years age and you have upgraded this version in exactly all the right areas.
It is so good my wife even "offered to use it". That statement almost put me back in the hospital for shock!!!
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Swboni
Location:Strongsville, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Skeptical of electric start for the added cost
"I wasn't sure about adding the cost for the electric start but after using it... it is certainly worth it. Not having to bend each time after emptying the bag is a nice option. Turn key and go. The mower itself is great. Cuts well, bags well and uses little gas. The only complaint I have is the design of the bag and grass entry system. The flap fills with grass and when taking the bag out you need to angle it just right to keep 95% of the grass in the bag. It took several cuts but I've got the hang of it now. Still could use some work though from Troy-Bilt. Overall great mower."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
60Lawncutter
Location:Oak Park, MI
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:September 23, 2013
I got the Lemon Mower
"Purchased because of electric start. Worked fine first 2 times but had to recharge the battery after the first week. Even though electric start did not work, I was able to start by pulling the cord. I purchased this mower in April and here it is September and it won't start at all. While I like the mower, it is very frustrating to have problems with a mower that 6 months old. Obviously, I purchased the lemon. I wouldn't recommend this mower. I am now waiting on my son-in-law to take a look at it to see if it is fixable."
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB280 ES TriAction 21 Front Wheel Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29172shopper
Location:West Columbia, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (44 Reviews)
Date:August 25, 2013
TB280 ES BUY BUY BUY BUY BUY!!!!!
"I bought this for my wife. A push mower that she could use and start easily. I checked it out before letting her use it. This mower has plenty of power to cut knee high grass. Didn't slow down once. I did use the side discharge for the grass was really thick. Starting....Great, Self Propeller....Great, Use of Gas....Great, Power....Great. What else is there to say. BUY BUY BUY!!!"
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>