Product Reviews

Troybilt TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer

25cc 2-Cycle Gas Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.701 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (174 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
38
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
35
71%123 of 174reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GMoney
Location:Saginaw, Mi.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:August 24, 2015
These trimmers are garbage.
"I bought the TB32EC last fall. It takes forever to start(it's a 3 step process). Now it runs for about 5 minutes, slows down, and quits. You then have to wait a while before trying to restart. My neighbor has a Troy Bilt 4-stroke trimmer, and has the same problem. We googled the problem, and found out this is a universal problem with Troy Bilt trimmers, and the fix involves drilling into a small bolt, so you can adjust the air flow or gas mix. Sorry, I don't think you should have to do this. It's not even a year old, and I'm going to have to replace it."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JCTB32EC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:August 17, 2015
Will not start - Should be a zero Star rating -
"I have followed all instructions provided with the trimmer. I have also viewed all YouTube help videos by Troybilt regarding this trimmer in an attempt to look at all options in getting this trimmer to start. I have attempted all steps on three different days with no success.
The trimmer will not stay going for more than a few seconds and only in the choke two stage mode. For a product that is said to be "easy to use", this is ridiculous!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NickB
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:August 13, 2015
Weed eater head
"The head on this weed eater is useless, the line wont stay in the head (when you can get the head off the trimmer), this is applicable to both the "single wound" and "double wound" technique as demonstrated in the manual. It is also not stated how to replace the head in the manual. The "bump feed" feature is a joke, either does not feed, or all the line shoots out upon head rotation. I bought this product based on the name, this was my first and absolute last troy-bilt purchase."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
royal173
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:August 6, 2015
A great product for the dollars
"I have used my trimmer with the weed eater attachment and also with the edger. The switch over from one to the other is easy and fast."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
indebt4life
Location:rural WV
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:August 3, 2015
poor performer!!!!!!
"I can't say enough about how poorly this product performed. the trimmer head continuously snags grass and wnds it around head decreasing performance and requiring repeated stops to untangle mess. the trimmer is difficult to keep running and cutting at higher RPM without fiddling with the choke.
thank goodness Lowe's refunded this purchase so I could purchase something similar (manufactured by someone else)"
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimmyW
Location:Wilmer, AL 36587, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:August 1, 2015
Easy Start
"Love the easy starting. I bought the jump start to crank unit but it cranks so easy, I haven't had to use it. My son is slightly taller and really likes the straight shaft. Good trimmer."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lawnmaninthecountry
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:July 29, 2015
Bad Purchase
"Worked one season never started again and it was stored per manual"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MVP01
Location:Vermont, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2015
So Far, So Good....
"I bought this trimmer after my ten-year old Craftsman 2-Cycle trimmer finally gave up the ghost. I've only used it four times since I bought it, and it's performing as well as I had hoped it would. It starts with reasonable ease and has plenty of power. The only nuisance I've noticed so far is that longer blades of grass are easily caught on and wrapped around the shaft at the top of the cutting head, requiring me to spend extra time cleaning the wrapped grass from the shaft after every use.
Time will tell whether or not this trimmer is worth the price."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fuzzy
Location:Georgia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:July 23, 2015
TB32 EC straight-shaft trimmer
"Very pleased with the quality and overall performance. It handles tall grass and weeds very well. My only compliant is that it is a little difficult to use along sidewalks and landscaping blocks. In fact, I bought an adapter head which makes it easier to use. It uses interchangeable string and blades, and with it, this machine handles anything I use it on except concrete blocks."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Munk
Location:Indiana, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:July 16, 2015
Not Happy
"I am not happy with my trimmer......it is heavy and pulls on my neck.............the string, once I start cutting the grass, slows down and will not cut the grass.
At first it was hard to get started, I tried removing spark plug but it was hard to get the rubber boot off and had no room to get my wrench in there to get it off..............discouraged, but my wife would not let me throw it away, wants me to return it to Lowes..........rating it 4 or less on a scale of 1 to 10....
Will Lowes let me return this item??
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TanVan
Location:Port Orange
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:July 16, 2015
32 Trimmer
"This trimmer worked ok for a month but then it would not stay running when you gave it gas. It would just quit and it didn't idle correctly. I took it back to Lowe's and they exchanged another of the Toro 32's for me."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DisappointedTrimmer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:July 11, 2015
LOUSY PURCHASE
"Had trimmer serviced within one month because it would not start. Quit starting again before end of mowing season."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nipp
Location:Virginia, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:July 9, 2015
Trimmer
"I am well please with my Troy-Built gas weed trimmer and would buy it again...It is lightweight and easy to use...it starts with ease...the only change I would like to see is an easier way to restring it....."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KnoxWBS
Location:Knoxville, IA 50138, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:July 6, 2015
Like your Products
"This is my third purchase of a Troy Bilt item.
All have stood up to the test.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Erik3791
Location:Mi
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:July 6, 2015
Garbage
"I would give it zero stars if I could. I received this trimmer as a gift. It worked ok the first season. It is loud and heavy. It would not work the second season. I followed the instructions for storage. I was extremely disappointed in the poor quality. I have wasted countless hours trying to get the thing working. I am very mechanically inclined. I researched and found information to troubleshoot the problem. I found that this is a common problem with this model. It would idle but die when you pull the trigger. I adjusted the idle screws every possible way. I tried so many times the starter rope broke. Then it wouldn't retract anymore. I will NEVER purchase a Troy-Bilt product."
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
celticmajic
Location:Collinsville, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:July 2, 2015
Troybuilt string trimmer
"Relatively easy to start. Good trimmer and light weight!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
usedtoliketroybilt
Location:CT
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:June 30, 2015
i will not buy troy bilt again
"i have used less that 1 hour----
engine is hard to start
when I finally get it running....string does not advance and I have to keep stopping it to manually let out sting"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
warrenh
Location:Danville, KY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:June 26, 2015
very poor choice on my part
"extremely difficult to start even with the drill jump start"
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reddog
Location:Benbrook, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:June 22, 2015
TB32EC trimmer,string
"I have owned a lot of string trimmers and this is the best so far. This is the first straight shaft and will be the only kind in the furture"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HarryD
Location:Chicago Illinois
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (174 Reviews)
Date:June 19, 2015
Great Product
"Great power light weight and durable. I'm definitely looking to purchase more Troy Built products"
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>