Product Reviews

Troybilt TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer

25cc 2-Cycle Gas Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.854 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (144 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
32
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
24
74%106 of 144reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Danno1969
Location:upstate, SC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:May 22, 2015
Great! but, there's always a but...
"PROS: Good powerful engine, runs really good. starts easily, takes .95 or .08 string, mows fast without bogging, multiple attatchments available and easy to change, not too heavy, reasonable price.
CONS: Has to be run with choke partially on (position 2) like carbeuretor not set up right and no adjustments to change, grass tends to wrap around shaft at top of cutting head and stop it when in heavy cutting, spring loaded push pin that holds attatchment to trimmer broke (improvised fix with bolt)
Solve the problems: I think if Troybilt would put some type guard around the upper part of cutting head it would prevent grass from wrapping up around it, set the carbeuretor correctly, and devise a better way to hold on the attatchments, this would be the perfect trimmer!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fasteddie
Location:Long Island, New York, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:May 20, 2015
Wish I Didn't!
"Got it this time last year at lowes at first it worked well then it started being hard to start, would stall while useing it and some times not start again! this spring it has not started at all even with starting either! Wish some one would have told me it was only good for one season What a piece of junk! Don't buy one it's a waste of your money!!!!"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ninjai
Location:Hollywood, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:May 9, 2015
DO NOT BUY
"Horrible product. I have used this product exactly 4 times in one year because it has trouble starting and wont stay running. When i have been able to get it to run its never been at full speed and never out of 2nd. Buyer beware. I watched all the videos, made sure i used the correct oil/gas mixture ext. and still nothing"
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flotndan
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:May 7, 2015
Good Product
"Would strongly recommend this product to anyone. Multi-tool capability. Easy to use. Great product."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AntneR
Location:Davie, FL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:May 7, 2015
String Trimmer
"Bought this to replace my old Echo unit.
I like the tool exchange feature and the ability to rotate the unit to make it an edger. Still getting used to the straight shaft. Old one was curved. Easier to trim under plants and bushes.
"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
buckmania
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:May 7, 2015
Terrible
"Bought this a couple of years ago and dealt with the ridiculously hard starts for a while. 8 steps to start a trimmer?!?! Would never run smooth! Winding new line isn't much better and getting it to feed is difficult. After only a couple years and using it a few times each year, it's in the trash. Last Troybilt I buy!"
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chuckwesley
Location:Mississippi, USA
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2015
String Trimmer
"The trimmer works well. Destroys thick vines and weeds. My old trimmer would die when I hit the thick stuff. I also bought the blade attachment. While cutting thick brush. There was a large snake buried under some leaves. It did not have a chance. I turned the blade vertical and cut the snake into three pieces. I would recommend the product to everyone..."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Basselope
Location:Oklahoma
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:April 25, 2015
Nice litte Trimmer
"Wow I had forgot how light the 2 strokes are compared to the 4 stroke!
I am really pleased with this little trimmer. I purchased it to replace my big 4 stroke that finally bit the dust after 5 years of year round use with the different attachments. And yes, it was a TroyBilt too.
This little 2 stroke starts exactly as the instructions say and has plenty of power. I have run it with the edger attachment and that's great. Have not tried the cultivator yet but that'll be soon!
Use 100% gas for your premix and this thing should do any trimming job you'd ask.
The exhaust port is a bit close to my right forearm but I've changed my grip a bit because it is lighter than I am use to. A minor annoyance in my opinion. Yes, I'd recommend this trimmer in a heartbeat, typical TroyBilt reliability at a reasonable price!!
Bought this at the TroyBilt demo show and I fell for that Flex.... need to save up my pennies when my current TroyBilt mower dies!!
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shipwreck
Location:Decatur, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:April 23, 2015
Streight shaft trimmer
"This is my second Troy Belt trimmer to own.
I have the hedge trimmer attachment and it works great on my new trimmer also.
I like the ease of changing out the trimmer and hedger attachments, as easy as 1,2,3.
I would recommend this brand name product to anyone.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
journey22
Location:SAN ANTONIO TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:April 17, 2015
wacker with an attitude
"works great! use premix formula starts first time every time. get about 4-5 uses out of one 32 ounce can. wish had better line recoil, don't like having to open spool head to rethread line. overall works great."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DDW75
Location:West Bend, WI, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:April 16, 2015
Very nice trimmer
"I like the fact that the hear rotates so you can use it as an edger."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ABMinBA
Location:Broken Arrow, OK, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:November 7, 2014
Yard Trimmer
"Best trimmer I have ever owned. Should have bought it years ago."
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
azjeff
Location:Ash Fork, AZ 86320, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:November 5, 2014
troy bilt at altitude
"the only complaint i have is running it at altitude(5500 feet to be exact) It was running very rich and lost power under load. From experence i new it was running rich but, due to the type of adjustment screw, I had to purchase a screwdriver to fit. after adjustment(mixture and idle) it worked flawlessly. I would recommend including this screwdriver with the trimmer."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
phonetrouble
Location:Jenks, OK, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:November 3, 2014
needs more power
"Seems to do ok on grass, but boggs down in tall weeds."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gregt
Location:Athens, OH 45701, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:October 27, 2014
great trimmer
"The best and easy-to-use yard equipment if ever had I recommend it to anyone"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
yardboss
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:October 25, 2014
Repacement String Trimmer
"This string trimmer replaces an old string trimmer that just worn down. The TB32 EC is a very good replacement. Especially with the additional attachments available. I now have one power head to do a multiple odd jobs around the yard. Looking forward to seeing what I can do to get the job jar list down to a manageable number."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BBeck1968
Location:Monroe City, MO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:October 24, 2014
Junk trimmer
"Blew the engine just after the warrenty was over. But before that the trimmer was great."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1Redsed
Location:Culver, IN 46511, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2014
Fuel Starvation
"I purchased my new Troy-Bilt TB32 EC String Trimmer a couple of months ago. I had an awful time getting it started at first and even after it had ran for a while. To keep it running I had to run it with the choke on at least the #2 choke position (middle) even after it had ran for several minutes. It was quite apparent that it suffered from fuel starvation. The engine could not speed up to full rpm either because of this same problem. The carburetor was obviously set too lean from the factory and it takes a special tool to adjust it. So I finally decided to return it for another new one which I will also be returning because of the identical problem.
I also own a 20 hp 42 inch Troy-Bilt riding mower and a 28 inch Troy-Bilt snow blower which I do like very much.
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Needles
Location:Sarasota, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:October 16, 2014
TB32 EC String Trimmer
"As usual I like my Troy-Bilt, this model does what it need to do in the yard and I can depend on it. It starts easy once it has been used a few times it gets better. Just like anything else it need a break in time. I have used this whip for about 6 times now and I like it, this was a replacement from another Troy-Bilt that I had and a happy that I stuck with the name."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Barty
Location:Macedonia, Ohio 44056
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (144 Reviews)
Date:October 10, 2014
Fails to continue to run
"It takes 1/2 hour to trim my yard. During that time I will need to restart my trimmer two to three times. When you walk from one location to another which is a short walk like twenty feet it is on idle. The you pull the trigger to run enough to in gauge the clutch and it dies. The only way to keep it from stalling is to run it at almost max speed which is a real pain.I am very close to taking it back to Lowes."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>