Product Reviews

Troybilt TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer

25cc 2-Cycle Gas Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.596 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (188 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
42
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
43
68%128 of 188reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
thistle
Location:davenport
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:November 6, 2015
hard starting
"If I had known the procedure for starting this trimmer I would have chosen a different brand. set choke fully closed Push bulb 10 times,pull rope 5 times, reset choke to half setting, pull to start, if it starts set choke wide open. What ever happened to easy starting."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:October 18, 2015
Never Again
"I purchased this product at Lowe's during the summer of 2014. I also purchased the edger attachment and bush trimmer. The edger attachment does not work very well. The trimmer gets bogged down after a few feet and I have to consistently have to back track to ensure the job is done properly, this adds time to my tasks.
After a few months, I had to return the trimmer due to the tightening knob at the attachment point had failed. Now, I'll have to return the product again because I can't get the engine to work. I've tried everything short of rebuilding the engine. I changed the gas/oil mixture, check the spark plug, etc.
Now I have to go purchase a new trimmer, edger and bush trimmer because this product has failed my expectations."
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poppyo
Location:Longwood, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:October 17, 2015
I bought it for ease of starting
"I held out originally for the Troybilt with the drill assisted Jump Starter, so when it came time to replace it, I used up my Gift cards along with my credit card to get this one again. I am retired and both shoulders have been a problem the past couple of years, so the easy starting is critical. I haven't had to use it yet on this new one."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nevin
Location:Lancaster, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:October 15, 2015
good
"good line trimer for the money I use the triner every week"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KeithB
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:October 14, 2015
Troy-Bilt Well
"Bought this product at the local LOWES here in town. Between the mower & this product, I'm impressed. I don't think I'll ever buy another name-brand. Product is well built; slightly heavy, but works very well. It's easy to use; and starts quick! Love the ease of use with this product! Has made my first year of being a home-owner much easier when it comes to the yard-work! If you're on the fence about this product; give it a try! The price isn't bad at all!"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jimg20
Location:NW Arkansas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:October 1, 2015
Poor Life Expectancy
"I bought my first one last season. It began to have trouble late in the year. This spring, it ran some and then failed to start. The warranty shop in our area said that it lost compression and should be replaced. He also said the engines in them only have about a 40 hour life expectancy. Lowes replaced it. After about six hours of use, the second one will not start either.
Don't buy one. It's a disposable unit that will not last and can't be economically repaired."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FrustratedDude
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:September 27, 2015
Can't start it
"It's new, and I've had issues with string getting wrapped around head. Now that I got the head replaced, it won't start. I use the correct gas mixture, etc."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kevin81663
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2015
Model #: TB32 EC
"I purchased about 2 months ago the troy-bilt Model #: TB32 EC and this thing is real hard to start and has no power this is the worst trimmer I have ever purchased.I would not recommend it to anyone"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steve007
Location:AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:September 10, 2015
Line Trimmer
"Very light to use. Preforms well under heavy use. Had one problem and returned for new one. Cutting head started wobbling. The screw just below cutting head shield going thru the shaft reemed out the hole causing the cutting head to wobble."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nobodycares
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2015
TB32 EC straight shaft string trimmer
"After 1/2 summer of use,the trimmer will no longer remain running or even start. I followed the directions for use of the machine religiously as possible and cleaned after usage. Now I,m stuck trying the do it yourself fix it videos for a brand new machine? I guess we should have researched this unit better as I have read the other reviews, they all seem to be the same problem."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PappyO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:August 31, 2015
Poor performance
"Very hard to start. Constantly having to stop to remove weeds that have wrapped around head choking it to a stop!
Would never buy this weed eater again.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigDaddy52
Location:Magnolia, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2015
Straight shaft head
"Heavy grass gets wrapped around the shaft causing a reduction in speed until you clear the grass out. I also on the curve shaft which performs excellent without this issue. Really enjoy the product line overall."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Timx117
Location:Middletown, RI, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2015
Disappointing Christmas gift
"Santa brought me this Troy-Bilt TB32EC trimmer last year and I was excited to finally get rid of my old trimmer that survived for more than 12 years. The first season fresh out of the box it started right up and did everything I expected it to do. We are now half way through it's first season and it is hard to start, runs slow, and dies. Purchased premixed fuel from local big box store where Santa bought it from and still have the same problem. Replaced carburetor with a factory replacement from Troy-Bilt and still have the same problems. I have tried to follow the start up directions for choke position and number of pulls before changing the choke position. Now, if I can get it to start, I can only put the choke between position 1 and 2 anything more and it stalls out. When it does run, it might run for 2 or 3 minutes and stalls out, I wait 10 minutes or so and try to start it again , but I usually call it quits for the day out of frustration and complain I need to get a new trimmer."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
luis
Location:Laredo, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:August 27, 2015
worst investment ever
"i purchased product and used a total of 30 minutes.. Started leaking fuel.. Took to local repair shop,sent there by troy built. They say warranty will not cover.. Cost more to fix than what machine is worth. Very disappointed.. Will never purchase another troy built product again.."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GMoney
Location:Saginaw, Mi.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:August 24, 2015
These trimmers are garbage.
"I bought the TB32EC last fall. It takes forever to start(it's a 3 step process). Now it runs for about 5 minutes, slows down, and quits. You then have to wait a while before trying to restart. My neighbor has a Troy Bilt 4-stroke trimmer, and has the same problem. We googled the problem, and found out this is a universal problem with Troy Bilt trimmers, and the fix involves drilling into a small bolt, so you can adjust the air flow or gas mix. Sorry, I don't think you should have to do this. It's not even a year old, and I'm going to have to replace it."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JCTB32EC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:August 17, 2015
Will not start - Should be a zero Star rating -
"I have followed all instructions provided with the trimmer. I have also viewed all YouTube help videos by Troybilt regarding this trimmer in an attempt to look at all options in getting this trimmer to start. I have attempted all steps on three different days with no success.
The trimmer will not stay going for more than a few seconds and only in the choke two stage mode. For a product that is said to be "easy to use", this is ridiculous!"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NickB
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:August 13, 2015
Weed eater head
"The head on this weed eater is useless, the line wont stay in the head (when you can get the head off the trimmer), this is applicable to both the "single wound" and "double wound" technique as demonstrated in the manual. It is also not stated how to replace the head in the manual. The "bump feed" feature is a joke, either does not feed, or all the line shoots out upon head rotation. I bought this product based on the name, this was my first and absolute last troy-bilt purchase."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
royal173
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:August 6, 2015
A great product for the dollars
"I have used my trimmer with the weed eater attachment and also with the edger. The switch over from one to the other is easy and fast."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
indebt4life
Location:rural WV
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:August 3, 2015
poor performer!!!!!!
"I can't say enough about how poorly this product performed. the trimmer head continuously snags grass and wnds it around head decreasing performance and requiring repeated stops to untangle mess. the trimmer is difficult to keep running and cutting at higher RPM without fiddling with the choke.
thank goodness Lowe's refunded this purchase so I could purchase something similar (manufactured by someone else)"
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimmyW
Location:Wilmer, AL 36587, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (188 Reviews)
Date:August 1, 2015
Easy Start
"Love the easy starting. I bought the jump start to crank unit but it cranks so easy, I haven't had to use it. My son is slightly taller and really likes the straight shaft. Good trimmer."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>