Product Reviews

Troybilt TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer

25cc 2-Cycle Gas Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (168 reviews)
5 stars
80
4 stars
37
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
32
72%121 of 168reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lawnmaninthecountry
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:July 29, 2015
Bad Purchase
"Worked one season never started again and it was stored per manual"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MVP01
Location:Vermont, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2015
So Far, So Good....
"I bought this trimmer after my ten-year old Craftsman 2-Cycle trimmer finally gave up the ghost. I've only used it four times since I bought it, and it's performing as well as I had hoped it would. It starts with reasonable ease and has plenty of power. The only nuisance I've noticed so far is that longer blades of grass are easily caught on and wrapped around the shaft at the top of the cutting head, requiring me to spend extra time cleaning the wrapped grass from the shaft after every use.
Time will tell whether or not this trimmer is worth the price."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fuzzy
Location:Georgia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:July 23, 2015
TB32 EC straight-shaft trimmer
"Very pleased with the quality and overall performance. It handles tall grass and weeds very well. My only compliant is that it is a little difficult to use along sidewalks and landscaping blocks. In fact, I bought an adapter head which makes it easier to use. It uses interchangeable string and blades, and with it, this machine handles anything I use it on except concrete blocks."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Munk
Location:Indiana, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:July 16, 2015
Not Happy
"I am not happy with my trimmer......it is heavy and pulls on my neck.............the string, once I start cutting the grass, slows down and will not cut the grass.
At first it was hard to get started, I tried removing spark plug but it was hard to get the rubber boot off and had no room to get my wrench in there to get it off..............discouraged, but my wife would not let me throw it away, wants me to return it to Lowes..........rating it 4 or less on a scale of 1 to 10....
Will Lowes let me return this item??
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TanVan
Location:Port Orange
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:July 16, 2015
32 Trimmer
"This trimmer worked ok for a month but then it would not stay running when you gave it gas. It would just quit and it didn't idle correctly. I took it back to Lowe's and they exchanged another of the Toro 32's for me."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DisappointedTrimmer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:July 11, 2015
LOUSY PURCHASE
"Had trimmer serviced within one month because it would not start. Quit starting again before end of mowing season."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nipp
Location:Virginia, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:July 9, 2015
Trimmer
"I am well please with my Troy-Built gas weed trimmer and would buy it again...It is lightweight and easy to use...it starts with ease...the only change I would like to see is an easier way to restring it....."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KnoxWBS
Location:Knoxville, IA 50138, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:July 6, 2015
Like your Products
"This is my third purchase of a Troy Bilt item.
All have stood up to the test.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Erik3791
Location:Mi
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:July 6, 2015
Garbage
"I would give it zero stars if I could. I received this trimmer as a gift. It worked ok the first season. It is loud and heavy. It would not work the second season. I followed the instructions for storage. I was extremely disappointed in the poor quality. I have wasted countless hours trying to get the thing working. I am very mechanically inclined. I researched and found information to troubleshoot the problem. I found that this is a common problem with this model. It would idle but die when you pull the trigger. I adjusted the idle screws every possible way. I tried so many times the starter rope broke. Then it wouldn't retract anymore. I will NEVER purchase a Troy-Bilt product."
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
celticmajic
Location:Collinsville, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:July 2, 2015
Troybuilt string trimmer
"Relatively easy to start. Good trimmer and light weight!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
usedtoliketroybilt
Location:CT
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:June 30, 2015
i will not buy troy bilt again
"i have used less that 1 hour----
engine is hard to start
when I finally get it running....string does not advance and I have to keep stopping it to manually let out sting"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
warrenh
Location:Danville, KY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:June 26, 2015
very poor choice on my part
"extremely difficult to start even with the drill jump start"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reddog
Location:Benbrook, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:June 22, 2015
TB32EC trimmer,string
"I have owned a lot of string trimmers and this is the best so far. This is the first straight shaft and will be the only kind in the furture"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HarryD
Location:Chicago Illinois
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:June 19, 2015
Great Product
"Great power light weight and durable. I'm definitely looking to purchase more Troy Built products"
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dejarvis
Location:Wellsville ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:June 14, 2015
string trimmer
"heaver string than my old trimmer and don't have to change as often because it last longer"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
opalhunter1
Location:Elizabethton, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:June 9, 2015
disappointed
"I love my troybilt mower so I bought the string trimmer and I am disappointed with the performance. I could'nt get it to run fast enough. Took it back got another one same thing . Got another one, runs good ,but the tube the shaft runs through is already worn out and it hasn't been used much at all. The screw that holds the gear head on the shaft wallowed the hole out and the head moves too much."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JMJS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:June 9, 2015
Runs Poorly
"I bought a Troy-Bilt mower a couple of years ago and it has been great. When I needed a new string trimmer, I went right to Troy-Bilt and bought the TB 32 EC and several attachments including the electric starter. This has been a great disappointment. It just does not run properly. I read several poor reviews and thought they just did not let it warm up or run in. I was wrong. This thing will not run at high speed. No matter how long it warms up, it stalls out when you try to cut. The head spins too slowly to run attachments. Nothing will get this thing to work properly."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hamm512
Location:Montgomery, Alabama
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:June 5, 2015
Easy Start
"I always buy the battery charged trimmer but the last one lacked the power that I needed for some tough weeds. I was afraid that the pull start would be difficult. I am a disabled female with limited arm strength. I even purchased the special part to start it with a drill. I have not used this yet. Starts up for me every time.This trimmer is a dream come true. I do have to use a strap to help me hold the trimmer. I purchased the tiller attachment but it was to much for me to hold on to. My son uses it and loves it. I do purchase Troy-Bilt items for my lawn care. This is the first trimmer by Troy-Bilt."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JamesF
Location:Panama City, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2015
String Trimmer
"I have been using my trimmer for a few months now and it does the job with ease. I just bought a brush cutter attachment for it. I have a small storage shed and the attachments do not take up a lot of room. I think that I will purchase a tiller attachment to turn the dirt in the garden and the wife's flower beds. it's a great tool for the home to get the job done."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bopgun21
Location:Nebraska, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (168 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2015
Straight forward string trimmer
"As with all string trimmers, spooling the string is an art form with which my talent (and patience) is lacking. The trimmer itself works nicely, and though I only have one attachment at the moment (edger), it has enough power to operate well. I hope to get more attachments soon... the tiller and brush cutter will make me feel even more rugged and manly!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>