Product Reviews

Troybilt TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer

25cc 2-Cycle Gas Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.513 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (197 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
43
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
50
68%128 of 188reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cbtsandy
Location:Texas, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:July 15, 2016
He likes it!
"My husband is left handed and the whip turns the right way for him. Most of them turn the other way. This is the only one that he is able to use with ease."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
bktol
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:June 29, 2016
Pure Junk
"Bought at Lowes last spring and used it for one season with less than satisfactory performance. 1st use this season was very difficult to start and then ran poorly bogging down and shutting off. Attempted a second use this year and absolutely would not start."
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
darre11
Location:Rolla, MO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:June 7, 2016
TB 32EC
"Junk. Worse string trimmer I have ever purchased, and I am 60 years old. Bought it last the end of last season, and it has been nothing but trouble all spring. One saving grace, I bought the jump start.This morning it would not work and it will not take a charge."
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JamesM
Location:Fort Washington, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2016
Twice returned to repair center
"Used this string trimmer for a few weeks successfully. Seemed like it was working great. One day it had trouble starting and then would only run at half choke. No issues with the carb, when I brought it to a service center they told me, "It was way out of adjustment from the factory." Their words. Worked great for a few more weeks and then wouldn't start again. Wasn't bad fuel, carb was clean and working properly just no start. This is not the only two cycle engine that I have and I use all of them often but this one never ceases to be a problem. I would never consider buying Troybilt again after this failure of a product."
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobd10140
Location:Rhode Island
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2016
string trimmer TB32EC
"I purchased a Troy Bilt string trimmer model TB32EC, 3 years ago. Loved it when I first got it. Now I'm Not happy with it. In the first year it wouldn't run right and I had to remove the caps so I could adjust the carburetor. Used it for second year with no problems. The 3rd year now the recoil spring broke. I took it apart and put another bend on the recoil spring. That fixed that problem. Used it a little bit more and now the trimmer head stripped out so the string head doesn't spin. I took that apart and the spiral gears at the head are stripped out. I think I'm done with this. I'm afraid to spend more money into this unit. Never had a problem with a trimmer head stripping out on any of my trimmers. It might just be a freak thing going but not sure if I purchase another head or parts will this happen again. Don't want to keep repairing it."
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mowstoooften
Location:WV
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:May 21, 2016
Would never buy again
"Bought this trimmer in 2015 and thought it would be a good buy. This trimmer is very hard to start (gas strictly mixed to specs.) and is very under powered, even though it is only used in a residential setting, It spits and sputters every time the throttle is pulled. I have to run the engine at full speed to trim anything. I would never buy this product again."
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Milk
Location:Maine
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:May 19, 2016
Not very durable
"It lasted almost a season. Very hard to start, difficult to keep running. Not much power. I will not buy a replacement with this nameplate."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jaxson
Location:New Jersey, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:May 3, 2016
good purchase
"very hard to start up and shuts off while increasing speed"
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GBock
Location:Somerset, WI
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:April 20, 2016
1 Tank of Gas Is All She Wrote...Piece of Garbage!
"Bought this weed whip at Fleet Farm, proceeded to bring it home and assemble it which was fairly simple. I was able to run 1 magical tank of gas through this product, but shortly after filling up this wonderful piece of machinery it wouldn't idle without dying and eventually wouldn't start. I spent that afternoon attempting to get it started with no avail, also tried a few days later and wouldn't even attempt to fire. Brought this back to Fleet Farm for a full refund. Not sure what happened, but if you are happy with a life expectancy of approximately 30 minutes this product is for you."
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
thistle
Location:davenport
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:November 6, 2015
hard starting
"If I had known the procedure for starting this trimmer I would have chosen a different brand. set choke fully closed Push bulb 10 times,pull rope 5 times, reset choke to half setting, pull to start, if it starts set choke wide open. What ever happened to easy starting."
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:October 18, 2015
Never Again
"I purchased this product at Lowe's during the summer of 2014. I also purchased the edger attachment and bush trimmer. The edger attachment does not work very well. The trimmer gets bogged down after a few feet and I have to consistently have to back track to ensure the job is done properly, this adds time to my tasks.
After a few months, I had to return the trimmer due to the tightening knob at the attachment point had failed. Now, I'll have to return the product again because I can't get the engine to work. I've tried everything short of rebuilding the engine. I changed the gas/oil mixture, check the spark plug, etc.
Now I have to go purchase a new trimmer, edger and bush trimmer because this product has failed my expectations."
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poppyo
Location:Longwood, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:October 17, 2015
I bought it for ease of starting
"I held out originally for the Troybilt with the drill assisted Jump Starter, so when it came time to replace it, I used up my Gift cards along with my credit card to get this one again. I am retired and both shoulders have been a problem the past couple of years, so the easy starting is critical. I haven't had to use it yet on this new one."
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nevin
Location:Lancaster, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:October 15, 2015
good
"good line trimer for the money I use the triner every week"
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KeithB
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:October 14, 2015
Troy-Bilt Well
"Bought this product at the local LOWES here in town. Between the mower & this product, I'm impressed. I don't think I'll ever buy another name-brand. Product is well built; slightly heavy, but works very well. It's easy to use; and starts quick! Love the ease of use with this product! Has made my first year of being a home-owner much easier when it comes to the yard-work! If you're on the fence about this product; give it a try! The price isn't bad at all!"
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jimg20
Location:NW Arkansas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:October 1, 2015
Poor Life Expectancy
"I bought my first one last season. It began to have trouble late in the year. This spring, it ran some and then failed to start. The warranty shop in our area said that it lost compression and should be replaced. He also said the engines in them only have about a 40 hour life expectancy. Lowes replaced it. After about six hours of use, the second one will not start either.
Don't buy one. It's a disposable unit that will not last and can't be economically repaired."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FrustratedDude
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:September 27, 2015
Can't start it
"It's new, and I've had issues with string getting wrapped around head. Now that I got the head replaced, it won't start. I use the correct gas mixture, etc."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kevin81663
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2015
Model #: TB32 EC
"I purchased about 2 months ago the troy-bilt Model #: TB32 EC and this thing is real hard to start and has no power this is the worst trimmer I have ever purchased.I would not recommend it to anyone"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steve007
Location:AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:September 10, 2015
Line Trimmer
"Very light to use. Preforms well under heavy use. Had one problem and returned for new one. Cutting head started wobbling. The screw just below cutting head shield going thru the shaft reemed out the hole causing the cutting head to wobble."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nobodycares
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2015
TB32 EC straight shaft string trimmer
"After 1/2 summer of use,the trimmer will no longer remain running or even start. I followed the directions for use of the machine religiously as possible and cleaned after usage. Now I,m stuck trying the do it yourself fix it videos for a brand new machine? I guess we should have researched this unit better as I have read the other reviews, they all seem to be the same problem."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PappyO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (197 Reviews)
Date:August 31, 2015
Poor performance
"Very hard to start. Constantly having to stop to remove weeds that have wrapped around head choking it to a stop!
Would never buy this weed eater again.
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>