Product Reviews

Troybilt TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer Weed Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.842 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
17
75%71 of 95reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JeffR
Location:Amarillo, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:July 27, 2014
Bad Product
"I bought this 2 years ago and it has been nothing but a problem. First it is difficult to start so I bought a starter. Second the trigger breaks. I order a new trigger and they send me the wrong part. Last, the throttle cable breaks. I've never had such a poorly made product. Never again."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:July 26, 2014
Great trimmer
"Definitely worth the money. You can feel the power."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bmanbob
Location:Ogdensburg, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:July 22, 2014
Strong Reputation
"Along with the Troy Built reputation, this particular string mower is well balanced, relatively light and reasonably priced. It is aggressive without being too loud."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daddybilll
Location:Knoxville, TN USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:July 20, 2014
TB32 EC string trimmer
"My wife bought this on sale at Lowe's. I had no idea she was going to purchase a trimmer, but we were overdue. My last one was an Echo straight shaft. I used it for over 10 years on about 3 acres. It was more than I could ever hope for. I never had a failure of major components. I had seen the advertisements for the Troy Built line and was impressed. The EZ start addition was brilliant and very simple. Getting older sucks for a variety of reasons, but even the drill attachment and a cordless drill makes starting easy for just about anyone. It seems well built with enough power, I just wish she would have let me know. Sort of like buying a new car with a 4cyl., when they did offer a 6cyl., but should work well enough for us. It was really a no-brainier for what it is versus cost for a new straight shaft trimmer. Looking forward to many seasons of use. I would definitely recommend recommend this trimmer if you are in the market for a new one..."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fredddd
Location:Groves
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:July 17, 2014
Love the attachments
"Bought it for the Attachment capabilities, and the value."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Melvin
Location:Tulare, CA 93274, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:1
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:July 11, 2014
Tb22ec
"Works good for what I need it for. No problems so far. Overall good product for the price."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GrumpyTexan
Location:Grand Prairie, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:July 8, 2014
Not what I would buy next time.
"It was hard to start and keep running.
i used it two times and on the second time it quit running and would not restart.It is at a service center now. Problem???.
"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jony
Location:Wallingford, CT, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:July 4, 2014
Replacement
"This trimmer was purchased as a replacement and older model Troybuilt string trimmer . I have also been satisfied with its performance in addition to the the two attachment that i used with the trimmer ( chain saw and brush cutter)."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
babymack82
Location:Madisonville, KY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:June 23, 2014
TB32EC...HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!
"i first had a concern with the weight of the trimmer. but after i started using it, the design was excellent. the weight was no longer a factor. there was no fatigue on they body what so ever. my previous trimmer was a curved shaft (different brand) that killed my back and arms. i highly recommend this item to many people. i plan to purchase several of the attachments very soon as well. this item seems to be a GREAT purchase!!!"
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don7051
Location:Harrodsburg, KY 40330, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:June 22, 2014
Best Replacement
"I just purchased this trimmer and it works very well. From the start it worked well and held up to what I had. My last trimmer fried its piston. It was a few days later when I bought my troybilt. The weeds and grass around the yard was a good size. it did a well good job. Can't wait to add to the collection with all the attachments that I can use around the house."
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iceman8320
Location:Pineville, LA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:June 21, 2014
Awesome purchase
"I thought for the purchase price it would be a weak and cheap product. I sure was fooled, it feels strongly built and it is very strong."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OrigPup
Location:New Jersey, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:June 20, 2014
Far more then expected
"Just purchased the TB32EC string trimmer. Assembly was a breeze. After going thru the how to start instructions it fired right up ! The trimmer did it's job with not one sputter, I'm very pleased with the product."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
storminn0rm
Location:Michigan, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:June 17, 2014
Great Trimmer
"Straight shaft trimmer was needed because I'm 6'-4". With the straight shaft trimmer, I don't get back pain from constantly bending down. The auto feed is a nice feature, but make sure you do it on a hard surface. If you bump the bottom auto feed while trimming in the grass, you'll get a circle cut down to the dirt."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tx4cusoon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:June 14, 2014
New item - moving away from electric trimmers
"This item was extremely easy to assemble out of the box. Easy to crank and use. Balanced with a good feel to it."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don12306
Location:Schenectady, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:June 12, 2014
Gas trimmer
"For years I've used elec. trimmers because the gas ones become hard to start after awhile. This time when I bought a trimmer I decided to get a gas one. I recently purchased a 4-cycle Troy-Built.....I like the tiller so much that I got a Troy-Built trimmer with the jump start option. What a great idea with this jump starters. No more pulling and pulling. GREAT JOB!!"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bacon79
Location:Russell County, KS, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:June 11, 2014
TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
"The string trimmer was easy to start, however sometimes after it had been warmed up for a while it would die if I didn't suppress the trigger quickly and forcefully after it was idling. After I restarted it and was conscious of the touchy trigger it had no further issues."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cody420
Location:la
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:June 9, 2014
best price
"I brought this trimmer for my yard.it's really light for holding it for long peiords of time.it has got to be the the eaiest thing to start.and maintain.I love my new trimmer"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Whatsup
Location:Bellingham, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:June 8, 2014
Disappointed in reliability
"Purchased this from a Lowes store in Vancouver Wa. After only two uses, upon the third use I could not get the engine to rev up as if something was binding the drive. Upon further investigation found the lower unit was froze up. I was able to take out the special headed screws from the small gear box on the lower section to find the lower bearing closest to the string head was nothing but rust as if it never had grease. Being this is a seal bearing this is clearly a manufactures defect. Reassembled and took it back to Lowes who allowed me to return it and I received a store credit for the full value to which I decided to purchase a replacement which again was the Troy Built but I went with the four stroke model this time... So far so good."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
extremekenwood
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:June 7, 2014
Works Great
"Nice trimmer for the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Turtle
Location:Purlear N.C.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (95 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2014
My weedeater
"This is the second year I have used my weedeater. It is so wonderful. Easy to start and does a great job. Cord is easily replaced. All I did was put stybel gas treatment in last fall and it is wonderful again this year. Light and I also have the limb cutting attachment and it works great too."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>