Product Reviews

Troybilt TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer

25cc 2-Cycle Gas Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.518 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (195 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
43
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
49
68%128 of 188reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
darre11
Location:Rolla, MO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:June 7, 2016
TB 32EC
"Junk. Worse string trimmer I have ever purchased, and I am 60 years old. Bought it last the end of last season, and it has been nothing but trouble all spring. One saving grace, I bought the jump start.This morning it would not work and it will not take a charge."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JamesM
Location:Fort Washington, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2016
Twice returned to repair center
"Used this string trimmer for a few weeks successfully. Seemed like it was working great. One day it had trouble starting and then would only run at half choke. No issues with the carb, when I brought it to a service center they told me, "It was way out of adjustment from the factory." Their words. Worked great for a few more weeks and then wouldn't start again. Wasn't bad fuel, carb was clean and working properly just no start. This is not the only two cycle engine that I have and I use all of them often but this one never ceases to be a problem. I would never consider buying Troybilt again after this failure of a product."
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobd10140
Location:Rhode Island
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2016
string trimmer TB32EC
"I purchased a Troy Bilt string trimmer model TB32EC, 3 years ago. Loved it when I first got it. Now I'm Not happy with it. In the first year it wouldn't run right and I had to remove the caps so I could adjust the carburetor. Used it for second year with no problems. The 3rd year now the recoil spring broke. I took it apart and put another bend on the recoil spring. That fixed that problem. Used it a little bit more and now the trimmer head stripped out so the string head doesn't spin. I took that apart and the spiral gears at the head are stripped out. I think I'm done with this. I'm afraid to spend more money into this unit. Never had a problem with a trimmer head stripping out on any of my trimmers. It might just be a freak thing going but not sure if I purchase another head or parts will this happen again. Don't want to keep repairing it."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mowstoooften
Location:WV
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:May 21, 2016
Would never buy again
"Bought this trimmer in 2015 and thought it would be a good buy. This trimmer is very hard to start (gas strictly mixed to specs.) and is very under powered, even though it is only used in a residential setting, It spits and sputters every time the throttle is pulled. I have to run the engine at full speed to trim anything. I would never buy this product again."
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Milk
Location:Maine
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:May 19, 2016
Not very durable
"It lasted almost a season. Very hard to start, difficult to keep running. Not much power. I will not buy a replacement with this nameplate."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jaxson
Location:New Jersey, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:May 3, 2016
good purchase
"very hard to start up and shuts off while increasing speed"
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GBock
Location:Somerset, WI
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:April 20, 2016
1 Tank of Gas Is All She Wrote...Piece of Garbage!
"Bought this weed whip at Fleet Farm, proceeded to bring it home and assemble it which was fairly simple. I was able to run 1 magical tank of gas through this product, but shortly after filling up this wonderful piece of machinery it wouldn't idle without dying and eventually wouldn't start. I spent that afternoon attempting to get it started with no avail, also tried a few days later and wouldn't even attempt to fire. Brought this back to Fleet Farm for a full refund. Not sure what happened, but if you are happy with a life expectancy of approximately 30 minutes this product is for you."
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
thistle
Location:davenport
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:November 6, 2015
hard starting
"If I had known the procedure for starting this trimmer I would have chosen a different brand. set choke fully closed Push bulb 10 times,pull rope 5 times, reset choke to half setting, pull to start, if it starts set choke wide open. What ever happened to easy starting."
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:October 18, 2015
Never Again
"I purchased this product at Lowe's during the summer of 2014. I also purchased the edger attachment and bush trimmer. The edger attachment does not work very well. The trimmer gets bogged down after a few feet and I have to consistently have to back track to ensure the job is done properly, this adds time to my tasks.
After a few months, I had to return the trimmer due to the tightening knob at the attachment point had failed. Now, I'll have to return the product again because I can't get the engine to work. I've tried everything short of rebuilding the engine. I changed the gas/oil mixture, check the spark plug, etc.
Now I have to go purchase a new trimmer, edger and bush trimmer because this product has failed my expectations."
+23points
27out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poppyo
Location:Longwood, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:October 17, 2015
I bought it for ease of starting
"I held out originally for the Troybilt with the drill assisted Jump Starter, so when it came time to replace it, I used up my Gift cards along with my credit card to get this one again. I am retired and both shoulders have been a problem the past couple of years, so the easy starting is critical. I haven't had to use it yet on this new one."
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nevin
Location:Lancaster, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:October 15, 2015
good
"good line trimer for the money I use the triner every week"
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KeithB
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:October 14, 2015
Troy-Bilt Well
"Bought this product at the local LOWES here in town. Between the mower & this product, I'm impressed. I don't think I'll ever buy another name-brand. Product is well built; slightly heavy, but works very well. It's easy to use; and starts quick! Love the ease of use with this product! Has made my first year of being a home-owner much easier when it comes to the yard-work! If you're on the fence about this product; give it a try! The price isn't bad at all!"
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jimg20
Location:NW Arkansas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:October 1, 2015
Poor Life Expectancy
"I bought my first one last season. It began to have trouble late in the year. This spring, it ran some and then failed to start. The warranty shop in our area said that it lost compression and should be replaced. He also said the engines in them only have about a 40 hour life expectancy. Lowes replaced it. After about six hours of use, the second one will not start either.
Don't buy one. It's a disposable unit that will not last and can't be economically repaired."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FrustratedDude
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:September 27, 2015
Can't start it
"It's new, and I've had issues with string getting wrapped around head. Now that I got the head replaced, it won't start. I use the correct gas mixture, etc."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kevin81663
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2015
Model #: TB32 EC
"I purchased about 2 months ago the troy-bilt Model #: TB32 EC and this thing is real hard to start and has no power this is the worst trimmer I have ever purchased.I would not recommend it to anyone"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steve007
Location:AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:September 10, 2015
Line Trimmer
"Very light to use. Preforms well under heavy use. Had one problem and returned for new one. Cutting head started wobbling. The screw just below cutting head shield going thru the shaft reemed out the hole causing the cutting head to wobble."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nobodycares
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2015
TB32 EC straight shaft string trimmer
"After 1/2 summer of use,the trimmer will no longer remain running or even start. I followed the directions for use of the machine religiously as possible and cleaned after usage. Now I,m stuck trying the do it yourself fix it videos for a brand new machine? I guess we should have researched this unit better as I have read the other reviews, they all seem to be the same problem."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PappyO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:August 31, 2015
Poor performance
"Very hard to start. Constantly having to stop to remove weeds that have wrapped around head choking it to a stop!
Would never buy this weed eater again.
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigDaddy52
Location:Magnolia, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2015
Straight shaft head
"Heavy grass gets wrapped around the shaft causing a reduction in speed until you clear the grass out. I also on the curve shaft which performs excellent without this issue. Really enjoy the product line overall."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Timx117
Location:Middletown, RI, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (195 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2015
Disappointing Christmas gift
"Santa brought me this Troy-Bilt TB32EC trimmer last year and I was excited to finally get rid of my old trimmer that survived for more than 12 years. The first season fresh out of the box it started right up and did everything I expected it to do. We are now half way through it's first season and it is hard to start, runs slow, and dies. Purchased premixed fuel from local big box store where Santa bought it from and still have the same problem. Replaced carburetor with a factory replacement from Troy-Bilt and still have the same problems. I have tried to follow the start up directions for choke position and number of pulls before changing the choke position. Now, if I can get it to start, I can only put the choke between position 1 and 2 anything more and it stalls out. When it does run, it might run for 2 or 3 minutes and stalls out, I wait 10 minutes or so and try to start it again , but I usually call it quits for the day out of frustration and complain I need to get a new trimmer."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>