Product Reviews

Troybilt TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer

25cc 2-Cycle Gas Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (159 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
35
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
29
73%116 of 159reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
celticmajic
Location:Collinsville, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:July 2, 2015
Troybuilt string trimmer
"Relatively easy to start. Good trimmer and light weight!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
usedtoliketroybilt
Location:CT
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:June 30, 2015
i will not buy troy bilt again
"i have used less that 1 hour----
engine is hard to start
when I finally get it running....string does not advance and I have to keep stopping it to manually let out sting"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
warrenh
Location:Danville, KY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:June 26, 2015
very poor choice on my part
"extremely difficult to start even with the drill jump start"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reddog
Location:Benbrook, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:June 22, 2015
TB32EC trimmer,string
"I have owned a lot of string trimmers and this is the best so far. This is the first straight shaft and will be the only kind in the furture"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HarryD
Location:Chicago Illinois
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:June 19, 2015
Great Product
"Great power light weight and durable. I'm definitely looking to purchase more Troy Built products"
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dejarvis
Location:Wellsville ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:June 14, 2015
string trimmer
"heaver string than my old trimmer and don't have to change as often because it last longer"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
opalhunter1
Location:Elizabethton, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:June 9, 2015
disappointed
"I love my troybilt mower so I bought the string trimmer and I am disappointed with the performance. I could'nt get it to run fast enough. Took it back got another one same thing . Got another one, runs good ,but the tube the shaft runs through is already worn out and it hasn't been used much at all. The screw that holds the gear head on the shaft wallowed the hole out and the head moves too much."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JMJS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:June 9, 2015
Runs Poorly
"I bought a Troy-Bilt mower a couple of years ago and it has been great. When I needed a new string trimmer, I went right to Troy-Bilt and bought the TB 32 EC and several attachments including the electric starter. This has been a great disappointment. It just does not run properly. I read several poor reviews and thought they just did not let it warm up or run in. I was wrong. This thing will not run at high speed. No matter how long it warms up, it stalls out when you try to cut. The head spins too slowly to run attachments. Nothing will get this thing to work properly."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hamm512
Location:Montgomery, Alabama
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:June 5, 2015
Easy Start
"I always buy the battery charged trimmer but the last one lacked the power that I needed for some tough weeds. I was afraid that the pull start would be difficult. I am a disabled female with limited arm strength. I even purchased the special part to start it with a drill. I have not used this yet. Starts up for me every time.This trimmer is a dream come true. I do have to use a strap to help me hold the trimmer. I purchased the tiller attachment but it was to much for me to hold on to. My son uses it and loves it. I do purchase Troy-Bilt items for my lawn care. This is the first trimmer by Troy-Bilt."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JamesF
Location:Panama City, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2015
String Trimmer
"I have been using my trimmer for a few months now and it does the job with ease. I just bought a brush cutter attachment for it. I have a small storage shed and the attachments do not take up a lot of room. I think that I will purchase a tiller attachment to turn the dirt in the garden and the wife's flower beds. it's a great tool for the home to get the job done."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bopgun21
Location:Nebraska, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2015
Straight forward string trimmer
"As with all string trimmers, spooling the string is an art form with which my talent (and patience) is lacking. The trimmer itself works nicely, and though I only have one attachment at the moment (edger), it has enough power to operate well. I hope to get more attachments soon... the tiller and brush cutter will make me feel even more rugged and manly!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hook
Location:Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2015
Should not have bought
"Hard to start.hot or cold. followed the instructions to the letter.Seems to cut Ok.but if the gas tank gets about half full and you tilt the machine for any length of time the fuel pick up seems not to be able to pick up fuel and stalls"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hippy
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:May 30, 2015
Trimmer
"This trimmer has all the power you will ever need, plus it has always started for me, know matter what!!!!!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
matt83
Location:LaFollette, TN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:May 30, 2015
Awesome all in one!
"I was in the market for a leaf blower and a small chain saw. I walked into lowes and looked around awhile. Ive never had my own property to care for so I didnt really know much about all this equipment. I saw the trimmer and all the attachments and thought, wow, only one motor to attend to, thats awesome. At the time of my purchase, I also got a free edger! Cant beat that deal! I purchased the leaf blower attachment also. Its a snap to change the attachments! I plan to purchase the pole saw attachment next. I also purchased the cordless jump starter so I feel quite spoiled lol. Love this trimmer!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wabbitdad
Location:Elkhart, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:May 24, 2015
Good value for the money
"I bought this as a replacement for an aging curved shaft trimmer that had seen a lot of use and was showing its age. I also wanted a trimmer that would reach further under bushes and keep the debris further away from me.
I also like the attachment ability, so I can have one tool with multiple uses. I like that the line does not get tangled up in chain link fencing when trimming and the power was more then adequate for trimming back the overgrown grass on the curb.
Having had to replace a riding mower and a push mower within the past year I did not have a lot of money left to spend, so I wanted something that would trim 2 acres and be a good value for the money. This trimmer did it. I now own all Troy-Bilt products and I am very pleased."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Danno1969
Location:upstate, SC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:May 22, 2015
Great! but, there's always a but...
"PROS: Good powerful engine, runs really good. starts easily, takes .95 or .08 string, mows fast without bogging, multiple attatchments available and easy to change, not too heavy, reasonable price.
CONS: Has to be run with choke partially on (position 2) like carbeuretor not set up right and no adjustments to change, grass tends to wrap around shaft at top of cutting head and stop it when in heavy cutting, spring loaded push pin that holds attatchment to trimmer broke (improvised fix with bolt)
Solve the problems: I think if Troybilt would put some type guard around the upper part of cutting head it would prevent grass from wrapping up around it, set the carbeuretor correctly, and devise a better way to hold on the attatchments, this would be the perfect trimmer!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fasteddie
Location:Long Island, New York, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:May 20, 2015
Wish I Didn't!
"Got it this time last year at lowes at first it worked well then it started being hard to start, would stall while useing it and some times not start again! this spring it has not started at all even with starting either! Wish some one would have told me it was only good for one season What a piece of junk! Don't buy one it's a waste of your money!!!!"
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ninjai
Location:Hollywood, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:May 9, 2015
DO NOT BUY
"Horrible product. I have used this product exactly 4 times in one year because it has trouble starting and wont stay running. When i have been able to get it to run its never been at full speed and never out of 2nd. Buyer beware. I watched all the videos, made sure i used the correct oil/gas mixture ext. and still nothing"
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flotndan
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:May 7, 2015
Good Product
"Would strongly recommend this product to anyone. Multi-tool capability. Easy to use. Great product."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AntneR
Location:Davie, FL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:May 7, 2015
String Trimmer
"Bought this to replace my old Echo unit.
I like the tool exchange feature and the ability to rotate the unit to make it an edger. Still getting used to the straight shaft. Old one was curved. Easier to trim under plants and bushes.
"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>