Product Reviews

Troybilt TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer Weed Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.872 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
28
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
18
76%83 of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jordan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:August 17, 2014
Holding Up To Their Name
"Another great product from Troy Bilt. I will continue to buy and use their products. This string trimmer was a great purchase because you can buy multiple awesome TrimmerPlus attachments."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tonytn
Location:Trenton, TN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:August 17, 2014
Trimmer Review
"The trimmer works great but Start-up instructions were followed and I could not get it to run using the steps listed on product or in manual. I had to leave the choke on 2 and not 3 to keep it running and to accelerate the motor to trim like it should. It trimmed great but The start up instructions do not work properly as listed on the product or in the manual. I tried it three separate times with 20 minute breaks between startups. Finally on the fourth try, I left the choke on 2 and it worked fine."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
reverand
Location:Dallas, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:August 16, 2014
awesome string trimmer
"This trimmer fits my every need. It's easy to use and easy to start. I would recommend this trimmer to anyone."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dbn1
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2014
Reasonable trimmer - great price
"I bought this on a Father's Day sale - so the price was excellent. I have had heavier duty trimmers - and this one does nearly as well, so far no specific problems."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Silverfox
Location:Northport, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2014
Best trimmer I've ever owned
"I've owned several brands of string trimmers over the years and recently purchased a Troy string trimmer. What a difference!
The TB 32 EC cost just a little more than trimmers equal to its size but the little extra is worth it. The trimmer performs very well and has plenty of power. The 095 line cuts well and the line last so you restring less. I like the way the trimmer handles while doing yard work and it is not to heavy so it does not wear you out. The only thing I have noticed is the trimmer uses more fuel than others I have owned but when you compare the power and performance to the others who cares. It' Troy for me.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MJones
Location:St. Joseph, MI, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:1
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2014
Works great for the price
"I have a .25 arces and this trimmer is the perfect fit for my yard. I have had it for a little over two months and it just what I needed."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VisionBob
Location:Bernardsville, NJ
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2014
So far So good!
"A month ago I purchased the Troy-Bilt Trimmer at Lowes after having done research on the net. For the past 3 years I was using another brand trimmer that I had purchased at another retailer which I was generally happy with however so far I like the Troy-Bilt much more. It starts easily and quickly, runs smoothly and the trimmer head functions much easier. I have a 5 acre property so the trimmer gets a lot of use and it is doing great! I would highly recommend it and based upon it's performance so far I think I'll be saying the same thing three years from now."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GIANT1
Location:Greensboro, NC, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:August 11, 2014
THE EASE AND DURABILITY OF THE TROY-BILT WEED TRIM
"IM 6'8 AND AND I LOVE THE TROY-BILT 2-CYCLE TRIMMER. I HAVE A SMALL YARD BUT I ALL WAS GET COMPLIMENTS ON HOW GOOD MY YARD LOOKS. I LIVE IN A CLOSE COMMUNITY AND I TAKE PRIDE IN MY YARD, I PURCHASED MY FIRST TROY-BILT 4YEARS AGO. IT WAS WORE OUT SO I PURCHASED MY 2ND ONE THIS WEEKEND. DIDNT HESITATE. WENT RIGHT TO LOWES AND GOT MY TROY-BILT. DIDNT EVEN COMPARE PRICES TO ANY OTHER BRAND. BECAUSE I KNOW WHAT TROY-BILT DOES FOR MY YARD. BEING AS TALL AS I AM ITS THE PERFECT FIT FOR ME AND IM LEFT HANDED. IM A TROY-BILT CUSTOMER FOR LIFE. THANK YOU."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jason1979
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:August 11, 2014
gas trimmer
"i bought this yesterday and used it today. it has little power and bogs down easily. very disappointed with this purchase. i will never buy troy built again."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ajsr
Location:Rochester, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:August 4, 2014
Good value
"I already own a STIHL professional trimmer, but when i came time for one the grand-kids could use, I immediately thought of troy-built.
It is light and easy to start which makes it the best choice for their chores.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yellerman802
Location:Lake Wales, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:August 2, 2014
So far I'm very pleased....
"Right out of the box....was a snap to setup....easy start and felt very strong....use it over 5 hours a week average....had just over a month....time well tell :)"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nino
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:August 1, 2014
gas trimmer
"Easy to setup and operate. Straight out the box to being used. Made quick work of yard work I had to perform."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LuckyStrike
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:July 31, 2014
grass & weed winder
"This trimmer is easy to start & use. Well balanced. The trimmer seems to bog down and has done so since it was new. I often cannot use the trimmer with the choke full open. My biggest gripe is that there is no grass cutter positioned around the space between the trimmer head and the shaft. Long blades of grass continually get wound around this space to a point that it will stop the trimmer head from rotating. It's a pain in the back side to remove this grass often taking 10 to 15 minutes. The other brand of trimmer this TroyBilt replaced was cheaper but did not have this problem. I would not buy this trimmer again unless there was a grass blade cutter."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OldTimer1933
Location:Jackson, TN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:July 31, 2014
Great machine, error in manual
"Machine quit running after about 5 minutes operation and would not re-start. Returned to Lowe's and was advised to change fuel mix from 40:1 to 50:1. They drained it, put in 50:1 mix and machine ran perfectly. I called Customer Support about this and was advised that 50:1 WAS CORRECT, although all literature indicated 40:1.
I adjusted my own mixture to 50:1, have used it for several 'cuttings' and it starts, runs and works just fine,
Without the initial problem, I would have given 5 stars except in ease of use. Would have been nice if shoulder strap had been included.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JeffR
Location:Amarillo, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:July 27, 2014
Bad Product
"I bought this 2 years ago and it has been nothing but a problem. First it is difficult to start so I bought a starter. Second the trigger breaks. I order a new trigger and they send me the wrong part. Last, the throttle cable breaks. I've never had such a poorly made product. Never again."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:July 26, 2014
Great trimmer
"Definitely worth the money. You can feel the power."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bmanbob
Location:Ogdensburg, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:July 22, 2014
Strong Reputation
"Along with the Troy Built reputation, this particular string mower is well balanced, relatively light and reasonably priced. It is aggressive without being too loud."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daddybilll
Location:Knoxville, TN USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:July 20, 2014
TB32 EC string trimmer
"My wife bought this on sale at Lowe's. I had no idea she was going to purchase a trimmer, but we were overdue. My last one was an Echo straight shaft. I used it for over 10 years on about 3 acres. It was more than I could ever hope for. I never had a failure of major components. I had seen the advertisements for the Troy Built line and was impressed. The EZ start addition was brilliant and very simple. Getting older sucks for a variety of reasons, but even the drill attachment and a cordless drill makes starting easy for just about anyone. It seems well built with enough power, I just wish she would have let me know. Sort of like buying a new car with a 4cyl., when they did offer a 6cyl., but should work well enough for us. It was really a no-brainier for what it is versus cost for a new straight shaft trimmer. Looking forward to many seasons of use. I would definitely recommend recommend this trimmer if you are in the market for a new one..."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fredddd
Location:Groves
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:July 17, 2014
Love the attachments
"Bought it for the Attachment capabilities, and the value."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB32 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Melvin
Location:Tulare, CA 93274, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:1
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (109 Reviews)
Date:July 11, 2014
Tb22ec
"Works good for what I need it for. No problems so far. Overall good product for the price."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>