Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower

3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Side Bag Lawn Mower
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
94%15 of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Review 1 for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Onedre
Location:Northern Birginia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2013
Climbs hills!
"I love this mower! I live in a hilly development and there is a steep hill on the front side of our property and from the deck it also slopes steeply down towards the property line. The low gear on this mower keeps me from running into the fence and the tree line when going down the hill. While cutting uphill, all I have to do is guide the mower as it pulls me up the hill. This thing is amazing. Plenty of power to spare.
I only wish there was a heavier duty blade to go with this mower. The stock blade works good but is mangled at the sight of a rock or brush - something like a 1/4" thick blade would be sweet!
"
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lincolnmower
Location:Kentucky
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2014
Before you buy
"I've used this mower for most of the summer mowing 2 level lawns. The only issue that I have with this mower is the cheesy gear shift. The engineering is pretty sorry.
The long angled gear shift is attached with two short bolts to a short piece of metal that is snaked through the gear indicator slot. This piece has a bolt that attaches to the transmission underneath the frame.
The bolt attached to the transmission has come out and there is absolutely no way to adequately reattach the bolt and tighten it. No access panel. No visible means to penetrate the frame to tighten it other than through the gear slot.
"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackson
Location:Covington,Kentucky
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Date:May 29, 2012
TB WC33XP TB Mower
"Just purchased this mower in May 2012,but I had one just like it for 13 Years.The only difference is the old one did not have electric start.
It served me well all those years and I never had a problem with it,but after "13 years" a bearing in the blade spindle went out.The parts are still available,so I gave it to a neighbor who said he would repair it.
I am getting older and decided I wanted electric start and I love it.Hope I get just as good service out of this one.In my book Troy-Bilt can't be beat.
"
+33points
50out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shortcourtking
Location:tsp & i84
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Date:July 6, 2013
Mulching blade a step back
"I had the original wide cut and ran it 15years until it gave up the ghost. My only complaint with the new model I bought last year are the mulching blades. The old model had a second cutting edge that chopped the grass up inside the mower deck. I never saw any clumps of grass with the old blade no matter how long the grass was. Now I see lots of cut grass on the lawn. Bring back the double edged blades. I am tempted to modify the new blades."
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
studiopop
Location:Redding CT
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2014
Enjoyed It For One Day
"Had the mower for one day and was really enjoying the power. Unfortunately, the transmission drive belt popped off twice in the few hours I had it.
Called Lowe's to come get it (an absolute nightmare in itself, but that's another story) to see what the problem is.
If I ever see the mower again I'll report back. Very unfortunate because I purchased based on the great reviews and I know everyone was happy with it.
"
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimS
Location:Lawrenceburg, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2013
Great Purchase
"Had a Troy-Bilt high- wheeler for 16 years, a great machine but knew it was time to up upgrade. After 21/2 month I know this was the right choose. It's a powerful machine, easy to operate and fun to use. Took a little time to adjust to after the high-wheeler because you can't man handle this machine. I like very much the "Run time clock" for both use and maintenance! Price was right also! Thank Troy-Bilt!"
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JSR1958
Location:Bethlehem, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Date:October 21, 2013
Best brand name I ever bought
"I recently bought this mower used but it is in like new condition.It performs perfectly and I cut so much faster. In the spring I bought a 22" troy-bilt mower new and it too is the best mower I ever had. No matter how high the grass is it will not stall. Everybody looking to buy a mower should first look at Troy-Bilt because you won't have to look any farther. Thanks Troy-Bilt for excellent machines"
-7points
6out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scouteron
Location:Delmar, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Date:August 5, 2014
Best Mower
"I purchased a 33" WC mulching mower 18 years ago in Troy NY. The Original TroyBilt. Best mower I ever owned. Started on the first pull every time. Gave a professional look to the lawn. Always made good time. Machine was always reliable. Motor has just given out. Need to decide if it time to update to a new machine"
-7points
4out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RTwilso
Location:Sioux Falls, SD, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Date:January 6, 2014
wide cut mower
"I had the first model used it in my lawn service ran it for over 10 years before it finally quit I don't like the new model doesn't do as good of a job as the original the old one cut the grass up better so you didn't have clumping grass other than that it is good"
+14points
20out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Goatman
Location:Norfolk County, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2014
Older great walk behind mower
"I've had this Walkbehind for about 20 years now. It gets a lot of use and I mean a lot--- it never disappoints me--- anytime I've needed blades, belts or anything else never a problem ordering them. I'd buy another BUT WHY? I'm hoping another 20 years on this"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jedi
Location:N. New England
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Date:September 22, 2012
Legendary Troy-Bilt Wide Cut
"Best mower in it's class, bar none. Provides years of dependable service with an occasional spark plug and belt. Tackles the most the challenging terrain with ease to give a great cut. Will soon buy another and pass down my old one!"
+29points
39out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cobs
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Date:May 27, 2014
Older model was easier to handle
"Great looking mower, however, the ear shift Lever doesn't line up with gears. Throttle/choke control doesn't line up either. Drive control is hard to let offf and should be under handlebar. However, all in all I like the mower."
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gduncan
Location:Lakeland, FL, USA
Zone:9
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2014
walk behind mower
"we have had the large walk behind mower for yrs it has gave us excellent service and has never had to be repaired. I believe it will give us good service for many more yrs"
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RS1159
Location:Hinckley, Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Date:August 8, 2012
"I've got an older version of this mower, going on 20 years, absolutely a workhorse, no issues, starts and runs great as well as cuts good."
+12points
33out of 54found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for TB WC33 XP 33 Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (16 Reviews)
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5