Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower

33 Deck with 3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag
Average Customer Rating:
4.148 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
81%22 of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Review 1 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adirondacker
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:June 23, 2015
The jury is still out.....
"i have an older version of this model(probably 10 + years) and had no problems with it until I bent the spindle running over some unseen buried debris.. Bought a new one from Lowes (my model has a 420 cc engine) and upon delivery and unpackaging I noticed the gear shift handle was missing. I work at Lowes so I thought it would be an easy fix.Just have MTD ship one to the store. Easy set up and it started effortlessly. Then I realized that when the throttle was put on rabbit mode,as recommended, it started choking out. I mowed my lawn with it at the next speed down at the point where the throttle lever stops before moving it up to the rabbit mode,and it performed well. After reading the manual I noticed that this being an electric start it has a battery indicator light. While there is a spot for it in the LCD panel, the light was missing. I called troybilt and they were very helpful. I was advised to return the mower and get a new one. This is a special order item so I am waiting for its arrival. I'm just a bit concerned about their product inspection. How could a brand new mower be sold with all these problems? Hopefully the replacement will arrive in perfect working order. I will update this review when my replacemet arrives."
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LawnMowerDaddy
Location:Wappingers Falls, NY 12590, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:June 18, 2015
Overall, One of the Best Lawn Mowers on the Market
"I have about 2 acre property and the mulch on this mower is great. However, it doesn't mulch that great - just good. They do have separate blades you need to buy that will solve this. The machine takes some getting used to, but once you are used it, it's a breeze. There is one thing I don't like and that's the gear shift. I never truly know if I'm in neutral, first, second or third gear. I think this could have been designed and implemented in a more up to date user friendly way. Otherwise, the lawn mower is great. No issues. Even my father in law who is 70 years old can run it with no problems. It's great on gas. Starts quick. It does a really good job on uneven yards for a wide deck mower. The blade height is easily adjust able. Also, it's surprisingly good on hills, but I've found its easier to cut the grass vertically on hills, rather than steep horizontal hills. I haven't tried it leaves yet, so I'm not sure how it does with leaves. I would imagine it would just cut them up into a million pieces. All in all, totally worth the price and value as compared to one of Troybilt's competitors, Cub Cadet."
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Barnhart
Gender:Male
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2015
Broken In 5 Minutes
"After delivery and about 90 minutes of assembly I started to mow my lawn. In no more than 5 minutes of use the right front Wheel Caster Bracket sheared off at the swivel pin, went under the mower deck, struck and damaged the right blade, and appears to have damaged the Spacer Spindle Assembly to which the right blade is attached. My local Lowe's store tells me that it will take them 4 days to pick it up for inspection. After an inspection it will either have to be sent to a repair center 100 miles away (and who knows how long to order parts and repair), or a new one will need to be shipped, which took 12 days when I initially ordered it.
I will leave it to the reader to pass their own judgement on the quality of the product and the timeliness of Lowe's repair or replacement process."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GJGMINN
Location:Farmington, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:April 23, 2015
More than I expected!
"The machine is big!!! Plenty of power from the 420cc engine and the cut is very nice. It is heavy, so expect to use a little muscle with this one, but the self propelling does a good job at moving it around. Ive read reviews that talk of belts coming off, this one gave me no problems what so ever in the 4 hrs I used it after getting it set up. If you can, make sure you get a 2015 model as they have more belt keepers on them than the 2014. I ordered this straight from Troy Bilt/MTD and it came very nicely packaged and took very little to set it up. Got it together, filled er with fuel, choked it, hit the key and it fired right off. The lawn that usually took me 1.5 hrs to mow, took me 40 minutes with the Troy Bilt 33" walk behind. HIGHLY recommended!!!!!"
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oleblue
Location:Western, MA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:June 11, 2015
Second 33" Wide Cut
"I had a Troy Built 33" Wide Cut for about 17 years. I worked on it every winter. This past year the deck finally rotted out and I could not order a replacement part. About a month ago I purchased the new 2015 Troy Built 33" Wide Cut. What I find, is that Troy Built has improved upon the quality. The machine is much sturdier and is almost commercial grade quality. Troy Built improved upon some features; like blade and drive controls as well as the gear shift lever. The engine is more powerful and the gas tank is larger. I tried to take the bagger attachment off of my old mower, but it doesn't fit on the new mower. I am very pleased with my purchase. I hope it will last as long as my first 33" wide cut."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Onedre
Location:Northern Birginia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2013
Climbs hills!
"I love this mower! I live in a hilly development and there is a steep hill on the front side of our property and from the deck it also slopes steeply down towards the property line. The low gear on this mower keeps me from running into the fence and the tree line when going down the hill. While cutting uphill, all I have to do is guide the mower as it pulls me up the hill. This thing is amazing. Plenty of power to spare.
I only wish there was a heavier duty blade to go with this mower. The stock blade works good but is mangled at the sight of a rock or brush - something like a 1/4" thick blade would be sweet!
"
+21points
27out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lincolnmower
Location:Kentucky
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2014
Before you buy
"I've used this mower for most of the summer mowing 2 level lawns. The only issue that I have with this mower is the cheesy gear shift. The engineering is pretty sorry.
The long angled gear shift is attached with two short bolts to a short piece of metal that is snaked through the gear indicator slot. This piece has a bolt that attaches to the transmission underneath the frame.
The bolt attached to the transmission has come out and there is absolutely no way to adequately reattach the bolt and tighten it. No access panel. No visible means to penetrate the frame to tighten it other than through the gear slot.
"
+32points
42out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ajDubre
Location:Readsboro, VT, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:August 6, 2015
Solid Unit - Bear to Handle
"Super power has unit walking up inclines & holding you back on declines. Use 1st gear to one cuircut reverse edge boundaries. Use 2nd gear to mow the rest. Clutch down turns & corners. Use 3rd gear to change location. (Keep out of 4th gear.)
Beware - If you are under 200-lb & over 65, this unit may not be for you other than large, level areas.
For the record, I am over 70, weigh about 200, & have rolling inclines/hills for my lawn area. About half can be done with the TB-33, the remainder (woods & rocky) must be done with a 22-in mower. The time is split evenly - 3 hours each.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackson
Location:Covington,Kentucky
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:May 29, 2012
TB WC33XP TB Mower
"Just purchased this mower in May 2012,but I had one just like it for 13 Years.The only difference is the old one did not have electric start.
It served me well all those years and I never had a problem with it,but after "13 years" a bearing in the blade spindle went out.The parts are still available,so I gave it to a neighbor who said he would repair it.
I am getting older and decided I wanted electric start and I love it.Hope I get just as good service out of this one.In my book Troy-Bilt can't be beat.
"
+38points
56out of 74found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Badstarter
Location:Upstate NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2015
Less than 10 hours and no start
"For the three times I used the mower before it wouldn't start, it performed well and as expected. The fourth time I went to start it (electric start), no crank, no nothing. Customer service was excellent; reps walked me through diagnostics: fuse good, no short in harness, battery good. Rep advised to connect starter directly to battery--nothing. Rep indicated probably a bad starter. Less than ten hours of use and bad starter? Never again. Customer service excellent; product horrible."
+2points
11out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shortcourtking
Location:tsp & i84
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:July 6, 2013
Mulching blade a step back
"I had the original wide cut and ran it 15years until it gave up the ghost. My only complaint with the new model I bought last year are the mulching blades. The old model had a second cutting edge that chopped the grass up inside the mower deck. I never saw any clumps of grass with the old blade no matter how long the grass was. Now I see lots of cut grass on the lawn. Bring back the double edged blades. I am tempted to modify the new blades."
+39points
40out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
studiopop
Location:Redding CT
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2014
Enjoyed It For One Day
"Had the mower for one day and was really enjoying the power. Unfortunately, the transmission drive belt popped off twice in the few hours I had it.
Called Lowe's to come get it (an absolute nightmare in itself, but that's another story) to see what the problem is.
If I ever see the mower again I'll report back. Very unfortunate because I purchased based on the great reviews and I know everyone was happy with it.
"
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimS
Location:Lawrenceburg, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2013
Great Purchase
"Had a Troy-Bilt high- wheeler for 16 years, a great machine but knew it was time to up upgrade. After 21/2 month I know this was the right choose. It's a powerful machine, easy to operate and fun to use. Took a little time to adjust to after the high-wheeler because you can't man handle this machine. I like very much the "Run time clock" for both use and maintenance! Price was right also! Thank Troy-Bilt!"
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JSR1958
Location:Bethlehem, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:October 21, 2013
Best brand name I ever bought
"I recently bought this mower used but it is in like new condition.It performs perfectly and I cut so much faster. In the spring I bought a 22" troy-bilt mower new and it too is the best mower I ever had. No matter how high the grass is it will not stall. Everybody looking to buy a mower should first look at Troy-Bilt because you won't have to look any farther. Thanks Troy-Bilt for excellent machines"
-4points
12out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scouteron
Location:Delmar, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:August 5, 2014
Best Mower
"I purchased a 33" WC mulching mower 18 years ago in Troy NY. The Original TroyBilt. Best mower I ever owned. Started on the first pull every time. Gave a professional look to the lawn. Always made good time. Machine was always reliable. Motor has just given out. Need to decide if it time to update to a new machine"
-12points
12out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tedebear
Location:Saginaw, MI, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:June 1, 2015
My kids call it the Beast
"I have used it now for 2 months and am very pleased with how it mows, it throws the grass into the grass bag with great loading ability, it fills the bag full. I would definately purchase this product again, it has plenty of power to go thru thick grass. Its cut is very even and clean."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RTwilso
Location:Sioux Falls, SD, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:January 6, 2014
wide cut mower
"I had the first model used it in my lawn service ran it for over 10 years before it finally quit I don't like the new model doesn't do as good of a job as the original the old one cut the grass up better so you didn't have clumping grass other than that it is good"
+26points
32out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Goatman
Location:Norfolk County, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2014
Older great walk behind mower
"I've had this Walkbehind for about 20 years now. It gets a lot of use and I mean a lot--- it never disappoints me--- anytime I've needed blades, belts or anything else never a problem ordering them. I'd buy another BUT WHY? I'm hoping another 20 years on this"
+20points
26out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jedi
Location:N. New England
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:September 22, 2012
Legendary Troy-Bilt Wide Cut
"Best mower in it's class, bar none. Provides years of dependable service with an occasional spark plug and belt. Tackles the most the challenging terrain with ease to give a great cut. Will soon buy another and pass down my old one!"
+31points
43out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cobs
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (27 Reviews)
Date:May 27, 2014
Older model was easier to handle
"Great looking mower, however, the ear shift Lever doesn't line up with gears. Throttle/choke control doesn't line up either. Drive control is hard to let offf and should be under handlebar. However, all in all I like the mower."
+33points
36out of 39found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>