Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower

33 Deck with 3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
90%18 of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Review 1 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GJGMINN
Location:Farmington, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:April 23, 2015
More than I expected!
"The machine is big!!! Plenty of power from the 420cc engine and the cut is very nice. It is heavy, so expect to use a little muscle with this one, but the self propelling does a good job at moving it around. Ive read reviews that talk of belts coming off, this one gave me no problems what so ever in the 4 hrs I used it after getting it set up. If you can, make sure you get a 2015 model as they have more belt keepers on them than the 2014. I ordered this straight from Troy Bilt/MTD and it came very nicely packaged and took very little to set it up. Got it together, filled er with fuel, choked it, hit the key and it fired right off. The lawn that usually took me 1.5 hrs to mow, took me 40 minutes with the Troy Bilt 33" walk behind. HIGHLY recommended!!!!!"
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Onedre
Location:Northern Birginia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2013
Climbs hills!
"I love this mower! I live in a hilly development and there is a steep hill on the front side of our property and from the deck it also slopes steeply down towards the property line. The low gear on this mower keeps me from running into the fence and the tree line when going down the hill. While cutting uphill, all I have to do is guide the mower as it pulls me up the hill. This thing is amazing. Plenty of power to spare.
I only wish there was a heavier duty blade to go with this mower. The stock blade works good but is mangled at the sight of a rock or brush - something like a 1/4" thick blade would be sweet!
"
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lincolnmower
Location:Kentucky
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2014
Before you buy
"I've used this mower for most of the summer mowing 2 level lawns. The only issue that I have with this mower is the cheesy gear shift. The engineering is pretty sorry.
The long angled gear shift is attached with two short bolts to a short piece of metal that is snaked through the gear indicator slot. This piece has a bolt that attaches to the transmission underneath the frame.
The bolt attached to the transmission has come out and there is absolutely no way to adequately reattach the bolt and tighten it. No access panel. No visible means to penetrate the frame to tighten it other than through the gear slot.
"
+27points
35out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackson
Location:Covington,Kentucky
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:May 29, 2012
TB WC33XP TB Mower
"Just purchased this mower in May 2012,but I had one just like it for 13 Years.The only difference is the old one did not have electric start.
It served me well all those years and I never had a problem with it,but after "13 years" a bearing in the blade spindle went out.The parts are still available,so I gave it to a neighbor who said he would repair it.
I am getting older and decided I wanted electric start and I love it.Hope I get just as good service out of this one.In my book Troy-Bilt can't be beat.
"
+37points
55out of 73found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Badstarter
Location:Upstate NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2015
Less than 10 hours and no start
"For the three times I used the mower before it wouldn't start, it performed well and as expected. The fourth time I went to start it (electric start), no crank, no nothing. Customer service was excellent; reps walked me through diagnostics: fuse good, no short in harness, battery good. Rep advised to connect starter directly to battery--nothing. Rep indicated probably a bad starter. Less than ten hours of use and bad starter? Never again. Customer service excellent; product horrible."
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shortcourtking
Location:tsp & i84
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:July 6, 2013
Mulching blade a step back
"I had the original wide cut and ran it 15years until it gave up the ghost. My only complaint with the new model I bought last year are the mulching blades. The old model had a second cutting edge that chopped the grass up inside the mower deck. I never saw any clumps of grass with the old blade no matter how long the grass was. Now I see lots of cut grass on the lawn. Bring back the double edged blades. I am tempted to modify the new blades."
+36points
37out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
studiopop
Location:Redding CT
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2014
Enjoyed It For One Day
"Had the mower for one day and was really enjoying the power. Unfortunately, the transmission drive belt popped off twice in the few hours I had it.
Called Lowe's to come get it (an absolute nightmare in itself, but that's another story) to see what the problem is.
If I ever see the mower again I'll report back. Very unfortunate because I purchased based on the great reviews and I know everyone was happy with it.
"
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimS
Location:Lawrenceburg, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2013
Great Purchase
"Had a Troy-Bilt high- wheeler for 16 years, a great machine but knew it was time to up upgrade. After 21/2 month I know this was the right choose. It's a powerful machine, easy to operate and fun to use. Took a little time to adjust to after the high-wheeler because you can't man handle this machine. I like very much the "Run time clock" for both use and maintenance! Price was right also! Thank Troy-Bilt!"
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JSR1958
Location:Bethlehem, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:October 21, 2013
Best brand name I ever bought
"I recently bought this mower used but it is in like new condition.It performs perfectly and I cut so much faster. In the spring I bought a 22" troy-bilt mower new and it too is the best mower I ever had. No matter how high the grass is it will not stall. Everybody looking to buy a mower should first look at Troy-Bilt because you won't have to look any farther. Thanks Troy-Bilt for excellent machines"
-4points
10out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scouteron
Location:Delmar, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:August 5, 2014
Best Mower
"I purchased a 33" WC mulching mower 18 years ago in Troy NY. The Original TroyBilt. Best mower I ever owned. Started on the first pull every time. Gave a professional look to the lawn. Always made good time. Machine was always reliable. Motor has just given out. Need to decide if it time to update to a new machine"
-11points
10out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RTwilso
Location:Sioux Falls, SD, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:January 6, 2014
wide cut mower
"I had the first model used it in my lawn service ran it for over 10 years before it finally quit I don't like the new model doesn't do as good of a job as the original the old one cut the grass up better so you didn't have clumping grass other than that it is good"
+22points
28out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Goatman
Location:Norfolk County, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2014
Older great walk behind mower
"I've had this Walkbehind for about 20 years now. It gets a lot of use and I mean a lot--- it never disappoints me--- anytime I've needed blades, belts or anything else never a problem ordering them. I'd buy another BUT WHY? I'm hoping another 20 years on this"
+13points
19out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jedi
Location:N. New England
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:September 22, 2012
Legendary Troy-Bilt Wide Cut
"Best mower in it's class, bar none. Provides years of dependable service with an occasional spark plug and belt. Tackles the most the challenging terrain with ease to give a great cut. Will soon buy another and pass down my old one!"
+32points
43out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cobs
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:May 27, 2014
Older model was easier to handle
"Great looking mower, however, the ear shift Lever doesn't line up with gears. Throttle/choke control doesn't line up either. Drive control is hard to let offf and should be under handlebar. However, all in all I like the mower."
+27points
30out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gduncan
Location:Lakeland, FL, USA
Zone:9
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2014
walk behind mower
"we have had the large walk behind mower for yrs it has gave us excellent service and has never had to be repaired. I believe it will give us good service for many more yrs"
-6points
4out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RS1159
Location:Hinckley, Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:August 8, 2012
"I've got an older version of this mower, going on 20 years, absolutely a workhorse, no issues, starts and runs great as well as cuts good."
+9points
34out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pawpa
Location:Orange Grove, TX 78372, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:May 6, 2015
33" walk behind
"purchased 6/26/97 ,rebuilt once ,includeing new motor
ordered new belts today 5/6/2015
best mower ever made
fred smith"
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
REAL
Location:United States
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:May 21, 2015
TB WC33 MOWER
"GREAT MOWER,ONLY ONE ISSUE HEIGHT ADJUSTMENT DOES NOT ADJUST HIGH ENOUGH."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5