Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower

33 Deck with 3-in-1 Capability Side Discharge Mulch Rear Bag
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
83%24 of 29reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Review 1 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim62
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:July 21, 2016
Nice wide mower
"This mower does a very good job, and provides a nice smooth cut. It is pretty easy to maneuver. My previous multi blade mower had three blades with the middle blade between the front wheels so it could be pushed forward closer to edges and objects. The two blades on this mower are behind the front wheels so getting closer to objects has to be done from the side. The trade off is that the 3 blade mower didn't have very much blade overlap so there often were 2 strips of grass that made it between the blades. This mower has enough overlap so nothing gets between the blades.
One quibble is the left (drive) control. In order to engage the drive one has to let go of the handle bar to press/squeeze the drive lever down to the handle bar. When the drive engages the mower takes off and for a second or two only one hand has control of the direction and steering. This can make it somewhat unwieldy when trying to slow down to turn etc. It would be better if the drive lever was under the handle bar so the fingers could be used to squeeze the drive lever up to the handle bar. The lever has to act like a gas pedal when trying to control speed for maneuvering and it engages too far away from the handle bar to be able to press it down a little with the palm and maintain any grip on the handle bar.
I haven't looked yet but maybe the drive cable can be adjusted a little so the drive engages/disengages with the lever closer to the handle bar. Still, overall I am satisfied with this mower."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adirondacker
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:June 23, 2015
The jury is still out.....
"i have an older version of this model(probably 10 + years) and had no problems with it until I bent the spindle running over some unseen buried debris.. Bought a new one from Lowes (my model has a 420 cc engine) and upon delivery and unpackaging I noticed the gear shift handle was missing. I work at Lowes so I thought it would be an easy fix.Just have MTD ship one to the store. Easy set up and it started effortlessly. Then I realized that when the throttle was put on rabbit mode,as recommended, it started choking out. I mowed my lawn with it at the next speed down at the point where the throttle lever stops before moving it up to the rabbit mode,and it performed well. After reading the manual I noticed that this being an electric start it has a battery indicator light. While there is a spot for it in the LCD panel, the light was missing. I called troybilt and they were very helpful. I was advised to return the mower and get a new one. This is a special order item so I am waiting for its arrival. I'm just a bit concerned about their product inspection. How could a brand new mower be sold with all these problems? Hopefully the replacement will arrive in perfect working order. I will update this review when my replacemet arrives."
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LawnMowerDaddy
Location:Wappingers Falls, NY 12590, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:June 18, 2015
Overall, One of the Best Lawn Mowers on the Market
"I have about 2 acre property and the mulch on this mower is great. However, it doesn't mulch that great - just good. They do have separate blades you need to buy that will solve this. The machine takes some getting used to, but once you are used it, it's a breeze. There is one thing I don't like and that's the gear shift. I never truly know if I'm in neutral, first, second or third gear. I think this could have been designed and implemented in a more up to date user friendly way. Otherwise, the lawn mower is great. No issues. Even my father in law who is 70 years old can run it with no problems. It's great on gas. Starts quick. It does a really good job on uneven yards for a wide deck mower. The blade height is easily adjust able. Also, it's surprisingly good on hills, but I've found its easier to cut the grass vertically on hills, rather than steep horizontal hills. I haven't tried it leaves yet, so I'm not sure how it does with leaves. I would imagine it would just cut them up into a million pieces. All in all, totally worth the price and value as compared to one of Troybilt's competitors, Cub Cadet."
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Barnhart
Gender:Male
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2015
Broken In 5 Minutes
"After delivery and about 90 minutes of assembly I started to mow my lawn. In no more than 5 minutes of use the right front Wheel Caster Bracket sheared off at the swivel pin, went under the mower deck, struck and damaged the right blade, and appears to have damaged the Spacer Spindle Assembly to which the right blade is attached. My local Lowe's store tells me that it will take them 4 days to pick it up for inspection. After an inspection it will either have to be sent to a repair center 100 miles away (and who knows how long to order parts and repair), or a new one will need to be shipped, which took 12 days when I initially ordered it.
I will leave it to the reader to pass their own judgement on the quality of the product and the timeliness of Lowe's repair or replacement process."
+26points
29out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GJGMINN
Location:Farmington, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:April 23, 2015
More than I expected!
"The machine is big!!! Plenty of power from the 420cc engine and the cut is very nice. It is heavy, so expect to use a little muscle with this one, but the self propelling does a good job at moving it around. Ive read reviews that talk of belts coming off, this one gave me no problems what so ever in the 4 hrs I used it after getting it set up. If you can, make sure you get a 2015 model as they have more belt keepers on them than the 2014. I ordered this straight from Troy Bilt/MTD and it came very nicely packaged and took very little to set it up. Got it together, filled er with fuel, choked it, hit the key and it fired right off. The lawn that usually took me 1.5 hrs to mow, took me 40 minutes with the Troy Bilt 33" walk behind. HIGHLY recommended!!!!!"
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oleblue
Location:Western, MA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:June 11, 2015
Second 33" Wide Cut
"I had a Troy Built 33" Wide Cut for about 17 years. I worked on it every winter. This past year the deck finally rotted out and I could not order a replacement part. About a month ago I purchased the new 2015 Troy Built 33" Wide Cut. What I find, is that Troy Built has improved upon the quality. The machine is much sturdier and is almost commercial grade quality. Troy Built improved upon some features; like blade and drive controls as well as the gear shift lever. The engine is more powerful and the gas tank is larger. I tried to take the bagger attachment off of my old mower, but it doesn't fit on the new mower. I am very pleased with my purchase. I hope it will last as long as my first 33" wide cut."
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Onedre
Location:Northern Birginia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2013
Climbs hills!
"I love this mower! I live in a hilly development and there is a steep hill on the front side of our property and from the deck it also slopes steeply down towards the property line. The low gear on this mower keeps me from running into the fence and the tree line when going down the hill. While cutting uphill, all I have to do is guide the mower as it pulls me up the hill. This thing is amazing. Plenty of power to spare.
I only wish there was a heavier duty blade to go with this mower. The stock blade works good but is mangled at the sight of a rock or brush - something like a 1/4" thick blade would be sweet!
"
+22points
28out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lincolnmower
Location:Kentucky
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2014
Before you buy
"I've used this mower for most of the summer mowing 2 level lawns. The only issue that I have with this mower is the cheesy gear shift. The engineering is pretty sorry.
The long angled gear shift is attached with two short bolts to a short piece of metal that is snaked through the gear indicator slot. This piece has a bolt that attaches to the transmission underneath the frame.
The bolt attached to the transmission has come out and there is absolutely no way to adequately reattach the bolt and tighten it. No access panel. No visible means to penetrate the frame to tighten it other than through the gear slot.
"
+33points
44out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awcvn74
Location:Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2016
New Mower
"Just got this monster and really happy with the ease of starting and power. I have cut my neighbors and my own lawn several times with it and glad I selected this model. Make sure you have a good cut plan to avoid having to reverse or change gear during cutting.
Pros - Really east setup and first use. Packed really well but easy to get out of the crate, lots of power! Easy to shift up on the fly.
Cons - It had several warnings to add oil but it was already full? Hand controls are ok for the blade control but the drive side needs to be on the bottom vice the top for better control and not so stiff."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ajDubre
Location:Readsboro, VT, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:August 6, 2015
Solid Unit - Bear to Handle
"Super power has unit walking up inclines & holding you back on declines. Use 1st gear to one cuircut reverse edge boundaries. Use 2nd gear to mow the rest. Clutch down turns & corners. Use 3rd gear to change location. (Keep out of 4th gear.)
Beware - If you are under 200-lb & over 65, this unit may not be for you other than large, level areas.
For the record, I am over 70, weigh about 200, & have rolling inclines/hills for my lawn area. About half can be done with the TB-33, the remainder (woods & rocky) must be done with a 22-in mower. The time is split evenly - 3 hours each.
"
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Admiral
Location:Panama City Beach, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:April 7, 2016
My Second Wide Cut Mower
"I purchased my 1st Wide Cut Mower back in 1999 and it worked great for 16 years. I just now replaced it with my new Wide Cut Mower and I expect to use this one for another 16 years. My new mower has an electric starter which makes starting the mower a snap. All of the controls work very well and the various walking speeds are perfect. I really like the cutting height control handle. The only thing I have trouble with is the "drive control" lever. The distance that the lever has to travel from not engaged to fully engaged is 5-6 inches and is a little difficult to work."
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackson
Location:Covington,Kentucky
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:May 29, 2012
TB WC33XP TB Mower
"Just purchased this mower in May 2012,but I had one just like it for 13 Years.The only difference is the old one did not have electric start.
It served me well all those years and I never had a problem with it,but after "13 years" a bearing in the blade spindle went out.The parts are still available,so I gave it to a neighbor who said he would repair it.
I am getting older and decided I wanted electric start and I love it.Hope I get just as good service out of this one.In my book Troy-Bilt can't be beat.
"
+39points
57out of 75found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Badstarter
Location:Upstate NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2015
Less than 10 hours and no start
"For the three times I used the mower before it wouldn't start, it performed well and as expected. The fourth time I went to start it (electric start), no crank, no nothing. Customer service was excellent; reps walked me through diagnostics: fuse good, no short in harness, battery good. Rep advised to connect starter directly to battery--nothing. Rep indicated probably a bad starter. Less than ten hours of use and bad starter? Never again. Customer service excellent; product horrible."
+5points
15out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shortcourtking
Location:tsp & i84
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:July 6, 2013
Mulching blade a step back
"I had the original wide cut and ran it 15years until it gave up the ghost. My only complaint with the new model I bought last year are the mulching blades. The old model had a second cutting edge that chopped the grass up inside the mower deck. I never saw any clumps of grass with the old blade no matter how long the grass was. Now I see lots of cut grass on the lawn. Bring back the double edged blades. I am tempted to modify the new blades."
+40points
41out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
studiopop
Location:Redding CT
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2014
Enjoyed It For One Day
"Had the mower for one day and was really enjoying the power. Unfortunately, the transmission drive belt popped off twice in the few hours I had it.
Called Lowe's to come get it (an absolute nightmare in itself, but that's another story) to see what the problem is.
If I ever see the mower again I'll report back. Very unfortunate because I purchased based on the great reviews and I know everyone was happy with it.
"
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimS
Location:Lawrenceburg, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2013
Great Purchase
"Had a Troy-Bilt high- wheeler for 16 years, a great machine but knew it was time to up upgrade. After 21/2 month I know this was the right choose. It's a powerful machine, easy to operate and fun to use. Took a little time to adjust to after the high-wheeler because you can't man handle this machine. I like very much the "Run time clock" for both use and maintenance! Price was right also! Thank Troy-Bilt!"
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JSR1958
Location:Bethlehem, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:October 21, 2013
Best brand name I ever bought
"I recently bought this mower used but it is in like new condition.It performs perfectly and I cut so much faster. In the spring I bought a 22" troy-bilt mower new and it too is the best mower I ever had. No matter how high the grass is it will not stall. Everybody looking to buy a mower should first look at Troy-Bilt because you won't have to look any farther. Thanks Troy-Bilt for excellent machines"
-3points
13out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scouteron
Location:Delmar, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:August 5, 2014
Best Mower
"I purchased a 33" WC mulching mower 18 years ago in Troy NY. The Original TroyBilt. Best mower I ever owned. Started on the first pull every time. Gave a professional look to the lawn. Always made good time. Machine was always reliable. Motor has just given out. Need to decide if it time to update to a new machine"
-13points
12out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tedebear
Location:Saginaw, MI, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:June 1, 2015
My kids call it the Beast
"I have used it now for 2 months and am very pleased with how it mows, it throws the grass into the grass bag with great loading ability, it fills the bag full. I would definately purchase this product again, it has plenty of power to go thru thick grass. Its cut is very even and clean."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB WC33 XP Wide Cut Self-Propelled Mower
SgtJ
Location:Charlotte County, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (32 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2016
Great walk behind mower
"First 33 inch walk behind. Took some practice to get use to the machine, but, after that it worked great. The only problem I have is with the bag attachment. It lays up against the right rear wheel and will eventually rub a hole in it. I will have to come up with someway to stop that."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>