Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower

50" Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower / Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.52 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (125 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
96%120 of 125reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
towncenterengineer
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:May 19, 2011
Used Daily With Excellent Results
"Very pleased with how the unit has performed. The Mustang Zero Turn mower has been in service at our facility going on the second year.
It is used in a commercial type setting for anywhere between 2 to 4 hours daily as a parking garage and grounds sweeper. We installed the double bagger and chute, mulching blades, and modified the mower deck with a rubber (fiber reinforced membrane) weather strip arounfd the perimeter of the mower deck to provide a better seal.
My groundskeeper is very happy with the Mustang purchase as he used to walk and push a gas powered sweeper to clean a 1.25 acre park, and also our 300 space parking garage every day, both summer and winter.
The mower deck unit could have better quality deck wheels as the plastic units tend to wear out rather quickly. In fact all the tires will probably be the first thing we will need to replace as we put a ton of miles on them. Other than that the mechanicals have performed flawlessly. The 25 HP Kohler motor is a beast! Top notch! Incredible value."
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JTD49
Location:Jennings, Fl.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:August 1, 2010
Great Machine
"I have own this machine since June 2006 and have to mow approximately 2.6 acres on a regular bases and as of this date it has performed with out any problems I have been able to get into some very tight spots and the ease of operations on an incline has been good also the easy operations is very good the only thing I had difficulty with was changing the oil and filter the system could be impfroved the placement of the filter is a little difficult to get to other then that the machine has performed to my expectations and the price of the machine was also very reasonable compared to its counter parts It would be even better if there was a trailer hitch connectlion of some sort to add to its versitility"
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scout
Location:Nebraska
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 15, 2008
Freedom
"Out of all the Zero Turns I have tried this is a great product for the money. I have two acres with over 30 trees, which used to equate to 3 hours of mowing then trimming. With this product I have cut my time in half with very little trimming. I am impressed by the tracking on this mower. Very responsive and holds a great line."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CoachB
Location:Prattville, AL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 16, 2008
Great Mower for our Team
"We purchased the 50" mower towards the end of last football season, I only got to cut the whole field about 3 times before it was time to house the mower for the winter. Great mower, the 50" deck cuts through the grass and covers alot of ground. Easy to steer and hold on line even on a bump football field. The only drawback that I found is that when you go in reverse the blade stops turning so there is no reverse cutting going on. Other than that this mower has been nothing but GREAT for me. I cut it for the first time about 2 weeks ago, and the mower cranked right up and zoomed through the grass. I would recommend this mower to anyone with alot of grass to cut, and you can't beat the price."
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crazydaize
Location:Benton Harbor, MI
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2012
Love it!
"Our first zero turn and we love it. My husband has rhumatoid which made it painful to mow with a regular steering wheel tractor mower. He's back in business with this Mustang! I also have painful arthritis and can see how much easier and quicker the Mustang cuts a quarter of our 9 acre parcel. God blessed us with the money to buy, we are so grateful."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jsholloman
Location:Lake City, Fl
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:August 2, 2012
Mustang Zero Turn
"Excellent mower, I cut 4 acres in 3 hours and it looks like a golf course. This is my second 50 inch zero turn by Toy-Bilt. Somebody liked my forst one better than me and it disapeared. I had it for 6 years and never had a problem with it except for replacing 1 battery and multiple blade changes and 1 set of drive and blade belts. I am now on my second one. The new one does not have grease fittings on the spindles so I can not evaluate that change yet but the new ones have ball bearings instead of busshings. Hopefully I can get the same or more service out of the new Zero.
The deck only has 1 adjustement site as opposed to 2 adjust ment sites for side to side adjustments and doesn't cut as low as my last one or my Pony."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
freedomkev
Location:Freedom, WI
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 30, 2012
Mustang XP efficiency to max
"Great lawn equipment, well powered, heavy duty frame design suggests this mower will last my lifetime."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cutter
Location:Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 29, 2012
I'm Freer Than Before
"I cut about three acres. It has been a rainy year and the grass just keeps on coming. My Troy-Bilt zero turn lets me do the job in 1/3 of the time it used to take on our regular riding mower. It has freed up so much time, I can now enjoy many other things around our acreage. I parked it last winter and this spring it started with the first turn of the key. I installed new blades this year. They lasted 1 1/2 seasons - not bad in my opinion. The mowing deck was easy to remove in three quick steps allowing me to get at the blades with ease. The deck was back on in a couple of minutes. One little complaint is the gas cap will come loose if you don't take care to tighten it properly. Also, the heat from the engine will scorch the grass if you stop too long in one spot, but that is spelled out in the manual. Overall, considering the price, it is pretty good value."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeffrank
Location:Bonaire, Ga
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 25, 2012
great machine
"I cut approximately 10 acres every week. I am retired and I cut my kids grass and my own every week. This Mustang has proven to be just as strong and reliable as any of the expensive professional commercial brands on the market. it is fun to use and has never let me down. Parts are readily available and you can repair it yourself, you don't need any of these expensive repair shops. Yes I have had to replace a few things over the last 5 years but the parts have always been there and easy to replace. Best Mower I have ever owned."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
juniors
Location:south carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
best ever
"The best mower I have ever owned. Cuts very smooth and turned my from skinned places to lwn that look professionally manicured. This tractor is the best bang for the buck."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deerhunter1
Location:bristol va.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
good product
"good operating machine and works good. needs a trailer hitch and better wheels on the mower deck, it runs and operates very well and I mow approx. my yard every week and have had no problems with it at all."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tobby100000
Location:midwest Illinois
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2012
fastest mower around
"this mower is so fast and clean and you can get really close, be careful though or you will get to close and no more tree"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HootOwl
Location:PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2012
As Promised
"Great mower. Used over a year and performance is flawless. Deck Wash system works well. Easy to operate and cut my previous mowing time with a tractor mower by over an hour. Only minor irritant is inability to read fuel levels from operators seat."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jhawker
Location:Alabama
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:May 20, 2012
Great Mower
"After receiving my Mustang mower I had trouble starting it but after a simple choke cable adjustment it cranks first time every time. I mow about 4 1/2 acres and the Mustang eats up the grass and I am through in about 3 to 4 hours. Love my mustang!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Umpire13
Location:Central Pa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 30, 2012
Impressive
"I'm beginning my 3rd season with the Mustand ZT
I have approximately 2 acres of yard, all hills.
It took some time, and a lot of practice, to be comfortable on the steep slopes, but now that I am, I am able to mow the grass in under an hour.
I maintain my machine, but I don't baby it. The only problems I have had in these 3 years have been replacing the battery, and a few self inflicted issues, such as water in the gas and a broken muffler from backing over a rock.
Overall, I am impressed with how well it does what I ask.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
YardJockey
Location:The Woodlands, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
durable mower
"The Troy built is a workhorse. I mow 5 acres with it and have put it through rough duty with no adverse effect on the mower. A trust worthy mower."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Todz
Location:Rock Hill, SC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Tackles that acerage
"I cut my mowing time in half with my Mustang ZT mower. Ive had it for 3 seasons now with no issues. It starts right up and powers through my 1.8 acres in no time"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jergen
Location:New Berlin, WI.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Great Tractor
"This tractor is one of the best zero turn mowers I have seen. Good looking and very pratical. The price is right in with the best of these models."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Angela
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
So easy to use!
"Since I never used a zero turn mower before, I thought this mower would be difficult to manuever. To my delight, it was easy to get used to and a fun machine to run! I can cut my two acres of grass in half the time it took to use a conventional riding mower. Troy-Bilt is a name I can trust to give me a high quality, dependable and easy to use mower!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bettyva
Location:lexigton SC
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:September 6, 2011
Worst mower I ever owned
"This mower has broke down at least 2 times a season. It is once again sitting at the back of my yard dripping gas on my grass waiting to be picked up for repair. It has already had the fuel pump replace last year. My advice to anyone considering this mower is to take time to think long and hard before doing so. Then DON'T DO IT!! It has been a problem from day one!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>