Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower

50" Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower / Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.52 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (125 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
96%120 of 125reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Review 21 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Knessel
Location:Illinois
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 28, 2010
Nice Cut, Lacks Durability
"I have had my mower for about a year and half. I have a very flat yard that is about three acres. The mower cuts very well and I am happy with the speed and how easy it starts up. I would say that after about 50 working hours I have had two of the caster wheels fall off and the blade spindles are going out pretty quickly which is worrisome. I have been pleased with the mower but I wish it was more durable."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
plbacman
Location:San Antonio
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 4, 2009
Impressed
"I just picked this up today. Adjusted levers to fit and started it up. Went out just to figure how to drive it and wound up mowing the yard and easement. WOW. The yard only took a few minutes to do and looks better than it ever did with the lawn tractor. If it ever rains again I can cut the 3 acre field. We will see how well it lasts, but I got the 4 year full warranty.
RM
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LANDSCAPER
Location:AUGUSTA GA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:October 21, 2008
NOT THAT GREAT
"I OWN MY OWN LAWN CARE BUISNESS AND PURCHASED THIS MOWER TO GET STARTED. I HAVE MIXED FELLINGS ON IT IT IS OVERALL AN OK MOWER FOR THE NORMAL PERSON DECK IS SUPER THIN AND NOT DURABLE. MOWER HYDRO FANS VERY FRAGILE BROKEN SEVERAL , ALSO THE TIRES ARE SUPER THIN NOT A REAL GOOD BUY FOR THE BUISNESS MAN OK FOR SMALL YARD WITH NOTHING BUT GRASS TO CUT NO ROCKS STICKS ETC.."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bettyva
Location:lexigton SC
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:September 6, 2011
Worst mower I ever owned
"This mower has broke down at least 2 times a season. It is once again sitting at the back of my yard dripping gas on my grass waiting to be picked up for repair. It has already had the fuel pump replace last year. My advice to anyone considering this mower is to take time to think long and hard before doing so. Then DON'T DO IT!! It has been a problem from day one!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crazydaize
Location:Benton Harbor, MI
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2012
Love it!
"Our first zero turn and we love it. My husband has rhumatoid which made it painful to mow with a regular steering wheel tractor mower. He's back in business with this Mustang! I also have painful arthritis and can see how much easier and quicker the Mustang cuts a quarter of our 9 acre parcel. God blessed us with the money to buy, we are so grateful."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fatback
Location:dawson , ga
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 19, 2010
may be best purchase ever ?
"I bought this mower in april 09 . Currenyly cut about 3 acres of grass a week on it . the mower runs great and does a good job of cutting . rides a little rough on bumpy ground . afer 14 months of use one of the 3 blade spindles went out . still waiting to see if troybuilt makes it good . If they replace it I consider this a great buy for the price ."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Andrew
Location:Pittsfield, Maine
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2009
Good Overall Mower, Fun to use
"This is my first Z, I've had riders before and I have a couple push behinds, I use this for my larger back yard but it works well for out front also... I love the large deck as this cuts cutting time down. The only complaint I have is the rear tires have very poor traction and this can cause you to get into a bad situation if your are turning around."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Angela
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
So easy to use!
"Since I never used a zero turn mower before, I thought this mower would be difficult to manuever. To my delight, it was easy to get used to and a fun machine to run! I can cut my two acres of grass in half the time it took to use a conventional riding mower. Troy-Bilt is a name I can trust to give me a high quality, dependable and easy to use mower!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
keithf
Location:Oklahoma City
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 15, 2010
Verdict is still out
"Purchased the Mustang 50" zero turn and the second time I used it, the left front deck wheel bracket bent about 45 degrees when I made a zero turn. I have to have it repaired now. Hope this isn't an "ongoing" flaw in the design. Other than that, the mower seems to work great. But this potential bracket bending problem does concern me."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scout
Location:Nebraska
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 15, 2008
Freedom
"Out of all the Zero Turns I have tried this is a great product for the money. I have two acres with over 30 trees, which used to equate to 3 hours of mowing then trimming. With this product I have cut my time in half with very little trimming. I am impressed by the tracking on this mower. Very responsive and holds a great line."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vaazul
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:March 25, 2010
A dependable, high-quality Mower
"I purchased this mower a few months ago and I have been incredibly pleased with this experience.
It starts immediately, cuts cleanly and quickly, and it is extremely comfortable to use. The overall quality of the materials give me a fair amount of confidence that this will be a mower to last a number of years...that's my hope!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jhawker
Location:Alabama
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:May 20, 2012
Great Mower
"After receiving my Mustang mower I had trouble starting it but after a simple choke cable adjustment it cranks first time every time. I mow about 4 1/2 acres and the Mustang eats up the grass and I am through in about 3 to 4 hours. Love my mustang!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HootOwl
Location:PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2012
As Promised
"Great mower. Used over a year and performance is flawless. Deck Wash system works well. Easy to operate and cut my previous mowing time with a tractor mower by over an hour. Only minor irritant is inability to read fuel levels from operators seat."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Condor
Location:NE Tennessee
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 14, 2011
Good running machine
"Runs smooth, starts 1st time - every time. Handles rough terrain better than I thought it would. The seat needs improving, not tall enough, NO lower back support & needs arm rests. But other than that, a real nice machine for the money."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deerhunter1
Location:bristol va.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
good product
"good operating machine and works good. needs a trailer hitch and better wheels on the mower deck, it runs and operates very well and I mow approx. my yard every week and have had no problems with it at all."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jesslubsbrian
Location:La
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2010
Mustang
"I used this product for 6 months then it broke not the fault of the company but my movers they started it after i drained the oil. I loved it a wish I ad the money to replace it."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
juniors
Location:south carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
best ever
"The best mower I have ever owned. Cuts very smooth and turned my from skinned places to lwn that look professionally manicured. This tractor is the best bang for the buck."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Todz
Location:Rock Hill, SC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Tackles that acerage
"I cut my mowing time in half with my Mustang ZT mower. Ive had it for 3 seasons now with no issues. It starts right up and powers through my 1.8 acres in no time"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mscobra1
Location:Bowling Green, KY
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:March 29, 2010
Great product
"My father has this mower and he loves it. He use to always want us to mow for him but not now. He said this makes mowing less like a chore and more like playing."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimF
Location:Rochester, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 24, 2010
Great machine
"Shopped around and found a great deal on this machine at Lowes. Buy this mower and get a FREE pressure washer! All the bells and whistles at a reasonable price."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>