Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower

50" Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower / Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.52 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (125 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
96%120 of 125reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Review 41 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wayne
Location:Newburgh, IN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 8, 2008
Another fine Troy-Built product
"Last year I bought my Troy-Built 50” Zero Turn mower to cut 2.5 acres, with half being a field. The mower has done a great job and has really cut my mowing time down. I have only got the tractor out once to bush hog the field and that was just to use the tractor. When mowing the field I use a higher cut and lower speed and it looks great when finished. Takes about two hours to mow and trim the yard and field. So far I have 30 hours of use on the mower and I make sure to do the greasing, oil, and other routine service when needed. The only things I would have added on this mower would be fold up armrest and a hitch on back for a yard cart.
Another fine product added to my fleet of Troy-Built products.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Butch
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 5, 2008
best mower I have ever bought
"I'm not one to change my mind about equipment that I us or have used.
But ever since I purchased the Troy RZT Mustang I have had to change my mind about all mowers. Every mower that I have ever owened has hurt my back after mowing over one hour or so. But with my Troy I can mow for hours and still not hurt.
Not only that, but I can do the job in 1/3 the time it used to take with my other mower.
I have 10 acers and 3 of it is lawn.
Infact I am thinking about tying it out on the pasture.
MAY BE.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jerry
Location:south carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:May 23, 2008
zero turn mower w/22 hp
"easy to use, no problems, cuts mowing time by 2/3rds. very little trimming"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JTD49
Location:Jennings, Fl.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:August 1, 2010
Great Machine
"I have own this machine since June 2006 and have to mow approximately 2.6 acres on a regular bases and as of this date it has performed with out any problems I have been able to get into some very tight spots and the ease of operations on an incline has been good also the easy operations is very good the only thing I had difficulty with was changing the oil and filter the system could be impfroved the placement of the filter is a little difficult to get to other then that the machine has performed to my expectations and the price of the machine was also very reasonable compared to its counter parts It would be even better if there was a trailer hitch connectlion of some sort to add to its versitility"
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jsholloman
Location:Lake City, Fl
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:August 2, 2012
Mustang Zero Turn
"Excellent mower, I cut 4 acres in 3 hours and it looks like a golf course. This is my second 50 inch zero turn by Toy-Bilt. Somebody liked my forst one better than me and it disapeared. I had it for 6 years and never had a problem with it except for replacing 1 battery and multiple blade changes and 1 set of drive and blade belts. I am now on my second one. The new one does not have grease fittings on the spindles so I can not evaluate that change yet but the new ones have ball bearings instead of busshings. Hopefully I can get the same or more service out of the new Zero.
The deck only has 1 adjustement site as opposed to 2 adjust ment sites for side to side adjustments and doesn't cut as low as my last one or my Pony."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deerhunter1
Location:bristol va.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
good product
"good operating machine and works good. needs a trailer hitch and better wheels on the mower deck, it runs and operates very well and I mow approx. my yard every week and have had no problems with it at all."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stardi69
Location:nj
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 15, 2011
Nice Mower
"Nice Mower - incredible machine for large property"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rroy47
Location:NJ
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 15, 2011
Great Mower
"Great Mower - makes large property upkeep a breeze"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
podetroit
Location:Mi
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 21, 2011
What I'm Talking about
"Oh, Yes indeed. The ultimate riding mower or the homeowner"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Condor
Location:NE Tennessee
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 14, 2011
Good running machine
"Runs smooth, starts 1st time - every time. Handles rough terrain better than I thought it would. The seat needs improving, not tall enough, NO lower back support & needs arm rests. But other than that, a real nice machine for the money."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fatback
Location:dawson , ga
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 19, 2010
may be best purchase ever ?
"I bought this mower in april 09 . Currenyly cut about 3 acres of grass a week on it . the mower runs great and does a good job of cutting . rides a little rough on bumpy ground . afer 14 months of use one of the 3 blade spindles went out . still waiting to see if troybuilt makes it good . If they replace it I consider this a great buy for the price ."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rond
Location:tx
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 12, 2010
rider
"is a good all around mower. good for lots of grass to mow."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
yrguide
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 1, 2010
Great item!
"Great item, great price, and with troy bilt quality!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
makkedah02
Location:nh
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2010
nice
"this is a nice unit, for a girl that not use to useing this tpye of equipment, i was scared but figured it out o.k."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
keithf
Location:Oklahoma City
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 15, 2010
Verdict is still out
"Purchased the Mustang 50" zero turn and the second time I used it, the left front deck wheel bracket bent about 45 degrees when I made a zero turn. I have to have it repaired now. Hope this isn't an "ongoing" flaw in the design. Other than that, the mower seems to work great. But this potential bracket bending problem does concern me."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
davmel1
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 3, 2010
rider
"this is a good mower and will do a good job of cutting."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mscobra1
Location:Bowling Green, KY
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:March 29, 2010
Great product
"My father has this mower and he loves it. He use to always want us to mow for him but not now. He said this makes mowing less like a chore and more like playing."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mvs784
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:March 26, 2010
too wide
"looks like a good rider , just wish they would have stuck with 48 inches as most lawn mowers are"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Andrew
Location:Pittsfield, Maine
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2009
Good Overall Mower, Fun to use
"This is my first Z, I've had riders before and I have a couple push behinds, I use this for my larger back yard but it works well for out front also... I love the large deck as this cuts cutting time down. The only complaint I have is the rear tires have very poor traction and this can cause you to get into a bad situation if your are turning around."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skeeter
Location:East Texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 17, 2011
Judge still out
"This mower is doing a good job on my yard. 2-1/3 acres.
Starts good, but it does like gas. The pumps that drive the unit do not respond the same. One is more agile that the other. I am still adusting the limit switch to get the sticks to allow the mower
to travel straight when full forward. This unit does
throw dust and grit all over the driver.
It has allowed me to cut the yard in less time over the lawn tractor that I was using.
Will have to wait to see how it wholes up. Short time owner. (Just bought)"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>