Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower

50" Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower / Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.52 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (125 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
96%120 of 125reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
towncenterengineer
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:May 19, 2011
Used Daily With Excellent Results
"Very pleased with how the unit has performed. The Mustang Zero Turn mower has been in service at our facility going on the second year.
It is used in a commercial type setting for anywhere between 2 to 4 hours daily as a parking garage and grounds sweeper. We installed the double bagger and chute, mulching blades, and modified the mower deck with a rubber (fiber reinforced membrane) weather strip arounfd the perimeter of the mower deck to provide a better seal.
My groundskeeper is very happy with the Mustang purchase as he used to walk and push a gas powered sweeper to clean a 1.25 acre park, and also our 300 space parking garage every day, both summer and winter.
The mower deck unit could have better quality deck wheels as the plastic units tend to wear out rather quickly. In fact all the tires will probably be the first thing we will need to replace as we put a ton of miles on them. Other than that the mechanicals have performed flawlessly. The 25 HP Kohler motor is a beast! Top notch! Incredible value."
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cutter
Location:Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 29, 2012
I'm Freer Than Before
"I cut about three acres. It has been a rainy year and the grass just keeps on coming. My Troy-Bilt zero turn lets me do the job in 1/3 of the time it used to take on our regular riding mower. It has freed up so much time, I can now enjoy many other things around our acreage. I parked it last winter and this spring it started with the first turn of the key. I installed new blades this year. They lasted 1 1/2 seasons - not bad in my opinion. The mowing deck was easy to remove in three quick steps allowing me to get at the blades with ease. The deck was back on in a couple of minutes. One little complaint is the gas cap will come loose if you don't take care to tighten it properly. Also, the heat from the engine will scorch the grass if you stop too long in one spot, but that is spelled out in the manual. Overall, considering the price, it is pretty good value."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1angry
Location:Winchester, VA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 26, 2011
Worst mower ever!!
"This mower is the absolute worst mower that I have ever used, much less spent alot of money for.
The Wheels on the deck are placed at the wrong location and even when extreme care is used "barks" my trees. I brought this mower because I have a very large yard--over 2 acres--
with many, many trees, shrubs, and buildings to cut around.
The second, and worst problem I have had is that the middle pulley-assembly broke at one of the anchoring tabs under the deck. The one broken tab caused the whole spindle to wrench off the deck, and twist the deck metal. The deck was straightened as well as possible, and a new spindle was attached. Within 5 minutes the new spindle broke and flew off the deck.
This mower on has 69 hours on it!!!
The metal is paper thin, and the design is AWFUL!!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jsholloman
Location:Lake City, Fl
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:August 2, 2012
Mustang Zero Turn
"Excellent mower, I cut 4 acres in 3 hours and it looks like a golf course. This is my second 50 inch zero turn by Toy-Bilt. Somebody liked my forst one better than me and it disapeared. I had it for 6 years and never had a problem with it except for replacing 1 battery and multiple blade changes and 1 set of drive and blade belts. I am now on my second one. The new one does not have grease fittings on the spindles so I can not evaluate that change yet but the new ones have ball bearings instead of busshings. Hopefully I can get the same or more service out of the new Zero.
The deck only has 1 adjustement site as opposed to 2 adjust ment sites for side to side adjustments and doesn't cut as low as my last one or my Pony."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JTD49
Location:Jennings, Fl.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:August 1, 2010
Great Machine
"I have own this machine since June 2006 and have to mow approximately 2.6 acres on a regular bases and as of this date it has performed with out any problems I have been able to get into some very tight spots and the ease of operations on an incline has been good also the easy operations is very good the only thing I had difficulty with was changing the oil and filter the system could be impfroved the placement of the filter is a little difficult to get to other then that the machine has performed to my expectations and the price of the machine was also very reasonable compared to its counter parts It would be even better if there was a trailer hitch connectlion of some sort to add to its versitility"
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wayne
Location:Newburgh, IN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 8, 2008
Another fine Troy-Built product
"Last year I bought my Troy-Built 50” Zero Turn mower to cut 2.5 acres, with half being a field. The mower has done a great job and has really cut my mowing time down. I have only got the tractor out once to bush hog the field and that was just to use the tractor. When mowing the field I use a higher cut and lower speed and it looks great when finished. Takes about two hours to mow and trim the yard and field. So far I have 30 hours of use on the mower and I make sure to do the greasing, oil, and other routine service when needed. The only things I would have added on this mower would be fold up armrest and a hitch on back for a yard cart.
Another fine product added to my fleet of Troy-Built products.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CoachB
Location:Prattville, AL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 16, 2008
Great Mower for our Team
"We purchased the 50" mower towards the end of last football season, I only got to cut the whole field about 3 times before it was time to house the mower for the winter. Great mower, the 50" deck cuts through the grass and covers alot of ground. Easy to steer and hold on line even on a bump football field. The only drawback that I found is that when you go in reverse the blade stops turning so there is no reverse cutting going on. Other than that this mower has been nothing but GREAT for me. I cut it for the first time about 2 weeks ago, and the mower cranked right up and zoomed through the grass. I would recommend this mower to anyone with alot of grass to cut, and you can't beat the price."
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skipper
Location:central IL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 7, 2009
Fantastic
"After a year or so of debating whether or not to buy a brand new mower for the first time, I took the plunge and bought this mower.
I am very pleased and actually looking forward to next weeks mowing.
The controls are very good, easy to adjust to the person and feel natural. The ease of mowing is great, close around trees and the house cuts down the trimming. The speed is GREAT, cut my 2 acre yard mowing time from 1:40 minutes to just 45 minutes. The deck flush system seems to work good, love this feature.
Having just bought the mower I have not yet serviced it, but everything appears to be easy and convenient to access.
Looking forward to many enjoyable years of service from this machine.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dennis
Location:Honea Path, SC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:March 22, 2009
Awesome Machine
"Bought the Mustang near the end of 2008. This machine is great. It started right up after the winter season. Makes cutting the grass fun instead of a chore that I dread. I cut 2.5 acres in around 2 hours, and I have alot of flower beds etc... to cut around. Highly recommend this machine as it is priced considerably lower than most others, and seems to do a great job. Yard looks great again as I just finished mowing for the first time in 2009. Can't wait for the grass to grow back! By the way, my wife does the weedeating usually, though I help. I am a blessed man. Thanks Troy Bilt......."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
2soonlodand2latesmart
Location:Central Georgia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:May 5, 2011
Poor deck design
"This mower really looks smart and performs well; however, the deck design is amaturish. The deck has the front edge elevated, (why?) by about 1 inche above the ground, and the only blades available are high-lift mulch blades . The pressure from the rotating blades forces mulch and dirt out the front of the deck through this open slot across the front. Forward motion of the mower causes most of it to be deposited on the deck, covering the belt and pulleys in just a short while. The rest of the stuff winds up on me. Very little of it actually goes out the chute."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
countryboy
Location:Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 26, 2010
yes
"I just recently purchased the troybilt 50'' zero turn and it is far fetch and beyond what I had so its going to get high ratings from me , I got it home and cut my grass in half the time. Down one side of my yard has bahaya grass and its pretty thick but it ran through it like nothing Im really impressed with it so far so good!! Just a slite recommedation is that it needs a lever that keeps it the notch for the deck all the down. All in all I did alot of research on these mowers and it is the best decision I ever made for the money!!!!!!!!!!!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuckyDuck
Location:Brownsville, Tennessee
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 23, 2009
What A Relief
"Finally, a dependable mower! I'm recently widowed, taking care of things on my own, needed a new mower. Purchased "Mustang" today, first time cut this year on 2-1/2 acres of thick, tall grass and clover, and mower is great. Never drove zero turn before so I was learning as I mowed, still finished in less than 1-1/2 hours. Immediate starting, easy to operate, trims close around trees and flowers, deck moves up and down smoothly, plenty of safety features. Had fun, not worn out, yard looks picture perfect, looking forward to next cutting."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeffrank
Location:Bonaire, Ga
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 25, 2012
great machine
"I cut approximately 10 acres every week. I am retired and I cut my kids grass and my own every week. This Mustang has proven to be just as strong and reliable as any of the expensive professional commercial brands on the market. it is fun to use and has never let me down. Parts are readily available and you can repair it yourself, you don't need any of these expensive repair shops. Yes I have had to replace a few things over the last 5 years but the parts have always been there and easy to replace. Best Mower I have ever owned."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Umpire13
Location:Central Pa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 30, 2012
Impressive
"I'm beginning my 3rd season with the Mustand ZT
I have approximately 2 acres of yard, all hills.
It took some time, and a lot of practice, to be comfortable on the steep slopes, but now that I am, I am able to mow the grass in under an hour.
I maintain my machine, but I don't baby it. The only problems I have had in these 3 years have been replacing the battery, and a few self inflicted issues, such as water in the gas and a broken muffler from backing over a rock.
Overall, I am impressed with how well it does what I ask.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skeeter
Location:East Texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 17, 2011
Judge still out
"This mower is doing a good job on my yard. 2-1/3 acres.
Starts good, but it does like gas. The pumps that drive the unit do not respond the same. One is more agile that the other. I am still adusting the limit switch to get the sticks to allow the mower
to travel straight when full forward. This unit does
throw dust and grit all over the driver.
It has allowed me to cut the yard in less time over the lawn tractor that I was using.
Will have to wait to see how it wholes up. Short time owner. (Just bought)"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Butch
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 5, 2008
best mower I have ever bought
"I'm not one to change my mind about equipment that I us or have used.
But ever since I purchased the Troy RZT Mustang I have had to change my mind about all mowers. Every mower that I have ever owened has hurt my back after mowing over one hour or so. But with my Troy I can mow for hours and still not hurt.
Not only that, but I can do the job in 1/3 the time it used to take with my other mower.
I have 10 acers and 3 of it is lawn.
Infact I am thinking about tying it out on the pasture.
MAY BE.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boots55
Location:florida
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:10
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 11, 2010
"I have had the Z turn for three years now and mow about 2 acres. If you rally want a fine mower this is the one to buy. I also have a 42 inch garden tractor that is 16 yrs old and still use for using hitch untill recently. I welded a hitch on the back of of the 50inch Z turn and now I can do every thing with the mustang. I am 65 yrs old and Just recently took the blades off by myself and sharpend the three blades. Deck easy to remove and install. Would love to have arm rest on seat though."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joekool
Location:Alabama
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 27, 2009
Love this Mustang
"I own several Troy Built products and they all perform great. I bought the Mustang Zero turn and can't express how pleased I am. This thing is so much fun; it's the first Zero mower I've used and I couldn't stop laughing when I first fired it up and started to practice. I have a 6 acre yard and it's so much easier to cut now. The only improvement that I can suggest would be a seat with arm rest; I'm 55 and my arms get a little tired. You need to get one of these; it makes yard work fun!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zaretroc
Location:Rock Hill, SC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:July 8, 2008
Mustang
"I purchased my ZT 50 Mustang a few months back and found it cut my mowing time down dramatically. I was using a Husq garden tractor before then and it took me most of the day to cut my almost 2 acre yard. The Mustang proved easy to learn how to use, fast and clean cut the yard in over 1/2 the time. I purchased the accessorie sun shade and I'm sure that will help during the brutal SC summer season. Its actually fun to cut the yard on this mower. Its Zero turn from now on baby!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mustang XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
socrfan
Location:Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:May 21, 2011
Good up to a point
"The first year I had this mower it ran great. After that the right steering control started to act up. After about an hour or even less it no longer responds and you can only steer with the left control. I've read others who were having the same problem. The spindles have also given out and needed replacing. They used to have grease fittings but no more. After only the start of it's third year I'm questioning it's reliability."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>