Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter

27 Ton Hydraulic Log Splitter Wood Splitter - 160cc OHV Honda engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
1
97%83 of 86reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Review 21 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tobby100000
Location:midwest Illinois
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2012
great
"I love this log splitter, it made my log days so much easier, starts everytime and handles the big logs, excellent"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
galactic25
Location:Champaign, IL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2012
The Best
"This log splitter is so good, it turned my logs into Lincoln logs!"
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 23 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
babs22
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:April 26, 2012
Works great
"Have used a similar Tory splitter, the make short work of a big stack of wood!"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cyndygail
Location:mo
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:April 16, 2012
used out of the box
"we had to clear some land quickly and were surprised that this started right out of the box and ran forever"
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 25 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hijos
Location:Upstate Ny
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:January 14, 2012
lost 2 pull cords
"I just lost the second pull cord. Hard to start in the winter..."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RoxiandGator
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:9
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:November 4, 2011
Just Bought..Works Great So Far
"Bought Sept.2011.. Replaced jack with Marine Bolton Jack..Best used Vertically."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 27 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daug
Location:Dacula Ga
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:November 4, 2011
Not sure what to do now.
"After splitting 2 cords of wood, the pump started to leak at the fitting to the hydraulic hose.
After tightening the nut to seal and secure this fitting.
I went back to work. About 20 minutes later the fitting blew out of the pump. Stripped the threads in the aluminum house ond there is not fix for this.
Seems this should be more industrial than this.
I would not recommend this, MTD or Cub Cadet to anyone. They are all the same.
"
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 28 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
swamplog
Location:Rhode Island
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:November 2, 2011
Log Splitting Can Be Fun
"The Troy-Bilt Splitter is easy to start and operates well, easily splittting large logs even those with twisted grain or branch knots.
It takes some effort to raise the ram to vertical, but the vertical position makes handling large heavy logs very easy. The only problem I have encountered is difficulty with a tight fit on a standard 2 inch ball hitch.
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 29 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Donnie
Location:Asheville
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2011
What a great peice of equiptment
"What a great piece of equipment. Splits whatever is placed in it. Has saved me so much time. Have only had mine less than a year but have split I don’t know how many cords of wood, and have lent it to a friend for a week of splitting also. It starts on the second pull after sitting. Have no complaints only compliments so far.
I would suggest to the company to make one side of the log catch longer, the motor side. When splitting a large log in the horizontal position, the half that falls can hit the engine and cause damage. That said I would purchase this machine again.
"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 30 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tim2733
Location:cheverly mardland
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:May 30, 2011
log splitter
"had 3 years great splitt 20 cords of wood had to repair bolts on wedge two times bent need to make bigger so will not bend like i said great log splitter. start and run on first pull even set all winter looking forword to getting yard vacuum"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bomar
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:May 21, 2011
Lasting
"Have had ours for several years with no issues at all! Splitting 6 cords plus a year for firewood."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trump
Location:Brewer, Maine
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:February 17, 2011
Great Machine
"Very will built splitter, and reliable. Must be careful when splitting horiziontal to prevent
engine damage. I prefer splitting like this. Could
be redesigned to have engine out of the way, reverse the travel directionof hydraulic cyl. towards hitch so that motor will be behind the ram. make hitch removable like a receiver hitch for vertical splitting. Otherwise, a great machine.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 33 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tommy
Location:Reno, NV
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:November 11, 2010
The right splitter
"I'm just finishing up my third season with my LS27TB and it has split a total of about 120 cords of wood for me and my neighbors over these three seasons. Each fall this splitter runs nearly constantly between me and my friends on our days off. It has never missed a beat and has far exceeded all expectations. This splitter has allowed us to keep our homes warm and still have time to cut, split and sell enough wood to others to pay off our investments.
The Honda uses very little fuel, burns no oil and starts on the first pull EVERY time. The power is great, none of us have ever been able to make it stall out. The cycle speed is perfect, any faster and you would be apt to try to work too fast to keep up and can loose a thumb quick.
This splitter has been used by me, AJ, Darl, Martin, Gary, Aaron and Nick. Its the first time in history all seven hard headed guys have ever agreed on anything; This is a heck of a splitter. We have probably exceeded any torture test the factory could devise and it has continued to run as good as the day it was new. If it blew up tomorow I would gladly buy the same exact thing again."
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 34 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cliffuhl
Location:fredericktown , missouri
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:May 17, 2010
splinter king
"my first log spliter should of bought one a long time a go"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
weaselsgrl
Location:pittsburg
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2010
cuts precise
"cuts precise and saves alot of time with less effort"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobkat
Location:Palatine Bridge, New York
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2010
Excellent Machine
"I am very happy with the LS 27 TB Hydraulic Log Splitter. One of its big attractions was the Honda engine. This engine starts easily and runs quiet. I have used the log splitter for 3 1/2 hours and it has split all my hardwood with ease. I do have a word of caution. DO NOT take for granted that the engine oil is at the correct level and that the hydraulic fluid level is at the correct level in the splitter. DO NOT BELIEVE THE TAGS ON THE MACHINE THAT THE SPLITTER IS READY TO RUN. I always check before using new equipment and I found that this Honda engine oil was 1/2 quart low. Also the hydraulic fluid in this log splitter was 2/3 of a quart low. READ THE MANUAL AS THERE IS A SPECIFIC WAY TO CHECK AND ADD HYDRAULIC FLUID TO THE SPLITTER. ON THIS HONDA ENGINE, YOU DO NOT SCREW THE DIPSTICK IN TO MEASURE THE ENGINE OIL. On some engines the dipstick is screwed in to measure the oil. Give yourself and the equipment a break and take a few minutes to check the manual. You may not be as smart as you think you are!! Yes, I am one of those odd birds who does read the manuals. I have learned even after 75 years that things do change."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 37 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boodog
Location:sweetwater,tn
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:April 24, 2010
made my life of wood cutting easy
"me and my stepfather cut would year round and i had to split it by hand and it was hard on my back and now i do it with great enjoyment."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
hhillpeople
Location:daytona
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:April 16, 2010
strong
"rugged and tuff, powerful...piece of equipement, I highly recommend"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ranger838
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:April 16, 2010
Log Supreme
"splits large logs, tough gears, strong engine, durable"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chuckster
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (86 Reviews)
Date:April 7, 2010
"This splitter takes on some very narley wood and does a very good job of spliting it.The only thing I dont enjoy about it is noise,it is very noisy.It runs good and starts easy.I have found that it will leak gas out the tank lid,vibrates a lot when hooked to my truck.I also have a troy built horse roto tiller that is 20 years old and it still tills like it was new."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>