Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter

27 Ton Hydraulic Log Splitter Wood Splitter - 160cc OHV Honda engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.566 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
22
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
1
97%96 of 99reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Review 21 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
spudhead
Location:pomeroy, ohio, usa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:February 1, 2014
fair weather engine
"bought 27 ton splitter in 2008. great investment. Honda engine has always started and run flawless until this winter in single digit temps. engine hit a few times like it was going to start, then quit and wouldn't start. engine timing belt had came off cam sprocket. put belt back on, tried to start again, same thing happened. after repairing 2 nd time, I covered splitter put a heater on it so hydraulic oil could heat up. have used twice with no problems but have heated up before trying to start. still very pleased with my splitter, disappointed with the little Honda engine."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 22 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dozer
Location:Missouri
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:November 1, 2013
OK so far
"Used for first time last weekend. Split some small pieces at first to make sure things were working normal. Then I got the biggest piece of oak that I had. A piece 24.5 inches tall and 28 inches across. Started the wedge down and after 1 or 2 seconds of hesitation building pressure it split that piece of oak like it was nothing. I used to own a Huskey 33 ton that split anything including knots so I was surprised with the power this smaller one has. If the durability holds up, it should be a good little log splitter."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 23 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chebear
Location:Colorado, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Great Performance
"I purchased the TB 27 LS Honda engine driven model with the protective hose coil springs. My TB 27 ton splitter was not equipped with the coil wrapped hoses. I contacted Troy-Bilt and they referred me to a service center and they are having the proper coil wrapped hoses installed on my unit. Before sending the TB 27 LS to the service center I filled the fuel tank and the engine started on the first pull and operates smoothly as silk. I have not split over 1 cords of wood so far. With the cost of a hardwood cord at $225 and I now have a means to offset the unaffordable heating bills this winter.
Thanks for a great dependable product."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 24 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BobtheBuilder2
Location:Eubank, KY 42567, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Great Product
"This splitter works great and splits with ease. Makes the job so much easier and quicker than before with less work."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 25 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SteveL
Location:Sharon, Ma
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
27 ton logsplitter
"I have owned 1 of these for a few years and have only done routine maintnence with little to no problems. The Honda engine is excellent and dependable. You must learn to watch the cradles because it is easy to bend them or break the bolts if not careful with the positioning of the log. I am able to split most anything with the hardest knotty hardwood you have to use common sense and take pieces sometimes rather than halves or quarters.
.
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 26 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
climb
Location:descanso, C.A.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:3
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 14, 2013
honda failed
"As everyone else i too love the machine however after 3 cords of pine my gcv 160 honda motor lost a connecting rod due to not having been properly torqued by a tech. So to say in a whole its a great machine and troy bilt did their part but those who own honda have let me down!!!! Which having the long lasting reputation i had much higher expectations.
sincerely
luke
"
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 27 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Placitas77
Location:Placitas, NM, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:September 1, 2013
Delighted!
"I have been using my TB 27 splitter for a few years now. It starts on the coldest days in New Mexico and has never been defeated by a knotty log. Plenty of power to keep my old adobe warm!"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 28 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RickfromWP
Location:Whitney Point, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:April 24, 2013
Its a Beast
"I got it and it splits wood like butter. Knotty wood is no problem.
The baby will slice the wood like a knife. Only problem is no primmer on engine. Couple of pulls with coke on - then starts.
"
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 29 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GotWood
Location:Long Island/ Catskills, NY,USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:April 7, 2013
THE BEST HANDS DOWN!!!
"Trust me you do NOT need the 200cc motor! I have pushed it through 3 foot round knots! this is unstoppable.. I have split over 4 foot round trees and it just muscles through anything i have thrown at it.. I just wish it was a 4 way wedge... BUY IT!"
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 30 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Victor
Location:Central PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:October 8, 2012
Works Great
"Brought this home, already assembled. Filled the fuel tank, and with two pulls, I was splitting Birch, White & Red Oak, hickory all afternoon. My neighbor has a different brand only 22 ton, and I used it last year. Had a problem splitting larger logs. This puppy, split them without any hesitation. Only owned it for two days, but if it works like this years from now, I definately made the right decision. So Far, So GREAT!"
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 31 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WolfCE
Location:CO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:3
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:September 22, 2012
Pretty good splitter
"Although this isn't the best splitter I've ever used, it works fine for everyday average-volume splitting. Harder to start in high altitude where we live, but with some adjustment, it starts up okay."
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workinwood
Location:Neilton Washington
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:August 26, 2012
Awesome Log Splitter
"Between myself and son inlaw we have split about three cords with my 27 ton Troy bilt splitters. This is the first ever log splitter and well worth the money I paid for it. Only had it for two weeks."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 33 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hernando
Location:Big Bear, CA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
Best thing I ever did.
"Living in an area where wood is used during winter for heating this product has saved my back and made spliting a lot of fun. Great item only thing that I can say is they need to beef up the bolts on the log braces they seem to break pretty easy."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 34 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tobby100000
Location:midwest Illinois
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2012
great
"I love this log splitter, it made my log days so much easier, starts everytime and handles the big logs, excellent"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
galactic25
Location:Champaign, IL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2012
The Best
"This log splitter is so good, it turned my logs into Lincoln logs!"
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
babs22
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:April 26, 2012
Works great
"Have used a similar Tory splitter, the make short work of a big stack of wood!"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cyndygail
Location:mo
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:April 16, 2012
used out of the box
"we had to clear some land quickly and were surprised that this started right out of the box and ran forever"
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 38 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hijos
Location:Upstate Ny
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:January 14, 2012
lost 2 pull cords
"I just lost the second pull cord. Hard to start in the winter..."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 39 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RoxiandGator
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:9
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:November 4, 2011
Just Bought..Works Great So Far
"Bought Sept.2011.. Replaced jack with Marine Bolton Jack..Best used Vertically."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 40 for TB 27 LS Hydraulic Log Splitter
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daug
Location:Dacula Ga
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (99 Reviews)
Date:November 4, 2011
Not sure what to do now.
"After splitting 2 cords of wood, the pump started to leak at the fitting to the hydraulic hose.
After tightening the nut to seal and secure this fitting.
I went back to work. About 20 minutes later the fitting blew out of the pump. Stripped the threads in the aluminum house ond there is not fix for this.
Seems this should be more industrial than this.
I would not recommend this, MTD or Cub Cadet to anyone. They are all the same.
"
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>