Product Reviews

Troybilt TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator

25cc 2-Cycle Engine
Average Customer Rating:
3.586 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
7
65%15 of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Review 1 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cooley
Location:Belle Vernon, PA 15012, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 23, 2016
Not reliable
"Used last year and worked fine for about an hour.This spring put new gas in that TB recommended. Would not start. Has been at a TB recommended service center for 6 weeks. Called the other day and they said they still can't get it started. Had to use a friends tiller or I wouldn't have a garden. Would like a full refund!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
transam
Location:PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2016
Stay with 4 cycle
"Bought this as store out of the 4 cycle I wanted to buy to replace my old 1. Should've had them order that 1 as this 2 cycle is the worst thing I've ever used. Quits when it gets hot and won't start again until it cools down,yes I know how to use a 2 cycle engine and how to start it.Wouldn't waste my money to ever buy this model again. When it does run it does a good job but try getting it to start is a adventure.Takes you longer to get it running than doing the job we want to do. Next time I go to scrap yard this thing going to it. I'd throw it in garbage pickup but I'd at least get a dollar for scrap for it.Don't waste your money on this-buy the 4 cycle."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
satdoc
Location:Ames, IA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:May 26, 2016
2 cycle cultivator
"had garden spot tilled from previous year added more fertilizer and machine did all that I expected it to do with ease"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
abduhl
Location:MO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:May 11, 2016
Works great!
"Bought one of these from Lowes to use in a small garden in clay soil. Starts easily if you follow the starting method in the instructions. Has plenty of power. Tills well if you know to pull it backwards (as the instructions illustrate). Note that the tine design has a direction -- if you put the tines so the rotation is like a saw blade running backwards, it is less likely to get rocks stuck in the tiller. Compares well to the Mantis tiller, has bigger tine shaft so may be stronger than the Mantis design. I saw some reviews complaining about hard to start, but I suspect they were not following the starting procedure. I think anybody who knows how to start a 2-stroke and knows how to adjust the carb would have no trouble with this tiller."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lakeman
Location:Rome, OH 44085, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2016
Good value for the money
"Just bought this machine after looking on line at various models and reading reviews. What I liked was the combination of price and features for the use I need, which will be to cultivate already prepared gardens and flower beds. It was easy to set up and pretty easy to start.
Don't believe some of the reviews you read on line. Although there were a lot of directions to follow during startup, it started as stated both cold and hot, when the directions are followed.
I also used the premixed 40:1 gas you can now buy that comes in a can. It is very convienient to use and contains no ethanol.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nyroc
Location:Colorado, USA
Gender:Male
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:March 18, 2016
Great Machine
"I Read the negative reviews and I understand some of your issues. But with lack of knowledge I understand the bad reviews. These are not FI engines. And they don't compensate for altitude. They need to have the idle and high speed screw adjusted. Once you have that dialed in these engine work great just as long as the fuel is fresh and mixed as per instructions. Have the same engine on the tiller as the weed wacker. All tuned in for my elevation and they work per the directions flawlessly. Take it from this retired mechanic of 30 years. Do what i say and you will be happy. Would buy another one in a heartbeat."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Snoopy6
Location:Ocean City, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:October 7, 2015
Not cutting it
"TB225 is very pretty but that is the end of compliments. It is hard to start ... many pumps of the fuel bulb and many pulls. Then a long warm up period until it is ready .But ready for what? It has trouble tilling soft, sandy soil. It struggles with good garden dirt. The Throttle Cable seems to be too long as it reaches max RPM at half the pull - hard to maintain that grip. It stalls very easily.
Not the replacement that I was looking for!
"
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Niceguyron
Location:Cleveland Road East, Huron, OH 44839, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2015
Impossible to start
"After 1/2 season, became impossible to start, especially after getting hot from use. Just spent nearly 1/2 hour won't start again, going to try to clean carb that has no adjustments. This is the worst 2 cycle machine, I have ever owned."
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mhdragger
Location:Central Washington
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:July 5, 2015
Throw Away Machine
"Bought it in 2014 to till a small garden area, spent days and didnt get it finished, put my Troy Bilt Horse back in action and had it tilled in 30 minutes, went to fire up the cultivator this year and it wont start, clean filters, cleaned carb, replaced fuel filter, still wont run, getting air, fuel and good spark. Wont buy another..."
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RJ2015
Location:Cedar Rapids, IA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 11, 2015
Troybilt TB 225 Tiller
"I am 62 years old.This is the worst 2 cycle engine I have ever had on any product. It was hard to start last year and has run once this year and will not start now.
My 2 cycle leaf blower and trimmer start right up with one to 2 pulls. (Both are not TroyBilt........ and several years old)
This unit should be re engineered or discontinued.
Very disappointed."
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steveman
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2015
A Big Job Killer!
"I have a full sized tiller but wanted something that was easier to handle. I had the gutter drains of my house replaced and my backyard, side yard and front yard had excavation for the system. From my backyard to the street connection is about 120 feet and the trench ran the full distance! Since I am not a spring rooster anymore I thought this smaller tiller/cultivator was my answer because my other tiller is a front tine "wrestle me" machine.
The Troy-Bilt TB225 is an animal for cultivating and breaking up the ground so I could rake it out. This beast was not stopped by roots or rocks that I found on my journey. I could not believe how fast this leveling was getting completed.
Thank you Troy-Bilt for this mini monster, time saving work slayer!"
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Whistlepg
Location:Western, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:October 28, 2014
Read Starting Directions
"Nice light and handy. Bit hard to start first time you use it or if you shut off for a few minutes."
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SusanA
Location:Traverse City, MI, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:October 27, 2014
Perfect size
"I love this cultivator for my beds around the house. Small enough for the narrow beds, light enough to handle without help from my husband. This one is mine."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NannyVal
Location:New Johnsonville TN
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:October 27, 2014
Best lil cultivator/tiller ever!
"I bought this primarily to use in my garden to get in between plants easily...eliminates back breaking hoeing!!
Also great in flower beds.
This is the 2nd one of these I have owned!
I passed on my 1st one to my son and bought myself a new one!
HIGHLY RECOMMEND this product! !
Works great....Easy to use!! LOVE IT!
"
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SharnJean
Location:Science Hill, KY 42553, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:October 26, 2014
great for smaller project's.
"Love mine but harder to start with hand issues. Wish i had kick-stand like newer model when out in yard working . I have had mine shut down due to overheating on large projects , so have to use big tiller for that.
I LOVE THE LIGHT WEIGHT. EASY TO STORE. WAS EASIER TO START FO ME PRIOR TO HAND SURGERY AND ARTHRITIS.
"
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JamesE
Location:Maryland
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:October 8, 2014
2 stroke cultivator
"It is a handy, small power tool for chewing up small garden spaces. It is not intended for breaking new ground. When first bought, the transmission case cracked, but my dealer immediately replaced it and the present tiller has given me no problem at all for the past 5 years. My only complaint has been the transport wheels, which tend to fall off and have proven to be superfluous anyway,when tilling. It is light enough to pickup and carry , so the loss of the wheels is not an issue for me. Recognize it's limitations and it will give many years of useful service. Power weeding, dig down 6 inches, turn over rows before planting. I use the Horse to break new ground and turn things over 9 to 12 inches deep.
Have fun!
"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anita
Location:Mt. Vernon, KY
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:September 5, 2014
troy-built cultivator
"I purchased my cultivator 8 years ago. I love the fact that I can still plow my garden with it even when the vegetable plants are maturing. It saves my from having to get the big tiller out. I would recommend the Troy-built cultivator to anyone with a
garden. Great product.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
disappointed2014
Location:Pima, Arizona
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:September 5, 2014
not the best
"Used for one summer in a small garden. Would be running then just die. Finally got started again but the tines wouldn't work anymore. Definitely didn't get my money's worth of use out of it. Wouldn't purchase again."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
sticks
Location:Monroeville, IN 46773, USA
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2014
cultivator tb146ec
"One of the worst piece of junk I ever bought only around 2 years old and runs about 2 minutes shuts off thats if you can get it to start in the beginning was hard starting in the beginning but use it about 5 times a year the first year this year 2 time Junk"
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
laroye59
Location:Paragould, AR 72450, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 27, 2014
Sturdy tiller
"This tiller is great for the person that has a small garden and flower beds. It is easy to use and powerful for it's size. That is what I like best. It is lightweight but strong."
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>