Product Reviews

Troybilt TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator

25cc 2-Cycle Engine
Average Customer Rating:
3.586 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
7
65%15 of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Review 1 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Snoopy6
Location:Ocean City, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:October 7, 2015
Not cutting it
"TB225 is very pretty but that is the end of compliments. It is hard to start ... many pumps of the fuel bulb and many pulls. Then a long warm up period until it is ready .But ready for what? It has trouble tilling soft, sandy soil. It struggles with good garden dirt. The Throttle Cable seems to be too long as it reaches max RPM at half the pull - hard to maintain that grip. It stalls very easily.
Not the replacement that I was looking for!
"
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
disappointed2014
Location:Pima, Arizona
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:September 5, 2014
not the best
"Used for one summer in a small garden. Would be running then just die. Finally got started again but the tines wouldn't work anymore. Definitely didn't get my money's worth of use out of it. Wouldn't purchase again."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cj54
Location:Lakewood, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 15, 2014
excellent for it's size....
"excellent cultivator....does a heavy duty job of working up the soil...easy to handle and maneuver..well built..."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anita
Location:Mt. Vernon, KY
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:September 5, 2014
troy-built cultivator
"I purchased my cultivator 8 years ago. I love the fact that I can still plow my garden with it even when the vegetable plants are maturing. It saves my from having to get the big tiller out. I would recommend the Troy-built cultivator to anyone with a
garden. Great product.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rrr23
Location:Houston, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2014
Great Little Machine
"Bought this for my wife's flower garden. She loves it. It's small and light enough for her to use but does a big job. We have hard rocky soil and this thing plows right through it. My wife thanks me every time she uses it. Very good product."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lakeman
Location:Rome, OH 44085, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2016
Good value for the money
"Just bought this machine after looking on line at various models and reading reviews. What I liked was the combination of price and features for the use I need, which will be to cultivate already prepared gardens and flower beds. It was easy to set up and pretty easy to start.
Don't believe some of the reviews you read on line. Although there were a lot of directions to follow during startup, it started as stated both cold and hot, when the directions are followed.
I also used the premixed 40:1 gas you can now buy that comes in a can. It is very convienient to use and contains no ethanol.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shaggy1956
Location:Waucoma, IA 52171, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:May 25, 2014
GREAT !!!!!
"It's the best little tiller ever. I have two gardens and it makes it so easy to care for them. I have people come over and want to borrow it. Some after using it went out and bought there own. The part I like the best is that it is light but as powerful as a big one. I've had mine now about 12 years and it's still going strong. Would recommend this tiller to everybody."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Krazy
Location:Simi Valley, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:January 11, 2014
Starting the Cultivator is a work out!
"I have had my cultivator for over a year and every time I go to use it, even if I just stopped to fill it with gas and continue on, it is a work out. I have already replaced the rope start since it wears on the eyelets during multiple pulls to start it. Once it is running it works great, I just cant stand the fact that it takes forever to get to that point. I am just about ready to buy a Mantis due to the frustration level this causes. It would be easier to turn the dirt and break it with a shovel and hoe, than to pull the rope to start it."
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RJ2015
Location:Cedar Rapids, IA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 11, 2015
Troybilt TB 225 Tiller
"I am 62 years old.This is the worst 2 cycle engine I have ever had on any product. It was hard to start last year and has run once this year and will not start now.
My 2 cycle leaf blower and trimmer start right up with one to 2 pulls. (Both are not TroyBilt........ and several years old)
This unit should be re engineered or discontinued.
Very disappointed."
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Niceguyron
Location:Cleveland Road East, Huron, OH 44839, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2015
Impossible to start
"After 1/2 season, became impossible to start, especially after getting hot from use. Just spent nearly 1/2 hour won't start again, going to try to clean carb that has no adjustments. This is the worst 2 cycle machine, I have ever owned."
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
sticks
Location:Monroeville, IN 46773, USA
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2014
cultivator tb146ec
"One of the worst piece of junk I ever bought only around 2 years old and runs about 2 minutes shuts off thats if you can get it to start in the beginning was hard starting in the beginning but use it about 5 times a year the first year this year 2 time Junk"
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
laroye59
Location:Paragould, AR 72450, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 27, 2014
Sturdy tiller
"This tiller is great for the person that has a small garden and flower beds. It is easy to use and powerful for it's size. That is what I like best. It is lightweight but strong."
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mhdragger
Location:Central Washington
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:July 5, 2015
Throw Away Machine
"Bought it in 2014 to till a small garden area, spent days and didnt get it finished, put my Troy Bilt Horse back in action and had it tilled in 30 minutes, went to fire up the cultivator this year and it wont start, clean filters, cleaned carb, replaced fuel filter, still wont run, getting air, fuel and good spark. Wont buy another..."
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jacquie
Location:China Grove, NC 28023, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 17, 2013
Parts fall off
"Many many years I have dreamed of owning one of these.. This past Mothers day 2013 the dream came true..
I have used it 4-5 short times now and have had these issue's
1.. the little black caps on the front of the frame fell off and have gone to dirt space.
2.. Today soon after starting it and was going around the squash plants I watched the Air filter cover, filter and plate FALL OFF..
Very disappointed"
+19points
23out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mvalent
Location:Wichita, KS, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:April 22, 2013
great product
"Great size for getting around plants and trees in garden area or in small areas, ez start breaks up dirt quick."
+19points
23out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JamesE
Location:Maryland
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:October 8, 2014
2 stroke cultivator
"It is a handy, small power tool for chewing up small garden spaces. It is not intended for breaking new ground. When first bought, the transmission case cracked, but my dealer immediately replaced it and the present tiller has given me no problem at all for the past 5 years. My only complaint has been the transport wheels, which tend to fall off and have proven to be superfluous anyway,when tilling. It is light enough to pickup and carry , so the loss of the wheels is not an issue for me. Recognize it's limitations and it will give many years of useful service. Power weeding, dig down 6 inches, turn over rows before planting. I use the Horse to break new ground and turn things over 9 to 12 inches deep.
Have fun!
"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BuckeyeBeetle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:May 12, 2013
Great little machine
"I bought this yesterday and used it off and on all day today. I really hope it lasts, because this is a great little machine.
Granted this does not have the power of a full size tiller, but it is perfect for an in city garden like mine. It is nice and compact for storing, yet has more that enough power to tear through weeds between rows. Likewise, if you don't mind breaking ground with a shovel, this little machine will shred up the clods for planting.
Overall, if you have a garden measured in feet rather than acres, this is a great time saver."
+14points
20out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steveman
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2015
A Big Job Killer!
"I have a full sized tiller but wanted something that was easier to handle. I had the gutter drains of my house replaced and my backyard, side yard and front yard had excavation for the system. From my backyard to the street connection is about 120 feet and the trench ran the full distance! Since I am not a spring rooster anymore I thought this smaller tiller/cultivator was my answer because my other tiller is a front tine "wrestle me" machine.
The Troy-Bilt TB225 is an animal for cultivating and breaking up the ground so I could rake it out. This beast was not stopped by roots or rocks that I found on my journey. I could not believe how fast this leveling was getting completed.
Thank you Troy-Bilt for this mini monster, time saving work slayer!"
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
transam
Location:PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2016
Stay with 4 cycle
"Bought this as store out of the 4 cycle I wanted to buy to replace my old 1. Should've had them order that 1 as this 2 cycle is the worst thing I've ever used. Quits when it gets hot and won't start again until it cools down,yes I know how to use a 2 cycle engine and how to start it.Wouldn't waste my money to ever buy this model again. When it does run it does a good job but try getting it to start is a adventure.Takes you longer to get it running than doing the job we want to do. Next time I go to scrap yard this thing going to it. I'd throw it in garbage pickup but I'd at least get a dollar for scrap for it.Don't waste your money on this-buy the 4 cycle."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nyroc
Location:Colorado, USA
Gender:Male
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (29 Reviews)
Date:March 18, 2016
Great Machine
"I Read the negative reviews and I understand some of your issues. But with lack of knowledge I understand the bad reviews. These are not FI engines. And they don't compensate for altitude. They need to have the idle and high speed screw adjusted. Once you have that dialed in these engine work great just as long as the fuel is fresh and mixed as per instructions. Have the same engine on the tiller as the weed wacker. All tuned in for my elevation and they work per the directions flawlessly. Take it from this retired mechanic of 30 years. Do what i say and you will be happy. Would buy another one in a heartbeat."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>