Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator

25cc 2-Cycle Engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
80%8 of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Review 1 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Krazy
Location:Simi Valley, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:January 11, 2014
Starting the Cultivator is a work out!
"I have had my cultivator for over a year and every time I go to use it, even if I just stopped to fill it with gas and continue on, it is a work out. I have already replaced the rope start since it wears on the eyelets during multiple pulls to start it. Once it is running it works great, I just cant stand the fact that it takes forever to get to that point. I am just about ready to buy a Mantis due to the frustration level this causes. It would be easier to turn the dirt and break it with a shovel and hoe, than to pull the rope to start it."
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
laroye59
Location:Paragould, AR 72450, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:June 27, 2014
Sturdy tiller
"This tiller is great for the person that has a small garden and flower beds. It is easy to use and powerful for it's size. That is what I like best. It is lightweight but strong."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cj54
Location:Lakewood, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:June 15, 2014
excellent for it's size....
"excellent cultivator....does a heavy duty job of working up the soil...easy to handle and maneuver..well built..."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rrr23
Location:Houston, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2014
Great Little Machine
"Bought this for my wife's flower garden. She loves it. It's small and light enough for her to use but does a big job. We have hard rocky soil and this thing plows right through it. My wife thanks me every time she uses it. Very good product."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mvalent
Location:Wichita, KS, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:April 22, 2013
great product
"Great size for getting around plants and trees in garden area or in small areas, ez start breaks up dirt quick."
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jacquie
Location:China Grove, NC 28023, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:June 17, 2013
Parts fall off
"Many many years I have dreamed of owning one of these.. This past Mothers day 2013 the dream came true..
I have used it 4-5 short times now and have had these issue's
1.. the little black caps on the front of the frame fell off and have gone to dirt space.
2.. Today soon after starting it and was going around the squash plants I watched the Air filter cover, filter and plate FALL OFF..
Very disappointed"
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BuckeyeBeetle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:May 12, 2013
Great little machine
"I bought this yesterday and used it off and on all day today. I really hope it lasts, because this is a great little machine.
Granted this does not have the power of a full size tiller, but it is perfect for an in city garden like mine. It is nice and compact for storing, yet has more that enough power to tear through weeds between rows. Likewise, if you don't mind breaking ground with a shovel, this little machine will shred up the clods for planting.
Overall, if you have a garden measured in feet rather than acres, this is a great time saver."
+14points
19out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mcruff
Location:Albertville, AL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:April 27, 2014
Impressive
"I bought this little cultivator to clean out some flower beds and to till some patches of ground in my yard for reseeding. It is great in the flower beds due to its size and maneuverability.
But I was most impressed with its ability to really chew up the weed patches in the yard for reseeding, it did a fantastic job of cutting up the hard ground and grinding up the weeds. It went thru a patch about 10' square in about 35-40 minutes and chewed it into powder. Starts easy and is easy to handle. As of now I have about 4 hours worth of solid use on it and have been quite impressed with this little machine.
I only gave it an average durability rating, we'll see how well it holds up in the long run, 4 hours of use hardly tells the overall tale.
"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gussie
Location:Ulysses, Pa.
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2014
B est Tiller Ever
"I have raised beds and this is ideal for me - It is light weight and easy to move around. It does an excellent job."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB225 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shaggy1956
Location:Waucoma, IA 52171, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:May 25, 2014
GREAT !!!!!
"It's the best little tiller ever. I have two gardens and it makes it so easy to care for them. I have people come over and want to borrow it. Some after using it went out and bought there own. The part I like the best is that it is light but as powerful as a big one. I've had mine now about 12 years and it's still going strong. Would recommend this tiller to everybody."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.