Product Reviews

Troybilt TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

30cc 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer Weed Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.661 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
9
71%42 of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charlie1973
Location:Denison, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:April 19, 2014
Poor design!!!
"My wife bought this trimmer for me last year. This is my first 4 stroke and really liked the power it has. The only problem that I have with it is that the coupler mount is a very poor design. They expect a tiny screw threaded into extremely thin metal to hold the bottom shaft and the head without stripping. I hoping I'll be able to return it to Lowe's this weekend. If so, I will definitely look at other models. Maybe other brands."
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
frac
Location:NM
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:April 20, 2014
Read the reviews
"I did not read the reviews before buying and I should have. I used it the 1st time and was great, starting the 2nd time the fuel caps leaks very bad, the string head is a terrible design and its hard to get started. I hope troy built is reading these."
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shep
Location:Tucson, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Works for me.
"I have had this trimmer for about three months and have had no problems at all. It's a little heavy compaired to its 2 stroke counterparts, but that can be expected from a 4 stroke, more moving parts in the engine. With all the 2 strokes I have had there has always been a lot of maintenance. With the 4 stroke all thats needed is a oil change and maybe a spark plug once a season, clean the filter every 10 hours and you are good to go. It has plenty of power to do what I need it to do, it starts easy and runs good. It is the best trimmer I have had to date. Troy- Bilt is a good product & I would recomend it. As far as long term all I can say is if its as good as my other products from troy- bilt I will be using it for years to come."
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
123Broken
Location:Mount Juliet, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:September 12, 2014
Starter rope pulley wont engage
"Have had this for about 7 months...very limited use for being noted as "commercial grade". Not bad to use but with maybe 20 times of use since purchase, the starter pulley wont engage to start the engine.
I look in the manufacturer warranty section and guess what isn't covered.
Not real happy at the moment....I really don't like Trimmers anyway...but purposely bought what I thought is the mid-grade commercial series to be happy for a while.....
Looks like I am not the only one with this same problem that gave feedback here....
"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sky333Blue
Location:Waynesville, MO
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Best trimmer I've ever owned!
"We live in some rough terrain in Missouri; lots of rocks and tough weeds that grow into mini trees in no time. This trimmer can take down anything you put in it's path! We've got a lot of rocks in our yard and the sting doesn't break if you hit them. The string is easy to load when out and even easier to extend when in use. Starts great and lasts two cuts of an entire acre yard on one gas up. This trimmer is extremely easy to use which is very helpful when you have a husband in the military that can't always do everything for you. We would definitely recommend this product, especially if you've got rough terrain to battle in your yard."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
colokid83
Location:Pueblo West, CO, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Best Weed Eater
"I have bought many weedeaters and always had a problem starting them and them never feeding line right. We bought the electric start with this one and it starts the first time. Runs like a champ and feeds line easily. Would recommend this for everyone."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FloridaCounty
Location:Seminole, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:July 26, 2014
Wife does the trimmimg
"Excellent trimmer, easy to use and light enough for extended periods. The 4 cycle is much better"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gash
Location:Nashua, NH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:July 13, 2014
Good But!
"I bought this to replace an old 2 stroke trimmer. 1st one I bought the pull start failed before it even started. Returned to Lowe's and they took it back. I was going to buy another model but only had this one at this store. Got another one put together and it started right up! I like the fact you don't have to rev it like a two stroke. does a good job and I think it will grow on me. The guy at Lowe's said he has never had any one return one so maybe it was a fluke. Overall after using the first time today is I like it."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
macro1911
Location:Augusta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:August 26, 2014
Shaft bolt stripped less then 1yr old
"Had trimmer less then a yr and bold that keeps shaft from turning stripped. now has trouble running"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrBill
Location:High Point ,N
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:August 23, 2014
4 cycle brute
"I have had a chance to use my trimmer several time now,and I must say I like it. I changed out the handle that helps you hold it as the one provided is to small and cumbersome. this bad boy is heavy and the extra leverage of a larger handle is a big help if it takes you more than a few minutes to trim your yard. A strap would help but theirs no place for one.Overall the trimmer is well worth the money and I would recommend it if you are looking to replace your old one.
Ps. save you old handle you may need it."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paco
Location:Fairport, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:July 20, 2014
Compact powerful machine
"I just own my first trimmer and I'm really surprise how powerful this one it is."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
loc1369
Location:Texas, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:July 7, 2014
4 cycle engine
"I love the faxed that I don't have to mix my gas anymore."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snoopy
Location:Tx
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2014
Great Trimmer
"So far there have been no issues with this trimmer. The ease of starting the trimmer is amazing compared to the trimmers I have owned in the past"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GrayFox3
Location:Concord, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:June 1, 2014
Strong Trimmer
"The set up & easy of use out of the box was very simple. Took no time at all to get to trimming."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
peanut
Location:Madison, Nashville, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:May 12, 2014
bad do not buy
"i have used it 4 times an it has broken 2 times out of 4 an now I have to buy a trimmer"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Neal
Location:League City, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:November 20, 2014
True Review
"This is my third Troy-Bilt 4 cycle trimmer. Last one lasted about 6 years and i am hoping to get the same out of this one. I stepped up to this larger trimmer to make only to make trimming faster. I am very impressed with the power and quietness of the 4 cycle engine and not having to have an extra gas can of mixed oil/gas is great! The down side to more power is more weight, it does get heavy towards the end. However trimming takes about half the time. The engine is very cold natured, it needs to run for a couple minutes before it runs smoothly or else the engine will stall. LOVE the new oil fill window makes seeing oil level at a glance, without a dipstick it was hit or miss on adding oil. Engine uses more oil than I had thought but it is very easy to add oil. Not impressed with the way that string is loaded, the manual was not much help in telling how to correct / load string, a trip to YouTube was required. Once the string head is loaded most of the time it provides a smooth feed."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Woodsman73
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:September 1, 2014
Overall Excellent product
"Simple starting and plenty of power to get the job done. A little heavy/unbalanced on the shoulder strap location, to heavy to use very long without a strap."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pbam0661
Location:New Jersey, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:August 22, 2014
Excellent Small string trimmer
"This is a great small trimmer for working around the yard and gardens. Powerful and easy to load. Great price and worth every penny"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chadydaddy
Location:Salado, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:1
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:July 19, 2014
Great buy!
"The tb675ec trimmer is a strong durable trimmer w/easy change attachments available! Awesome trimmer! You can buy a variety of accessories the best in my mind is the (cordless rechargeable) jump starter! This Devise fits in the end of the trimmer and choke if needed and pull the trigger it takes less than 5 seconds and ur trimmer is running! This comes in handy if trimmer ever becomes hard to start w/ the pull rope! The"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spanky
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (59 Reviews)
Date:July 14, 2014
i love this trimmer
"I bought this cause I was sick of mixing my gas. So I bought this 4 stroke and it really sweet and easy to use."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>