Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

30cc 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer Weed Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
2.857 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
50%7 of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shep
Location:Tucson, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Works for me.
"I have had this trimmer for about three months and have had no problems at all. It's a little heavy compaired to its 2 stroke counterparts, but that can be expected from a 4 stroke, more moving parts in the engine. With all the 2 strokes I have had there has always been a lot of maintenance. With the 4 stroke all thats needed is a oil change and maybe a spark plug once a season, clean the filter every 10 hours and you are good to go. It has plenty of power to do what I need it to do, it starts easy and runs good. It is the best trimmer I have had to date. Troy- Bilt is a good product & I would recomend it. As far as long term all I can say is if its as good as my other products from troy- bilt I will be using it for years to come."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sky333Blue
Location:Waynesville, MO
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Best trimmer I've ever owned!
"We live in some rough terrain in Missouri; lots of rocks and tough weeds that grow into mini trees in no time. This trimmer can take down anything you put in it's path! We've got a lot of rocks in our yard and the sting doesn't break if you hit them. The string is easy to load when out and even easier to extend when in use. Starts great and lasts two cuts of an entire acre yard on one gas up. This trimmer is extremely easy to use which is very helpful when you have a husband in the military that can't always do everything for you. We would definitely recommend this product, especially if you've got rough terrain to battle in your yard."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
colokid83
Location:Pueblo West, CO, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Best Weed Eater
"I have bought many weedeaters and always had a problem starting them and them never feeding line right. We bought the electric start with this one and it starts the first time. Runs like a champ and feeds line easily. Would recommend this for everyone."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fuballref
Location:Beavercreek, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:June 6, 2013
Overall Good Product
"Bought the TB675 as a replacement to an earlier model that served me very well for about 7 years. I bought this current model because I had multiple attachments (edger, tiller, brush hog) that I wanted to continue using. I used this model 3 times and the oil level window busted and spilled hot oil over everything as I was edging my driveway. As I had purchased it less than 2 months earlier, Lowes swapped my busted one for a replacement with no hassle. Based on past track records, Troy Bilt builds a quality product and I like them. I believe the problem I encountered is an isolated incident and I will continue to use their products."
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sixpackwrkng8
Location:Fort Worth, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2013
Great Product
"Product is well worth the money…but I got it on sale and a 10% off for being in the military so it was money well spent for the products. I all so picked upped the edger attachment at the same time and it works just as well the height adjustment is great was just surprised by the power of the 4 stroke trimmer with edger attachment, because I did make some trenches with it. The only part I am disgusted about is that the products said it was American made, but yet the attachments are made and assembled in Mexico. What is that all about? This was one of my main reasons for buying the product American made I try to only buy American products whenever I can, and make the effort to do my research on the company the attachment are a disappointment just because they do not employ Americans to assemble them. It did not go into details if the product was made here then shipped to Mexico to be assembled or not. So this is the reason for the 4 star rating. If I wanted to support another countries economy I would have purchased one from them. “Sorry Guys Buy American or Just Leave the Country all together”.
The overall rating so far is a totally 5 star rating and I have had no problems, as far the guys on some of the other 4 stroke trimmers complaining about being heavy or will not start I would say go to the gym and read the instructions, because I have absolutely no problems except for the warm up time but hey it’s a 4 stroke so it is to be expected to take longer to warm up.
"
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
therock500
Location:Montana, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:July 15, 2013
Great product. Needs more R&D.
"I purchased this trimmer to replace a 25yr old trimmer that still works good butis a 2 cycle. I wanted a 4 cycle trimmer Because they are easier to start and maintain. I like how this trimmer starts and runs, has good power. The one thing I feel could be improved is the trimmer head. I also had some issues at first with the string breaking at the eyelets. I also feel the clearance between the head and shaft is too close and allows long grass to wind around and bind up the head too easily. ( one thick strand of grass will stop the head from turning) I spent alot of time unwinding grass from this area. ( I did not have this issue with my old trimmer, cutting the same legnth grass) Other than that I feel the trimmer is a good product, and would recommend it ."
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
xskuzame
Location:Brockport, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:June 9, 2013
Out of the box
"Right out of the box the string was getting severed off at the eyelet opening. Had to stop and take the bump head apart to see if it was out of string. After feeding the string through the head again, I was back to work. Only to find that the string was severed again at the eyelet opening. After looking at the eyelets closely, I saw that both of them had a sharp edge on the inside which is causing the problem. I have to take the eyelets to work and file the sharp edges down with a round needle file......"
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
skelly
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2013
Junk
"Bought the thing today, used it about an hour and now the pullstart does not engage."
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MikeB151273
Location:San Marcos, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:January 13, 2014
Gas Cap Leaks
"I bought this with the Chain saw and Hedge Trimmer attachments. The gas cap leaks when you place the unit at an angle to trim the trees. Makes this tool useless as I get soaked with gas. Also needs to be a warm engine to use it for anything more than an weed trimmer, the more dies when a load is put on it with the other attachments, I have them all but the blower. Also backfires the whole time I'm using it, I use gas with stabilizer, so this issue shouldn't be happening, Spend more and get a better higher end product."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kevinc
Location:Bowling Green, KY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:April 22, 2013
Repairs
"Love the products. But when it needs repaired, no one wants to work on them."
+18points
30out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CXC12
Location:Bedford, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:September 26, 2013
Trimmer is broken more often than not
"I purchased a new trimmer thinking I was getting a stronger better trimmer. The head broke first day. The string breaks at the eyelets and you have to take the head apart to restring it. This trimmer is Junk. I am having a hard time finding a service center that can fix it. Parts are not available. I would not recommend this trimmer to anyone."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Chuck2
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:September 9, 2013
Junk trimmer
"I purchased this trimmer about 3 months ago. I have used it every other week and the thing is absolute junk. As was told to me by the Lowe's employee where I bought it..."this is a commercial trimmer." So I thought, "hey, this should last me a good while." I am now trying to find a replacement part for the cutting head and cannot find one anywhere. Lowe's didn't carry them and the employee at Lowe's couldn't even find it on the troybilt website. THIS TRIMMER IS JUNK! DO NOT BUY IT!"
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
0customer
Location:Owings, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:October 13, 2013
Junk
"I purchased this thing about 4 months ago. The thing ran fine for the first ten minutes and now in the middle of trimming the dam thing cuts off. I have replaced the gas, even using high grade and nothing seem to work. I would invest in a different trimmer before you are stuck with the same problem."
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Bluemax
Location:Montgomery, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:April 14, 2014
Poor String Head Design
"This is my second TroyBilt trimmer. First was a 2 cycle bought 9 years ago. It ran great, started on first pull, but the head would allow line to heat-up almost instantly, breaking off inside, melting to housing, and line melting to itself. I replaced the head with an aftermarket Husquavarna and it worked great! The fuel line on the motor finally rotted and it was time for another unit. I wanted a 4 cycle to eliminate mixing headaches. Thinking any reputable company would fix problems (within 9 years) I chose another TroyBilt. WRONG! They still have a terrible line head design with the same issues. unfortunately the old Husquavarna head won't fit the new trimmer. Terribly disappointed!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.