Product Reviews

Troybilt TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

30cc 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer Weed Trimmer Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.533 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
9
67%30 of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charlie1973
Location:Denison, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:April 19, 2014
Poor design!!!
"My wife bought this trimmer for me last year. This is my first 4 stroke and really liked the power it has. The only problem that I have with it is that the coupler mount is a very poor design. They expect a tiny screw threaded into extremely thin metal to hold the bottom shaft and the head without stripping. I hoping I'll be able to return it to Lowe's this weekend. If so, I will definitely look at other models. Maybe other brands."
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
frac
Location:NM
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:April 20, 2014
Read the reviews
"I did not read the reviews before buying and I should have. I used it the 1st time and was great, starting the 2nd time the fuel caps leaks very bad, the string head is a terrible design and its hard to get started. I hope troy built is reading these."
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Bluemax
Location:Montgomery, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:April 14, 2014
Poor String Head Design
"This is my second TroyBilt trimmer. First was a 2 cycle bought 9 years ago. It ran great, started on first pull, but the head would allow line to heat-up almost instantly, breaking off inside, melting to housing, and line melting to itself. I replaced the head with an aftermarket Husquavarna and it worked great! The fuel line on the motor finally rotted and it was time for another unit. I wanted a 4 cycle to eliminate mixing headaches. Thinking any reputable company would fix problems (within 9 years) I chose another TroyBilt. WRONG! They still have a terrible line head design with the same issues. unfortunately the old Husquavarna head won't fit the new trimmer. Terribly disappointed!"
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shep
Location:Tucson, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Works for me.
"I have had this trimmer for about three months and have had no problems at all. It's a little heavy compaired to its 2 stroke counterparts, but that can be expected from a 4 stroke, more moving parts in the engine. With all the 2 strokes I have had there has always been a lot of maintenance. With the 4 stroke all thats needed is a oil change and maybe a spark plug once a season, clean the filter every 10 hours and you are good to go. It has plenty of power to do what I need it to do, it starts easy and runs good. It is the best trimmer I have had to date. Troy- Bilt is a good product & I would recomend it. As far as long term all I can say is if its as good as my other products from troy- bilt I will be using it for years to come."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sky333Blue
Location:Waynesville, MO
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Best trimmer I've ever owned!
"We live in some rough terrain in Missouri; lots of rocks and tough weeds that grow into mini trees in no time. This trimmer can take down anything you put in it's path! We've got a lot of rocks in our yard and the sting doesn't break if you hit them. The string is easy to load when out and even easier to extend when in use. Starts great and lasts two cuts of an entire acre yard on one gas up. This trimmer is extremely easy to use which is very helpful when you have a husband in the military that can't always do everything for you. We would definitely recommend this product, especially if you've got rough terrain to battle in your yard."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
StehekinDave
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2014
Do not buy!
"Second time I used this the plastic trimmer head kept coming off and finally the mount cracked and it would not stay on, so I bought a universal head which worked fine, except the unit was extremely hard to start and keep running which seemed complicated for such a simple machine. Acts likes it is fuel starved all the time and dies when I accelerate it, and it cuts poorly. I should have returned it right away. I also bought a Troybilt tiller at the same time and it has issues with the starting apparatus.
I do not recommend buying Troybilt anything! It appears the company bought the name without maintaining the quality of the product."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
colokid83
Location:Pueblo West, CO, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Best Weed Eater
"I have bought many weedeaters and always had a problem starting them and them never feeding line right. We bought the electric start with this one and it starts the first time. Runs like a champ and feeds line easily. Would recommend this for everyone."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gash
Location:Nashua, NH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:July 13, 2014
Good But!
"I bought this to replace an old 2 stroke trimmer. 1st one I bought the pull start failed before it even started. Returned to Lowe's and they took it back. I was going to buy another model but only had this one at this store. Got another one put together and it started right up! I like the fact you don't have to rev it like a two stroke. does a good job and I think it will grow on me. The guy at Lowe's said he has never had any one return one so maybe it was a fluke. Overall after using the first time today is I like it."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snoopy
Location:Tx
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2014
Great Trimmer
"So far there have been no issues with this trimmer. The ease of starting the trimmer is amazing compared to the trimmers I have owned in the past"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
peanut
Location:Madison, Nashville, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:May 12, 2014
bad do not buy
"i have used it 4 times an it has broken 2 times out of 4 an now I have to buy a trimmer"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GaryJ10
Location:Whittier, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:July 18, 2014
Don't Buy
"The "Click N Trim™ bump head", is terrible.
I have to take it apart several times every time I use this
trimmer. Bad design!!!!
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spanky
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:July 14, 2014
i love this trimmer
"I bought this cause I was sick of mixing my gas. So I bought this 4 stroke and it really sweet and easy to use."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
loc1369
Location:Texas, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:July 7, 2014
4 cycle engine
"I love the faxed that I don't have to mix my gas anymore."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zephryus
Location:Hou. TX.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:June 24, 2014
No more oil
"Finally a weed eater that I don't have to mix oil with my gas! There are all sorts of attachments I can equip on this machine to help me all over the yard. A good 4 cycle engine that doesn't way a ton in a hand held tool. I also love the shoulder strap to help take the strain off my back.
Thanks
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
andyldavis
Location:Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:June 7, 2014
It could be better
"Great replacement. Balance is not as good as previous model. Starts easily, has plenty of power. Loading the string is quite new to me, but after loading a few times I am getting better. Wish there was a way that Troy-bilt could "mark" the string in 20' lengths #a dye mark# so that I would not have to drag out the tape measure each time I had to reload the string head."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
davidga
Location:ga
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:June 1, 2014
Great string trimmer
"I have an older trimmer that gave me great service for years. So far the new one has delivered the same satisfaction."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GrayFox3
Location:Concord, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:June 1, 2014
Strong Trimmer
"The set up & easy of use out of the box was very simple. Took no time at all to get to trimming."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ahlocke
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2014
Gas Trimmer
"Trimmer seems very powerful, and does a great job."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CrawfordL
Location:Lebanon, MO
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2014
Unlike any other gas trimmer!
"This unit was a bit heavier than I expected, however, it is very sturdy, easy to start, no mixing gas & oil! With a shoulder strap, it is manageable!
Highly recommend this trimmer and this company! They try hard to be a leading company, and they deserve a great review! They really care about the customer, more than I can say for most companies nowadays!
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB675 EC Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fuballref
Location:Beavercreek, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (45 Reviews)
Date:June 6, 2013
Overall Good Product
"Bought the TB675 as a replacement to an earlier model that served me very well for about 7 years. I bought this current model because I had multiple attachments (edger, tiller, brush hog) that I wanted to continue using. I used this model 3 times and the oil level window busted and spilled hot oil over everything as I was edging my driveway. As I had purchased it less than 2 months earlier, Lowes swapped my busted one for a replacement with no hassle. Based on past track records, Troy Bilt builds a quality product and I like them. I believe the problem I encountered is an isolated incident and I will continue to use their products."
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>