Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger

Portable 4-Cycle Gas Edger
Average Customer Rating:
2.727 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
11
55%18 of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Review 1 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FedUp
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:August 8, 2010
Piece Of Trash
"This thing is impossible to start, unstable, garbage"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
echotides
Location:Medford, OR
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:March 31, 2010
Very good quality!
"This is a very good machine at a very good price. I highly recommend it."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cosmo
Location:houston, tx
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:July 15, 2010
don't buy!!!
"impossible to use on street curb.
how are you supposed to edge when 2 of the 3 wheels are in the air on the street."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
okcone
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:July 5, 2010
Fair Edger
"Need instructions on how to replace belt. Very difficult getting into the belt. The belt broke after I used it 4 times"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nismo1976
Location:montreal . quebec ,canada
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:2
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:August 19, 2010
"good machine ,good job.very fast and very nice product.
Started facille has no need to mix oil with gas.
marc
from montreal quebec .
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DanS
Location:Fla.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:May 18, 2010
TB515 Edger
"Pure GARBAGE !!
Don't waste your time or your hard earned money !!!
On the 2nd use the engine shaft broke on mine as soon as I engaged the turf.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pooter123
Location:Lake Jackson,tx
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:October 1, 2009
tbe515
"Worst piece of lawn equipment I have ever purchased. Rope has broke 3 times due to the difficulty in starting. Use starting fluid which helps. Can not put the air filter on or it will choke out the motor. HORRIBLE product."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BOZZ
Location:GREENWOOD,SC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:May 16, 2009
VERY MUCH WORTH THE MONEY
"I DONT HAVE VERY MUCH PATIENCE PUTING THINGS TOGETHER,BUT THIS WAS SO EASY!I WAS REALLY IMPRESSED,I WENT RIGHT TO WORK WITH IT.VERY LIGHT WEIGHT,EASY TO MOVE AROUND,TAKES UP LITTLE SPACE,BUT DOES AN OUT STANDING JOB.I QUESS LIITLE THINGS DO COME IN BIG PACKAGES!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:FL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:January 16, 2009
troy toy
"used this thing 2 times and the pull string became unresponsive.
when I took it apart to re-engage the pull string i notice that the plastic pulley for the drive belt was split.
now i need to order this plastic part.
this is not a tool its a toy.
i was expecting more from Troy Built."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tugster
Location:Clearwater, Florida
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:July 4, 2010
Very Poor
"Impossible to change the blade, had to take it to a small engine shop to have it changed. After 1 year, the blade would not engage, belt frayed and owners manual not helpful. Difficult to work on as screw heads are not conventional. I'm putting it in the trash as it is not worth getting fixed."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
paxtonm
Location:Stow, OH
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:June 28, 2009
Worst piece of lawn equipment ever
"I was only able to use this piece of "equipment" twice. It was hard to start and on my second use, the cord broke away from the edger. When I was able to use it, I had to constantly push on the "throttle" lever which is about 3/4 of an inch long. I would never recommend this to anyone I thought I would see again."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
edger
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:September 28, 2008
Poor Quality
"I had the same issue with the belt and pully melting after the first use. There is nothing in the manual about proper tension of the belt. It just says to turn the wheel until blade turns and that it. There's no mention of what can happen if the belt is too tigh or too loose. Fairly disappointed in the product thus far."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CardsFan
Location:St. Louis, MO
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2009
Better Blade Needed
"I have a corner lot with lots of sidewalk and found myself going over and over the same places because the blades have a very dull cutting edge. They don't seem to cut at all -- they just hack the grass off. Did not leave a very clean appearance. I don't understand the purpose of providing such dull blades for the machine."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
disappointed
Location:Milton, WV
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:July 19, 2008
"Beware of the plastic drive pulley on the blade. Mine melted before I finished my drive the first time I used it.
This would probably be a pretty good light duty edger if it had a steel drive pulley for the blade.
As it is, the least little bit of belt slippage is terminal and there is no mention of belt adjustments in the manual.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cecil
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:July 8, 2008
Works Great
"I bought this to use on my Bermuda Lawn and it cuts it great. You do have to prime it a few pumps, but it never fails to start. The blade clutch is a little weak and will slip if the trench/dirt is too tough. But if you keep up with the edging, it's not a problem. I agree with the first reviewer, a guide would be nice as I tend to ride the curb and wear my blade down."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Uncertain
Location:Colleyville, Texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:May 23, 2009
Tried It But Not Sure
"I purchased the unit on April 20, 2009. I used it 4 times and the starter rope would no longer retract. The unit starts easily, yet even with high-octane 'fresh' gas, the engine sputters between 3/4 throttle and full throttle. The handle turns and twist no matter how tight you turn the bolts/nuts during assembly of the unit. I'm not certain I would purchase this unit again, nor recommend it to a friend."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sweatandtears
Location:Chalmette, Louisiana
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2010
not the best bang for your buck
"this is my 2nd season using it. i already had to replace the belt and blade. the belt was expensive, no one had them it stock so the shipping was also expensive. the manual is useless as for instructions on changing the belt. so far i have had no trouble starting i do pump it 10x's and have it on the slowest setting and it starts up. the handle does twist no matter how tight you have it. for a Troy Built i was disappointed."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Logan
Location:Kansas
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:September 20, 2009
reliable product
"Obviously they have addressed some of the earlier complaints as I have not had any of the problems reported with the pull cord or clutch.
I have owned my edger for two seasons and have not had any mechanical issues. You do have to push the primer ten times just as it says on the engine. You must also start it on the slowest speed as it will not start on the high speed setting. The blade does last only one season. My edger clutch never slips, instead, if it gets in a bind it will stop the engine."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lorenz
Location:Frisco, tx
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:March 12, 2010
As advertised
"This little unit performed well, pretty much as expected. It will dig the edge on beds if you lower the blade all the way. The only suggestion i would make to new buyers is that you take the blade off when you get it home, and put it on a grinder. Sharpen it like a mower blade, paying attention to the rotation direction. The 'blade' really isnt.. sharpen it and you will have much better results. I cant speak to durability, i have only had it one season. the blade will need to be replaced after this season."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB515 EC Portable Lawn Edger
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
clapsaddle
Location:Canyon, Texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (33 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2010
DISAPPOINTED
"Really disappointed with this product. Hard to start, however, once started it seemed to perform to at least average standards. I've owned it 2 yrs and have only used it about 10 times on my very small yard. The 10th time or so, the thing sounded like it got shot by a 44 magnum and stopped dead in its tracks. Lowe's would not help me because it is over its time of warranty. I took it apart and found the crankshaft broken in two. Lovely huh!!! I cannot find a way to contact customer service but will keep trying. Really disappointed in Troy Bilt."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>