Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator

Straight Shaft Garden Cultivator Attachment
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
100%20 of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Review 1 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Wichita, ks
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:April 6, 2008
Awesome
"Got one for Christmas and love it. I would use this over a tiller for small garden areas. I have been landscaping my yard the last few weeks adding and redesigning some of the garden areas. This tool works great. It takes a little work to get deep down, but it can do it with ease. Very surprised and impressed with this attachment."
+52points
52out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DaveF
Location:Northern Virginia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2012
Works ok.
"There's a certain design flaw with all of these kinds of small rototillers... rocks tend to jam the tines, sometimes so badly, you need a hammer and chisel to get the rock out. Also, you're only going to get but so deep with a tiller without support from wheels. So a tiller attachment for your trimmer system is good if you need to churn up the soil for a small flower bed or a raised bed, but probably not for a large garden. Still, for what it does, this one does well."
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tobby100000
Location:midwest Illinois
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:April 22, 2012
great cultivator
"I love this and think it is great to have another tool without the expensive of purchasing another whole unit. it attaches easy and does a great job. I would not use it in heavy sod, but works great for in excisting flower and garden beds."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
itogtrader
Location:Helena, AL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:May 20, 2010
Little cultivator, BIG Performance
"I bought one of these for my electric Ryobi 130r string trimmer with attachments. I really didn't think it would work so well, but I have had this thing for almost 8 years and have used it over and over again. I've dug holes to plant small trees, tilled a small garden bed, planted many many plants with it (mixing in the mulch and new soil). It is very versitile. If you have an electric or gas trimmer with the add on attachments feature you should definately find one of these and add it to your most used shed tools.
You will be suprised how effective this little unit is. Also, if you ever get vines or string caught up in the tines, they come apart fast for easy cleaning. 4 hitch pin clips hold the tines in place, no tools necessary.
A really great design!!
"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kkkevvin
Location:massachusetts
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:August 30, 2008
Small tiller big attitude
"once i got my trimmer with changeable attachments the first goody i had to get was the cultivator tiller. So easy to install. start up the engine and go. At first try for some reason I do not know why but it would bog down the motor to the point yuo think it was going to die out. but after a little dry reving it got up to speed and has worked wonderful since. subsequent uses proved this little wonder to be pleasing everytime. it must have at first needed to break in or something because now it works so great I have doubled mayber tripled the size of my garden and flower beds because it is now so easy to dig up turn and maintain the soil."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honeydolist
Location:TACOMA, WA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:November 19, 2009
Glad I have it!
"My wife is always wanting me to "clean out the garden" which is about 250 sq ft. It is a real hassle to do by hand. One day I was reached a crossroads and refused to do the garden by hand any longer so I decided to investigate tillers. I already had a Troy-Bilt trimmer and was convinced by other reviews to try the tiller attachment. I was pleasantly surprised how well this little gizmo works! Just recently I tackled the garden now filled with Dandelions and it chewed right through them! Now I don't mind when my wife wants me to clean out the garden, it's actually fun!"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jwrdds
Location:Greensboro, NC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:April 13, 2009
Outstanding
"Delivered far more than I was expecting. Started to buy a gas powered "tiller" but thought I would just try this attachment. I believe I got much more than I paid for!"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gatrbait
Location:Bluffton, SC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:February 15, 2009
ADDICTIVE
"I love this attachment. I love the ease and the quality of work this little monster puts out. As it might look small it can handle a large area in no time at all. I have had mine 4 years and have had no problems at all."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RWHPI
Location:Upstate,NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:July 25, 2012
Great Back-Saver
"I use this cultivator often in preparing flowerbeds and to occasionally till portions of lawn that may need re-seeding. It's lightweight, powerful, easy to control and ruggedly-built. Definitely not as back-wrenching as a large tiller, and much more convenient for smaller jobs.
Also works great for preparing walkways for paving stones. It also comes in handy when placing lawn edging, making it much easier to dig the necessary trench. It saves me from having to pull out the large tiller for small jobs. Just hose it down, keep it lubricated and store it for the next job.
The best part is that I can interchange it between my compatible TroyBilt 2 and 4 cycle trilmmers, both at different locations."
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joshua0405
Location:MS
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:May 5, 2012
Awesome
"Definitely a product worth it's money...
Will save time in the garden and cultivates
dirt better than hoeing...
"
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnsXSEmail
Location:Auburn, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:February 17, 2014
Assembly lubricant seems to have been gin.
"When connected to my existing engine the tines would not turn even at full throtttle. When I disassembled the unit I found
1. While there was lots of lubricant, it wasn't on the mating surfaces of the gears.
2. The case gasket was incorrectly installed and was jammed in with the drive shaft at the top of the case.
I spread the lubricant on the gear mating surfaces and put the gasket where it belonged. (Permatex is a wonderful thing).
Turns this heavy clay soil OK now.
"
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2010
Works well for me
"I bought this unit to till the beds around my house. I have 4 relatively small areas to work (4x16 raised beds) and this unit worked OK for me.
The plastic handle on the power unit is kind of flimsy for this application and is hard to hold on to if the ground is the least bit hard. This is not a powerful tiller! If you have heavy clay soil or much more ground to work than I do I would definitely look for something bigger. Having said that I have used this with no problems and believe it will work for me for many years in this limited application."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
grog
Location:Fayetteville North Carolina, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2015
best attachment
"i have had this attachment for years bought it when it first come out never stops working and fits all trimmers . love this one its great for going between the rows in the garden and in flower beds"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chevyman
Location:Lancaster, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:August 15, 2015
A lot of OMMPH!!
"I bought this to help me turn my small garden. But as soon as my wife saw it in the garage, she was all about planting flowers. So not wanting to wait to spring to try it out, I hooked it up to my TB685EC and made some flower beds!! I must admit, this attachment adds a good amount of weight to the end of the TB685EC and it was slightly difficult to start. You see, if you sit the unit on the ground to start it, the tines come in contact with the ground and the unit wants to go for a ride as soon as the throttle is depressed. I ended up standing and pull starting the unit. It would probably be easier using the electric start; but I wanted to see how the whole starting process would go.
Once I got it going and the wife showed me where to dig up, the tines dug right through. This even spat out rocks 4" in diameter like they were pebbles! Churning up the soil in one direction and then moving 90 degrees and doing the same area again created a very smooth edged bed with some very finely ground up soil. I actually dug up an area 3 feet x 3 feet by 8" deep in about 15 minutes. My wife liked it so much, she had me dig up another area the same size.
As I said earlier, the tiller attachment is weighty, but the weight really aids in keeping the head down in the soil. You still need to push down when you pull it back, but in all honesty, I have used rear tine tillers where I had to use a lot more force to dig up the soil. I would highly recommend this to anyone who has a need to till the earth. Easy to attach and easy to take apart to clean. We will just have to see how long the gearing holds up."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dogperson
Location:Maine, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:August 13, 2015
Add on cultivator
"I love it, it is easy to use and does a wonderful job."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FUBAR53
Location:Decatur, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Date:July 19, 2015
Gets it DONE!
"For cultivating pre-tilled beds this does wonders. To turn untilled ground it does good job; however, it can be labor intensive. Keeps tilled soil spread in work area and not thrown everywhere. Quik-n-easy cleaning."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for GC720 TrimmerPlus Add-On Cultivator
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5 stars (20 Reviews)
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4
Durability
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Performance
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5