Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

TB466 21" Rear Bag Self-Propelled Lawn Mower

3-in-1 Capability: Side Discharge / Mulch / Rear Bag Lawn Mower
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
50%5 of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB466 21" Rear Bag Self-Propelled Lawn Mower
Review 1 for TB466 21" Rear Bag Self-Propelled Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mikec
Location:Valrico, Florida
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:July 16, 2009
Great Mower
"I live in Florida, and have had to mow my yard twice a week. This mower has never failed to start or operate properly, in the last three months. My wife lovers the one pull starting system."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB466 21" Rear Bag Self-Propelled Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bigmuny
Location:Louisiana
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:May 30, 2009
Great Mower
"Great mower no problems cuts with ease, mulches and does everything I purchased it for, starts on first pull, I clean it after every use under and on top and don't let anyone use it besides me."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB466 21" Rear Bag Self-Propelled Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Redman
Location:Mississippi
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:September 16, 2008
Great buy
"This is my second TB purchase. I purchased my first TB walk behind mower 7 years ago. It was still running but the deck was worn through from usage. If I continue to get the value from TB products, I may never go to another manufacturer again.
Walk-behind mowers give me exercise and accomplish a yard task in the process. 45 to 60 minutes of vigorous walking a couple times a week.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB466 21" Rear Bag Self-Propelled Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ron12
Location:braselton, GA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:September 7, 2008
no problems
"I bought my first home three years ago and I bought this mower at lowes the same time. I do not know much about the different mowers, but I know this one has been good to me."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB466 21" Rear Bag Self-Propelled Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AMUGFORD
Location:NE, Canton OHIO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:July 17, 2008
"I bought this mower at Lowes Home improvement store, 2 years ago i never had one minutes trouble with it. I would take and push the primer bulb 3 times. And if it is cold outside i would take and push the primer bulb 4 times and it still starts with one pull no matter if i prime 3 times it still starts with one pull."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB466 21" Rear Bag Self-Propelled Lawn Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brandycakes2
Location:Wadsworth, OH
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:November 2, 2009
disappointing
"I have owned this lawn mower for a year, and the self propelled drive have stopped working twice. The first time the belt slipped off, and was rather easy to fix. This last time, it is going to have to go to the repair shop, because we can not fiqure it out."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB466 21" Rear Bag Self-Propelled Lawn Mower
Tnt10
Location:Tenn.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:August 24, 2009
Belts On self prepelled system keep coming off!!
"I have had this mower for less than one year and the stupid belts keep coming off....!!! And guess what? Everytime the belt comes off it goes write up into the mower blade!! Yeap and you guessed it. Chop Chop!! A trip to the repair shop for a $15 dollar belt....!! I few more trip I could have bought a new mower. Good luck with this one."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB466 21" Rear Bag Self-Propelled Lawn Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HoustonMower
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:April 9, 2009
really bad or really bad luck
"I've owned many mowers and had very distinct requirements when I was ready to buy a new mower. I researched mowers very carefully, including reviews in Consumer Reports, and purchased this mower at Lowe's. The first time I used it started making a loud noise which turned out to be the belt shroud which had fallen off and was hitting the blade. I had to box it up and bring it back to Lowe's to get a new one. Now, 7 months after buying and using it about the 10th time, the self-propelled function quit working. Appears to be an internal problem with the module that is engaged by the cable/lever to turn the front wheels. I'll be bringing it in to get warranty service so it's usable -- VERY disappointing for a brand new mower!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB466 21" Rear Bag Self-Propelled Lawn Mower
frank6087
Location:florida
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:August 15, 2008
turf cut 220 disappointment briggs
"the carb on this machine needs a gas filter and needs to be rebuilt again second time i had it done to stop it from stalling out.when it runs its great.3 years ownership"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB466 21" Rear Bag Self-Propelled Lawn Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Barb
Location:Albany, Ga
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (10 Reviews)
Date:July 11, 2008
Unable to use
"I purchased this mower five years ago. It has been used very little. The year before last, the mower would stall out after a few minutes use, I would restart it and the same thing would happen until finally it refused to start. I took it to the local repair shop, they said they couldn't find anything wrong with the machine, changed the oil, spark plugs, sharpened the blade and replaced the air filter. I took it home and the same thing. I gave up and finished the remainder of that year having a lawm service mow.
This year I decided that doing that was just not going to happen again, so I took it back to the repair shop, and the same song and dance. I really am disappointed in this product, and would like to know if anyone else has experienced this problem, and if they were able to resolve this issue. I want to do my own mowing, it may sound strange but I enjoy it.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.