Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

TB539E Electric-Start Gas String Trimmer

29cc, 4-Cycle Curved Shaft gas String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer with Electric-Start, Attachment-Capable Design
Average Customer Rating:
3.444 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
67%6 of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB539E Electric-Start Gas String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB539E Electric-Start Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LJMWOOD
Location:PALM COAST FL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (9 Reviews)
Date:February 4, 2010
PURCHASED 4/9/09
"I HAVE ALL THE ATTACTMENTS THAT GO WITH THIS ITEM. I SOULD HAVE PURCHASED THIS YEARS AGO I WOULD OF SAVED ALOT OF MONEY OVER THE YEARS BUYING LOW PRICE ITEMS I AM VERY HAPPY WITH TROY-BILT"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB539E Electric-Start Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Front Royal, VA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:2
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (9 Reviews)
Date:August 30, 2009
"I brought the 4 cycle troy-bilt trimmer when they first came out. It lasted for more than 11 year. That is why I bought another. Trying to start manually is a pain so that is why I bought the ele. start and it work fine. The only problem I have is the trimmer head (Red one can't fine the part # in the ops manual). It seems to be the main problem with other reviews of this trimmer. The red trimmer head is a piece of junk, the line gets itself so tight in the spool it will not self feed when you bump it on the ground. It has to be taken apart every time to feed the line. Lucky I still have the old trimmer head from my former unit. This one is the orange head and still works as advertised but would have to be purchased seperatly. Once I put the orange trimmer head on it works great. So don't purchase the unit with the red trimmer, purchase the orange trimmer head.
Also if you are 5' 8" and below the unit will not hurt your back. I am 6' and the shaft is about 5" too short so I have to bend slightly to trim my large yard. After 15 minutes it becomes "A pain in the back".
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB539E Electric-Start Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wally
Location:Minneasot
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (9 Reviews)
Date:August 20, 2009
TB539E not up to par
"A number of things appear consistently in other reviews and I seem to be having most of these problems with my new trimmer. First, its hard to start, even with the electric start. It takes numerous tries to finally get it to stay running. And I could not get it running from a cold start (even on hot sunny MN days) by pulling the cord - ever. Second, the .095 'braided or bumpy' line looks to be magnificently designed for the job, but it gets overlapped all the time in the trimmer head and jambs up. The only way to clear it is to take the head apart and nearly restring it manually. Which brings up my third problem. When taking the head apart to clear the jambed line, the 4 small aluminum tubes that feed the line out come off too easily. I've nearly lost them a dozen times no matter how careful I am. They are just too light and seem to fly off when getting the line unstuck. Fourth, it is a little heavy (but I knew that when I bought it), however it gets heavier the longer one uses it - and it didn't come with a carry strap so the weight is all in your hands. Fifth, when others mention that it needs to run fast to get the job done, they mean full throttle! It won't turn all the connecting shafts unless it is at least more than half throttle. It seems a bit much considering it is a 4 cycle 29 cc engine and that would almost appear to be over-kill until you see that it may not be enough. Since I've used this for 3 months now, it would seem that I've made a huge purchasing mistake. For any others interested in this model, heed the warnings above and others who have issues with this trimmer. I think it is a very poor design is several areas (and I am a degreed engineer and know good design from bad)."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB539E Electric-Start Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Weedie
Location:Beavercreek
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:3
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (9 Reviews)
Date:August 7, 2009
Parts Manual
"Parts manual can not be found on site.
Trimmer head failed.
Alum tubes lost, spring lost, all before
trimmer line needed replaced.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB539E Electric-Start Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
msgoodwrench
Location:NE Ohio
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (9 Reviews)
Date:June 14, 2009
Works for me!
"I finally broke down and bought a new trimmer after my old 2-cycle Lawn Boy became too much of a maintenance issue after only 24 years! I decided to look at the "conversion" models because I was contemplating an edger purchase also, but who wants to maintain 2 pieces of equipment when you can just have 1 with 2 attachments?! I went looking for a little cheaper model, but I was sold by the electric start feature. I have a snow blower that I had the electric start put on; I am a 51 year old female and if it doesn't start easily it better have an electric start! Well, first, I used the electric starter once just to see how it worked, if it worked; it works great. But, since then, the trimmer has started easily enough by pulling it that I haven't messed with the electric starter. You must follow the start up guidelines tho... so many pushes of the primer before pulling it... it pulls easily, and has started easily in the month that I have used it. The line seems very strong and I have not had to change it yet, so can't comment on spooling.
It assembled easily out of the box with good instructions, and even included the little bottle of motor oil needed! 4-cycle, so no oil mixture to mess with; put it together, motor oil in, gas in, fire it up, go to work!
This may seem small, but to me it was a plus, another added feature that I find VERY helpful. I got the edger attachment for my trimmer, and it comes with a little "hanger" cap that clips onto the end of whichever attachment you are not using so that you can hang that attachment up on a hook or on your pegboard out of the way! Someone was thinking here! Thank you, that really helps to keep my garage better organized and keeps the attachment out of harms way of being smashed, tripped over, pushed under something and lost. A very good idea, and a plus in my book! I guess my only "negative" is the conversion is accomplished by those push button, slide out type of wand, and I have a rather difficult time with those push button things; not just on this, but everything that utilizes them. I think I need like a special tool to compress the darn things cause I don't seem to have the strength in one finger to push it in far enough a lot of times to make it release. Any suggestions on that? This works smooth enough, I just dread that part of it cause I about put a new hole in my finger when I use those types of releases. Other than that, the conversion is pretty much easily accomplished, no worries about lining the shaft up or anything, just slip it on until it clicks into place - make sure you have it oriented correctly since it mounts 90 degrees out from the trimmer attachment location. The edger seems to work well, it seems to have a difficult time with the initial cut, but I have clay soil here and I can't hardly blame this unit - I have trouble when I use the shovel for cryin out loud! Subsequent passes seem to go easier and KEEP THE THROTTLE ON! You definitely need to keep the throttle smashed when edging. I seem to have a little problem keeping it level, and maybe if you could have a second guide wheel to balance it better it would help, that would be my only issue. It even came with a special tool for removing the edger blade! wow! Sure wish my riding tractor had come with something like that for its blades' removal - goodbye slipping 2 x 4!!
All in all seems like a well thought out product, with extra thought into some small features (i.e., hanger capability for the extra attachment and starter), starting instructions right on the wand to remind you if you forget how many pumps of the primer!, included little can of motor oil for it right in the box! VERY NICE EXTRA THOUGHT! THANK YOU AGAIN! Runs quiet. I am very happy with it, and the apparent thought that went into making it, and setting it up for quick and complete use right out of the box after purchase.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB539E Electric-Start Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jimj
Location:SC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (9 Reviews)
Date:May 23, 2009
TB539E
"2nd Trimmer. !st one ,pinion on electric start broke off in engine on third use.Bought because of electric start option.It is a little heavy compared to 2 cycle but other than that it is very easy to use. Line that came on trimmer is extremely tough. I want to find out where to obtain replacement."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB539E Electric-Start Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dboo
Location:VA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (9 Reviews)
Date:August 29, 2008
Great Electric Trimmer
"I bought this trimmer based on a Consumer Report recommendation. I am on my second season with it and it has been everything I had hoped for. If you don't need a gas trimmer, this is the one for you."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for TB539E Electric-Start Gas String Trimmer
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (9 Reviews)
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5