Product Reviews

Troybilt Squall 2100 Snow Thrower

21 Single-Stage Snow Thrower - 208cc Troy-Bilt engine
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
22
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
6
80%66 of 82reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Review 21 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RMan
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:December 2, 2014
Works great
"I purchased the squall 2100 because I wanted a stronger machine. I have other machines that are not as powerful. I have used the machine once and found that the discharge of snow was what I anticipated. I found two problems the primer bulb isn't attached to good and I will have to add a nut and screw. The other problem I found was restarting the machine after changing locations only a short stoppage required a number of pulls before restarting. I still think the machine is worth the cost and found that I could lift it in and out of the van easy enough."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Silverado
Location:Bedford, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:November 27, 2014
Exceeded my expectations
"I just used my new Squall 2100 for the first time on over 3 inches of heavy wet slush. I was surprised how powerful this machine is and how easy it is to use."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mtgman54
Location:Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2014
No need to use it yet
"Since it is early no need to use this yet. I have been running it about 5 -10 minutes a week to keep it ready. Starts and runs well, noisy yes but I feel that it will do the job for my driveway this winter."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pats
Location:Conklin, NY 13748, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2014
Best Purchase Yet
"Very happy with snow blower this past winter. Had no troubles with all the snow we had here in the Northeast. No troubles with drifted snow either."
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dilligaf
Location:Swoyersville, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:3
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:March 10, 2014
Good product for the cost
"I purchased this product to replace one approximately 10 years old. It works well and does move a large amount of snow for its size. I live in Northeastern Pa. and you know we had some large snowfalls this winter of 2013-2014. There are only two faults that I find with the machine: 1. The thrower pushes snow back under the scraper. I thought that the scraper may have been misaligned. I sat it on a sheet of plywood to check and it was in perfect alignment. 2. Snow builds up on the tires and when it does the wheels will not rotate so you must stop and remove the snow before continuing. This happens quit frequently. Other than these two items I think the machine performs very well."
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tickle
Location:Roanoke, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:February 14, 2014
First Time Owner/User
"Purchased this the day before large snow fall was predicted in VA. Never owned a blower before, my wife prompted me to purchase she said I did not need to be shoveling. After the first use in a 21 inch snow I was more than satisfied with the performace of the Squall 2100. Started up with ease, performance in snow was awesome for such a light weight, easy to store machiine. I have a 4 car driveway, sidewalks and patio which I cleaned twice during the storm, only took an hour each time. Easy to use, highly recommended, strong engine, I expect many years service out of this blower"
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snowblower
Location:central New York
Gender:Male
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:February 12, 2014
Longevity a problem
"Purchased squall 2100 in Nov. 2012. Worked great during what turned out to be a light winter for central New York.
This winter has been more typical. So far I've had to replace the paddles & guide bar. The single fuel tank bracket, which is plastic and a molded part of the shroud broke due to vibration I'm guessing. The single muffler shroud broke, again for the same reason I'm guessing. Neither can be repaired without major parts replacement and labor costs. So not wanting to invest good money after bad, I wired up the fuel tank and scraped the muffler shroud. While doing so I discovered that the pull cord was extremely frayed where it enters the recoil housing. Which, for it to be frayed only at that point also points to vibration. I can only imagine the cost of that repair. The bottom line is that this machine works great in all kinds of snow and as deep as is required, you may just have to go slower. Slush clogging happens in all types of snow blowers and throwers. This is the best with slush that I've owned. The problem is in the engineering. It appears that the effect of the machines excessive vibration during regular use was not taken into effect for the problems I've had. Hopefully Troybilt will spend a few bucks and correct these problems. Even though the machine can work great, I cannot recommend this to a friend until these design flaws are solved.
"
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grunt0331
Location:Irwin, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:February 11, 2014
Almost 12 years old...and still doing a great job!
"Bought my 21" Troy-Built Squall in October 2002, after finally having a paved driveway...living in SW Pennsylvania brings 40-50 inches of snow in an average year...usually 4-6" (sometimes 6-10") at a time, but my Squall does a great job every time...have had several 6" snowfalls this year (2013-2014) and the Troy-Built handles my 20'x50' driveway in less than 30 minutes. The electric start is an added plus. Have never had any trouble with this machine...not even one repair...still has the original drive belt...highly recommend this Troy-Built machine!"
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MFrang
Location:Kettering, OH
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:February 1, 2014
Difficulty starting
"The very first time I started the 21 Single-Stage Snow Thrower, it started on the very first pull. Every time thereafter it has taken me several minutes and multiple (10-20 pulls) to get it to fire. This has been very disappointing.
Once started and with the paddles engaged, there is excessive vibration in the entire machine. I am wondering if it will hold together for the long duration.
"
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John9754
Location:Clive, IA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:January 15, 2014
Great Valu
"I have had the opportunity to use my new blower 3 times now and it is so easy to start I have not had to use the electric start yet and one morning there was a minus 28 degree wind chill! After getting used to running it, I actually enjoyed doing the drive and sidewalks. I highly recommend the 21 inch electric start model to anyone who is contemplating buying a new snow blower."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dkones
Location:Denver, IN, USA
Gender:Male
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:January 11, 2014
Half of one season in Denver is all it could take
"I purchased this product and used it half of one season in Denver. That was all it could take without problems. Now, in it's second season it after just two small storms, it does not run properly and will need to be repaired. This is after only about 6 or 7 total days of use on our very small driveway.
When the engine runs correctly, it works well and is easy to use. However, I would expect to get more than seven days use, maybe 2 hours of total run time, before having problems."
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Turner
Location:Central Indiana
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:January 4, 2014
Great Machine
"This is my first snow blower. My wife bought it for me, because advancing age has made it difficult to shovel snow.
This is a great machine. The electric start works wonderful, and starts it right up. Blows dry snow a long way. The wetter the snow the less distance. If the snow is slushy, why worry, it is melting . . . It does clog a bit if the snow is real wet, but not enough to be a deal breaker. 4" of snow is easy. 6" of snow you need to go a bit slower. It is not self-propelled. You need to push it, but your body weight moves it along. 6" of moderately wet snow is the most that I have used it for. Got 12" a couple of winters ago, and I blew it off two or three times to keep ahead. This is my 2nd winter's use, didn't need it last year, and I definitely recommend it for mid-west winters. If I was farther north, or in someplace like Wyoming I think I would get a bigger one.
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ladynug
Location:Warren, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:January 2, 2014
Does the job
"I have only used this 4 times so far and find it does the job. My only complaint is that the auger leaves a layer of snow in the center. It`s not a very thick layer but it`s there and I usually just shovel it off. I haven`t tried it in very heavy or wet snow yet but from reading the other reviews, I am going to spray the chute with silicone to prevent it from clogging. It starts on the second pull every time and is not hard to pull/start. It vibrates when you first start it but settles down after it warms up."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StantheMan
Location:York, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:December 29, 2013
GOT'ER DONE!
"This is my second Troy-Bilt Snow Blower. Purchased first one, Power Shift Two-Stage 828 in 1990 and still running. Wanted something lighter so my wife could use it. Best features we like is the ease of use and electric starting. Used it three times this year and it GOT'ER DONE like a champ. Not as durabile as two-stage 828 but performence is good and lighter in handling! Price is somewhat higher then other like models I compared, but I am sold on Troy-Bilt products. I have had 4 Troy-Bilt hand mowers over the last 40 years."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Goblue
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:December 13, 2013
Works great for a single stage
"Bought mine in 2006. Starts easy, need to know how many times to press primer button so you won't flood it. Over exceeded my expectations. It will clog with slush, but it's a snowblower not a slush blower. Throws snow 12 feet. Never lacks power. Never had a problem with it."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VeryPleased
Location:West Valley City, UT, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:December 12, 2013
First Snow!
"6" of snow was child's play! When I first pulled the starter cord, it started with ease. I was astounded by the amount of work this single stage could do and it shorted the amount of time I needed to remove the snow from sidewalks and driveway.
THANKS!!"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
USSKaufman
Location:Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:February 27, 2013
It broke
"Its 15 months old and starting the second winter. An hour ago I would rate it a 10. While I was blowing slush today, a small bolt fell out. It was located under the belt housing. Yup it fell down on the belt and the belt came off and broke the ---- out of the plastic cover. I put the belt on, loctite the bolts, and got the cover on using some ingenuity. Its under warranty for 2 years. I have to find a dealer to have him to give me a free cover. If this don't work, I will be back to write another review. It does start and run and blow snow and slush real well."
+19points
23out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gfowler
Location:Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:February 25, 2013
great product for the price.
"Next door neighbor gave me the thrower in exchange for doing his driveway. We have had 4 good size snow falls so far and I have done 5 driveways and sidewalks each time. I only had to fill it once in those 4 snowfalls. This machine did everything I asked of it. It is easy to use, starts every time electric or pull start. I even let my sons use it to try and make some jobs on the side."
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
asher
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2012
Not bad
"Works as well as any other....just a little dissapointed!"
-44points
1out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mike1234
Location:Brooklyn NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (82 Reviews)
Date:July 7, 2011
One complaint
"We bought the 2100 for our housing coop in Brooklyn to use on our several hundred feet of sidewalk. Its a good machine, starts right up and handles heavy snow pretty well. Its also small enough to lug up the stairs from our basement, which is important.
Our one complaint is clogging. Even slightly wet snow clogs the thrower spout. Wetter snow makes it almost too much trouble to use. TroyBilt needs to work a solution to this problem"
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>