Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Squall 2100 Snow Thrower

21 Single-Stage Snow Thrower - 208cc Troy-Bilt engine
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
5
80%48 of 60reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Review 21 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dotot
Location:Merrimack, NH
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:January 28, 2011
Squall 2100
"Unit handled 6+ inches of snow with no difficulty. A little hard to move in areas where the driveway was icy and/or the snow very dense from the road plows. In general I am very happy with it. Starts easily both with the electric and manual start options."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rustyduck
Location:Morrisville, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:January 13, 2011
AWESOME!
"Back in the fall when I bought my Squall 2100, I was expecting that I had assured a winter with no appreciable snow. But we have already had three snows that have necessitated firing up the thrower. I love it! This has been the best purchase I have made in years. After clearing the driveway and sidewalks yesterday morning, I actually realized I wasn't ready to be done yet. What would normally have taken a few hours with a shovel took less than an hour. And it was pleasurable. I was looking at my neighbors' driveways for more to do. Now I must admit that the snows so far have been fairly light powdery events under 10 inches. But since that covers the vast majority of snows we tend to get, I am more than satisfied. We will see what happens when/if we get a heavy wet snow. But so far, so great! I will also admit that as a guy, I will always want MORE POWER!, and I would love to have a positive drive machine, but for the price, I am a very happy camper. Let it snow!"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
camrahnboy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:January 12, 2011
Squall 2100 Jan. 12, 2011
"Bought in 2008, used 15 times, Best for dry snow less than 8 inches. Wet snow clogs and requires body strength to move machine. Broke today during blizzard, screw auger came apart. Starts okay with electric, starter cord broke yesterday. Only good for light snow."
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:June 14, 2010
For Snow
"I dont know much about snow, but at least this does not have an air cooled engine!"
-11points
1out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RGR13
Location:Central AR
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:May 25, 2010
Easy to Use
"This little compact unit packs power and durability."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cliffuhl
Location:fredericktown , missouri
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2010
Best Purchase
"good all around snow thrower, plenty of power for light snow"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
dcurry12
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2010
good value
"this is easy to use and really gets the job done fast"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ranger838
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:April 24, 2010
Snow Galore
"dependable, rugged, economical, easy to use, starts easy"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kenn
Location:fairfield ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:April 8, 2010
great
"I bought this because I was taking almost 3 hours to clear my driveway; I looked at several units and read all the bad reviews. However this one the reviews were moderate. The day I bought it we had a late snow here in Ohio I took it out of the box prepped it read the instructions and took it out to clear the 8 inches we had received. Well it worked great I had read that the snows in Ohio may clog the chute but I sprayed it with silicone spray before starting out. I had no problems at all a 3 hour back breaking job took 30 minutes. Over the next couple of days we got both wet and a dry snow it did not make any difference. Glad I got the Troy Bilt. I would recommend this to anyone read the instructions first and spray the chute and you will not have any problems."
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LakeTahoe
Location:Lake Tahoe, NV
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:March 20, 2010
Beats the big boys hands down
"Don't ever waste money on those crummy 'shear-pin' blowers... this clever snow thrower with 'tire-tread' sweepers tosses snow 30' away... and is NEVER overwhelmed!"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Greenthumb
Location:Camden County, NJ
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:February 12, 2010
Buy a self-propelled instead
"Effort required to use defeated purpose of purchase."
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Palmyra
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:February 11, 2010
You get what you pay for.
"It may appear to strange that I gave a 5 star rating with the title I used. The point I'm making is that the 2100 is the bottom of Troy's line of snow throwers with a very good price when compared to other brands. One should not expect it to perform like a 2 stage unit.
I purchased it in 2007 for the moderate Virginia snows. In 2008 we moved to Ohio and it is now in its second winter here. It will clog with wet snow. Tilt the front up a few inches and let it drop and it should clear. (I hope I do not have to say that you do this by pushing down on the rear handle.) The use a little WD40 or silicone spray in the shoot before each job goes a long way to alleviate the clogging. The unit is not self propelled. Even though the tines can pull it through an inch or two of light snow, human power is needed. I just put my weight behind it and it goes. The rubber tines have held up well on my cement driveway and sidewalks. We live on a corner half acre lot so we have a good amount of sidewalk.
I've used pull start a few times with no problem, starts on the first pull when hot, and the electric start has been flawless.
The bottom line for me is that it works for what it is. You have to keep ahead of the snow and can't wait until you have 8 or 10+ inches before you go out. With a light/dry snow it throws the snow more than half the width of a 3 car driveway. With a wet snow no. Otherwise pay more to get more."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RAM1500
Location:McKeesport, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:February 11, 2010
Squall does it ALL
"Thinking we were only getting about 8 inches I purchased the Squall 2100. We got about 2 feet. Besides having to muscle the machine through the snow it was excellent in almost 3 times the depth it is recommended for. I have a 60 ft driveway and 90 foot of sidewalk. The Squall did the job. The auger shows little sign of wear, it has started very easily with the electrical start and within 3 pulls of the cord manually. I have done my property, a neighbors, and my mothers, all several times. Because the snow is 20+ inches I have had to make several passes, but it does the job. I Gave it 4 stars for performance only because it does clog in wet/slushy snow - but easy to clear! Very glad I made this purchase and since some of the driveway and walkway is not even I dont think a 2 stage auger would hold up to the beating. Second to my Dodge RAM this is the best snow (man's) TOY I have."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hammer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:February 6, 2010
SNOW of 2010
"After a full day of clearing snow after the BIG SNOW of 2010. A GREAT Machine!!!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TERRY
Location:Dubuque Iowa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:January 27, 2010
"I bought the Squall 2100 in 2007 if I had known what I know now I would have never bought it. If the snow is wet it does not work it just plugs up an issue the paddles are worn out it is hard to operate in the snow I think is mainly because the wheels are too small and it drags on the ground. The only thing I like about it it starts every time. Every year I have to take it back to the dealer to get gas leaks fixed in a I am so fed up with it not working that I went out and bought a different one knowledge is sincere and collects dust I would not even sell it to anybody because I would not give anybody this problem."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gord
Location:Glenwillow, OH
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:January 26, 2010
Great Machine
"I purchased this machine in November 2008 and it has been my best friend battling the lake effect snows of northeastern Ohio. The electric start is awesome. The pull cord broke, but I've never had to use it. My machine throws snow 20-30 feet. It helps to spray the blade and chute with silicone to prevent clogging. The engine is awesome, but I wore out the scraper plate already and am looking for a replacement. I will never shovel again!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Michigander
Location:Southwest Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:January 6, 2010
Mixed review
"I purchased this machine at the start of the 08-09 season. The rope broke on the third use, but the electric start works very well. My previous blower was a paddle wheel, and it pulled the machine forward; this one takes some effort and needs to be pushed, and is hard on the back. My belt gave out already this year (Jan, 10). It does remove snow down to the surface, and throws it a long distance, which is a big plus for me. It has a powerful engine that doesn't give up."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goliathtn
Location:Kingston, MA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:January 2, 2010
Excellent Snow Thrower
"I have owned the 2100 for 2 Years and multiple Mass. Snow Storms. This is a work horse if you take care of it. I have read some of the reviews about it throwing snowballs. I also had the same problem when I first bought it but you must adjust the tension (read owners manual) and it will throw snow 12 feet after that, works great with wet or dry snow. We recently had a 2 1/2 foot snow and it did a great job."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SGinElmira
Location:Elmira, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:January 1, 2010
weak thrower, get a shovel
"we bought this last fall and it seemed to work OK, wife had been using it.
I went out to move 2-3 inches of wet snow. Clogged every 10 feet. The rubber auger blades are worn out after about a dozen uses. it throws almost as much out the front as it does out the chute. On really smooth blacktop it will wipe down to surface, any compaction or uneven surface it leaves snow behind. Auger needs metal backing not just rubber flaps. Chute should be further forward on the auger, or better shape.
Love the 4 stroke engine it starts and runs great, just doesn't throw snow.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VADave
Location:Northern Virginia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (60 Reviews)
Date:December 20, 2009
Great Snow Machine!
"Just bought this snow thrower in preparation for the "blizzard of 2009". I would have preferred a two stage unit, but this was all that was left in the store. We got about 18 inches of snow and much more in drifts. I thought this machine worked great. It was easy to start and never clogged once. I used it in deeper snow than recommended and although I had to work at it, I was very pleased. Glad I purchased it."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>