Product Reviews

Troybilt Squall 2100 Snow Thrower

21 Single-Stage Snow Thrower - 208cc Troy-Bilt engine
Average Customer Rating:
3.924 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
5
80%53 of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Review 21 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
USSKaufman
Location:Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:February 27, 2013
It broke
"Its 15 months old and starting the second winter. An hour ago I would rate it a 10. While I was blowing slush today, a small bolt fell out. It was located under the belt housing. Yup it fell down on the belt and the belt came off and broke the ---- out of the plastic cover. I put the belt on, loctite the bolts, and got the cover on using some ingenuity. Its under warranty for 2 years. I have to find a dealer to have him to give me a free cover. If this don't work, I will be back to write another review. It does start and run and blow snow and slush real well."
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gfowler
Location:Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:February 25, 2013
great product for the price.
"Next door neighbor gave me the thrower in exchange for doing his driveway. We have had 4 good size snow falls so far and I have done 5 driveways and sidewalks each time. I only had to fill it once in those 4 snowfalls. This machine did everything I asked of it. It is easy to use, starts every time electric or pull start. I even let my sons use it to try and make some jobs on the side."
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
asher
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2012
Not bad
"Works as well as any other....just a little dissapointed!"
-44points
1out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mike1234
Location:Brooklyn NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:July 7, 2011
One complaint
"We bought the 2100 for our housing coop in Brooklyn to use on our several hundred feet of sidewalk. Its a good machine, starts right up and handles heavy snow pretty well. Its also small enough to lug up the stairs from our basement, which is important.
Our one complaint is clogging. Even slightly wet snow clogs the thrower spout. Wetter snow makes it almost too much trouble to use. TroyBilt needs to work a solution to this problem"
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
diamondd
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:May 28, 2011
Great for average homes
"Works well in my neighborhood. A large driveway/ area may need a bigger unit."
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bilt1Believer
Location:Clancy, Montana
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:February 7, 2011
Let's Go Skiing!
"I have been shoveling snow in Montana for 35 years. I viewed this as a time to unwined and get a little conditioning in during the winter. Well my wife said we get plenty of that skiing. She is right! So I went out and purchased the Squall 2100 and put it to work immediately. We had about 6"-8" of new snow again today and it worked great!! One hour and I was done. This use to be a two and a half hour job. Thanks for talking me into it honey. Lets go skiing!"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dotot
Location:Merrimack, NH
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:January 28, 2011
Squall 2100
"Unit handled 6+ inches of snow with no difficulty. A little hard to move in areas where the driveway was icy and/or the snow very dense from the road plows. In general I am very happy with it. Starts easily both with the electric and manual start options."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rustyduck
Location:Morrisville, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:January 13, 2011
AWESOME!
"Back in the fall when I bought my Squall 2100, I was expecting that I had assured a winter with no appreciable snow. But we have already had three snows that have necessitated firing up the thrower. I love it! This has been the best purchase I have made in years. After clearing the driveway and sidewalks yesterday morning, I actually realized I wasn't ready to be done yet. What would normally have taken a few hours with a shovel took less than an hour. And it was pleasurable. I was looking at my neighbors' driveways for more to do. Now I must admit that the snows so far have been fairly light powdery events under 10 inches. But since that covers the vast majority of snows we tend to get, I am more than satisfied. We will see what happens when/if we get a heavy wet snow. But so far, so great! I will also admit that as a guy, I will always want MORE POWER!, and I would love to have a positive drive machine, but for the price, I am a very happy camper. Let it snow!"
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
camrahnboy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:January 12, 2011
Squall 2100 Jan. 12, 2011
"Bought in 2008, used 15 times, Best for dry snow less than 8 inches. Wet snow clogs and requires body strength to move machine. Broke today during blizzard, screw auger came apart. Starts okay with electric, starter cord broke yesterday. Only good for light snow."
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:June 14, 2010
For Snow
"I dont know much about snow, but at least this does not have an air cooled engine!"
-16points
1out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RGR13
Location:Central AR
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:May 25, 2010
Easy to Use
"This little compact unit packs power and durability."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cliffuhl
Location:fredericktown , missouri
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2010
Best Purchase
"good all around snow thrower, plenty of power for light snow"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
dcurry12
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2010
good value
"this is easy to use and really gets the job done fast"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ranger838
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:April 24, 2010
Snow Galore
"dependable, rugged, economical, easy to use, starts easy"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kenn
Location:fairfield ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:April 8, 2010
great
"I bought this because I was taking almost 3 hours to clear my driveway; I looked at several units and read all the bad reviews. However this one the reviews were moderate. The day I bought it we had a late snow here in Ohio I took it out of the box prepped it read the instructions and took it out to clear the 8 inches we had received. Well it worked great I had read that the snows in Ohio may clog the chute but I sprayed it with silicone spray before starting out. I had no problems at all a 3 hour back breaking job took 30 minutes. Over the next couple of days we got both wet and a dry snow it did not make any difference. Glad I got the Troy Bilt. I would recommend this to anyone read the instructions first and spray the chute and you will not have any problems."
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LakeTahoe
Location:Lake Tahoe, NV
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:March 20, 2010
Beats the big boys hands down
"Don't ever waste money on those crummy 'shear-pin' blowers... this clever snow thrower with 'tire-tread' sweepers tosses snow 30' away... and is NEVER overwhelmed!"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Greenthumb
Location:Camden County, NJ
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:February 12, 2010
Buy a self-propelled instead
"Effort required to use defeated purpose of purchase."
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Palmyra
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:February 11, 2010
You get what you pay for.
"It may appear to strange that I gave a 5 star rating with the title I used. The point I'm making is that the 2100 is the bottom of Troy's line of snow throwers with a very good price when compared to other brands. One should not expect it to perform like a 2 stage unit.
I purchased it in 2007 for the moderate Virginia snows. In 2008 we moved to Ohio and it is now in its second winter here. It will clog with wet snow. Tilt the front up a few inches and let it drop and it should clear. (I hope I do not have to say that you do this by pushing down on the rear handle.) The use a little WD40 or silicone spray in the shoot before each job goes a long way to alleviate the clogging. The unit is not self propelled. Even though the tines can pull it through an inch or two of light snow, human power is needed. I just put my weight behind it and it goes. The rubber tines have held up well on my cement driveway and sidewalks. We live on a corner half acre lot so we have a good amount of sidewalk.
I've used pull start a few times with no problem, starts on the first pull when hot, and the electric start has been flawless.
The bottom line for me is that it works for what it is. You have to keep ahead of the snow and can't wait until you have 8 or 10+ inches before you go out. With a light/dry snow it throws the snow more than half the width of a 3 car driveway. With a wet snow no. Otherwise pay more to get more."
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RAM1500
Location:McKeesport, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:February 11, 2010
Squall does it ALL
"Thinking we were only getting about 8 inches I purchased the Squall 2100. We got about 2 feet. Besides having to muscle the machine through the snow it was excellent in almost 3 times the depth it is recommended for. I have a 60 ft driveway and 90 foot of sidewalk. The Squall did the job. The auger shows little sign of wear, it has started very easily with the electrical start and within 3 pulls of the cord manually. I have done my property, a neighbors, and my mothers, all several times. Because the snow is 20+ inches I have had to make several passes, but it does the job. I Gave it 4 stars for performance only because it does clog in wet/slushy snow - but easy to clear! Very glad I made this purchase and since some of the driveway and walkway is not even I dont think a 2 stage auger would hold up to the beating. Second to my Dodge RAM this is the best snow (man's) TOY I have."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Squall 2100 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hammer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (66 Reviews)
Date:February 6, 2010
SNOW of 2010
"After a full day of clearing snow after the BIG SNOW of 2010. A GREAT Machine!!!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>