Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Storm 2410 Snow Thrower

24 Two-Stage Snow Thrower - 179cc Troy-Bilt engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (119 reviews)
5 stars
90
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
7
92%109 of 119reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Review 1 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
miccc
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:January 6, 2014
Cheap carb
"Ran this thrower for 2 hours. Next year it would not work. Three years latter I still have a new thrower that does not work. Not getting fuel, primer does not work. Will not start. Looks nice sitting in my basement."
-6points
4out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bubba2112
Location:NH
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:November 28, 2013
Not engineered well
"First problem was the plastic gear on the Shute keeps jumping from the hand crank, I adjusted it with the two screws and it still jumps making me adjust the Shute by hand, very bad design, I installed a bracket to keep it engaged. Second problem was the starter would not engage so I took it apart, cleaned and lubed it reassembled and seems to work fine. All these problems started within 2 months of purchasing.
I would look very carefully at other manufactures before considering this make and model. Seems to be made very cheap."
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Samuel
Location:Toledo, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:November 11, 2013
Thrird year, second carb rebuild!
"I retired an old single stage two cycle Snapper three years ago. Good thing that I kept it in the back of the garage, since I have had to use it again and again. The first year was a light snow year, and I used the new Troy Bilt once. The next year I tried to use it for the first snow, and the engine ran bad. it would not run unless the choke was on at least half. I took it to have the carb rebuilt and it still ran rough. At the end of the season, I drained the gas completely and ran the engine until it stopped, since I did not want leave any "bad" gas in the engine. Well, I just started it up for the first time this year and it would not run unless the choke was on half. I will take it back and have the carb done again. In the meantime, if it snows, I will have the old Snapper to take care of the snow."
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
glindependent
Location:Lansing, Mich
Gender:Male
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:February 2, 2011
Disappointed
"First the good news. This machine starts very well. In even very cold temperatures, it starts on the first pull. Fantastic.
Then the bad news. This machine doesn't blow snow. As soon as any snow is encountered, the augur and impeller slow way down (or even stop) and the snow barely dribbles out of the chute. This started to happen on the second time that I used the machine. (This first snow fall was only an inch and it worked okay on that.) Seems that the belt may be bad - okay but shouldn't a brand new belt last more that one small snow fall?
"
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Islip, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:December 21, 2009
Piece of Junk
"This thing is a piece of garbage! I've had it for approx 3 years and it has never run right. It has no problem starting however will not run for more than 10-15 seconds. I've already had the carb re-built after the first season and it was NOT covered under warranty. I am mechanically inclined so I know how to operate and maintain machinery. I winterized according to the directions and still wouldn't work. I am having the carb re-built again and for the last time. My father-in-law has the same unit and has similar problems. DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE!"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
spatts
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:January 12, 2009
Disappointing performance when needed most!
"Looked forward to a more powerful snow-blower after having retired one that lasted 25 years, but I am disappointed with the Troy-Bilt 2410 performance. In the midst of the mid-west's biggest snow storm, my one month old Troy-Bilt won't started. Trying to resolve the problem, I could-not even inspect the deeply hidden spark-plug because of its location, and inability to remove the cover because of difficult accessibility to bolts. Now figuring out how to load the 250 pound unit in my car for repair and wait another week during mid-January in Michigan - not fun!
The couple times it did work, I found the blower cumbersome to maneuver, very slow in reverse, and prone to clogging of the chute."
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MikeV
Location:Wrentham, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:August 23, 2014
Engine stopped working after 2.5 years.
"Affordable and easy to use. However, the engine stopped working during our last snowfall this past winter. It will cost almost as much to repair as it would to replace. My dad had his snow blower for 17 years and it was still running. I took good care of mine it still didn't last."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sanmanretired
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:February 8, 2012
Good w/issues
"I bought this unit in hopes of making life easier, It does everything that it is surpose to do, until you try and turn it. Only one wheel is free the other is locked when turning which makes this unit very differcult to turn. Just a thought before you buy."
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
podetroit
Location:Mi
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:July 13, 2011
Nice little unit
"Big enuff to do the job. THis unit moves the snow."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
djINKC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:December 25, 2009
not starting
"bought last season and performed well, just received first snow storm of the season on christmas eve, and won't start. Service center are all closed and now have to shovel long drive by hand.(oww! my aching back!)"
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jack47
Location:Aurora, CO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:November 2, 2009
New Storm
"After our recent storm, I decided to retire my 20-yo single stage and buy a 2 stage unit. I read all the reviews, lugged the monster home. The ONLY way it will start is the electric starter. I pulled till I was blue on the starter cord and only started it once. This is the hardest manual starting machine I've ever owned. Waiting to see how it performs when we get our next Colorado snow storm"
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NICKinMICHIGAN
Location:Howard City, MI 49329, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:March 2, 2014
Starting
"I don't know if its the gas that I'm using or what but I have been having issues getting it started. I have just gotten done using it for the third time and I couldn't get it started until I pulled the spark plug and cleaned it as well as spraying some starting fluid directly into the cylinder. After that it finally started, I'm thinking about exchanging it for another of the same model. Also sometimes there is a weird clunk / grinding noise coming from the area where the drive belts are located."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrFunkDVM
Location:Long Island, New York, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:February 13, 2014
Gets the job done
"Purchased this snow thrower (Long Island, NY) during early 2014. We're having a rough winter and this machine is a serious upgrade from my last machine. Works well. I also purchased the rubber snow shoes to replace the metal ones to decrease the chance of scratching my pavers."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arghie
Location:Phoenix, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:January 2, 2013
Excellent Choice!
"I live in the central New York "Snow Belt" and we often get a foot or more snow at a time. The day I brought the 2410 home, I had 18" waiting for me to clean up. My driveway is about 30 feet by 10 feet and the 2410 made quick work of it. I took it out back to clear some paths for the dogs to run and again, not a problem. The only complaint (as I see has been listen before) is the upper chute needed to be replaced (at an excellent price!) because a medium sized rock made it's way into my path.
This is my 3rd year with the 2410 and my neighbors are all still as jealous as they were the very first week!"
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dkb1135
Location:Worcester, MA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:July 25, 2012
Good Machine
"The upcoming winter season will be number 3 for this machine....so far so good. The only problem I had at the beginning of last winter, was getting it started during the first storm. After storing the machine in a shed, with no ventilation and air circulation - and - having left the gas in it without an additive, well ... the rest is history. The spark plug fouled, but after replacing with a new one - it fired right up, and has ever since....By the way - I do not use the electric start provided with the unit, I always use the pull start, and it generally fires right up after the first or second pull. One last thing - the machine itself has product literature that specifies the type and size of storm event it can handle - well - I think they were very conservative when drafting these documents!!!!"
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ScottinCT
Location:Manchester, CT
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2012
Great for homeowners
"This is the first snowblower I have ever owned. I have used snow blowers for my mom for a number of years. But this past year I loaded mine into the truck and took it to her house instead of using the Ariens she has. Starts on the first pull every time. Goes through even heavy wet snow with relative ease. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a great machine at a reasonable price."
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
babs22
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Starts every time
"Easy to start and usually on the 1st pull! Great product."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snowmonster
Location:Yardly, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
second stage clogging
"The first year of use was really challenging. We had a problem with second stage clogs, but a call to the service facility recommended an easy fix. This year we didn't use the machine because of the mild winter, so we will have to wait to judge the performance."
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RRBB
Location:Capital Region, NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:June 12, 2011
Decent Blower with issues
"This is a decent blower and moves most snow well, with the exception wet snow as the chute clogs pretty easily. Recoil snapped second winter of use. Plastic stops for the gear lever broke first and second winter. Overall it is a decent blower with decent power, except in heavier wetter snows and a bit too much plastic. Next winter I will need to upgrade because of added driveway and I will probably go with a larger Troy-Bilt."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Storm 2410 Snow Thrower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ScubasLawnCare
Location:manitowoc wi
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:3
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (119 Reviews)
Date:February 21, 2011
It's just ok
"I own a lawn care and snow removal company located in wisconsin next to lake michigan. I purchased this snowblower as a back up of a back up blower. This blower starts easily, idles good, nice nobby tires. The downfalls: Self propell is kinda slow for the 6 speed, Blower works good for 6 inches or less of snow. Auger does not spin fast enough to shoot out heavy snow. the snow piles up in front of the blower. It's neat to hear the overdrive kick in, works excellent in about 4 inches in 6th speed. Great for home use shoots snow about 10-15 feet."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>