Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Pony Lawn Tractor

42 7-Speed Riding Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.171 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (211 reviews)
5 stars
111
4 stars
58
3 stars
21
2 stars
9
1 star
12
81%170 of 211reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pony Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:October 11, 2008
Worth every penny
"i own a 2006 troy built pony and i couldnt say enough about it.
i do alot of side jobs with this mower and the people that know me know my equipment takes a real beating at times. so its good to know i can throw any job at this mower and not worrie about it breaking down on the job.
"
+143points
207out of 271found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Lexington, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2008
Great Deal
"After years of trying to maintain my old riding mower I decided it wa time for a new one. I did a lot of research and this tractor always came out at the top. By the time I purchased the mower my lawn looked more like a field. This mower worked great. It was so simple to use and so comfortable ,I wanted to keep on mowing! Overall I am extremly pleased with my purchase and the price I paid."
+128points
155out of 182found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MALACO5
Location:Columbia, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2008
FIRST TIME TRACTOR OWNER
"I'm a little older now and did not want the hassle of pushing a mower over my inclined lot. The Troy Built Lawn Tractor has proven to be a powerful, stable and effective tool. I feel secure even on the inclines. It holds the ground well and cuts a smooth 42 inch path. I also use it to cart stuff around. The 17.5hp engine has plenty of power. I was surprised at how fast it can go on level pavement during quick trips to the Garden Center. I had to get used to releasing the brake to increase the speed and remembering to disengage the blade before backing up. The "engine shut off" safety features have saved me form several potential hazards."
+122points
137out of 152found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engineer
Location:Magnolia, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2008
Worked "right out of the box"...
"I'm extremely pleased with this Troy-Bilt product. It was delivered by the "selling company" and - as soon as delivery was complete - I started the Pony (no effort at all...) and easily mowed about one acre of land that I had neglected because my "old mower" had failed last year. Was extremely pleased with the Pony's fuel efficiency. Looks like another Troy-Bilt winner."
+56points
105out of 154found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oleman
Location:Hendersonville, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:September 12, 2014
very good purchase would buy again
"have used many times this summer, I cut two yards ,starts very good, had no problems at all,,,,,,only thing ,I wish I could do,,is raise cutting deck a little higher,,, will buy again"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rvs0002
Location:Topeka, KS, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2014
New Pony owner
"I bought the pony at Lowe's in the spring when they were throwing in the free pull-behind cart. I have a Troy-Bilt push mower that has been really good, so I thought I would go with the rider too. I use it to mow my yard plus 3 others in the neighborhood (all about half-acre and pretty flat). It does a great job with no issues except for some of the uneven places where it scalps. I didn't think about that when I bought it (it's my first rider) or I would have moved up to the next level and got one with deck wheels,
I ordered a set of deck wheels that said they would work with the pony off of EBAY, but after getting them, they do not, and there are no holes in the deck to add wheels anyway. I went ahead and drilled some holes and got one wheel to fit which has helped, but this winter I will figure out a way to mount a wheel on the other side when I have more time.
The only other negative I have is the two plastic pieces on the underside of the seat that allow you to adjust the seat broke within the first week. I was able to rig something up to keep the seat from sliding around, but it's no longer adjustable. Not a big deal since my son and I are the only users and we're about the same height, but I was disappointed in that.
Over all it's a decent mower, but probably worth moving up to the next level unless your yard is perfectly flat and pretty small."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kenster
Location:Sunnyside, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:September 7, 2014
Awesome Lawnmower
"I have a friend who has one of these and the first time I drove it I loved it. I would recommend this to anyone."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigD
Location:Alabama, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:September 6, 2014
Best I have ever owned
"I purchased this mower 2 yrs ago. It has yet failed to start, even after sitting all winter. Runs great, works hard. Perfect for my needs"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
steevshurley
Location:Alabama, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:2
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:September 5, 2014
Decent mower
"I have had my pony a little over a year. It is a decent mower. My main complaint is that even on the highest setting it cuts grass to short. On slopes it cuts uneven and some of the slope is almost shaved.
It does start very easy and seams durable.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Moneymaker
Location:Augusta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2014
dependability
"This is a overall dependable rider, and it gets the job done. I had mine for 10 years now, the last three I have been using it to make money for me. I need me a zero-turn rider now so I can do the job faster"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UnkaRock
Location:Jacksonville, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2014
Pony Lawn Tractor
"This is my first lawn tractor and it starts and runs great. Besides mowing the lawn, I use it with my cart and this spring will be seeding a new lawn and this tractor is going to come in mighty handy. Over the years I have come to trust Troy-Bilt products. Even my 6 year old self-propelled lawn mower still starts on the first pull. Not bad at all if you ask me :)"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Carol48
Location:Georgia, USA central
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2014
Pony Lawn Tractor
"This lawn tractor has been a sure fire winner. As an older, handicapped adult with about 2 acres to mow, I have had an excellent experience with this equipment. I had an acre lot that hadn't been cut in over a year and it handled that extra tall grass and weeds without any problem; I did cut first at a taller height.
It is comfortable, easy to use, turns great around all of my flower beds and is still holding up great in our rough, tough sandy country conditions.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Callie
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2014
Pony-UP
"Great mower for size and price. Easy to use and handles well. Easy start, easy oil changing, easy maneuvering. Covers good size area per pass, so less mowing time. This is a nice quality mower. Would recommend!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom
Location:Greenville, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2014
My Horsey
"They call it a pony, but it runs and mows like a full grown horse.
I really like it - my wife loves it and I rarely get to mow anymore. Also, it was the most affordable mower I could find, and I looked everywhere...
In Short - I would recommend this mower/tractor to anyone looking for a great deal and a work horse/pony..
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BobBoy
Location:Hermitage, Nashville, TN 37076, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:September 2, 2014
A Great Time and Energy Saver
"I really like Troy-Bilt products. They are durable, well built and very dependable. The Pony lawn mower that I recently purchased meets these attributes as well as saving me time and energy. It use to take me about two hours to cut my lawn using a self propelled mower, but I have cut that time in half using my Pony. Another important factor in my particular case is that it is an energy saver. In my mid 70's and with some health issues I always was extremely tired after cutting my lawn, even with the self propelled mower, but I am happy to say riding on the Pony has left me with energy to do other chores."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WIMPY
Location:St. Albans, VT, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2014
GOT WHAT I EXPECTED
"I EXPECTED GOOD QUALITY, GREAT PERFORMANCE, DURABILITY, AND USER-FRIENDLY, FROM THE TROY-BILT, PONY LAWN TRACTOR THAT I ORDERED AND RECEIVED EXACTLY WHAT I HAD EXPECTED. YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH TROY-BILT."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pony Lawn Tractor
BillH
Location:Surf City, NC, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2014
Good solid piece of lawn equipment
"Holds up fairly well as both myself and my son use the pony for our respective yards. After having service done I had to buy an impack wrench to remove one bolt to change a blade.."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GeorgiaPeach
Location:Mableton, GA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2014
Worked three times and stopped.
"This was my first riding lawnmower. On my third or fourth use, it just stopped moving forward. The blade engaged, but that was it. So, I looked underneath it and saw that a belt was very loose and a spring wasn't hooked up. Had Lowe's come by and pick it up. 23 days later, I'm told it's ready. I wonder if they will redeliver it. Overall, not impressed that it fell apart so quickly.
Also, as a shorter person, I'm frustrated that I have to be very careful moving forward (like to apply brake), so that I don't cause the engine to shut off.....because removing my tush from the seat cuts off the engine. I should be able to move the seat forward some more inches.
Also, putting changing gears are cumbersome.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pony Lawn Tractor
reterm2003
Location:Cary, NC 27519, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:August 22, 2014
NIce tractor
"works well; good value; rides very fast - actually much faster than I think I need for a lawn mower even on my half acre!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tom4cats
Location:Lake Wales, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (211 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2014
Still impressed
"Have had my Pony for over a month now and love it. Starts first time every time. Works well in tight areas. Yes it does vibrate when the blades are engaged, but it is a lawn mower. Only problem I have is the brake/clutch is not made for someone over 5'. If you have the Pony in 7th speed the pedal is so far back I have to use my heal rather than the ball of my foot. Seat needs to be able to go back further. Fact is the Pony does its job well so I can live with the few draw backs."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>