Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Pony Lawn Tractor

42 7-Speed Riding Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.15 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (193 reviews)
5 stars
101
4 stars
53
3 stars
18
2 stars
9
1 star
12
80%154 of 193reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pony Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:October 11, 2008
Worth every penny
"i own a 2006 troy built pony and i couldnt say enough about it.
i do alot of side jobs with this mower and the people that know me know my equipment takes a real beating at times. so its good to know i can throw any job at this mower and not worrie about it breaking down on the job.
"
+140points
200out of 260found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Lexington, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2008
Great Deal
"After years of trying to maintain my old riding mower I decided it wa time for a new one. I did a lot of research and this tractor always came out at the top. By the time I purchased the mower my lawn looked more like a field. This mower worked great. It was so simple to use and so comfortable ,I wanted to keep on mowing! Overall I am extremly pleased with my purchase and the price I paid."
+120points
146out of 172found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MALACO5
Location:Columbia, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2008
FIRST TIME TRACTOR OWNER
"I'm a little older now and did not want the hassle of pushing a mower over my inclined lot. The Troy Built Lawn Tractor has proven to be a powerful, stable and effective tool. I feel secure even on the inclines. It holds the ground well and cuts a smooth 42 inch path. I also use it to cart stuff around. The 17.5hp engine has plenty of power. I was surprised at how fast it can go on level pavement during quick trips to the Garden Center. I had to get used to releasing the brake to increase the speed and remembering to disengage the blade before backing up. The "engine shut off" safety features have saved me form several potential hazards."
+114points
129out of 144found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engineer
Location:Magnolia, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2008
Worked "right out of the box"...
"I'm extremely pleased with this Troy-Bilt product. It was delivered by the "selling company" and - as soon as delivery was complete - I started the Pony (no effort at all...) and easily mowed about one acre of land that I had neglected because my "old mower" had failed last year. Was extremely pleased with the Pony's fuel efficiency. Looks like another Troy-Bilt winner."
+53points
101out of 149found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mbrs95
Location:Hedgesville, WV 25427, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:August 17, 2014
Troy-Bilt Products
"I bought a snow thrower in 2003 still works fine. Just bought my first Troy-Bilt lawn mower. If I knew they were this good would have one sooner. Have used about 4 times so far and do enjoy this machine."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MickeyEaton
Location:Manhattan, KS, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:August 17, 2014
new mower
"I am getting up in age, my older riding lawn mower finally gave out, I tried a push mower for a bit, but that was to much for me, so I started looking around on-line first, then visited the various stores to find a mower for me. i finally found one that was just right for me, looked good, price was great, I also received a militaryy discount, I am retired from army . Personnel were very helpful. I have used my mower since July and i am so glad to have purchase the Pony. I live out in the country and have a lot to cut and dit does great , no issues.... great for me. thanks Pony"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zipper
Location:Kansas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:August 15, 2014
Had mowers before this is the best
"I have had my pony for 5 months and have had no problems.
Starts easy and runs smooth. I also bought the leaf catcher and can't wait to hook it up and use.
My wife also has mowed with it and she loves it to
Thanks for a good experience
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PQRTT
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:August 15, 2014
Too early to tell
"Starts grate!
Cuts grate!
Easy controls!
Steers grate!
Seems to be durable and sturdy.
THE PROBLEM I HAVE ENCOUNTERED IS VERY VERY
NOISEY. BELT DRIVE FOR CUTTING CREATES A SLAPPING
NOISE AS IF THE BELT IS LOOSE OR NOT SEATED CORRECTLY. I HAVE CONSIDERED CALLING LOWES TO ASK IF THIS WAS NORMAL? MAYBE YOU CAN ANSWER
THIS?
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marky
Location:Lake City, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:July 28, 2014
Durabiltity
"This lawn mower is perfect for my yard. cuts through months of grown grass with ease. really tough mower and dependable so far"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Olliver
Location:Sellersville, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:July 27, 2014
I love my Pony
"I have owned a Troy Bilt Pony Lawn and Garden Tractor for about 10 years. The only things I've ever had to do is Sharpen Blades, Change the oil, and Replace the Battery (only once). It's been a GREAT help around the yard."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelly
Location:Charleston SC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:July 7, 2014
Very Good Lawn Mower
"This riding mower is very nice. The only (two) things I would change is this. # 1 - The clutch / brake pedal is angled a ltitle too low.
# 2 - The reverse / safety mechanism which disables the cutting deck is sometimes an irritation.
If you forget to switch to forward or neutral, the engine stalls, and sometimes 'backfire"
It should be the owner's choice to cut while backing or not.
But all in all, I like it.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
N4GMU
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:June 27, 2014
Mowing pleasure
"Makes the task a NON-TASK!
Stats right up and off to mow.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aaron1219
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:June 24, 2014
AWSOME lawn tractor
"I bought my troybilt pony in 2010 and I am still using it today the only work I have done is routine maintenance and blades and would recommend this to anyone to buy. The price is great and the quality is awesome overall I own all troybilt lawn equipment and I am a diehard fan of troybilt."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MRBDUAL
Location:New Jersey, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:June 15, 2014
Great Purchase
"One of the purchase I made for yard work thank you"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jeffafa
Location:Chazy, NY 12921, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:June 15, 2014
Best invesrment yet
"I was told this rider would be for one acre but i use it to mow 5 acres and i have never had a single problem at all . Love it"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rbrasher
Location:Berea,KY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:June 14, 2014
Pony Lawn Tractor
"Very dependable mower great price and rides great!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Theshortone
Location:Creola, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:June 13, 2014
The pony lawn mower
"It's the best lawn mower I have owned. It dose the job with power and cut the grass smooth"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RFERN
Location:Denton, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:June 9, 2014
OUTSTANDING PRODUCT
"BOUGHT ON FRIDAY USED FOR FIRST TIME SATURDAY WAS IMPRESSED WITH MOWING QUAILITY AND EASE OF USE. CUT MY MOWING TIME BY HALF. ALL CONTROLS WERE EASY TO USE AND HAD NO PROBLEM STARTING OR OPERATING. THANKS FOR A GREAT PRODUCT."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zobo
Location:Kentucky, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:June 8, 2014
Riding Mower
"It rides nice. I have a big yard and it mows on hills and on the level very nice. It uses a lot less gas than my old mower which with the high gas prices is really great. My only regret is that I waited so long to get a new mower and I wish I would have gotten a bigger one. I got mine at a great price and it came with a wagon which makes life a lot easier. GREAT PRODUCT."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HalfBreed
Location:South Carolina, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (193 Reviews)
Date:June 6, 2014
Pony Riding Mower
"I bought my Pony in 2008, it still runs like a new one, looks almost as good as when 1st. bought (Keep it in a building) Neighbors laugh at me cause I wash it like I do my truck. I have had great service from it besides the usual blade replacements, oil changes and drive belts had to be replaced after 5 yrs. of mowing once a week. I recommend you buy a Troy-Built (any model) They have done me justice since day one of bringing it home."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>