Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Pony Lawn Tractor

42 7-Speed Riding Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.215 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (246 reviews)
5 stars
134
4 stars
66
3 stars
24
2 stars
9
1 star
13
82%201 of 246reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pony Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:October 11, 2008
Worth every penny
"i own a 2006 troy built pony and i couldnt say enough about it.
i do alot of side jobs with this mower and the people that know me know my equipment takes a real beating at times. so its good to know i can throw any job at this mower and not worrie about it breaking down on the job.
"
+176points
245out of 314found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Lexington, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2008
Great Deal
"After years of trying to maintain my old riding mower I decided it wa time for a new one. I did a lot of research and this tractor always came out at the top. By the time I purchased the mower my lawn looked more like a field. This mower worked great. It was so simple to use and so comfortable ,I wanted to keep on mowing! Overall I am extremly pleased with my purchase and the price I paid."
+144points
173out of 202found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MALACO5
Location:Columbia, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2008
FIRST TIME TRACTOR OWNER
"I'm a little older now and did not want the hassle of pushing a mower over my inclined lot. The Troy Built Lawn Tractor has proven to be a powerful, stable and effective tool. I feel secure even on the inclines. It holds the ground well and cuts a smooth 42 inch path. I also use it to cart stuff around. The 17.5hp engine has plenty of power. I was surprised at how fast it can go on level pavement during quick trips to the Garden Center. I had to get used to releasing the brake to increase the speed and remembering to disengage the blade before backing up. The "engine shut off" safety features have saved me form several potential hazards."
+136points
153out of 170found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engineer
Location:Magnolia, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2008
Worked "right out of the box"...
"I'm extremely pleased with this Troy-Bilt product. It was delivered by the "selling company" and - as soon as delivery was complete - I started the Pony (no effort at all...) and easily mowed about one acre of land that I had neglected because my "old mower" had failed last year. Was extremely pleased with the Pony's fuel efficiency. Looks like another Troy-Bilt winner."
+62points
119out of 176found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jackpot
Location:Charleston, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:March 15, 2015
Pony is AWSOME
"I bought a Pony today, and it started when I was turning it over at idle to prime the fuel system. Unbelievable, no choke or no throttle open. Everything worked perfectly and mows like a bush hog. Mowed my lawn and my neighbor's lawn and didn't want to quit but ran out of grass. Smooth and vibration free - absolutely AWESOME machine. I also have two 21" Troy-Bilt self propelled mowers and a Troy-Bilt string trimmer and have had great service form them all. I wish Troy-Bilt made automobiles because I would definitely drive one."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jamessfc06
Location:Virginia, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:March 14, 2015
Real quality and workmanship
"I bought this mower the year I came home from being deployed to Iraq 2006, from Lowe's home improvement store. the only things I've done to this mower is oil changes, battery replacement once, replace blades twice. I built a shed to house my mower out of the weather. other mowers I had parked under my back deck and not a good choice. sheds are best choice to make mowers last. all I do is fill it up with gas, check oil (mobile 1 synthetic) get on it and cut the grass. never had a flat tire, never changed spark plug, muffler, belts, lights, nothing in 8 yrs.. it still runs like the day I bought it. every lever and pulley works like the first day of operation. darn good lawn tractor for it's price. I would buy another if I need one. but, looks like this one will be here for awhile longer still. Thanks Troy built and Briggs and Stratton for a strong American product that stands up to it's name and performs very well too.
SFC Scott, J
USA retired
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Deanp
Location:Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:10
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:March 7, 2015
Performs well
"I have grass and leaf bagger installed. It works very well."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
user2
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:February 20, 2015
Not the Best
"I have only had this mower for one season and have had to have it worked on several times already. Part of that is because my yard is rocky and not flat. This mower is more difficult to use that other brands I have used."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nonesofar
Location:Portage, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:February 20, 2015
Troy Bilt Pony
"Am writing this for the sweepstakes - requested. Purchased my new Pony in December 2014. Have not a chance to use it, yet. Waiting for spring time here in the North. However the Pony seems to be a good machine, and have read several other reviews before purchasing mine."
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mustang061967
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:January 30, 2015
Great Mower
"This is a great mower for the price. I love this thing."
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Garm
Location:Crocket, Tx
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:January 30, 2015
Performance of the Pony Lawn Tractor
"I am pleased with the overall performance of the lawn mower. The only thing that I can see I would have liked to have on it would be to have wheels put on the mower deck as is on the Bronco. I would think the additional cost would be minimal."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WHIT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:January 15, 2015
BEST VALUE
"AFTER COMPARING COMPARABLE LAWN TRACTORS AT SEARS AND HOME DEPOT, THE TROY BUILT PONY WAS CLEARLY THE BEST CHOICE."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ArmyVeteran
Location:Grays Harbor City, WA 98550, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:January 15, 2015
Wonderful riding mower
"Since purchasing this mower in August 2013, mowing is a pleasure again! I'm a disabled veteran and it is difficult to use a walk mower to mow our 1/2 acre of lawn. This mower is so easy to operate and the turning radius is outstanding. All I need now is a bagger this summer so I don't have to suck up the grass clippings with the walking mower."
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
docnon
Location:texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:December 24, 2014
pony review
"We looked at a lot of riding mowers and tried several. The pony is, without a doubt, the best bargain and the most useful mower for us. We have 2.5 acres and it makes keeping it nice a fun task. We have had it for two years, and it always starts easily and mows well. Yes, the installed blades wear out very quickly, but are inexpensive to replace. Some complained that the blades were set too low and scabbed their yards. We have hilly rough areas and have been very happy with the adjustability of the blade height. We have not had a problem with anything. Great product. Great price. Very happy with purchase."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tcap
Location:Chagrin Falls, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:December 18, 2014
Great Value
"I looked at several mowers of various brands and decided to try this one based on the size, features relative to the price. I use it to mow, added a very large leaf vacuum system and also a snow blower. So far, it has done everything expected and more. I am very happy with it and think paying a lot more for the others out there would have been a waste of money. The only thing that would be better is if it had a locking rear differential. But this is true of them all. I also found the fact that the power take-off shuts the engine off in reverse a PITA, so I eliminated that issue as I did with the shu-off when you get off the seat."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ds3224
Location:holtsville, NY
Gender:Male
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:December 4, 2014
pony mower
"used it a few times before winter came; looking forward to spring when I can really use it more. Seems to work fine and the thatcher I bought works well with it also."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flybob
Location:Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:November 20, 2014
Good value
"Mower works great, easy to start and use with very few maintenance problems. This is my second Pony, the old one purchased in 2006 still runs however the deck has several holes in it from the sandy conditions here in Florida."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lancer
Location:Thonotosassa, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:November 2, 2014
sofar, so excellent
"First Troybilt product we have owned. to date we are very pleased with the performance . The price was right, the sales personel very helpful and the product is exactly what we were told to expect."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MIKER
Location:Marion, IN, USA
Gender:Male
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:November 1, 2014
TROY BUILT PONY
"I have mowed with it 5 or 6 times now and love it. Starts easy, very tight turning radius. Highly recommend it. Good value for the price."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pony Lawn Tractor
wmarcuss
Location:Rossville, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (246 Reviews)
Date:October 28, 2014
Best Mower I've Owned
"I have had several mowers and the Pony is the best I ever had.
It mows great mulching the grass into fine dust almost.Haven't had trouble going thru high grass at all. And it's very fast.I like how you control the speed with the brake pedal. When I first got on it the front wheels felt like they came off the ground , doing a wheely...lol. I like the on off feature of the blade. The seat is very comfortable. And it cranks without choking it, which is pretty amazing. Most mowers you have to choke and turn over several times but not this one.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>