Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Pony Lawn Tractor

42 7-Speed Riding Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.226 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (297 reviews)
5 stars
164
4 stars
78
3 stars
29
2 stars
10
1 star
16
83%246 of 297reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pony Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:October 11, 2008
Worth every penny
"i own a 2006 troy built pony and i couldnt say enough about it.
i do alot of side jobs with this mower and the people that know me know my equipment takes a real beating at times. so its good to know i can throw any job at this mower and not worrie about it breaking down on the job.
"
+262points
344out of 426found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Lexington, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2008
Great Deal
"After years of trying to maintain my old riding mower I decided it wa time for a new one. I did a lot of research and this tractor always came out at the top. By the time I purchased the mower my lawn looked more like a field. This mower worked great. It was so simple to use and so comfortable ,I wanted to keep on mowing! Overall I am extremly pleased with my purchase and the price I paid."
+199points
236out of 273found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MALACO5
Location:Columbia, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2008
FIRST TIME TRACTOR OWNER
"I'm a little older now and did not want the hassle of pushing a mower over my inclined lot. The Troy Built Lawn Tractor has proven to be a powerful, stable and effective tool. I feel secure even on the inclines. It holds the ground well and cuts a smooth 42 inch path. I also use it to cart stuff around. The 17.5hp engine has plenty of power. I was surprised at how fast it can go on level pavement during quick trips to the Garden Center. I had to get used to releasing the brake to increase the speed and remembering to disengage the blade before backing up. The "engine shut off" safety features have saved me form several potential hazards."
+175points
202out of 229found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engineer
Location:Magnolia, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2008
Worked "right out of the box"...
"I'm extremely pleased with this Troy-Bilt product. It was delivered by the "selling company" and - as soon as delivery was complete - I started the Pony (no effort at all...) and easily mowed about one acre of land that I had neglected because my "old mower" had failed last year. Was extremely pleased with the Pony's fuel efficiency. Looks like another Troy-Bilt winner."
+84points
160out of 236found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EricShadowens
Location:New Albany, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:August 27, 2015
Great Riding Mower
"only problem I have with It that it don't cut in reverse."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kanyon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:August 24, 2015
Belts didn't last 1 year and not part of warranty
"I use mower about every 3 weeks during summer months. I've only had it 1 year and the belts didn't last! The mower wouldn't move forward or backwards, it wouldn't move at all! Thank goodness I stopped at the garage for a break to get water. I had to have help to push it into the garage! This is not covered under warranty and there aren't many shops near me that even do warranty work on Troy-bilt mowers! This is an epic fail for a mower within 1 year and no warranty coverage!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Firecop5002
Location:Kansas, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:August 23, 2015
Worst mower ever
"This is a horrible mower. First is there are no stabilizer wheels on the blade deck. Second if you cut on two, even with a level surface it tears your lawn up. Scalps it to the ground. If you go to three it barely cuts. The twin blades are the issue. If you do any turning one will cut fine and the other with cut into the ground. I suspect if you could mow without any turning you might be OK. I wish I would have bought the single blade 30". This just makes a mess of your lawn. I bought it because I cant use a push mower due to a heart condition. Unless you are mowing a pasture in straight lines this is not your mower."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fairygardener
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:August 23, 2015
Product is ok but service is poor.
"We needed to get our new mower serviced and went through the warranty process through Troybilt for assistance. The service provider they sent us to was unsatisfactory for many reasons. It has taken us the bulk of the summer to get the mower working to satisfaction again. I wanted to relay my experience with customer service so they might make better referrals in the future, however I am finished with waiting on hold on the phone with the company. It would be nice to be able to contact customer service through e mail."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
joe123
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:August 18, 2015
pony
"pony performs well but mulch kit is problematic. overall good cutting but mulch cover does not hold grass sufficiently"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spark
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:August 15, 2015
First new mower
"After using second hand mowers it was time for a new one.For value and warranty I chose Lowes and troybilt .Good on gas be careful not to overfill.Very close turning radius but found you need to run the engine in the upper RPM range do to vibration of mowing deck. My older mower was able to cut in midrange.It does cut great ."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MRAY
Location:Middletown, DE, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:August 13, 2015
Best Purchase Ever
"It is a great riding mower for the it is Durability, Performance, Ease of Use, and Ease of Starting. I give it 5 stars."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jopakra
Location:Redding, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:August 13, 2015
Needs handicap modifications
"I am paraplegic. The seat is high and angled forward making it difficult to transfer on to from a wheelchair, also the clutch pedal very hard to depress. I clamped a rod to the pedal, it works as a lever clutch but it is still difficult and I have to hold the lever with one hand and reach around to the gear shift with the other, a little precarious. As far as the mower overall, it's great. I have an acre to mow and this mower makes the job enjoyable."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HeavyE
Location:Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:August 13, 2015
Started off good and got better
"This is my first season with this mower. My first ride was not really inspiring. The steering felt loose and the seat did not appear firm. I have now used the mower approximately 12 times on two yards. It starts perfectly every time. The steering and belts seemed to tighten from the second cut on and it feels and handles great. I am surprised at how good it is on gas. My walk behind cuts less grass (just to edge the property yet burns more fuel than my "Pony". I am very satisfied with the mower and would recommended it. In fact I was actually planning to buy the model above it until the wife talked sense into me. This is a very capable mower even on a lawn with a slight incline carrying a 270lb driver (guess the seat was telling me to call Jenny Craig). Again, handles two yards and loads easily on the back of my Chevy Avalanche."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zeroreed
Location:Oklahoma, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:July 30, 2015
Really like the Pony
"This is the first riding mower I've owned. Was looking for a rider for more than just mowing however. In addition to mowing, I wanted a machine I could hook and pull my utility trailer (5x8) with, and a smaller trailer I use around the yard. The Pony matches the bill very well. No problem starting, and the controls are intuitive and easy to use. I was also pleased that its not a gas guzzler, and powerful enough to pull the trailers.
There are a couple of things that can be considered cons. I don't like not being able to mow in reverse, or get off the seat without the machine shutting down. I understand the safety concerns, but these features should be optional. I don't have kids around the house any more, and these safety features are a real turn off. Additionally, there is considerable vibration when engaging the blades of the mower. I've looked but not sure if there are any tweaks to correct this. Also, the size of the hole in back for implements should be standardized for trailer hitches.
Overall, I really like this machine."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daddy
Location:Hampton Va. USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:July 23, 2015
2015 Pony
"This is the best riding mower I have ever bought. I not only cut my lawn, but my daughter and son's and neighbor's also. I believe we have the best looking lawns in the neighborhood. It cuts even and having the different heights is perfect.It is an excellent running machine. Glad I purchased it.
.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ensign
Location:Hannibal MO
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:July 20, 2015
Ease of use of troybilt tractor
"We have a hard time keeping the belt that moves the mowing blades as it breaks and smokes all the time."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DisappointedPonyOwner
Location:Cincinnati, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:July 18, 2015
2005 Troy Pony lawn tractor is So-So
"My opinion from using my troy pony on my 3/4 acres wooded lot. I admit I have a lot of trees, but I still think a riding mower steering linkage should be better than this one is. I have had to replace the steering column, the half moon gear that it goes into, the drive linkage that goes to the front wheels is no longer available so my mower steers more right than left and there is no way to fix it. I have replaced all wheels due to the cheap plastic bushing that breaks after a year or two of mowing my yard. I do have a bumpy yard but not unlevel; it is fairly flat. This was my first riding mower purchase and I found from the first year that I have to buy batteries twice a year for them. The alternator if it exists on these does not charge up to full capacity and the battery only lasts for about 3 starts before it needs to be jump started. This has never been under warranty according to Troy. While running the alternator runs at 12.5 volts on a brand new battery. Batteries should be at 13.5 volts and charging power should be above that. The battery does not seem to have the cranking power to turn over the engine unless it is jump started off of my Van. When it cranks the engine barely turns over. The deck has also had issues where once again after 5 years the parts were not available to fix it. All four kill switches have caused me issues in mowing. The first one I disabled was the seat kill switch as it would not allow me to mow my yard due to the bumpy lawn I have and every time I bounced out of my seat it killed the mower. The next one I had to disable was the one that stopped me from being able to mow in reverse. I found that it would kill the engine if I tried to back up into a corner to mow and then wouldn't restart after the first three years I found that I had to disable the mower deck blade engagement kill switch due to it not allowing me to start the mower due to having a need to physically hold the lever back further than the top notch allowed me to. The fourth kill switch I finally disabled after 6 years because the foot petal for the clutch could no longer be pressed far enough to allow the mower to start. So now all 4 kill switches are disabled. I realize that these are on there due to some government safety regulations, but when it interferes with the main function of a mower which is to run and cut grass it is a problem. I found that the mower needed a higher clearance to clear some of the tree roots in my yard and consequently bent the front heat shield due to a root. I have not replaced the front heat shield I just bent it back and it is still serving its purpose. I disabled the headlights thinking that maybe they were drawing too much power and draining the battery but I am firmly convinced that it is due to the alternator if it has one not doing what it should. After 9 years I am ready to discard it and buy a new one due to having to spend 6 to 8 hours every time I need to start the mower. For the last two years I have had to move the coils closer sanding the connections disassembling the mower almost weekly. The spark plug I have replaced but it was probably still good. I no longer know what to do to repair this mower. All being said, I did find it a very good mower the first 2 years other than the constant battery replacements and need to jump start it. I realize that some maintenance is to be expected but it seems that this mower did not hold up as well as I would have liked it to. It was able to mow fast although my yard gives the rider a very bumpy ride. The speed is slower than it used to be, not sure why. It seems that it runs at about 3/4 the speed of what it used to. I am going to try a different brand this time to see if it is any better. I don't know if it will be, but I am hoping."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Arjayell
Location:Loretto, MI 49892, USA (upper peninsula)
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:July 16, 2015
Troy bilt pony ....good mower
"Have used mower several times on 2-3 acre parcel.
Virtually no problems. Didn't like not being able to mow in reverse... Turned out to be easy fix.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CashNDC
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:July 13, 2015
My Pony
"Purchased my Pony May 2014, since then I've had nothing but belt issues. Will be mowing and the belt will just fly off. Sad thing brought the extended warranty from Lowes and the belt was not covered. My next mower will not be one like this!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Joseywales
Location:Virginia, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (297 Reviews)
Date:July 12, 2015
So far, so good.
"I have about 15 hours on it and works great thus far. The only draw back was an inability to cut in reverse. I happened to be on YouTube and stumbled upon a video that demonstrates how to address this issue. It took about 5 seconds and now my pony is even better because now it cuts in reverse."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>