Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Pony Lawn Tractor

42 7-Speed Riding Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (260 reviews)
5 stars
144
4 stars
69
3 stars
24
2 stars
10
1 star
13
82%214 of 260reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pony Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:October 11, 2008
Worth every penny
"i own a 2006 troy built pony and i couldnt say enough about it.
i do alot of side jobs with this mower and the people that know me know my equipment takes a real beating at times. so its good to know i can throw any job at this mower and not worrie about it breaking down on the job.
"
+217points
292out of 367found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Lexington, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2008
Great Deal
"After years of trying to maintain my old riding mower I decided it wa time for a new one. I did a lot of research and this tractor always came out at the top. By the time I purchased the mower my lawn looked more like a field. This mower worked great. It was so simple to use and so comfortable ,I wanted to keep on mowing! Overall I am extremly pleased with my purchase and the price I paid."
+172points
205out of 238found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MALACO5
Location:Columbia, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2008
FIRST TIME TRACTOR OWNER
"I'm a little older now and did not want the hassle of pushing a mower over my inclined lot. The Troy Built Lawn Tractor has proven to be a powerful, stable and effective tool. I feel secure even on the inclines. It holds the ground well and cuts a smooth 42 inch path. I also use it to cart stuff around. The 17.5hp engine has plenty of power. I was surprised at how fast it can go on level pavement during quick trips to the Garden Center. I had to get used to releasing the brake to increase the speed and remembering to disengage the blade before backing up. The "engine shut off" safety features have saved me form several potential hazards."
+154points
175out of 196found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engineer
Location:Magnolia, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2008
Worked "right out of the box"...
"I'm extremely pleased with this Troy-Bilt product. It was delivered by the "selling company" and - as soon as delivery was complete - I started the Pony (no effort at all...) and easily mowed about one acre of land that I had neglected because my "old mower" had failed last year. Was extremely pleased with the Pony's fuel efficiency. Looks like another Troy-Bilt winner."
+73points
138out of 203found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Rider
Location:Elkton, FL 32033, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:May 22, 2015
TROY BILT
"i TRULY LOVE THIS MOWER VERY GOOD CLEAN CUT, I LOVE THIS MOWER THE ONLY NEW MOWER I HAVE EVER BOUGHT . I HAVE RECOMMENDED IT TO SEVERAL PEOPLE !!!!! GREAT PRODUCT BOUGHT FROM LOWES"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
evinkc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:May 21, 2015
Good tractor with one exception
"My issue is with the oil drain plug setup. The drain plug sits practically on top of the engine frame with no clearance to get a funnel under it for draining. A 1 inch hole is drilled about 2 inches in front of the drain hole that doesn't help either. You end up with oil spilling all over the frame. Put the drain plug in a better spot, create a drain hole under the plug or design a specialized funnel."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poprocker
Location:Independence, Mo.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:May 21, 2015
Awesome Little Pony
"Love it, I mow 3 lots and I have no problem manuevering around trees and bushes. nice smoothe ride and uses a lot less gas than my old rider. Easy to start, quiet and controls are super simple. I have a troybilt weedeater and it is super simple and easy to handle, I plan on getting a push mower. Hope it works as well as their other products. Great job Troybilt."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GranddadDave
Location:Madison, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:May 21, 2015
Troy-Bilt 42" Pony
"This is my first riding mower purchase.I have used many others that were owned by family or friends and the Troy-Bilt Pony feels just as good as the much more expensive brands without all the levers and knobs to operate. The ease of start and operate is just awesome and the cutting power in great for our front and back lawns.It also seems maintainence will be very simple as well."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ssschz
Location:Lake Jackson, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:May 21, 2015
Cuts unevenly around corners
"Bought it for the price. Does not cut evenly around corners. The lawn looks scalped in those areas. Have to go 'round and round' to get the areas missed when turning. I wish it had a cutting level between 3rd and 4th level. #3 level is too short and #4 is too high for my liking. Had to get a riding mower due to heart condition.
Not a bad mower overall though.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leon
Location:Georgia, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:1
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:May 21, 2015
First riding lawm mower
"Just bought this mower last weekend. I'm on 2 acres of land. This mower cut through everything, even the metal fishing rod holder I didn't see next to the pond. Of course, now I have to sharpen the blades but dang it shredded that thing up into 4 pieces. I have seen some complaints about this mower being sluggish going up hill, but I haven't experienced that. My yard has some 30 degree slopes and it went up no problem. My guess is that once the engine is broke in, that I'll probably lose some power, but I hope not. I also noticed that earlier models of the Pony had a 17HP motor and mine has the 15.5, that's kind of bogus but I never had the 17HP so I can't compare power band. Like I said, I'm new to the riding lawnmower world but I would think that the brake would have been put on the right side to mimic a vehicles controls, maybe I'm missing something.
Overall, this mower seems to get the job done quick, fast, and in a hurry.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cgraham
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:May 18, 2015
Troy-Bilt Pony
"I've had it for about 6 weeks and so far I like it very much. Time will tell how good it is."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karp
Location:College Station, Texas USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:May 3, 2015
Lovin my Pony Lawn Tractor
"I have had my Pony for 2 months but with all the rain there has been plenty of grass to mow. I previously mowed the lot with my 12 year old push mower but this got to hard on me as I have a neuro-muscular disease that weakens my muscles. The Pony makes short work of mowing that use to take me an hour or more and wear me out. Now Im also mowing my next door neighbors lawn since she has no mower and her finances are limited to hire someone and I can cut it for her for free with little effort on my Pony. It is easy to operate and maintain and I would recommend the Pony to anyone looking for a great Lawn Tractor at an affordable price."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChuckBrady
Location:Lewisville, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:April 30, 2015
Solid Value
"I am a relatively new owner and this is my first riding mower, so take my comments accordingly. I have examined the Pony LT and used it several times and everything appears to be as advertised. Nothing appears as if the manufacturer cut corners. It just seems to be a solid value at the price that I paid."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safety1
Location:Ocala, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2015
Used 4 times and not very happy
"So far I am very unpleased with this mower. I have used it 4 times and already it is giving me problems. Yesterday it developed a vibration while the blades are engaged and I am not sure why since I did not hit anything. The blade safety also began giving me problems yesterday. When I disengage the blades they keep turning. I hate that you have to shut the blades off every time you back up and sometimes the mower will not move in first gear and I must use second to get it going. I have been cutting the same lawn with my snapper 28" riding mower for 14 years and never had any problems like this. That mower was about 24 years old when the deck finally gave out. Now I have to find a way to haul this darn thing to an authorized repair shop to see if the repair will be covered and find out what is wrong with it."
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Kovachi
Location:Shreveport, La
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:April 16, 2015
Troy Built Pony
"I have finally been able to use my new Pony and have cut my lawn twice with it and can't wait to get back on it when the yard dries out from all the rain we have been having. I like the ease of starting and cutting at the pace I prefer. I can place it in a constant speed and set the cutting depth to my preference without having to raise and lower it as I move around my lawn. I do wish there was a way that I could cut the grass a little in reverse mode, but knowing that I can't doesn't bother me. The Pony has reduced my cutting time in half. I still have my self-propelled Troy Built that I still use in close areas where the Pony cannot go. Like them both."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jiray
Location:Wetumpka, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:April 16, 2015
Extremely Useful
"Needing to save time I purchased the Pony riding mower and it works like a charm. Has cut my cutting time by 50%, bagger attachments are easy to install, and it has started well everytime."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DonBri
Location:Gulf Breeze, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:April 16, 2015
Worth the Price
"Like: Purchased this mower from Lowes. Also purchased mulching kit at the same time. Everything works as advertised. Improved steering from older models. Like the shift on the fly feature. Mulching kit works well, does the job.
Dislike: Inability to mow in reverse (fixed that). Would like instructions to accompany the mulching unit on how to remove the shoot without destroying the shoot. The retainer bar needs to be removed, remove the shoot and reinsert the bar so the mulching unit can engage the bar and the shoot does not dangle so far out to the right side. It is a poorly engineered solution. Could be much better with simple directions.
"
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Willf
Location:Houston, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:April 16, 2015
I Love This Mower
"This has to be one of the best investments I've made in the last year. Starts on the first turn and runs like a dream. I cannot say enough great things about this mower. Worth every penny!"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jackpot
Location:Charleston, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:March 15, 2015
Pony is AWSOME
"I bought a Pony today, and it started when I was turning it over at idle to prime the fuel system. Unbelievable, no choke or no throttle open. Everything worked perfectly and mows like a bush hog. Mowed my lawn and my neighbor's lawn and didn't want to quit but ran out of grass. Smooth and vibration free - absolutely AWESOME machine. I also have two 21" Troy-Bilt self propelled mowers and a Troy-Bilt string trimmer and have had great service form them all. I wish Troy-Bilt made automobiles because I would definitely drive one."
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jamessfc06
Location:Virginia, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (260 Reviews)
Date:March 14, 2015
Real quality and workmanship
"I bought this mower the year I came home from being deployed to Iraq 2006, from Lowe's home improvement store. the only things I've done to this mower is oil changes, battery replacement once, replace blades twice. I built a shed to house my mower out of the weather. other mowers I had parked under my back deck and not a good choice. sheds are best choice to make mowers last. all I do is fill it up with gas, check oil (mobile 1 synthetic) get on it and cut the grass. never had a flat tire, never changed spark plug, muffler, belts, lights, nothing in 8 yrs.. it still runs like the day I bought it. every lever and pulley works like the first day of operation. darn good lawn tractor for it's price. I would buy another if I need one. but, looks like this one will be here for awhile longer still. Thanks Troy built and Briggs and Stratton for a strong American product that stands up to it's name and performs very well too.
SFC Scott, J
USA retired
"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>