Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Pony Lawn Tractor

42 7-Speed Riding Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.186 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (226 reviews)
5 stars
121
4 stars
61
3 stars
22
2 stars
9
1 star
13
81%182 of 226reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pony Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:October 11, 2008
Worth every penny
"i own a 2006 troy built pony and i couldnt say enough about it.
i do alot of side jobs with this mower and the people that know me know my equipment takes a real beating at times. so its good to know i can throw any job at this mower and not worrie about it breaking down on the job.
"
+150points
214out of 278found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Lexington, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2008
Great Deal
"After years of trying to maintain my old riding mower I decided it wa time for a new one. I did a lot of research and this tractor always came out at the top. By the time I purchased the mower my lawn looked more like a field. This mower worked great. It was so simple to use and so comfortable ,I wanted to keep on mowing! Overall I am extremly pleased with my purchase and the price I paid."
+131points
158out of 185found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MALACO5
Location:Columbia, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2008
FIRST TIME TRACTOR OWNER
"I'm a little older now and did not want the hassle of pushing a mower over my inclined lot. The Troy Built Lawn Tractor has proven to be a powerful, stable and effective tool. I feel secure even on the inclines. It holds the ground well and cuts a smooth 42 inch path. I also use it to cart stuff around. The 17.5hp engine has plenty of power. I was surprised at how fast it can go on level pavement during quick trips to the Garden Center. I had to get used to releasing the brake to increase the speed and remembering to disengage the blade before backing up. The "engine shut off" safety features have saved me form several potential hazards."
+124points
140out of 156found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engineer
Location:Magnolia, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2008
Worked "right out of the box"...
"I'm extremely pleased with this Troy-Bilt product. It was delivered by the "selling company" and - as soon as delivery was complete - I started the Pony (no effort at all...) and easily mowed about one acre of land that I had neglected because my "old mower" had failed last year. Was extremely pleased with the Pony's fuel efficiency. Looks like another Troy-Bilt winner."
+59points
109out of 159found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
troy3
Location:Lexington, NC, USA
Gender:Male
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 28, 2014
bad choice
"purchased pony mower..after 2 uses,returned mower to store.mower shakes and rattles,cuts unevenly,shifting and speed control difficult to control..had troy super bravo for over 6 years,returned pony for troy bravo...do not know why so much difference in operation of bravo and pony when both are troy bilt...if buying troy bypass the pony.You will be happier with bravo"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dave119
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 28, 2014
Great mower
"This mower has have me great service and dependability it has plenty of power for mowing and doing overall yard work, would recommend to any one looking for a great mower at a great price"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bamgood
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 26, 2014
troy-built pony
"Just bought this summer and it is worth every dollar I spent. would buy it again anytime."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mulberry
Location:Fredericktown, Ohio
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 25, 2014
A great decision to buy this.
"I replaced another rider with this. It has been very dependable for me. Easy to drive and I am a Senior citizen."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hawki
Location:Council Bluffs, IA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 23, 2014
Troys riding mower
"This riding mower is the best rider I have ever driven. It's so quiet, turns real nice, starts so easy, cuts your lawn the way you want it. When you buy one you will not regret it it one bit."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
clyoung1964
Location:Shellsburg, IA, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 23, 2014
Could Use Some More Power
"Although I believe this product is easy to use, easy to start, especially for myself and kids, but it could use a bit more power. I may be upgrading to a more powerful engine."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Miguel
Location:Marble Falls, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 21, 2014
Quality mower, for sure
"I do enjoy my riding lawn mower....however there should be a switch to turn off the lights when you do not need them.....I took the bulbs out....my new battery life should improve...but still I would recommend this product...."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bickx1
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 21, 2014
No problems
"I've had this mower for 7 years now and have never had any problems. I mow an acre and a half sometimes twice a week and my mower has never let me down. Great purchase, I will definately buy another when the time comes."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
duct
Location:selbyville, de
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 20, 2014
for the price,it's hard to beat
"we use this tractor on a 6 acre tree farm, been great for getting around the trees , only problem is having to disengage blades when backing up"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DavidB
Location:Mebane, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 19, 2014
Great Mower
"All the other reviews I've read on this mower talked about the negativity of having to disengage the blades prior to backing up. If you look at the rear axle, there is a small electrical connection that when disconnected, disables this problem. That being said, this is a great mower for the money. I wasn't going to purchase it at first, because of the backing issue, but was told about this "fix" by my local repair shop. Once that issue was resolved, you can't beat it for the money."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KokomoMiniFarmer
Location:Kokomo, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2014
Buyer beware!
"Shakes, rattles and jerks!!! Pain to have to turn off blades before being able to go into reverse!
I would never purchase another one!!
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mowsalot2
Location:Texas, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2014
Great Products
"Great machines. Durable , dependable and well thought out. This model does vibrate quite a bit with blades engaged but I think that is due to being ran by a 1 cylinder engine. I may be wrong but it's just my opinion. Vibration and all it's a great mower."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
USNRetired
Location:Western Maryland
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 18, 2014
Not bad for the price
"We purchased this riding mower to replace another make/model riding mower that finally bit the dust after ten years of mowing two acres and plowing a 125 feet driveway. The Pony has plenty of power to take care of even the thickest grass/weeds. Starts quickly, good on gas, great turning radius, and, easy to steer. The ability to get off the mower and keep the engine running is a great plus! A few cons, though. Cannot reverse with blades turning. A "dashboard" button to keep blades turning while reversing would be a great addition. The springs under the seat could be better. This mower rides rough! The seat safety switch is sensitive. No leaning forward while mowing under low hanging limbs. Again, not bad for the price."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tired
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 14, 2014
new purchase
"I was surprised when I purchased this mower on how well it seemed to be. I have only had it a couple of days so I couldn't fairly rate it on durability but it seems to be built very well. No problems. I was pushing mowing 2 acres and it took about 4 hours, this mower cut my time in the yard substantially."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
late60del
Location:Rochester, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 14, 2014
riding lawn mower
"the pony works great just one draw back when u make a 360 tight turn it wants to stall out outside of that i'm happy with it"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oleman
Location:Hendersonville, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (226 Reviews)
Date:September 12, 2014
very good purchase would buy again
"have used many times this summer, I cut two yards ,starts very good, had no problems at all,,,,,,only thing ,I wish I could do,,is raise cutting deck a little higher,,, will buy again"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>