Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Pony Lawn Tractor

42 7-Speed Riding Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.076 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (159 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
47
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
11
79%126 of 159reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pony Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:October 11, 2008
Worth every penny
"i own a 2006 troy built pony and i couldnt say enough about it.
i do alot of side jobs with this mower and the people that know me know my equipment takes a real beating at times. so its good to know i can throw any job at this mower and not worrie about it breaking down on the job.
"
+99points
143out of 187found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Lexington, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2008
Great Deal
"After years of trying to maintain my old riding mower I decided it wa time for a new one. I did a lot of research and this tractor always came out at the top. By the time I purchased the mower my lawn looked more like a field. This mower worked great. It was so simple to use and so comfortable ,I wanted to keep on mowing! Overall I am extremly pleased with my purchase and the price I paid."
+82points
103out of 124found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MALACO5
Location:Columbia, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2008
FIRST TIME TRACTOR OWNER
"I'm a little older now and did not want the hassle of pushing a mower over my inclined lot. The Troy Built Lawn Tractor has proven to be a powerful, stable and effective tool. I feel secure even on the inclines. It holds the ground well and cuts a smooth 42 inch path. I also use it to cart stuff around. The 17.5hp engine has plenty of power. I was surprised at how fast it can go on level pavement during quick trips to the Garden Center. I had to get used to releasing the brake to increase the speed and remembering to disengage the blade before backing up. The "engine shut off" safety features have saved me form several potential hazards."
+79points
90out of 101found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engineer
Location:Magnolia, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2008
Worked "right out of the box"...
"I'm extremely pleased with this Troy-Bilt product. It was delivered by the "selling company" and - as soon as delivery was complete - I started the Pony (no effort at all...) and easily mowed about one acre of land that I had neglected because my "old mower" had failed last year. Was extremely pleased with the Pony's fuel efficiency. Looks like another Troy-Bilt winner."
+31points
69out of 107found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DisabledVeteren
Location:Denton, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2014
My New Mower
"This is my first riding mower. Being a disabled vet it is hard to push mowers I decided to buy a riding mower and I just love it I can now get out and mow my yard again without taking two days to mow."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Auntcookie
Location:Indiana, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:January 6, 2014
Works like a champ
"My husband and I bought this riding mower in the summer of 2013 (around May). We love it. My husband has had no complaints and our yard looks great. We are both happy with the purchase. I am reviewing the product now because I was looking to see what additional products could be purchased in conjunction with this mower. I was happy to see that Troy Bilt has a snow remover / attachment for the front end. I would like to surprise my husband with this so he no longer has to shovel our driveway. :)"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kansas
Location:Wichita, KS, USA
Gender:Female
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:November 10, 2013
Disengaging for reverse
"The only problem is disengaging to go in reverse. Really a pain if you have small areas to get in and out of. Other than that great speed - rather that pay delivery I drove the Pony home for 2 miles....."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pony Lawn Tractor
BlueBonnet
Location:Indiana, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:October 27, 2013
Pony Lawn Tractor
"Do not like requirement to disengage PTO to go into reverse. I moved the seat to a comfortable position but still cannot disengage the brake pedal. The cut is excellent tho!!"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chewy1001
Location:Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:October 25, 2013
pony
"I had bought the pony because of the price. I went with the riding lawnmower because I am lazy. After Lowes delivered it I tried it out. Hint read instructions first. For starting it was a little confusing because of all the safety features. (have to love uncle Sam). After reading the instructions I got it going. The cut was nice and level and the speed was where I wanted it. It is very easy to steer and corners very sharp but not a 0 radius turn. Other then that it worked flawlessly."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Relaxxx
Location:TN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Great Mower!
"Bought this mower memorial day weekend. I had shopped around about two months before I bought it. The Troy was better and more mower for the price than others I had looked at. Does a great job on my, my dad's, and dad's rental property lawns! All have different terrain from flat to very hilly. would recommend this mower to anyone!"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
oldhunter
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
good value for price
"this is a servicable tractor at a good price. also came with a free trailer."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RedDogA
Location:Macon, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Pony
"I purchased 6 mos. ago & great Ridin Lawn Mower, only thing I think should be better is the adjustment height settins for deck should be set a lil higher. I have mine on 6/highest settin & still cuts grass a bit short in lil rollin areas of land. Other then that this is an excellent mower for QUALITY & PRICE."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Milkman
Location:Cape Coral, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
LOVE MY PONY
"Everything about my 'Pony' riding mower is excellent - except - I would like to be able to cut in reverse. Other than that, everything else is WONDERFUL!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cowlady
Location:West Springfield, MA, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Love it!
"Since I received the Pony my lawn looks like it's been professionally cut. I have a high water table in my yard and it's wet and very uneven. The Pony does a wonderful job and it looks like my lawn has been groomed and not just cut. Great buy and would recommend to everyone who's looking for a riding mower."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
happymower
Location:up state nw york
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:September 20, 2013
great mower
"we just purchased a new home and needed a riding mower
did a lot of research and troy built kept coming up. I have a little over two acres to mow and so far the pony mower keeps on going even when I can't . liked it so much that I am now getting a troy built snow blower hope it works just as good .
"
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Margaret
Location:Battleboro, Rocky Mount, NC 27809, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:September 15, 2013
Deck
"Have to mow grass at level 5, and even then, there are scalped places all over my yard. Deck has been leveled twice and it hasn't helped. It's in the shop now. I've only had it six months. Won't purchase another, and cannot recommend it to anyone else."
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jesterran
Location:Greer, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:September 10, 2013
Maximum cutting height too low
"The highest mower deck setting that gives about 3.5" is totally inadequate if you have any irregularity in the yard. Scalping often and always on turns even at a 5 setting. After one mowing, I'm headed back to Lowes with it."
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jcrews
Location:Zion Crossroads, VA 22942, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:September 2, 2013
needs work on deck
"good mower over all.
scalps the ground when making right turns.
needs wheels on front of deck
"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tigerchef
Location:Tiffin
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:August 20, 2013
first ever Troy Built very happy
"Started right off the lowes truck. Excellent job cutting high grass turns on a dime. only bad thing no mulch er plug came with mower,and the left traction gripper by brake is coming off, otherwise a great deal and a heck of an engine for the price......"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AWReese
Location:Sarasota, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (159 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2013
Live Longer...buy a Pony!
"I live in Sarasota, FL where the temperatures are about 92 F with 90% humidity every day. Couple that with my 63 years and you could very well be looking at a mid summer's heart attack if I were still pushing a mower around for over an hour! I purchased a Troy-Bilt Pony several months ago. Now, I'm done in half the time with no effort at all! Thank you Troy-Bilt for extending my life expectancy."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>