Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Pony Lawn Tractor

42 7-Speed Riding Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.204 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (235 reviews)
5 stars
127
4 stars
64
3 stars
22
2 stars
9
1 star
13
81%191 of 235reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pony Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:October 11, 2008
Worth every penny
"i own a 2006 troy built pony and i couldnt say enough about it.
i do alot of side jobs with this mower and the people that know me know my equipment takes a real beating at times. so its good to know i can throw any job at this mower and not worrie about it breaking down on the job.
"
+156points
221out of 286found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Lexington, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2008
Great Deal
"After years of trying to maintain my old riding mower I decided it wa time for a new one. I did a lot of research and this tractor always came out at the top. By the time I purchased the mower my lawn looked more like a field. This mower worked great. It was so simple to use and so comfortable ,I wanted to keep on mowing! Overall I am extremly pleased with my purchase and the price I paid."
+135points
163out of 191found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MALACO5
Location:Columbia, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2008
FIRST TIME TRACTOR OWNER
"I'm a little older now and did not want the hassle of pushing a mower over my inclined lot. The Troy Built Lawn Tractor has proven to be a powerful, stable and effective tool. I feel secure even on the inclines. It holds the ground well and cuts a smooth 42 inch path. I also use it to cart stuff around. The 17.5hp engine has plenty of power. I was surprised at how fast it can go on level pavement during quick trips to the Garden Center. I had to get used to releasing the brake to increase the speed and remembering to disengage the blade before backing up. The "engine shut off" safety features have saved me form several potential hazards."
+127points
144out of 161found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engineer
Location:Magnolia, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2008
Worked "right out of the box"...
"I'm extremely pleased with this Troy-Bilt product. It was delivered by the "selling company" and - as soon as delivery was complete - I started the Pony (no effort at all...) and easily mowed about one acre of land that I had neglected because my "old mower" had failed last year. Was extremely pleased with the Pony's fuel efficiency. Looks like another Troy-Bilt winner."
+61points
114out of 167found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ds3224
Location:holtsville, NY
Gender:Male
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:December 4, 2014
pony mower
"used it a few times before winter came; looking forward to spring when I can really use it more. Seems to work fine and the thatcher I bought works well with it also."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flybob
Location:Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:November 20, 2014
Good value
"Mower works great, easy to start and use with very few maintenance problems. This is my second Pony, the old one purchased in 2006 still runs however the deck has several holes in it from the sandy conditions here in Florida."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lancer
Location:Thonotosassa, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:November 2, 2014
sofar, so excellent
"First Troybilt product we have owned. to date we are very pleased with the performance . The price was right, the sales personel very helpful and the product is exactly what we were told to expect."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MIKER
Location:Marion, IN, USA
Gender:Male
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:November 1, 2014
TROY BUILT PONY
"I have mowed with it 5 or 6 times now and love it. Starts easy, very tight turning radius. Highly recommend it. Good value for the price."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pony Lawn Tractor
wmarcuss
Location:Rossville, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:October 28, 2014
Best Mower I've Owned
"I have had several mowers and the Pony is the best I ever had.
It mows great mulching the grass into fine dust almost.Haven't had trouble going thru high grass at all. And it's very fast.I like how you control the speed with the brake pedal. When I first got on it the front wheels felt like they came off the ground , doing a wheely...lol. I like the on off feature of the blade. The seat is very comfortable. And it cranks without choking it, which is pretty amazing. Most mowers you have to choke and turn over several times but not this one.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apurple1
Location:Marysville, WA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2014
Worth the Money
"Bought a Pony over 8 yrs. ago and put her through her paces. She finally gave out and I had no second thoughts about buying anything else. This is a product well worth the money and has proven to be a reliable riding mower. 5 Stars all the way around as far as I am concerned."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
homeboy
Location:Ringgold, GA 30736, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2014
best purchase on riding mower
"bought a used troybuilt mower off line worked great. used it about 4 years then purchased a new troybuilt bronco riding mower with the kohler 20 horse , this mower works great, wouldnt trade it for a zero turn. it cut's better. speed is not everything. the first troy built i had. had the briggs motor, it is still running today. man i sold it to replaced the jackshaft's for blades still using the mower today. these mowers seemed to be pretty good machine's, have had few people wanting to buy or trade me something for mine not happening lol"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
donblue9
Location:Cape Coral, Fl
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2014
god tracctor
"Overall, I am satisfied with this mower, easy to start, fast, and mows good. Only complaint is the clutch pedal sets to high, making it difficult to get to stop position."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stormin
Location:Afton, OK 74331, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:October 2, 2014
The Pony! Excellent mower
"This mower is awesome, powerful and fast! Easy access to change oil, bright headlights, comfortable ride. Best mower I've ever owned!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
troy3
Location:Lexington, NC, USA
Gender:Male
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:September 28, 2014
bad choice
"purchased pony mower..after 2 uses,returned mower to store.mower shakes and rattles,cuts unevenly,shifting and speed control difficult to control..had troy super bravo for over 6 years,returned pony for troy bravo...do not know why so much difference in operation of bravo and pony when both are troy bilt...if buying troy bypass the pony.You will be happier with bravo"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dave119
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:September 28, 2014
Great mower
"This mower has have me great service and dependability it has plenty of power for mowing and doing overall yard work, would recommend to any one looking for a great mower at a great price"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bamgood
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:September 26, 2014
troy-built pony
"Just bought this summer and it is worth every dollar I spent. would buy it again anytime."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mulberry
Location:Fredericktown, Ohio
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:September 25, 2014
A great decision to buy this.
"I replaced another rider with this. It has been very dependable for me. Easy to drive and I am a Senior citizen."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hawki
Location:Council Bluffs, IA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:September 23, 2014
Troys riding mower
"This riding mower is the best rider I have ever driven. It's so quiet, turns real nice, starts so easy, cuts your lawn the way you want it. When you buy one you will not regret it it one bit."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
clyoung1964
Location:Shellsburg, IA, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:September 23, 2014
Could Use Some More Power
"Although I believe this product is easy to use, easy to start, especially for myself and kids, but it could use a bit more power. I may be upgrading to a more powerful engine."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Miguel
Location:Marble Falls, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (235 Reviews)
Date:September 21, 2014
Quality mower, for sure
"I do enjoy my riding lawn mower....however there should be a switch to turn off the lights when you do not need them.....I took the bulbs out....my new battery life should improve...but still I would recommend this product...."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>