Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Pony Lawn Tractor

42 7-Speed Riding Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (332 reviews)
5 stars
183
4 stars
88
3 stars
33
2 stars
12
1 star
16
83%260 of 312reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pony Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:October 11, 2008
Worth every penny
"i own a 2006 troy built pony and i couldnt say enough about it.
i do alot of side jobs with this mower and the people that know me know my equipment takes a real beating at times. so its good to know i can throw any job at this mower and not worrie about it breaking down on the job.
"
+300points
403out of 506found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Lexington, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2008
Great Deal
"After years of trying to maintain my old riding mower I decided it wa time for a new one. I did a lot of research and this tractor always came out at the top. By the time I purchased the mower my lawn looked more like a field. This mower worked great. It was so simple to use and so comfortable ,I wanted to keep on mowing! Overall I am extremly pleased with my purchase and the price I paid."
+249points
292out of 335found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MALACO5
Location:Columbia, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2008
FIRST TIME TRACTOR OWNER
"I'm a little older now and did not want the hassle of pushing a mower over my inclined lot. The Troy Built Lawn Tractor has proven to be a powerful, stable and effective tool. I feel secure even on the inclines. It holds the ground well and cuts a smooth 42 inch path. I also use it to cart stuff around. The 17.5hp engine has plenty of power. I was surprised at how fast it can go on level pavement during quick trips to the Garden Center. I had to get used to releasing the brake to increase the speed and remembering to disengage the blade before backing up. The "engine shut off" safety features have saved me form several potential hazards."
+205points
244out of 283found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engineer
Location:Magnolia, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2008
Worked "right out of the box"...
"I'm extremely pleased with this Troy-Bilt product. It was delivered by the "selling company" and - as soon as delivery was complete - I started the Pony (no effort at all...) and easily mowed about one acre of land that I had neglected because my "old mower" had failed last year. Was extremely pleased with the Pony's fuel efficiency. Looks like another Troy-Bilt winner."
+103points
193out of 283found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wolflady1955
Location:Westville, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:June 26, 2016
pony
"We bought one a couple of months ago after our property was bush-hogged. It's great."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NYHomeowner66
Location:Western New York
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:3
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:June 23, 2016
Needs upgrade
"As a basic lawn mower it fits the bill. However this mower needs
anti-scalping wheels for the deck. If your lawn is uneven as mine is you will find spots where the mower deck/blades have left almost bare spots with no grass left. Which leads to another problem. I can not find a sweet spot for the mower deck. At one setting the grass is left too high(like it was never cut) and if I lower the deck to the next setting it is too low and results in the lawn getting scalped.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeaDr1
Location:Florida, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:June 17, 2016
Ponyed up for the rider!
"Bought my Pony from Lowe's almost 5 years ago, and the only item I've needed was a replacement battery year before last. Sharpened blades gently only twice so far. Edges hold up well in sandy Fla conditions! Only uses a quart of gas for half acre of cutting, almost as good as my 22" pusher, but I cant ride that! Only concern is a knocking noise at low rpm from engine. Been like this since new, sounds like rod bearing but hasn't gotten any worse over this time frame. Due for a deck belt and bearing check, but very happy with it overall.
Would purchase one again at a good price.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hotshot
Location:Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:June 16, 2016
A Big Time Saver
"Being new to riding lawn mowers I was pleased to discover that when I used to take an hour to cut the grass it now takes only 20 minutes.
Also being new to riding lawn tractors I didn't realize the need for a tight turning radius. I can still get it done but it takes a little more planning.
"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marshall
Location:Tulsa, OK, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:June 13, 2016
Great Buy!
"I've had my pony for about two months now, and I love it. Very easy to operate,easy to start, and does a great job mowing. I would recommend this mower to anyone with an acre of land or less."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SouthernVaMower
Location:South Boston Va.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:June 9, 2016
Used 5 Times
"I mow just a little over 1 acre. I changed the oil after using the Pony the first time. Everyone should do this. You will see some engine metal in the oil. That's normal and why you should change that factory oil after the first use. I like the step through frame and the easy steering. The seat is just ok. The blades cut even, but the belt is squeaking and already showing some rub wear. After the first couple of mowings now when I first start out, 1st, 2nd, and 3rd gear won't work for about five minutes. Probably some kind of clutch adjustment."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sean99
Location:NC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:June 7, 2016
Good Mower
"The Pony is a good mower for smaller projects and is a joy to use, but the deck will need to be adjusted if you add a bagger as it weighs one side down."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mngood64grass
Location:Minnesota, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:June 3, 2016
my grass
"it takes me a lot less time to mow now and it is a lot less work so I can get ride my motorcycle"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MyPony
Location:Montpelier, In.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:May 26, 2016
Quality Mower
"This mower is very durable and easy to run. It does a great job mowing and has plenty of power."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hopskippy
Location:Fredericktown, MO 63645, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:May 26, 2016
Still reviewing?
"I bought my first Pony on Apr 17, 2016 from Lowe's. Mowed with it one time and the rear-end stopped working, would not go forward or reverse while in gear. Lowe's replaced it on day 35. I've mowed with the replacement one time, and it may have a deck issue. For no apparent reason the deck begins shaking violently until I disengage the blade. I checked everything out on the deck and could find no issue, started the deck back up and it's fine again. It did this to me twice during 2 hours of mowing. So, I'm still reviewing."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
David53
Location:New Bern, NC, USA
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2016
BEST EVER!!!!!!
"I love this mower, I have 2.75 acres which most is wooded and a lot of undergrowth. This mower not only handles the grass but with the bagger attachment, can go through the undergrowth like it is nothing. It starts easily, runs great and is the best mower for the money, if you are looking for a mower that will tackle your lawn jobs, this is for you. If there is one problem is that I didn't buy the mulching kit, which would make my yard work even easier. (Sure would love a mulching kit Troy-Bilt), but other than that, you will love this mower, it's the best."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Hoosierboi
Location:Dalzell, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:10
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:May 12, 2016
Tried and True!
"I've got a 2011 model pony and it cuts grass just fine! I change the oil when it needs to be changed and have had to change the deck belts once. It does as advertised, I hope to get more out of it but defiantly will buy Troy Bilt when I need to replace it maybe upgrade!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bumbar
Location:Moore, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:May 12, 2016
Like my Pony
"Everything is great except I added washers to aid smoothness to steering. Works better with this."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skeet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:May 12, 2016
purchase
"Am very satisfied,my only problem is when you go in reverse you have to disengage the blade(I know it is a safety feature)but it is a pain in the butt.for I have a lawn that you need to reverse plenty....."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mtgman54
Location:Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2016
Like it so far
"I have used this about 5 times since I got it and like the way runs. There are times that I have had an issue starting but take it out of choke into high run and it starts right up. I do not like the fact that you have disengage the PTO to back up, had I done a bit more research I would have realized this. Also because it is not a floating deck there a spots that get scalped but that is not a real bi issue to me. SO far this has been a good purchase and has made cutting the grass ( 1/2 A) easier and fun. I am sure I will appreciate it even more when the warm weather comes. I would recommend the Pony."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DonDJ
Location:Monticello, IL 61856, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (332 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2016
don't buy
"this mower is hard to use. can't back up to get close to something. doesn't come with the attachment to wash after mowing. I bought this attachment, and I just wasted my money.
If you want a good mower go somewhere else..
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>