Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Pony Lawn Tractor

42 7-Speed Riding Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.228 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (311 reviews)
5 stars
171
4 stars
83
3 stars
30
2 stars
11
1 star
16
83%259 of 311reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pony Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:October 11, 2008
Worth every penny
"i own a 2006 troy built pony and i couldnt say enough about it.
i do alot of side jobs with this mower and the people that know me know my equipment takes a real beating at times. so its good to know i can throw any job at this mower and not worrie about it breaking down on the job.
"
+271points
361out of 451found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Lexington, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2008
Great Deal
"After years of trying to maintain my old riding mower I decided it wa time for a new one. I did a lot of research and this tractor always came out at the top. By the time I purchased the mower my lawn looked more like a field. This mower worked great. It was so simple to use and so comfortable ,I wanted to keep on mowing! Overall I am extremly pleased with my purchase and the price I paid."
+215points
253out of 291found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MALACO5
Location:Columbia, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2008
FIRST TIME TRACTOR OWNER
"I'm a little older now and did not want the hassle of pushing a mower over my inclined lot. The Troy Built Lawn Tractor has proven to be a powerful, stable and effective tool. I feel secure even on the inclines. It holds the ground well and cuts a smooth 42 inch path. I also use it to cart stuff around. The 17.5hp engine has plenty of power. I was surprised at how fast it can go on level pavement during quick trips to the Garden Center. I had to get used to releasing the brake to increase the speed and remembering to disengage the blade before backing up. The "engine shut off" safety features have saved me form several potential hazards."
+191points
219out of 247found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engineer
Location:Magnolia, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2008
Worked "right out of the box"...
"I'm extremely pleased with this Troy-Bilt product. It was delivered by the "selling company" and - as soon as delivery was complete - I started the Pony (no effort at all...) and easily mowed about one acre of land that I had neglected because my "old mower" had failed last year. Was extremely pleased with the Pony's fuel efficiency. Looks like another Troy-Bilt winner."
+95points
175out of 255found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gneloris
Location:Moss Point, MS, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:November 19, 2015
Best I've had
"I've had Craftsman, Bolens (MTD), and some off-brand riding mowers, and I've thoroughly enjoyed this Troy-Bilt Pony. When it's time to replace it years from now, I'll go with another one. Excellent quality."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ssgtal
Location:Franklin, KY 42134, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:November 19, 2015
Great mower
"I bought this to replace a super bronco as it finally just got to be to much to work on it. This pony is a much better machine. Gives a great cut and handles real well, fast on the turns and comfortable to ride on. Couldn't ask for a better machine."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Izhopy
Location:South of Chicago, Il
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2015
TroyBilt Pony
"Best mowing job I have had in years, Like the way it spreads the cutting without clumps. Smooth ride and easy to use.
Only item I miss is an over ride for keeping mover deck running when backing up.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leejl98
Location:Medway, ME, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2015
No problems yet
"No problems yet, Thing working good as of now. Hope it keeps that way."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bill56
Location:Mayfield, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2015
great mower
"this rider has great power and is easy to operate."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sowegaT
Location:Southwest, GA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2015
Good Little Rider
"So far after one summer I am pleased with the mower. It has been durable easy to use and maintain. For the price i would say it is a good deal. I wish it was mow in reverse."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
snit
Location:wyo
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:October 18, 2015
OK but,
"Small and light. How is the rest of the line?
I have only mowed the yard twice so my experience with the machine is minimal.
Fit and finish could us some work,
the manual is bare minimum after you get past the "cover your own butt" boiler plate safety info. Who remembers the day when the manual actually taught you something about how to get your job done and how to work on your new machine."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
marmann
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:September 16, 2015
Comments on my new riding lawn mower
"I was spoiled by the ease of operation of my old lawn mower, compared to this new lawn mower. There are many more things to do and remember for the operation of cutting my lawn, and the new one is so noisier. It will become easier to use as I use it more. I knew there were featues on my old one that is not on my new one; however, I never realized how much more difficult operation would be. I assumed the changes in operation would not be significant, but that was wrong. I deliberatedly made the decision to go with the loss of some functions for cost savings; so, I'm not blaming Troy Built, only myself."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry27
Location:Two Rivers, WI, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2015
Pony Tractor
"I love my Pony. it is very easy to use. Just big enough for my yard. Turns very sharp and easy to adjust speed and other features."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texmex
Location:Texas City, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:September 10, 2015
first riding mower
"This is the first riding mower I have purchased. So far it has been money will spent. I would highly recommend it to all my family and friends."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2015
Love it!
"This is a AWSOME mower. I'm almost 60 a female and have arthritis and it just works fine for me. I have had it for 2 years."
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cutting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2015
Steering and belt trouble
"I have owned this mower for just under a year and I have had to replace a nut on the steering column and have had constant trouble with the mower belt slipping off."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CEJ1
Location:Perry, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:September 3, 2015
Pony works like a horse
"We have two other riding mowers of comparable size and the new Troy Bilt will run both of them into the ground. It is faster and has a much stronger discharge. I use it whenever I can get my wife off of it."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pony Lawn Tractor
dennisdj
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:August 30, 2015
pony tractor
"The pony is ok for straight mowing but on a grade it doesn't do that well maybe that is because of the angle, but it doesn't cut the grass that good"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EricShadowens
Location:New Albany, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:August 27, 2015
Great Riding Mower
"only problem I have with It that it don't cut in reverse."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kanyon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (311 Reviews)
Date:August 24, 2015
Belts didn't last 1 year and not part of warranty
"I use mower about every 3 weeks during summer months. I've only had it 1 year and the belts didn't last! The mower wouldn't move forward or backwards, it wouldn't move at all! Thank goodness I stopped at the garage for a break to get water. I had to have help to push it into the garage! This is not covered under warranty and there aren't many shops near me that even do warranty work on Troy-bilt mowers! This is an epic fail for a mower within 1 year and no warranty coverage!"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>