Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Pony Lawn Tractor

42 7-Speed Riding Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.24 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (287 reviews)
5 stars
161
4 stars
74
3 stars
27
2 stars
10
1 star
15
83%238 of 287reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pony Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:October 11, 2008
Worth every penny
"i own a 2006 troy built pony and i couldnt say enough about it.
i do alot of side jobs with this mower and the people that know me know my equipment takes a real beating at times. so its good to know i can throw any job at this mower and not worrie about it breaking down on the job.
"
+257points
338out of 419found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Lexington, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2008
Great Deal
"After years of trying to maintain my old riding mower I decided it wa time for a new one. I did a lot of research and this tractor always came out at the top. By the time I purchased the mower my lawn looked more like a field. This mower worked great. It was so simple to use and so comfortable ,I wanted to keep on mowing! Overall I am extremly pleased with my purchase and the price I paid."
+196points
233out of 270found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MALACO5
Location:Columbia, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2008
FIRST TIME TRACTOR OWNER
"I'm a little older now and did not want the hassle of pushing a mower over my inclined lot. The Troy Built Lawn Tractor has proven to be a powerful, stable and effective tool. I feel secure even on the inclines. It holds the ground well and cuts a smooth 42 inch path. I also use it to cart stuff around. The 17.5hp engine has plenty of power. I was surprised at how fast it can go on level pavement during quick trips to the Garden Center. I had to get used to releasing the brake to increase the speed and remembering to disengage the blade before backing up. The "engine shut off" safety features have saved me form several potential hazards."
+174points
199out of 224found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engineer
Location:Magnolia, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2008
Worked "right out of the box"...
"I'm extremely pleased with this Troy-Bilt product. It was delivered by the "selling company" and - as soon as delivery was complete - I started the Pony (no effort at all...) and easily mowed about one acre of land that I had neglected because my "old mower" had failed last year. Was extremely pleased with the Pony's fuel efficiency. Looks like another Troy-Bilt winner."
+84points
160out of 236found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daddy
Location:Hampton Va. USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:July 23, 2015
2015 Pony
"This is the best riding mower I have ever bought. I not only cut my lawn, but my daughter and son's and neighbor's also. I believe we have the best looking lawns in the neighborhood. It cuts even and having the different heights is perfect.It is an excellent running machine. Glad I purchased it.
.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ensign
Location:Hannibal MO
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:July 20, 2015
Ease of use of troybilt tractor
"We have a hard time keeping the belt that moves the mowing blades as it breaks and smokes all the time."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DisappointedPonyOwner
Location:Cincinnati, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:July 18, 2015
2005 Troy Pony lawn tractor is So-So
"My opinion from using my troy pony on my 3/4 acres wooded lot. I admit I have a lot of trees, but I still think a riding mower steering linkage should be better than this one is. I have had to replace the steering column, the half moon gear that it goes into, the drive linkage that goes to the front wheels is no longer available so my mower steers more right than left and there is no way to fix it. I have replaced all wheels due to the cheap plastic bushing that breaks after a year or two of mowing my yard. I do have a bumpy yard but not unlevel; it is fairly flat. This was my first riding mower purchase and I found from the first year that I have to buy batteries twice a year for them. The alternator if it exists on these does not charge up to full capacity and the battery only lasts for about 3 starts before it needs to be jump started. This has never been under warranty according to Troy. While running the alternator runs at 12.5 volts on a brand new battery. Batteries should be at 13.5 volts and charging power should be above that. The battery does not seem to have the cranking power to turn over the engine unless it is jump started off of my Van. When it cranks the engine barely turns over. The deck has also had issues where once again after 5 years the parts were not available to fix it. All four kill switches have caused me issues in mowing. The first one I disabled was the seat kill switch as it would not allow me to mow my yard due to the bumpy lawn I have and every time I bounced out of my seat it killed the mower. The next one I had to disable was the one that stopped me from being able to mow in reverse. I found that it would kill the engine if I tried to back up into a corner to mow and then wouldn't restart after the first three years I found that I had to disable the mower deck blade engagement kill switch due to it not allowing me to start the mower due to having a need to physically hold the lever back further than the top notch allowed me to. The fourth kill switch I finally disabled after 6 years because the foot petal for the clutch could no longer be pressed far enough to allow the mower to start. So now all 4 kill switches are disabled. I realize that these are on there due to some government safety regulations, but when it interferes with the main function of a mower which is to run and cut grass it is a problem. I found that the mower needed a higher clearance to clear some of the tree roots in my yard and consequently bent the front heat shield due to a root. I have not replaced the front heat shield I just bent it back and it is still serving its purpose. I disabled the headlights thinking that maybe they were drawing too much power and draining the battery but I am firmly convinced that it is due to the alternator if it has one not doing what it should. After 9 years I am ready to discard it and buy a new one due to having to spend 6 to 8 hours every time I need to start the mower. For the last two years I have had to move the coils closer sanding the connections disassembling the mower almost weekly. The spark plug I have replaced but it was probably still good. I no longer know what to do to repair this mower. All being said, I did find it a very good mower the first 2 years other than the constant battery replacements and need to jump start it. I realize that some maintenance is to be expected but it seems that this mower did not hold up as well as I would have liked it to. It was able to mow fast although my yard gives the rider a very bumpy ride. The speed is slower than it used to be, not sure why. It seems that it runs at about 3/4 the speed of what it used to. I am going to try a different brand this time to see if it is any better. I don't know if it will be, but I am hoping."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Arjayell
Location:Loretto, MI 49892, USA (upper peninsula)
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:July 16, 2015
Troy bilt pony ....good mower
"Have used mower several times on 2-3 acre parcel.
Virtually no problems. Didn't like not being able to mow in reverse... Turned out to be easy fix.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CashNDC
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:July 13, 2015
My Pony
"Purchased my Pony May 2014, since then I've had nothing but belt issues. Will be mowing and the belt will just fly off. Sad thing brought the extended warranty from Lowes and the belt was not covered. My next mower will not be one like this!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Joseywales
Location:Virginia, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:July 12, 2015
So far, so good.
"I have about 15 hours on it and works great thus far. The only draw back was an inability to cut in reverse. I happened to be on YouTube and stumbled upon a video that demonstrates how to address this issue. It took about 5 seconds and now my pony is even better because now it cuts in reverse."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grams
Location:IL
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:July 11, 2015
Things I don't like about my mower
"I am short. When I depress the brake I come up off of the kill switch and have to restart the mower. Could the switch be on the opposite side of the seat? i rigged something up to pad the brake pedal. I'm a 74 yr old woman so I may not know much but I think this mower vibrates a bit too much. My yard is very sloped and sometimes I feel unsafe. I never felt like that with my riding mowers. I don't know if it's a balance problem or what. The mower cuts and performs well for the most part. good turn ratio."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Betts
Location:Dover, PA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:July 9, 2015
Best Prize Ever
"I won this tractor in the Troybilt Contest and it is the best riding tractor I have ever owned. Turning radius is great, the cut is good, starts on first try and it's a comfortable ride. I would recommend this tractor to anyone looking for a new one."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BOMARC7
Location:KATHLEEN GA
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:July 3, 2015
JUNK
"THIS IS THE WORST MOWER EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.I HAVE HAD THIS MOWER NOW FOR 18 MONTHS.IN THE FIRST YEAR I HAD IT IN TO GET THE DECK LEVELED.I WAS TOLD IT WAS FIXED,NOT.SO I CUT THE LAWN TWICE IN EACH DIRECTION.BOUGHT AT LOWES NO HELP EVEN WITH THERE 5 YEAR SERVICE PLAN.THIS SEASON THE BOLT THAT HOLD THE STEAR GEAR FELL OFF.I TIGHTEN IT 3 MORE TIMES.BACK TO LOWES.THEY GAVE LOCK TITE.I PUT 2 NUTS ON WITH LOCKTITE.CAME HOME FROM VACATION STARTED TO MOW AND THE CABLLE THAT ENGAGES THE BLADES BROKE.BACK TO SERVICE.REPLACED THE CABLE ADJUSTED DECK ,SO THEY SAID.DECK CUTTING UNEVEN.I TRIED TO LEVEL THE DECK,ITS FROZEN IN PLACE.I FINALY FIXED IT BY TAKING AIR OUT OF THE LEFT SIDE TIRES.FINALY CUTTING EVEN.SAVE YOUR MONEY AND DONT BUY TROY BUILT AKA MTD."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kymmie
Location:Texas, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:July 2, 2015
excellent mower
"Does the job great and very easy to use. Worth every penny. First time owner that's very satisfied."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CRad
Location:Charleston, WV, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:July 2, 2015
Great Mower
"I have owned my Pony for about a month now it has preformed beyond my expectations. I have around 1.75 acres to cut and it cuts it in about 2 hours time. The only negative I have is that the deck dose not have the anti scalp wheels. I have some spots that are fairly uneven and the deck has a tendency to scalp these areas. Another than that I really have no complaints about this product. I would recommend to a friend but remember you must disengage the blade when backing up. Good safety feature in my opinion."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sheldon
Location:Harrah, OK, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
takes what i throw at it
"i usually dont mow with this i have a zero turn but i had to get this for the sweeper so usually i drive it around on 45 acres and it handles perfectly it can go up hills that my atv cant and when i mow it mows perfectly but the deck belt broke recently but that is expected with what i put it through great mower"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cowboyishere60
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
Glad I Purchased This Mower
"I have dealt with Troybilt for years. I now own three of their products and have been very pleased with each one. My newest is a riding mower. It starts right up each time and usually without having to use the choke. Makes quick work of getting 2 acres cut."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShortStuff
Location:Mountain Home, AR
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
Good Lawn Mower
"Really like this mower. Only wish it mowed in reverse."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zilla1618
Location:Moody, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
GOOD VALUE
"Does the job,good handling,wont cut in reverse but over all great mower"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoeBaq
Location:Missouri, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (287 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
Very happy with my new purchase
"I purchased this Pony Lawn Tractor about six months ago. Very durable, easy to use and start and does a great job of keeping my lawn in top shape. I would recommend this product to friends and family."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>