Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Pony Lawn Tractor

42 7-Speed Riding Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.234 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (316 reviews)
5 stars
174
4 stars
85
3 stars
30
2 stars
11
1 star
16
83%260 of 312reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pony Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:October 11, 2008
Worth every penny
"i own a 2006 troy built pony and i couldnt say enough about it.
i do alot of side jobs with this mower and the people that know me know my equipment takes a real beating at times. so its good to know i can throw any job at this mower and not worrie about it breaking down on the job.
"
+288points
383out of 478found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Lexington, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2008
Great Deal
"After years of trying to maintain my old riding mower I decided it wa time for a new one. I did a lot of research and this tractor always came out at the top. By the time I purchased the mower my lawn looked more like a field. This mower worked great. It was so simple to use and so comfortable ,I wanted to keep on mowing! Overall I am extremly pleased with my purchase and the price I paid."
+234points
276out of 318found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MALACO5
Location:Columbia, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2008
FIRST TIME TRACTOR OWNER
"I'm a little older now and did not want the hassle of pushing a mower over my inclined lot. The Troy Built Lawn Tractor has proven to be a powerful, stable and effective tool. I feel secure even on the inclines. It holds the ground well and cuts a smooth 42 inch path. I also use it to cart stuff around. The 17.5hp engine has plenty of power. I was surprised at how fast it can go on level pavement during quick trips to the Garden Center. I had to get used to releasing the brake to increase the speed and remembering to disengage the blade before backing up. The "engine shut off" safety features have saved me form several potential hazards."
+196points
230out of 264found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engineer
Location:Magnolia, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2008
Worked "right out of the box"...
"I'm extremely pleased with this Troy-Bilt product. It was delivered by the "selling company" and - as soon as delivery was complete - I started the Pony (no effort at all...) and easily mowed about one acre of land that I had neglected because my "old mower" had failed last year. Was extremely pleased with the Pony's fuel efficiency. Looks like another Troy-Bilt winner."
+98points
185out of 272found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StephenM
Location:Seattle, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:8
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:April 24, 2016
Generally quite good in performance
"I bought this last year because after 20 years of walk-behind push mowing, I was done with all that.
I shopped around quite a bit based on performance, price, and durability, and the Troy Bilt Pony seemed like a good option. I also purchased the optional grass catcher accessory.
I had it delivered, and it start up immediately--which was very pleasing.
Mowing my yard is now almost a breeze, and now it takes 45 minutes compared to 5 hours before.
A few things that keep this from being a 5-star review: Maintenance.
It took about an hour to get the blade assembly off the unit when I wanted to sharpen the blades. The information in the booklet was too sparse; the Troy Bilt video helped, but my assembly unit didn't match the video, so there were some very, very, VERY tricky things involved with the cotter pins.
I could not, with all my strength, actually get the blades off the blade assembly. I ended up hand-sharpening them in place with a rasp instead of on a bend grinder. This was *extremely* frustrating--after all that work, I couldn't get the blades off. When I take the assembly off again, I'll just take the whole unit down to my car mechanic to have him remove the blades with his air-powered tools.
And getting the blade assembly back on...Well, that took me two weekends to figure out, because the cotter pins are nearly impossible to re-insert. There is a metal "box" in front of the right side rear location that prevents you from using any tool, such as needle-nose pliers, to hold and insert the cotter pin.
It took me over three hours of trying and failing to get this tiny, tiny pin into the hole correctly using my by-then very numb and irritated fingers.
Once you get the two rear cotter pins in, you'll need to attach the front of the assembly, and although it's not stated in the manual, it's much easier to remove or loosen the nut and then re-tighten it.
I had similar difficulties installing the grass catcher. There are several bolt holes in the rear of the mower where the grass catcher assembly must be inserted and tightened.
The holes do not quite line up. It takes a lot of effort to get the bolts into the holes, and even more to get the grass catcher assembly off -- which means that if you want to attach a tow-behind hauler, you will spend a bit of time getting everything off, and then getting everything back on.
Granted, I have some spare time to do this, but it is still far too difficult for a consumer with consumer grade tools to perform simple, regular maintenance.
Would I guy it again? I'm still tempted, based upon price and performance, but I am very, very leery of the unknown aspects of maintenance now--you almost need to have one already to understand what you're getting yourself into."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pjones453
Location:Atwater, OH 44201, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:April 20, 2016
Best mower I've ever had.
"This is the first new riding mower I have ever bought, I have had 3 used units. If they cut good they either ran terrible or were hard to start, or if they started easy they cut terrible. With my Troybilt I have the luxury of easy starting, great running and awesome cutting. The purchase may have set me back a few bucks, but it's gonna save me money in the long run. Won't have to buy belts, blades, plugs, oil or anything else until next season."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Harv12
Location:Horsham, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:2
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2016
Transmission Belt
"My tractor has trouble going up slight grades. Can someone tell me where the transmission belt is located, because I think that may be where the problem is?"
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pony Lawn Tractor
BruceF
Location:Leesville, Batesburg-Leesville, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:March 29, 2016
Once you ride this pony........
"Once you ride this pony you will never go back. It does a great job, easy to cut grass and the price is just right. I was surprised with the quality of the lawn mower. Would love to have a Troy-bilt baseball cap to show my friends that they don't need to spend a lot to get a real good riding mower."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TenSleep
Location:Mc Neal, AZ 85617, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:February 11, 2016
Lawn Tractor
"This is a great Tractor for the price but as I live in Southern Arizona, the tires all went flat the first day, Green Slime fixed that. No one had lived in our house for at least two years so it was a quite overgrown 10 acres. This Tractor took down 12" grass weeds and small Mesquite trees no problem (except the flat tires from the Mesquite) which I expected."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gneloris
Location:Moss Point, MS, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:November 19, 2015
Best I've had
"I've had Craftsman, Bolens (MTD), and some off-brand riding mowers, and I've thoroughly enjoyed this Troy-Bilt Pony. When it's time to replace it years from now, I'll go with another one. Excellent quality."
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ssgtal
Location:Franklin, KY 42134, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:November 19, 2015
Great mower
"I bought this to replace a super bronco as it finally just got to be to much to work on it. This pony is a much better machine. Gives a great cut and handles real well, fast on the turns and comfortable to ride on. Couldn't ask for a better machine."
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Izhopy
Location:South of Chicago, Il
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2015
TroyBilt Pony
"Best mowing job I have had in years, Like the way it spreads the cutting without clumps. Smooth ride and easy to use.
Only item I miss is an over ride for keeping mover deck running when backing up.
"
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leejl98
Location:Medway, ME, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2015
No problems yet
"No problems yet, Thing working good as of now. Hope it keeps that way."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bill56
Location:Mayfield, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2015
great mower
"this rider has great power and is easy to operate."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sowegaT
Location:Southwest, GA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2015
Good Little Rider
"So far after one summer I am pleased with the mower. It has been durable easy to use and maintain. For the price i would say it is a good deal. I wish it was mow in reverse."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
snit
Location:wyo
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:October 18, 2015
OK but,
"Small and light. How is the rest of the line?
I have only mowed the yard twice so my experience with the machine is minimal.
Fit and finish could us some work,
the manual is bare minimum after you get past the "cover your own butt" boiler plate safety info. Who remembers the day when the manual actually taught you something about how to get your job done and how to work on your new machine."
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
marmann
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:September 16, 2015
Comments on my new riding lawn mower
"I was spoiled by the ease of operation of my old lawn mower, compared to this new lawn mower. There are many more things to do and remember for the operation of cutting my lawn, and the new one is so noisier. It will become easier to use as I use it more. I knew there were featues on my old one that is not on my new one; however, I never realized how much more difficult operation would be. I assumed the changes in operation would not be significant, but that was wrong. I deliberatedly made the decision to go with the loss of some functions for cost savings; so, I'm not blaming Troy Built, only myself."
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry27
Location:Two Rivers, WI, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2015
Pony Tractor
"I love my Pony. it is very easy to use. Just big enough for my yard. Turns very sharp and easy to adjust speed and other features."
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texmex
Location:Texas City, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:September 10, 2015
first riding mower
"This is the first riding mower I have purchased. So far it has been money will spent. I would highly recommend it to all my family and friends."
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (316 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2015
Love it!
"This is a AWSOME mower. I'm almost 60 a female and have arthritis and it just works fine for me. I have had it for 2 years."
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>