Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Pony Lawn Tractor

42 7-Speed Riding Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.251 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (279 reviews)
5 stars
157
4 stars
73
3 stars
25
2 stars
10
1 star
14
83%232 of 279reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pony Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:October 11, 2008
Worth every penny
"i own a 2006 troy built pony and i couldnt say enough about it.
i do alot of side jobs with this mower and the people that know me know my equipment takes a real beating at times. so its good to know i can throw any job at this mower and not worrie about it breaking down on the job.
"
+240points
321out of 402found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Lexington, NC
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2008
Great Deal
"After years of trying to maintain my old riding mower I decided it wa time for a new one. I did a lot of research and this tractor always came out at the top. By the time I purchased the mower my lawn looked more like a field. This mower worked great. It was so simple to use and so comfortable ,I wanted to keep on mowing! Overall I am extremly pleased with my purchase and the price I paid."
+187points
224out of 261found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MALACO5
Location:Columbia, MD
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2008
FIRST TIME TRACTOR OWNER
"I'm a little older now and did not want the hassle of pushing a mower over my inclined lot. The Troy Built Lawn Tractor has proven to be a powerful, stable and effective tool. I feel secure even on the inclines. It holds the ground well and cuts a smooth 42 inch path. I also use it to cart stuff around. The 17.5hp engine has plenty of power. I was surprised at how fast it can go on level pavement during quick trips to the Garden Center. I had to get used to releasing the brake to increase the speed and remembering to disengage the blade before backing up. The "engine shut off" safety features have saved me form several potential hazards."
+169points
192out of 215found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engineer
Location:Magnolia, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2008
Worked "right out of the box"...
"I'm extremely pleased with this Troy-Bilt product. It was delivered by the "selling company" and - as soon as delivery was complete - I started the Pony (no effort at all...) and easily mowed about one acre of land that I had neglected because my "old mower" had failed last year. Was extremely pleased with the Pony's fuel efficiency. Looks like another Troy-Bilt winner."
+84points
157out of 230found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BOMARC7
Location:KATHLEEN GA
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:July 3, 2015
JUNK
"THIS IS THE WORST MOWER EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.I HAVE HAD THIS MOWER NOW FOR 18 MONTHS.IN THE FIRST YEAR I HAD IT IN TO GET THE DECK LEVELED.I WAS TOLD IT WAS FIXED,NOT.SO I CUT THE LAWN TWICE IN EACH DIRECTION.BOUGHT AT LOWES NO HELP EVEN WITH THERE 5 YEAR SERVICE PLAN.THIS SEASON THE BOLT THAT HOLD THE STEAR GEAR FELL OFF.I TIGHTEN IT 3 MORE TIMES.BACK TO LOWES.THEY GAVE LOCK TITE.I PUT 2 NUTS ON WITH LOCKTITE.CAME HOME FROM VACATION STARTED TO MOW AND THE CABLLE THAT ENGAGES THE BLADES BROKE.BACK TO SERVICE.REPLACED THE CABLE ADJUSTED DECK ,SO THEY SAID.DECK CUTTING UNEVEN.I TRIED TO LEVEL THE DECK,ITS FROZEN IN PLACE.I FINALY FIXED IT BY TAKING AIR OUT OF THE LEFT SIDE TIRES.FINALY CUTTING EVEN.SAVE YOUR MONEY AND DONT BUY TROY BUILT AKA MTD."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kymmie
Location:Texas, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:July 2, 2015
excellent mower
"Does the job great and very easy to use. Worth every penny. First time owner that's very satisfied."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CRad
Location:Charleston, WV, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:July 2, 2015
Great Mower
"I have owned my Pony for about a month now it has preformed beyond my expectations. I have around 1.75 acres to cut and it cuts it in about 2 hours time. The only negative I have is that the deck dose not have the anti scalp wheels. I have some spots that are fairly uneven and the deck has a tendency to scalp these areas. Another than that I really have no complaints about this product. I would recommend to a friend but remember you must disengage the blade when backing up. Good safety feature in my opinion."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sheldon
Location:Harrah, OK, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
takes what i throw at it
"i usually dont mow with this i have a zero turn but i had to get this for the sweeper so usually i drive it around on 45 acres and it handles perfectly it can go up hills that my atv cant and when i mow it mows perfectly but the deck belt broke recently but that is expected with what i put it through great mower"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cowboyishere60
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
Glad I Purchased This Mower
"I have dealt with Troybilt for years. I now own three of their products and have been very pleased with each one. My newest is a riding mower. It starts right up each time and usually without having to use the choke. Makes quick work of getting 2 acres cut."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShortStuff
Location:Mountain Home, AR
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
Good Lawn Mower
"Really like this mower. Only wish it mowed in reverse."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zilla1618
Location:Moody, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
GOOD VALUE
"Does the job,good handling,wont cut in reverse but over all great mower"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoeBaq
Location:Missouri, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
Very happy with my new purchase
"I purchased this Pony Lawn Tractor about six months ago. Very durable, easy to use and start and does a great job of keeping my lawn in top shape. I would recommend this product to friends and family."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GJSmitty
Location:NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:June 18, 2015
Great Buy
"Works very well, but I don't like the deck design. We'll see how long it lasts."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phillip
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:June 11, 2015
Great mower
"Purchased this a few months ago, and it is a great little mower. No fancy stuff just mows the yard. Starts the first time, uses little gas, and mows great."
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drummer3
Location:Mooresville, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:June 11, 2015
nice price for this item
"I looked and looked and friends told me the troybilt was a good mower to buy and that the price was good for that model thank you"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FordGuy
Location:Central AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:June 10, 2015
4 years of use and no issues
"I have had this mower for 4 years and have virtually no complaints. Approximately 160 hours on it. Not one repair has been made to it other than replacing a worn drive belt. I have a 1.3 acre lot that I keep up with this mower and has never had any problems. Never fails to start. Great mower considering it's a low end model.
If I wanted to be picky, I could complain about the fact that the deck has no anti-scalp wheels. So, when in certain uneven areas of my yard, it can catch the ground and scrape it. Not the biggest deal, I just do a bit more maneuvering to avoid that happening, or just pick the deck up on spots as needed.
Engine has lots of power. Have also mowed my neighbors 3/4 acre lot with grass up to near 3 feet in length. Still did it without a problem.
Overall, I am very happy with this machine and I would recommend it to anyone."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Crager
Location:Oklahoma, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:June 6, 2015
Great Mower for the Money
"I bought this mower to replace my old one I'd used for 11 years. It was hard to start at first but maybe it was from sitting at the store. I haven't had that problem again as it always starts right up. This mower does everything I need it to do. I have no complaints and would definitely recommend it to someone needing a mower without shelling out a lot of money."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mainer
Location:Carmel, ME, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:June 6, 2015
Love it!
"have had my Pony for 2 seasons now and love it , next time I would probably get one with the anti scalp wheels on deck but this tractor keeps my yard looking great just 2 spots that I have to be careful of."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PaPa48
Location:Azle, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2015
Seat
"The only down side for me is the small seat. If the terrain is not perfectly level the operator tends to slide nearly off the mower."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pony Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keith6748
Location:Kuna, ID, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (279 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2015
Great Decision
"I find the mower to be very easy to operate. The deck is quite balanced. Part of my lawn is not level and it is a little difficult to stay in the seat. Additionally the deck is a bit awkward to take off with the type of clips used. I replaced mine when I changed the blades to mulching kit."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>