Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Super Bronco Lawn Tractor

46" AutoDrive Riding Mower / Tractor with Cruise Control
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
64%9 of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Bronco Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Super Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
masonicpm85
Location:Scheller, IL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:October 1, 2009
Very Nice Mower
"I have only owned this mower for a few days and have already found it to be so much better than my old 42" tractor. The old tractor went through 2 transmissions in 5 years each time busting gears and costing hundreds of dollars in repairs and damages caused from grass getting too high while it was away being repaired only to go right back in the shop again several times over the years.
The Troy Built seems much better built although it is made also by MTD like my old tractor telling me improvements are being made in this type of equipment. The Troy Built is much easier to take the mower deck off and put back on and levels much easier also. Perfect cut and my lawn now looks like a golf course all smooth and beautiful.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Super Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Willis
Location:Lindon, Utah
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:August 10, 2009
Grass catcher woes
"This grass bag system is a major frustration and seems to only pick up really dry grass."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Super Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MississippiSteve
Location:Booneville Mississippi
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:August 5, 2009
Super Bronco Drive Belt Issues
"Great Mower with plenty of power but the 2nd time I used it the bolt that holds the drive belt pulley sheared off, (so I replaced it with a hardened steel bolt). The weakness in the mower does appear to be the drive belt (I am now replacing my 2nd in two seasons) abrupt engaging /disengaging of the "gas pedal" may be too much for the design to handle, and needs some sort of damper or spring loaded tensioner to absorb the shock.
The owners manual does not list the drive belt in the parts list and says it should be taken to an "authorized dealer" for replacement, but if you can be trusted to replace the upper mower deck belt, (which is time consuming and somewhat difficult) you should easily be able to replace a simple drive belt, and the part number needs to be listed.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Super Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
roadkill
Location:Douglasville,Ga.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:June 23, 2009
Please read the reviews!
"Just when you think everything's peachy about the 42" cut Super Bronco that I purchased in 2006 your bound to have continuous problems with the drive V-belt. My guess is that it requires a shorter length belt or larger diameter spindle assembly / assemblies for the so called for reference# / part# description Belt,V-Type 754-04045."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Super Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trekker
Location:Kentucky
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:June 13, 2009
Great Machine
"I've been using lawnmowers for 50 years, including six when I did it as a job. I've used a lot of machines. We have seven acres here so we put a lot of miles on each machine, and we have some slopes and tight spots. In that context, the Super Bronco is the best riding mower we've ever had. Someone said it did not do well on inclines, but we haven't had that problem. Ours does well on our fairly steep slopes. We're really impressed with how it holds its low speed going down our hills. We read in the manual how it is not intended to cut especially high grass, but we've had to do it a few times and the Super Bronco slogged right through. It doesn't vibrate the driver to exhaustion and is comfortable to use for long hours in heat and humidity. As others have pointed out, it does tend to wear out belts on an annual basis, but better that than the other mechanical issues common to other brands. It maneuvers better than most machines through our tight spots and holds a line better on long stretches than its rivals. We are going to feel pretty bad when this one eventually wears out, because it is going to very difficult to find a replacement."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Super Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Virginiaman
Location:Virginia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:August 15, 2008
Good mower
"I bought this mower at the begining of the mowing season. I waited before writing a review. But I find this mower to be excellent for the price. I have 2 acres with some good size hills. The mower walks right up the hills. It does a great job of cutting the grass. I retired a craftman I had for 14 years. I had seen some bad reviews for this mower. But the only thing I had to do was a few adjustments when I first got it. But has been great so far."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Super Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
captainconcrete
Location:Belmont Ontario
Gender:Male
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:July 23, 2008
can't complain
"I purchased the tractor in april and now have 40 hours on it. (80% mowing 10% rolling 10% hauling) My lot is 1.5 hectares. This is my thid tractor in 15 years and will probably my last.I haven't had one thing go wrong yet. A friend at work bought a J.D the same time I bought my TROY , told me i was crazy for getting it, he's already sent it back because of a warped mower shaft. crazy my foot! nice job TROY BILT"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Super Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ramlim
Location:Meridian, Idaho
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:July 8, 2008
Super Bronco
"The bagging unit for this tractor could be improved. Grass blown into the bagging unit tends to collect at the right side of the bagger cover rim. When the cover is lifted, the grass falls down from the rim to the floor. To prevent this, one must slide a hand under the bagger cover prior to lifting it to push the grass collected there into the grass bin. This should be designed so that the grass won't collect on the rim, but slide directly into the bin."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Super Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
McDaddy23
Location:Greenville, VA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:June 1, 2008
"I have enjoyed my Super Bronco now going on four years. My yard is about 1.5 acres with very little slope. The climate sometimes in Virginia is somewhat rainy in the Spring which leads to taller cuts and bagging. As for the tractor, I have had to replace the battery each season and seem to be having issues with the overall cutting power lately. The blades are new, but the grass looks to be torn off instead of cut at times. It may be the a deck belt loosening up some and just needs replaced. Overall, I am very happy with it and all the other Troy-Bilt items I own. I would definitely buy another Troy-Bilt product!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Super Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
inkcmo
Location:kc, mo
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2008
good price
"i have about 1 acre i mow with this unit. it is new so it starts right up and haven't had any issues. i can't realy comment on the durability or long term performance but i have used it for about a month now.
My yard has little lopes and hills in it nothing unusual but this mower's transmission can barely handle an incline. the motor is strong. when i first mowed the grass was very tall but it cut it no problem, except for the hills where the mower bogged down and sometimes it didn't want to turn on the the hill. i'm thinking i have 4 or so days to return this to lowes so i can spend another 500 or so to get a hydrostatic trans. unfourtuantly troy-bilt doesn't offer a heavy duty lawn tractor like that so it will be a husq or deere.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Super Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
danp
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:May 1, 2008
good exept for drive belt
"The drive belt does not stand up to bumps...it just falls off. I've changed mine twice, and now expect to have to give it attention frequently - at least once a summer
Other than that, no complaints at all about the tractor.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Super Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JFALK
Location:Springfield, MO
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Date:April 7, 2008
I like it but...
"Before the first summer was over, the drive belt needed replacing. The second summer, drive belt broke again. Today the drive belt broke again.
I never expected this to be a yearly event.
Other than that I like it.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Super Bronco Lawn Tractor
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (14 Reviews)
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5