Product Reviews

Troybilt Bronco Lawn Tractor

42 AutoDrive Riding Mower Tractor with Side Discharge
Average Customer Rating:
3.989 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (184 reviews)
5 stars
93
4 stars
44
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 star
17
78%144 of 184reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Review 21 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TOswald
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:August 11, 2010
belt issues?
"I purchased this tractor several weeks ago. The handling is great and it starts easily. Initially, I had to rig the seat from becoming loose with a bolt and nut to anchor the seat from moving. The plastic nut on the underside of the seat does not get tight enough. Next, the second time we used the tractor the speed was VERY slow. The tractor is in the shop because of belt issues to fix the speed issues. Glad I bought the extended warranty."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JBrooks
Location:Centerview, MO
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:May 11, 2009
mower woes
"Bought Troy-bilt Bronco ridng mower two months ago. Just started using it a month ago. In that amount of time we've already had to replace a bent blade, and last time out hosed off deck to clean it, died on the drive back to the garage, won't start. No resistance in gas or brake pedal, just flop back and forth. Now have to find someone to look at it. Did we just buy an expensive recurring problem???"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
pat001
Location:cinnaminson
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:July 29, 2008
alright
"bought this tractor 5/06.always thought engine did not run quite right.well 7/08 engine just started blowing smoke.took in for service and was told engine is shot.tractor not too bad but,not crazy about having to disengage pto for reverse or safety switch on seat that shuts engine off if you get off it."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Response from Troy-Bilt:By Customer Support TeamAugust 7, 2008
We regret that you are having issues with your product’s engine and apologize for the inconvenience. Troy-Bilt strives to use top-quality engines from trusted manufacturers, designed to meet the specific needs of our products. Troy-Bilt products with branded engines carry a separate engine manufacturer’s warranty, as outlined in the owner’s manual you received with your Troy-Bilt product. For warranty service, technical support, parts or any other questions related to any independent brand engine, customers will need to contact the engine manufacturer directly. For more information on engine support and contact information for engine manufacturers, please visit our FAQ page and click “Get Answers”.
Review 24 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tina
Location:Tulsa, OK, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2014
Best Lawnmower
"Our new Troy-Bilt Bronco Lawn Tractor is amazingly easy to operate. Very easy to start. The 42 inch cut makes quick work of our .9 acre yard and leaves a smooth carpet like appearance to the grass. I wish we would have bought this years ago!!"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FloridaCounty
Location:Seminole, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:July 26, 2014
My Wife mows the lawn now
"This Bronco 42" lawn tractor was a very smart buy. It is very easy for my wife to use, we have a large yard which is fenced and several obstacles like trees. She started it, mowed the entire lawn the first day I purchased it and says she loves it, because it takes 1 hr instead of 3 hrs and it is a lot of fun. Today she had me purchase a Troybilt straight shaft trimmer which is also 4 cycle, so now she does all the landscaping."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mugford
Location:Canton, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:10
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:May 26, 2014
this tractor is the best it cuts really good
"the tractor is real easy to use and it's real easy to handle.. The only complaint I have is that it will not let you cut the grass in reverse. Other than that I love my troy-bilt bronco tractor."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BONES
Location:Wawwick, ny
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:February 2, 2015
Best overall machine.
"My third mower in 30 years this is the best. I have 2 acres of lawn and found this machine easy to handle."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kennyp
Location:Goodlettsville, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:May 11, 2014
My frist riding mower.
"I really like my troy bilt lawn tractor I will buy another if I ever need to replace it."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobbie
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
My Mower
"I am a single 60 something female with no prior knowledge on mowing with a riding mower. It is easy to manage and had no trouble learning to use it. Thank you Troy-Bilt :)"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gator
Location:Rockingham, NC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:August 7, 2012
Good Mower For The $
"Purchased Bronco in 2011, have 3/4 acre yard to mow. This mower meets my needs and for the $ is a good buy. Seems to run slower, at full throttle, than other mowers I have owned ."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BroncoEd
Location:Lakeville, Massachusett
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:May 5, 2012
42" Bronco
"have had for about a year now...runs great no major issues other than normal wear and tear (i.e blade replacement)...although I do find that the blades could be of better quality."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Olddude
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Great Mower
"Purchased brand and model in 2005 and still going strong. Parts for repairs have been easy to find. So far only minor repairs have been needed."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mowerman17
Location:Oxford, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Great Value
"Easiest rider that I've ever used ,tremendous value"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gardengranny
Location:Rockwall, Tx
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Easy to Use
"Very easy to start. Using less gas than my 46 inch I replaced. Better size for home yards. Could use a taller seat to make the ride smoother and more comfortable."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tbucket
Location:Millstadt
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Very Pleased with My Troy-Bilt
"How often do you buy a Lawn Tractor? I don't very often so I have to shop around, which I did. As far as value for the money this mower is tops in my book. I have had this mower for a year or so and during the season I cut at least 1 time per week, I have never had any problems with my mower, it starts everytime and does what I want it to."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
USNAVYVET
Location:BLYTHEWOOD, SC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:November 2, 2011
REPLACEMENT
"EXCELLENT MOWER AND WITH THE ADDITIONAL POWER, PREVIOUS MOWER 15 HP THIS ONE 20 HP, MAKES CUTTING MY TWO ACRES A SHORTER JOB."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bronco
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:August 22, 2008
SEPARATION ANXIETY
"We're already spoiled with the attributes of the 42" Bronco lawn tractor, purchased 12.07 at Lowes and used less than 20 hours. Imagine our disappointment when we had to use our EPP [extended protection plan that thank goodness we had] to get our baby picked up for a major flaw repair-- an uncontrollable gas leak.
The separation wouldn't be so bad, if I hadn't seen so much evidence of other red breakdowns on the repair company's flatbed. About a dozen, broken, red TB mowers from our weekly area pickup were on their way to triage.
Hope this will be our last mower malady, but now I wonder...
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Claycomoman
Location:Kansas City, MO, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:September 1, 2014
Great Mower
"I just bought this mower and I can honestly say I am very impressed. Started right off the bat and very fast. This mower is very easy to use. I really enjoy the petal vs the knob lever and the fact to engage the blades is beside you and not on top of the steering wheel. I am mowing my lawn in comfort and it turned my lawn into a perfect turf like appeal. I can't say anything bad about this model at all. Now that I have a $100 rebate from Lowes I look forward to getting a cart for it."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dupe
Location:Fletcher, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:August 26, 2014
overall mower performance
"Bought the Bronco mid-summer 2010 with extended warranty. Had staring problems right out of the store. Servicing company out of state and took 2 wks. get mower back. Problem kept happening, but, if you stayed with it the mower would finally start. I have had 4 heart attacks and need the ridding mower so to call warranty was not a easy option. Now 4 years of scheduled servicing the transmission froze up throwing the transmission drive belt. Now I have to use a push mower to mow yard because of transmission cost. Mower should have held up doing my .6 acre yard more than 4 years."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnDavid
Location:Mineola, TX 75773, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (184 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2014
Love this mower
"This mower is the most agile mower I have ever owned. It is durable on even surfaces and does an excellent job."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>