Product Reviews

Troybilt Bronco Lawn Tractor

42 AutoDrive Riding Mower Tractor with Side Discharge
Average Customer Rating:
3.832 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (125 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
29
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 star
15
72%90 of 125reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Review 21 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JBrooks
Location:Centerview, MO
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:May 11, 2009
mower woes
"Bought Troy-bilt Bronco ridng mower two months ago. Just started using it a month ago. In that amount of time we've already had to replace a bent blade, and last time out hosed off deck to clean it, died on the drive back to the garage, won't start. No resistance in gas or brake pedal, just flop back and forth. Now have to find someone to look at it. Did we just buy an expensive recurring problem???"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Rawhide
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:November 1, 2013
Best Mower I have ever owned.
"I purchased my Bronco in 2010. Worked great until 2013. The engine blew up. Troy-Bilt connected me to the Kohler folks and they stood behind the engine. I have my mower back and just finished the last mowing of the season. I would highly recommend this mower. It was a good price and takes care of my 2-plus acres without any problems."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gator
Location:Rockingham, NC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:August 7, 2012
Good Mower For The $
"Purchased Bronco in 2011, have 3/4 acre yard to mow. This mower meets my needs and for the $ is a good buy. Seems to run slower, at full throttle, than other mowers I have owned ."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BroncoEd
Location:Lakeville, Massachusett
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:May 5, 2012
42" Bronco
"have had for about a year now...runs great no major issues other than normal wear and tear (i.e blade replacement)...although I do find that the blades could be of better quality."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Olddude
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Great Mower
"Purchased brand and model in 2005 and still going strong. Parts for repairs have been easy to find. So far only minor repairs have been needed."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mowerman17
Location:Oxford, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Great Value
"Easiest rider that I've ever used ,tremendous value"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gardengranny
Location:Rockwall, Tx
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Easy to Use
"Very easy to start. Using less gas than my 46 inch I replaced. Better size for home yards. Could use a taller seat to make the ride smoother and more comfortable."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tbucket
Location:Millstadt
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Very Pleased with My Troy-Bilt
"How often do you buy a Lawn Tractor? I don't very often so I have to shop around, which I did. As far as value for the money this mower is tops in my book. I have had this mower for a year or so and during the season I cut at least 1 time per week, I have never had any problems with my mower, it starts everytime and does what I want it to."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
USNAVYVET
Location:BLYTHEWOOD, SC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:November 2, 2011
REPLACEMENT
"EXCELLENT MOWER AND WITH THE ADDITIONAL POWER, PREVIOUS MOWER 15 HP THIS ONE 20 HP, MAKES CUTTING MY TWO ACRES A SHORTER JOB."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bronco
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:August 22, 2008
SEPARATION ANXIETY
"We're already spoiled with the attributes of the 42" Bronco lawn tractor, purchased 12.07 at Lowes and used less than 20 hours. Imagine our disappointment when we had to use our EPP [extended protection plan that thank goodness we had] to get our baby picked up for a major flaw repair-- an uncontrollable gas leak.
The separation wouldn't be so bad, if I hadn't seen so much evidence of other red breakdowns on the repair company's flatbed. About a dozen, broken, red TB mowers from our weekly area pickup were on their way to triage.
Hope this will be our last mower malady, but now I wonder...
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Newspaperprinter1965
Location:Ossian, IN 46777, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:November 11, 2013
Bronco Lawn Tractor
"Very nice tractor. I like the way it handles. I do wish it cut the grass in reverse. Starts easy, handles easy. Less vibration would have been nice.
Overall a nice mower. i would recommend to my friends.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bigfoot
Location:Dennison, Oh
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:May 4, 2012
Bronco Lawn Tractor
"Have had mine for two years and have enjoyed using it. I have had no problems and would recommend to a friend."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
metomam
Location:terry ms.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:December 14, 2010
great mower
"great mower have had for almost 2 years,the mower has been abused,cut real high grass,about 80 hrs on it,only had to replace blade belt,did it myself,read repair book an its easy,you have to turn bolt at front of mower"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stinger
Location:Raleigh, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:October 26, 2013
Bronco is the Best
"I have used this 3-year old machine on my own yard (1/4 acre) as well as up at the local middle school football field to mow the bermuda there. Does a NICE smooth job, and I fixed the reverse cutout function in 30 seconds and a Zip tie. No problem. Love the power and the cruise control works great; I like the smooth accelerator function pedal - very easy to operate and it does turn on a dime, well a nickel. The seat does not hold me securely on slopes as it is slick. When cold outside, the motor takes some cranking before it starts, but it has always started!!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoeBlow
Location:Stafford, New York 14143 USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
My Bronco is the best rider ever
"I recently bought a Troy Built Bronco riding lawn tractor from Loews Home Improvement store in Brockport NY. Having about 3.5 acres of lawn to mow and a few more acres of wooded land and many projects around the yard and only having a zero turn mower from another company ( which I will not mention) I was in need of a lawn tractor to complete the work. After looking around at many different products I found the Bronco to be the best for my needs and in my budget. Once I got it home I could not wait to use it, " I was like I kid in a candy store," I was very impressed at the quality of the cut and the evenness. The one and only downfall that I came across was the no mow in reverse feature. Luckily for me I have very few trees and the need to mow in reverse so can deal with it. I like it so much that I use it now to mow every time instead of using my zero turn Cub Cadet! I really like the fact that it has lights on it because sometimes I get home late and before would not be able to mow with the other mower where now I can instead of waiting to have more daylight. I got a dump trailer with it and I'm always using it for something. I do wish that it would have a larger fuel tank seeing that I would have to fuel it up once while mowing seeing that it takes me about 2 1/2 hours to mow my lawn. Also I think that the belt was not put on correctly because I did have to replace it within the first two months of owning it. I did have to bring it back to Loews due to the fact that the bolt broke holding the drive pulley in place. Which they fixed and delivered back to me at no cost!! I would recommend this mower to any and all people who asking me about what type of mower to buy. I also own a snow blower which is a Troy Built as well. My father owned a rotor tiller built by Troy Built for over 25+ years which made me very impressed with the products that you build. Don't know what else to say except that I would not even think about buying anything else but a Troy Built product and recommend it to anyone who asks. Can't wait till I need another new toy for the yard so that I can test out other products!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
troybilt1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 30, 2011
bronco lawn tractor
"This bronco lawn tractor is vary easy to use, and I recommend it to everyone!!!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tess
Location:Athens, GA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:June 13, 2010
BRONCO
"The handling was easy for a female. It has quick turns and a very smooth ride. I loved the clean cut too. Also, something that is important to me was the style and overall design. I feel the warranty gives me all the security I am asking for in a riding mower."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
weaselsgrl
Location:pittsburg
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:May 28, 2010
bronco
"Bronco Bronco this is the one, this is the tractor that gets the lawn done"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ranger838
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2010
mower
"easy to start and use, rugged, dependable, cleans easy"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pameatcutter
Location:Pa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (125 Reviews)
Date:April 19, 2010
great mower/great price
"I have had a number of riding mowers in the past I like the foot pedal operation it allows you to slow down or speed up with ease and it so easy to disable the reverse cutting feature so thats not a issue"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>