Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Bronco Lawn Tractor

42 AutoDrive Riding Mower Tractor with Side Discharge
Average Customer Rating:
4.06 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (251 reviews)
5 stars
127
4 stars
68
3 stars
20
2 stars
16
1 star
20
81%195 of 242reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Review 21 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Claude
Location:Roanoke, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2015
Review after 6 years of ownership
"I'm writing this as an obituary for my Bronco lawn tractor. It just turned 6 years old and unfortunately the engine destroyed itself after I drove it down a steep sidewalk. I suspect the oil pickup couldn't get to the oil reservoir and things came apart inside. I have since found out this tractor is made to operate at no more than a 15 degree incline and my sidewalk is closer to 30 degrees. Had I not taken the shortcut, I believe I'd still have a healthy tractor.....
The only thing I've had to do to it other than annual maintenance is to replace bent blades once after my sister-in-law hit an exposed tree root on low setting and I replaced the battery last year.
This has been a great mower. When washed, it still looks very good. The seat and steering wheel show no wear even though it has been used almost weekly from March to November for 6 years. The CVT transmission has worked flawlessly from day one. The steering is still tight and the tires are nowhere near worn out. It's been an indispensable asset for my yard work.
"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sink1
Location:East Concord, NY 14055, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:May 21, 2014
very happy with it...
"this has been a good tractor.get's my yard of 4 acers don in no time and is a nice ride."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
YardPerson
Location:Winder, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:May 11, 2014
Good deal
"This is a good buy for the money. Cuts well, plenty of power even on slopes. Easy to adjust speed, height of cut."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TOswald
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:August 11, 2010
belt issues?
"I purchased this tractor several weeks ago. The handling is great and it starts easily. Initially, I had to rig the seat from becoming loose with a bolt and nut to anchor the seat from moving. The plastic nut on the underside of the seat does not get tight enough. Next, the second time we used the tractor the speed was VERY slow. The tractor is in the shop because of belt issues to fix the speed issues. Glad I bought the extended warranty."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
pat001
Location:cinnaminson
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:July 29, 2008
alright
"bought this tractor 5/06.always thought engine did not run quite right.well 7/08 engine just started blowing smoke.took in for service and was told engine is shot.tractor not too bad but,not crazy about having to disengage pto for reverse or safety switch on seat that shuts engine off if you get off it."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Response from Troy-Bilt:By Customer Support TeamAugust 7, 2008
We regret that you are having issues with your product’s engine and apologize for the inconvenience. Troy-Bilt strives to use top-quality engines from trusted manufacturers, designed to meet the specific needs of our products. Troy-Bilt products with branded engines carry a separate engine manufacturer’s warranty, as outlined in the owner’s manual you received with your Troy-Bilt product. For warranty service, technical support, parts or any other questions related to any independent brand engine, customers will need to contact the engine manufacturer directly. For more information on engine support and contact information for engine manufacturers, please visit our FAQ page and click “Get Answers”.
Review 26 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susanr
Location:Florida, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:October 15, 2015
Troy Bilt Bronco Rider
"Great mower. Easy to use, easy start. Runs smoothly,"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kingphillipa
Location:Warrior, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:8
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:September 10, 2015
My little workhorse !
"My property has a decidedly sloping yard with some gentle hills, the automatic drive helps you ease up or down them. I'm a big guy also, no problem, so far, has a beautiful 17 hp engine. You can't go wrong with this mower, I now can cut my sister-in-laws property and not spend a half day in Alabama
sunlight/humidity.
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stever100
Location:tx
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:1
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:September 10, 2015
Bronco Lawn Tractor
"This machine has given trouble since it was about 6 months old. The steering all came loose. Starting has been a problem from about the same time deck belt lasted only 8 months (light use). All in all save your money and buy better quality"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PaulM
Location:East Coast US
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:June 22, 2015
Great mower
"Bought as a replacement for a very old Craftsman that was given to me a few years ago. Just couldn't go back to pushing after having a riding mower. Got the TroyBilt Bronco at a great price at Home Depot. Someone returned it saying it would never start, and had a small dent. They replaced battery, saved me almost $300 on it, and I haven't had a single issue. Have only had it a season, but I can say it cut down on my overall cutting time. The deck wheels are a huge help with tree roots. And the variable speed pedal (no shifting gears!) is absolutely awesome."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lawdawg
Location:Ferris, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:June 4, 2015
Great Lawn Tractor
"I bought the Troy Bilt knowing of its durability and performance. It out performs my old mower without question and it is the best mower I have ever owned. The ease of use is great and I also like the tight turning radius. Fantastic mower that I would highly recommend."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShieldWolf
Location:Franklin, NC 28734, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:May 29, 2015
A Workhorse
"I have had my bronco since 2004 and it has been great. I change the blades every year, change the oil every 100 hours, and put new belts on when needed. I use middle grade gasoline as the Kohler engine doesn't like regular and it gums up the carb. It is nearly always kept under shelter and covered by a tarp when it is not.
The Bronco is now on its 4th battery, which is not bad as it is 11 years old. Just recently, I had to change out the right side pulley wheel as the bearings failed. 2 years ago, I had to rebuild the electrical system. The left side pulley wheel will need changing soon, and I have to do a little body work when I run into a large rock or tree.
I use this little tractor almost daily to maintain about 14 acres of grass, cultivate a 1/4 acre garden, pull a dump trailer, spread fertilizers, and to haul my tired old self up and down the mountain where my farm is located, so I have no complaints about performance or durability.
It would be nice if the Bronco came with a bag to catch grass or a fixture to blow the grass into my trailer. Why waste it if I can feed it to our llamas, alpacas, and horses?
My only real complaints are that the blades dull quickly and the Bronco does not handle heavy growth well at all.
Since it has held up better than I expected and just keeps going, despite heavy use, I highly recommend it."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dewayne
Location:Texas, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:December 4, 2014
Great mower
"I bought the mower since my other mower had finally worn out from many years of use.
I have a large lot and only get there once a month and in that time it gets overgrown with high weeds and grass.
The tight turning radius is great for getting around my trees bbq pit and other obstacles that can't be moved.
The mower is wide enough to get the job done fast.
The Reverse problem everyone is talking about having to go through a series of extra movements to get it into reverse isn't to bad for me since my lot is big enough I'm not backing up much! Maybe for smaller properties it could .
I've only had it for a couple of months but so far I'm satisfied !
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tina
Location:Tulsa, OK, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2014
Best Lawnmower
"Our new Troy-Bilt Bronco Lawn Tractor is amazingly easy to operate. Very easy to start. The 42 inch cut makes quick work of our .9 acre yard and leaves a smooth carpet like appearance to the grass. I wish we would have bought this years ago!!"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ffc1
Location:Blytheville, AR 72315, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2014
Troy Bilt is best one to buy
"I had my riding for little over a year hadn't had any problems yet thanks for building such good lawnmower"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BroncoBilly
Location:Chesapeake, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:May 29, 2014
Nice little tractor, headlamp came pre-broken.
"Like someone else mentioned, will not mow in reverse as advertised at store. Other than that, it is fast and cuts low enough to justify the spend. It makes mowing my yard less time consuming and allows for more time for other lawn duties like trimming, edging, & pulling weeds. One side note, whoever assembled my mower broke the headlight locking mechanism and I had to electric tape it into place - ghetto, but still usable."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
forrest
Location:Campbellsville, KY 42718, USA
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:May 10, 2014
product has done well
"product has done well for 10 years +, motor has cracked this year, but I can,t complain has been well used and dependable."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thumper015091
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2012
Wonderful machine!
"There just isn't anything bad to say about the Bronco. We purchased the tractor last summer and it's been a wonderful machine all through last summer, the fall and, now, in the early spring. The Bronco has responsive steering and I find the bagger a big plus especially during the fall on our tree-covered lot. It's easy enough to handle that my wife to gets up on it and to have a bit of fun.
As my ratings show, I am completely happy with the Bronco and look forward to our purchasing other Troy-Bilt products."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JBrooks
Location:Centerview, MO
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:May 11, 2009
mower woes
"Bought Troy-bilt Bronco ridng mower two months ago. Just started using it a month ago. In that amount of time we've already had to replace a bent blade, and last time out hosed off deck to clean it, died on the drive back to the garage, won't start. No resistance in gas or brake pedal, just flop back and forth. Now have to find someone to look at it. Did we just buy an expensive recurring problem???"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bronco
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:August 22, 2008
SEPARATION ANXIETY
"We're already spoiled with the attributes of the 42" Bronco lawn tractor, purchased 12.07 at Lowes and used less than 20 hours. Imagine our disappointment when we had to use our EPP [extended protection plan that thank goodness we had] to get our baby picked up for a major flaw repair-- an uncontrollable gas leak.
The separation wouldn't be so bad, if I hadn't seen so much evidence of other red breakdowns on the repair company's flatbed. About a dozen, broken, red TB mowers from our weekly area pickup were on their way to triage.
Hope this will be our last mower malady, but now I wonder...
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RockyFaher
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (251 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2016
So Easy Even The Wife Can Do It
"Never owned a riding mower before and I admit I bought this one based on two factors - the price and the Kohler engine. Have not been disappointed. Surprisingly easy to start, superior turning radius, easy to drive, nimble, responsive, and with excellent features like reverse mowing, and it is very stable."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>