Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Bronco Lawn Tractor

42 AutoDrive Riding Mower Tractor with Side Discharge
Average Customer Rating:
4.02 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (196 reviews)
5 stars
100
4 stars
48
3 stars
17
2 stars
14
1 star
17
80%156 of 196reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Review 21 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
YardPerson
Location:Winder, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:May 11, 2014
Good deal
"This is a good buy for the money. Cuts well, plenty of power even on slopes. Easy to adjust speed, height of cut."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
forrest
Location:Campbellsville, KY 42718, USA
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:May 10, 2014
product has done well
"product has done well for 10 years +, motor has cracked this year, but I can,t complain has been well used and dependable."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thumper015091
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2012
Wonderful machine!
"There just isn't anything bad to say about the Bronco. We purchased the tractor last summer and it's been a wonderful machine all through last summer, the fall and, now, in the early spring. The Bronco has responsive steering and I find the bagger a big plus especially during the fall on our tree-covered lot. It's easy enough to handle that my wife to gets up on it and to have a bit of fun.
As my ratings show, I am completely happy with the Bronco and look forward to our purchasing other Troy-Bilt products."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TOswald
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:August 11, 2010
belt issues?
"I purchased this tractor several weeks ago. The handling is great and it starts easily. Initially, I had to rig the seat from becoming loose with a bolt and nut to anchor the seat from moving. The plastic nut on the underside of the seat does not get tight enough. Next, the second time we used the tractor the speed was VERY slow. The tractor is in the shop because of belt issues to fix the speed issues. Glad I bought the extended warranty."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JBrooks
Location:Centerview, MO
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:May 11, 2009
mower woes
"Bought Troy-bilt Bronco ridng mower two months ago. Just started using it a month ago. In that amount of time we've already had to replace a bent blade, and last time out hosed off deck to clean it, died on the drive back to the garage, won't start. No resistance in gas or brake pedal, just flop back and forth. Now have to find someone to look at it. Did we just buy an expensive recurring problem???"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
pat001
Location:cinnaminson
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:July 29, 2008
alright
"bought this tractor 5/06.always thought engine did not run quite right.well 7/08 engine just started blowing smoke.took in for service and was told engine is shot.tractor not too bad but,not crazy about having to disengage pto for reverse or safety switch on seat that shuts engine off if you get off it."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Response from Troy-Bilt:By Customer Support TeamAugust 7, 2008
We regret that you are having issues with your product’s engine and apologize for the inconvenience. Troy-Bilt strives to use top-quality engines from trusted manufacturers, designed to meet the specific needs of our products. Troy-Bilt products with branded engines carry a separate engine manufacturer’s warranty, as outlined in the owner’s manual you received with your Troy-Bilt product. For warranty service, technical support, parts or any other questions related to any independent brand engine, customers will need to contact the engine manufacturer directly. For more information on engine support and contact information for engine manufacturers, please visit our FAQ page and click “Get Answers”.
Review 27 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tina
Location:Tulsa, OK, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2014
Best Lawnmower
"Our new Troy-Bilt Bronco Lawn Tractor is amazingly easy to operate. Very easy to start. The 42 inch cut makes quick work of our .9 acre yard and leaves a smooth carpet like appearance to the grass. I wish we would have bought this years ago!!"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FloridaCounty
Location:Seminole, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:July 26, 2014
My Wife mows the lawn now
"This Bronco 42" lawn tractor was a very smart buy. It is very easy for my wife to use, we have a large yard which is fenced and several obstacles like trees. She started it, mowed the entire lawn the first day I purchased it and says she loves it, because it takes 1 hr instead of 3 hrs and it is a lot of fun. Today she had me purchase a Troybilt straight shaft trimmer which is also 4 cycle, so now she does all the landscaping."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mugford
Location:Canton, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:10
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:May 26, 2014
this tractor is the best it cuts really good
"the tractor is real easy to use and it's real easy to handle.. The only complaint I have is that it will not let you cut the grass in reverse. Other than that I love my troy-bilt bronco tractor."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dewayne
Location:Texas, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:December 4, 2014
Great mower
"I bought the mower since my other mower had finally worn out from many years of use.
I have a large lot and only get there once a month and in that time it gets overgrown with high weeds and grass.
The tight turning radius is great for getting around my trees bbq pit and other obstacles that can't be moved.
The mower is wide enough to get the job done fast.
The Reverse problem everyone is talking about having to go through a series of extra movements to get it into reverse isn't to bad for me since my lot is big enough I'm not backing up much! Maybe for smaller properties it could .
I've only had it for a couple of months but so far I'm satisfied !
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mrr04004
Location:Connecticut
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:November 30, 2014
Great mower
"This mower is great. It gets the job down either cutting the grass or using it to get the leaves. Has enough power to get up hills and a fairly small turn radius for not being a zero turn. The only issue I had with it was the light bulbs went both went out with in three weeks. Believe just defective light bulbs I got, other then that I love this tractor."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PslMike
Location:Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:October 12, 2014
OVER ALL GOOD VALUE
"This is my first riding mower, after cutting the yard with a walk behind self propelled mower I have graduated to the troy bilt bronco. It starts easily, even with out the choke not being on. I like being able to reverse with out disabling the PTO. It has enough power to cut through thick floratam and carry me on its back. The one issue I do have which I am seeking a resolution to, is that it tends scalp. I have raised the deck to its highest position and it still cuts much lower then my walk behind. Tire inflation is set properly and the deck is level. I'm a bit OCD about my yard and it bothers me a lot to see the scalped sections of my yard. Also cutting so low is going go to equal more watering in the summer time. Id like to hear if anyone has a solution, or if im missing an adjustment?"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kennyp
Location:Goodlettsville, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:May 11, 2014
My frist riding mower.
"I really like my troy bilt lawn tractor I will buy another if I ever need to replace it."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobbie
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
My Mower
"I am a single 60 something female with no prior knowledge on mowing with a riding mower. It is easy to manage and had no trouble learning to use it. Thank you Troy-Bilt :)"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gator
Location:Rockingham, NC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:August 7, 2012
Good Mower For The $
"Purchased Bronco in 2011, have 3/4 acre yard to mow. This mower meets my needs and for the $ is a good buy. Seems to run slower, at full throttle, than other mowers I have owned ."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BroncoEd
Location:Lakeville, Massachusett
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:May 5, 2012
42" Bronco
"have had for about a year now...runs great no major issues other than normal wear and tear (i.e blade replacement)...although I do find that the blades could be of better quality."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Olddude
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Great Mower
"Purchased brand and model in 2005 and still going strong. Parts for repairs have been easy to find. So far only minor repairs have been needed."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mowerman17
Location:Oxford, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Great Value
"Easiest rider that I've ever used ,tremendous value"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gardengranny
Location:Rockwall, Tx
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Easy to Use
"Very easy to start. Using less gas than my 46 inch I replaced. Better size for home yards. Could use a taller seat to make the ride smoother and more comfortable."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Bronco Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tbucket
Location:Millstadt
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (196 Reviews)
Date:April 18, 2012
Very Pleased with My Troy-Bilt
"How often do you buy a Lawn Tractor? I don't very often so I have to shop around, which I did. As far as value for the money this mower is tops in my book. I have had this mower for a year or so and during the season I cut at least 1 time per week, I have never had any problems with my mower, it starts everytime and does what I want it to."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>