Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Horse XP Lawn Tractor

46 Hydro Riding Lawn Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.265 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (147 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
46
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
4
86%127 of 147reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OzziesPapa51
Location:Central Arkansas Wonderview Area..
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2015
Great Choice in Riding Mower
"I recently bought the Horse XP model and thus far am very satisfied with it's performance. I only have two issues with regard to this machine:
1) Wish the mower deck were easier to clean the gunk off the top by the Pulley's , Stuff gets trapped in that area and it's tough to remove.
2) Wish the Deck anti-scalp wheels performed their function a bit better, when turning tight the deck has a tendency to allow one or more blades to dig into the turf creating a scalped portion..
I love the Deck wash system the unit has, I use it quite often, Though I tend to try and wait till the Dew & moisture is pretty much off the lawn before mowing , Sometimes this isn't an option however..
Keeping the mower clean is of great importance to me and love the deck wash feature.
Love the New style steering wheel , It really aides in less vibration to my arms & hands
Love the step through design & ease of getting onto & off the mower,
Hydrostatic Drive is super! . The controls are easy to engage & operate..
One last thing.. In designing the cup holder, It may be fine for a 12 oz bottle or can but, it needs to be larger to hold a two-liter or larger bottle ...IMHO this is one fly in the ointment with regard to carrying capacity of water or other ....
Love Troy Bilt....!~!! 46 inch cutting deck sure cuts down mowing time!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StormChaserTim
Location:Milton, KS
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:August 23, 2015
TroyBilt Horse XP mower
"Honestly, not a bad piece of hardware. I have a full acre that backs up to 500 acres of farmland. My grass here is about like wire, and it can grow 6 inches in a week. The powertrain on the XP is fantastic. It always fires right up, and runs smooth and strong. The biggest issue I have had with the Horse is possibly due to me. I have had the Horse for a full year now, and I have burned down three deck belts. I realize that you shouldn't cut wet, thick grass, but sometimes in the Heartland, we don't have a choice. I bought two of the belts from the local Orschelyn, a farming store, and they carried Jason brand replacement belts. These do not last! ALWAYS buy the Troy-Bilt replacement parts. Apart from that, this mower has been an outright TANK. I clean it after every use, and aside from some dust collecting inside the headlights, you would be hard pressed to tell it from a brand new sitting at Lowe's. Cleaned up, it still shines like new, and runs like new. Getting the hang of the hydrostatic transmission is a little awkward at first, but once you get it, it's also pretty nice to have."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IronmanXP
Location:Clayton, DE, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:August 18, 2015
Cutting height lever
"I'm 61 years old and ever since I was at least 8 years old I have loved mowing grass. It was my first job. Over the past 20 years I would mow our Church lawn(for free) and my father-in laws before he passed away. I've bought almost all of my riding mowers from Lowes and when I would buy a new one I would give my last one to my oldest son. It has been running for at least 10 to 12 years now. It's 18 hp. 36 in. cut. The Troy-bilt I have now is great! The only problem I have is in the past 10 years I have had 3 spinal surgeries and my right arm and hand aren't as strong as they use to be. I've to think up a design where the cutting lever could be lengthened so the deck would not feel so heavy. Maybe extending it by about 6 to 10 inches with the same curvature in it might help. But to drill and bolt a longer lever to it I feel would weaken the original lever. On my older mower the handle was on the side of the I guess you would call it the dash near the key switch. The I'm having now started after my third operation and even though it's painful and very hard to raise the deck up and down I can't see myself giving up mowing my own grass and helping my son who has a little over an acre. I'd feel useless and move into a retirement home. Can your company or someone come up with an idea that would help me enjoy doing what I've been doing all these years? Thank you for your time and consideration with this."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
USMCdan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:August 6, 2015
Outstanding Mower
"I am disabled (combat Marine) and I had no trouble mowing over 2 acres with my new Horse from Troy Bilt... it cranked on the first turn of the key, ran flawlessly through tough, tall grass, and had a good running time (I did run out of gas once, but that is to be expected when mowing for long periods of time).."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HUNT04
Location:Headland, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:August 2, 2015
Poor Quality
"I have own the Horse XP for less than 3 cutting seasons. I cut about an acre to an acre and a half. I service my mower on a REAL regular basis. I have had a blown head gasket,the PTO worked on twice,the steering column worked on, and I have lost count at how many deck bearings I've replaced(no kidding) it has to be anywhere between 15 and 20.I feel fortunate if I get 2 cuttings before a bearing goes out. I've never run this mower fast. Its always slow to moderate.I also had the fuel system worked on#replacing fuel filter,fuel lines) because it kept spitting and sputtering. I use non-ethenol fuel. The only way to keep it running smooth is to keep fuel tank 3/4 to almost full. Very Dissappointed!!!!!"
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
casper
Location:Smyrna tn.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:July 15, 2015
Bad mower , lasted one wk.
"I got two mowing of my yard (3 acres )done then changed break in oil made two rounds & the bolt that holds the left pulley broke off just under the nut & washer . I call Lowe's & I could not have been treated any better . They had a new mower at my home the next day & also made sure every thing worked . Then had the old new mower loaded up & gone . Great co."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TJSWEET
Location:Ovando, MT 59854, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:July 11, 2015
NEW RIDING LAWNMOWER
"I have owned several Troy Built products over the years. The hose cleaning for the deck is wonderful! Having reverse mowing works well in my yard. The machine is comfortable to ride and turns sharply around obstacles, etc. I have the mulch kit attached to avoid raking clippings & this improves my soil to retain moisture. I have found the deck adjustment to be much lower than my old Ace Hardware machine; I need to be careful not to skin the grass. Maybe the deck could be raised, since I am way up to number 4 & 5 already. Being old school, I am trying to adjust to the new automatic speed machine. Going down hill, I have found it difficult to keep the wheel speed slowed down, while keeping rpms up. The handle will get moved back to neutral when I travel along brush or under tree limbs. Better stopping than speeding ahead, though. Over all I enjoy the machine & it has good power and starts easily. This mower should last me until I am too old to ride!"
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doogiew
Location:Easton, MO 64443, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:June 28, 2015
Feature flaw
"The lack of a gear/speed control is very unhandy. Using the throttle control to control speed also decreases the rpm of the blades. Sometimes, (many times), I need to go slow for obstacles or depth of grass, terrain, etc and yet keep the rpm up. If I realized this when I examined the mower I would have moved on hoping to find a mower that does not have this "new feature". I last bought a Craftsman 6 yrs ago but bought at Lowes this time because I have an account there. Otherwise I like the mower overall. Durabililty?, let's wait and see longer than 3 weeks. Thanks R.W."
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crazyman45
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
Lawn Mower
"Bought the xp horse riding mower it is a great machine"
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snow
Location:Williston, FL 32696, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:9
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:June 18, 2015
Steering Problems
"The overall performance of the machine is fine...however, from day one it has been extremely hard to steer, and is not good at going around corners. I do not understand why the steering is so tight....any suggestions?"
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeBAVP
Location:Horseheads, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:June 11, 2015
Great Purchase
"This riding mower has been a life saver and back saver for me. Everything works perfectly thus far. I like the fact you can hook a hose up to clean the mower deck and the mow in reverse feature."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eric122
Location:Blairsville, GA 30512, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:June 9, 2015
Disappointed with this one!
"I am a Troy-Bilt fan and a HUGE fan of Kohler engines as I have used both of these products not just here in the USA but also in South America where I was a Project Manager. But, this one has been a real let down. I am mowing a 1.1 acre lawn and I am today ordering 2 new spindle assemblies after only 2 years of service AND I have already replaced the guts in each assembly a year ago. The lack of durability/reliability is stunning. I hope I bought a lemon and that yours is doing fine."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tovar
Location:Montgomery, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:May 29, 2015
Extremely Pleased
"I have had my Horse XP mower for over three years and have never had a single problem. The 22 HP engine is more than enough power to cut through the tough St Augustine grass on my 1.5 acres. Much better performer than its predecessor."
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FAYE
Location:VA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:May 28, 2015
TROYBILT
"I LOVE MY TROYBILT RIDING MOWER.IT IS THE GREATEST.THE ONLY THING I DON'T LIKE IS THE PEDDLE YOU HAVE TO PUSH IS TO FAR AWAY."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Booger1973
Location:Georgia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:May 27, 2015
Great Mower - It Cuts Grass
"I love this Mower I've owned it for about 3 seasons. It cuts Grass. It pulls my dump cart. Most of all it cuts grass.
I do wish it would reverse at higher speed, but I don't cut grass in reverse so it's great. I also wish it came with mulching blades and guards. I purchased the after market mulching kit, and the cover was destroyed within one season. The blades still mulch well, with the factor guard.
It's powerful motor helps me cut tall grass, and climb hills with heavy loads in the dump cart. The deck leaves a beautiful even cut through the yard. The transmission is smooth and makes Cutting Grass easier and faster. Forward to reverse very easy, which is necessary when Cutting Grass. It has never failed to start or Cut Grass. Keep the steering greased and the steering is easier for Cutting Grass.
I mostly like it because it Cuts Grass, and it was reasonably priced for what it comes with.
It does what mowers are supposed to do, Cut Grass Evenly.
The seat is comfortable when I Cut Grass, and holds me securely while Cutting the Grass. I have no fear of falling off the mower while Cutting Grass.
Oh Yeah! It does a great job of piling up pine needles, and leaves in the fall. It makes it easy to tidy the yard.
I love Cutting Grass with it."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grey1
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2015
I like it
"It cuts well. It has enough power to climb hills.
I like the larger rear tires.
I like the front wheels on the blade housing.
I can't believe there is no 12volt utility plug.
I don't know about durability as I just bought it this summer.
"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mynameismike
Location:Houston Texas
Gender:Male
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:May 10, 2015
like my horse
"I bought this mower because we wanted the left side hand control lever for the hydrostatic drive. We are very pleased with the smooth constant drive speeds and easy transition from fwd. to rev. The speed control is so precise that we only use the brake pedal to start the engine. This mower cuts very smooth and seems to be a product we will be happy with for several years."
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Airhorn
Location:Catlett, VA 20119, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:May 10, 2015
Not a good purchase
"I brought my Troy Bilt xp Horse from my local Lowe's in 4/25/2013 and during my1st year of use I had to replace the valve cover gasket 2nd year had to replaced all bearings in both spindles and now I am having to replace belt tension pulley and blades. The mower itself was manufactured in 03/2013 which was a month before I bought it. I'm very disappointed with my Horse. I am not rough on my equipment and do not mow rough ground. I don't think all this should be happening so soon. This is 22 hp Kohler Courage 46 in cut"
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
john0913
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:May 3, 2015
good but needs work
"overall it is a nice mower, however having speed control drop back to near neutral when you use the brake is annoying, thr mower seams to freewheel on downgrade, and the seat spring is to strong a slight weight shift when applying brake causes the switch to interrupt the ignition."
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tennisist
Location:Michigan, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:December 18, 2014
Happy with this Tractor
"After 6 times of use belt was shattered and destroyed. I call Lowe’s for warranty repair and was asked to bring tractor to the repair center 5 miles away from my house. I don’t have trailer and didn’t want to rent one and go through hassle of delivering and pick up my tractor; I called “TROY-BILT” and had a very pleasant conversation with parts/repair representative. Before calling “TROY-BILT”, I have had tractor inspected and determine that deck wasn’t assembled and installed (at Low’s) correctly and improper installation and alignment of deck caused damage to the belt. “TROY-BILT” representative shipped to me all parts at no charge; I had deck removed and reinstalled the way it supposed to be mounted and alignment. Now I can cut grass in three (3) different positions of the deck, it became quieter, and grass looks like cut with scissors."
+39points
41out of 43found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>