Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Horse XP Lawn Tractor

46 Hydro Riding Lawn Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (108 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
36
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
2
89%96 of 108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sgent68
Location:Alabama, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2014
So far so good
"Powerful mower. No problems as of yet. I have attached the bagging accessory which is adequate."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wilky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:August 26, 2014
First Lawn Tractor
"Bought our first house. It has 0.7 acres. I had been push mowing it for over a year. Having a limited budget I got the Horse XP 46" hydrstatic drive. It is my first riding mower. After my research I knew I wanted the hydro drive. Being an engineer, I have several complaints about the mower. I went through the entire manual and checked everything before firing it up the first time. This is important because the assembly folks at Lowes are not concerned with doing it right, just doing it fast. I found several items not properly lubricated (every grease fitting was dry), battery terminals were loose, and the deck was not level front to back or side to side. I am 6 foot 3 so I also feel very cramped on the mower due to little seat adjustment. The biggest concern I have is that I keep the deck setting on the highest level (5). My yard stays greener being a little on the long side, but the adjustment holes for the mower deck front rollers are not close enough to the ground on their lowest setting to provide support for the front of the deck. This causes the deck to bounce and occassionally bottom out creating bare spots in my yard. The tabs to bolt the rollers to are welded to the deck so the easy solution would be to have larger diameter rollers. An hours of operation meter would be very helpful as well to determine when to do the periodic maintenance."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jimd
Location:Georgia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2014
Too soon to fairly rate
"Seems like a good tractor. I had some problems but mostly due to an unseen obstruction under the mower. Support was very good and if I needed to send it in for repair they were willing to include the cost of pickup. I hope the problem is resolved but next couple of mowings will tell. This mower has a very good turning radius but I wish it could backup easier, Instructions says it can but I haven't been able to do it yet.
I like Troy Bilt products especially since they still manufactured in USA ."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hunterstanford
Location:Weatherford, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2014
amazing mower
"this mower is amazing stronger than most mowers that i sold."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gambler062
Location:Oologah, OK 74053, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2014
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"This is my second Horse XP. I used the first one for over 3 years before giving it to my son. This an excellent Lawn Tractor. It is a very well built, easy to use, and comfortable to operate."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
InTheSouth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2014
Great Riding Mower
"We have about 1 1/2 acres of grass and this mower handles it well."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappyTrimmer
Location:Aiken, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:August 8, 2014
Goodbye Push Behinds...Hello Ride Ons!!!
"With the Sears store in town recently closing its doors, and not knowing how much longer they will be in business to honor a warranty, I decided on this Troy Bilt over Craftsman after carefully reviewing it.
Now I've owned a walk-behind self propelled Troy Bilt mower for seven years and have put it through the ringer and yet still manages to start and mow with gusto. So I figured, what the heck, I'll give this one a try.
With about half an acre to mow, my first impression what took me so long to get one of these? What used to be a 3 hour walking marathon (in the heat) has turned into a 45 minute leisurely ride. The first afternoon I had it I tore through the yard then tackled all the weeds at the back of the property. The machine cut it all down with no issues.
My opinion is this mower is well engineered and a quality built product. The engine offers more than enough power to mow through tall grass, at a respectable speed. And the built in safety feature, for reverse mowing, is appreciated since I have kids who may get too close while I'm mowing and may not be aware of their presence due to engine noise.
I highly recommend purchasing the optional bagger. The first use left tons of grass trimmings on my lawn. The bagger is a tremendous help as it allows easier management of trimmings, leaving behind a clean and well manicured lawn.
Overall I'm pleased and recommend this product for folks with a large lawn and who are sick of walking behind a mower.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Riverboy
Location:Rural Virginia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:June 5, 2014
Very good mower
"I was looking for a place to enter manufacturing improvements and ended up in reviews instead. My review would be that this is a very good mower except for the two changes I believe it needs."
-26points
2out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaveColley
Location:Oklahoma, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2014
Tackles my moderately rough terrain with ease
"I recently purchased this mower as a replacement to my Poulan Pro which died of engine failure. I have approx. 1 acre of grass to mow around the house which in parts is quite rough with a fair amount of weeds and tough grass in it. The Horse never broke a sweat as it cut through it all and as long as you are sensible and don't try to cut the thick long stuff down in one pass the motor won't even drop revs. Due to being unable to mow for almost a month my grass/weeds were about 6 inches tall but one pass at grass height 5 followed by one at height 2 brought the yard looking back to very tidy. So far I am highly satisfied with my lawn tractor and would recommend it to anyone."
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PrincessRedWing
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:June 1, 2014
Get the Horse XP Lawn Tractor For lawn horse power
"I have a rough lawn and it is hard to keep up with, very thick grass and my horse has not had a problem stepping up to the challenge."
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BobStoneSr
Location:Central City, KY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2014
Horse 51" Rider
"I've had my horse 51" cut rider since 2009 and the biggest repair was a new drive belt, I have well over a acre to mow and my horse gets the job done in great shape."
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BobbyH
Location:Athens, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:May 24, 2014
troybuilt horse 48 inch riding mower
"Absolutely the WORST riding mower I've had ever. I had a Troy built 42 inch and loved it. So I decided to just get the larger mower. What a MISTAKE> hard to steer, especially if you are changing speed. 3 times in the shop the first year. Bad bed belts, a bad pulley, steering problem. Finally traded it for a zero turn, that was the best decision. Lost half my money, but worth it to get rid of it. The new owner didn't like it either and sold soon after. DON'T BUY THE HORSE, it's a dog."
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stan2091
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:May 23, 2014
mowing
"This is a grass eating machine. Love it. I am really happy with this lawn mower."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jamski
Location:Breezy Knoll, TN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2014
So far, so GOOD
"Super machine, this Horse XP. It cuts nice and even, feels solid, hydrostatic drive ROCKS and amazingly gives me a better feel than using a pedal…makes low speed turns a breeze, not zero turn but it's not far from it. Oh, and it was easy to change a deck belt…ours broke the first time we used it (this is what happens when you buy a floor sample which sat outside at Lowes for almost a year.) Hopefully we'll be enjoying this nifty tractor for many years to come."
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oldgoldie
Location:Blackfoot, ID 83221, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2014
Fail after fail
"I am so disappointed with this riding mower. We got it from Lowes in June of 2012. First mow of 2013, it wouldn't go anywhere. It would start, but wouldn't go forward or backward (the push mode was released). Couldn't take it in (we are 68 & 72), called Lowes and we arranged to have it picked up under the warrantee. When he got here, he checked everything, got on, and started moving very hard back and forth (I had done this already, thinking it needed a little boost) jumping up and down and forward and backward hard. Then it moved. He said that over the winter something freezes and expands and makes it hard to move. Well, we had to do this all summer to mow. This year on first mow...the pto cable was busted. I can't find my receipt, don't know if it's still warranteed, so I printed off the manual (floor model, didn't get one) and my husband and I proceeded to take it apart and order a new one. It should be in tomorrow, and the lawn still isn't mowed. When it's running...It runs and cuts great. My husband especially likes the reverse mow option. Maybe it was just a lemon. Maybe they are normally a sound machine. But it appears that we are stuck with it."
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MSki
Location:Rome, GA, USA
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:March 17, 2014
46" deck gives a lot of trouble
"The two blade design seems to be very poor for this 46" deck. I have had to replace several parts such as tensioner pulley & bracket (1st season) and spindle bearings & steering gear (2nd season) due to excessive wear. Also, the linkage which operates the blade brake on one side never seems to fully dis-engage the friction material from the blade drive pulley. There is no adjustment. That may be why the machine seems under-powered when cutting moderately heavy grass, even at the highest deck position.
The special shoulder bolt which is supposed to help strengthen and control the tensioner bracket was threaded into only the flimsy deck sheetmetal, so it pulled the threads out the first time the mower was used (which is probably why the bracket bent & pulley went to pieces). Heavy modification to the deck is required to get a nut on the backside of that bolt.
As with all MTD mower decks, there are just too many smooth bearings in high wear areas. Even where there are ball bearings, there are no grease fittings.
Traction and braking is poor on hilly terrain. The steering does take a little bit of muscle, my wife finds it difficult to control.
This is the first hydrostatic drive I have used. Took only a few minutes to get used to, and it works well. Too bad there is no way to lock the axle so both wheels can drive when you get stuck.
"
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:greenville tx
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:March 12, 2014
stands up to abuse
"very sturdy tractor. got the bagger and fabricated some accessories for it. pulls field fence and welded wire real tight for clipping to t posts. pulls a DR power grader real well,but I usually use the farm tractor for that.loaned it out-major mistake-it will not cut 14ga aluminum wire, but it will melt it. had to clean the quills and replace the spindle bearings on both sides of deck. engine has plenty of torque,will not bog down in grass up to 14 in high,of course you have to drive slow for that. used for 2 yrs now love it."
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RicTod5
Location:Beckley, WV 25801, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Nice Investment!
"It took a little bit to adapt and get use to the Hydrostatic transmission, but now I LOVE it. The Horse is easy to use nothing negative to say after this mowing season and I have done acres of grass."
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patt
Location:Helena, MT
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
I Love My Horse
"I bought my Troy Bilt Horse earlier this year. I recently moved into a new house that required something larger than a push mower. I also wanted something that could plow snow in the winter. After a little reasearch I found everything that I needed in one machine. I can mow my lawn and attach the snowplow blade during the winter to keep the drive clear of snow. I am very pleased with my purchase."
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
heavy
Location:Shepherdsville, KY 40165, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (108 Reviews)
Date:October 22, 2013
Runs away down hill
"can not use brake to slow down going down hill. The brake puts mower in neutral."
-9points
10out of 29found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>