Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Horse XP Lawn Tractor

46 Hydro Riding Lawn Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (166 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
49
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
6
85%133 of 156reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JbTootie
Location:Mathiston, MS 39752, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:May 20, 2016
Great Mower for my husband with a disability
"We bought this mower because my husband needed a mower with leg controls on the left side since his right leg was removed due to a job injury. He can use the mower with no problem and it was easy for him to control. We are very happy with this mower and would recommend it to others. This mower has a reasonable price on it with a great warranty."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HERCULES
Location:Kansas, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:May 13, 2016
great
"It has plenty of power and the person I dealt with was more than accommodating. I am very pleased with it. I just wished Troy Bilt had more attachments to go with it."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
hardrockga11
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2016
Worst lawm mower ever
"First Troy-Bilt lawn mower I bought. I hate it. The seat is set too high and my lawn is not level so after going up hill a few times, it smokes and sound as if there is no oil in it. Taught me one thing---never buy another one"
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RonLG
Location:Weston, WV 26452, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:May 7, 2016
My first Hydro mower
"This is my first Hydro mower, so far its ok but i have a lot of hills to mow. it performs good has plenty of power and starts easy. So far the durability seems to be good but i haven't had it for a year yet.Overall, i would recommend this mower to anyone I am very happy I went with it."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
danb
Location:South Carolina, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2016
So far so good
"So far the mower has performed exceptionally well. I am very satisfied with it."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bob14
Location:Lexington, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2016
Satisfied owner
"I have only used this mower 4 times and so far been very satisfied with the preformance. I have to set the cut depth lower than on my other mowers but cuts good. The speed control is different than on any of the other mowers, but I will get used to this. So far so good."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kino
Location:Watertown, TN 37184, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:April 27, 2016
STEERING
"NOT EVEN A YEAR OLD AND IT LOOKS LICK I HAVE TO REPLACE THE STEERING GEARS TRYING TO TURN IS SO HARD I REGRET BUYING IT NOW."
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bigdave1
Location:Ernul, NC 28527, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:April 14, 2016
Excellent lawn mower
"I had to replace my previous Troy-bilt riding lawn mower and since I love your products I bought another one - The speed control on this one takes a little time to get use to, but I think I will like this system. Very good product."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bubba61
Location:Austin, AR, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:April 7, 2016
Outstanding
"Power, power, power, and did I say POWER? This machine performs! Have used it to pull lawn tools like sweepers and aerators. No problems"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
briggsie
Location:Cedar Rapids, IA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:March 24, 2016
Solid Mower
"Going into my 3rd season with this "Horse" Troy-built riding mower. We have appox 3/4 acre and it has some serious hills. Backyard is U shaped, sides not that steep though...more like 15 degrees on either side of the valley. This mower has tackled it every time, no problem. I worry about it lasting as hard as I have used it going up and down these hills and riding it sideways. But it runs like a champ. Time will tell but I've been very happy with this mower, owned another MTD, 42" rider with a briggsie 18 HP, ran for 18 years and was still running when I sold it. Not sure why some people in here saying their mower can't tackle hills? They must be doing something wrong, this puppy has plenty of power. Maybe they need to disengage the blade, although even that shouldn't matter. Surprised to see bad reveiews in here, my experience has been very good with this product."
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hammerhead
Location:pa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2015
Tough choice made easy
"I have a larger 2ac lot to mow. I considered a zero turn but really couldn't see spending so much on a single use machine, even if they built their reputation on speed.
I purchased a "HORSE" riding mower/tractor and could not be happier with the purchase. It is fast, has a wide cut, and has plenty of power.
It is also a hydrostatic and is very easy to run.
I would absolutely recommend this machine."
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrBridgewater
Location:Westville, IL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:October 21, 2015
Don't buy unless your yard is 100% flat and even
"I bought this mower this spring because it takes me 2 hours to push mow my yard. My yard has a few hills and slopes here and there. This mower doesn't have any torque what so ever. At the slightest grade it gets stuck, it literally gets stuck on mole hills. I have to sit and rock the thing back and forth and hope it'll move. I have a slight slope to my concrete drive way and this thing has trouble going up it. There goes the plans of putting a snow plow on it..... want to use a yard cart? Hope your yard is 100% flat and level otherwise you aren't going anywhere. I absolutely hate this mower and have only used it 5 times since I bought it. Completely disappointed with my purchase."
+2points
13out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kawasakibike
Location:Wyoming-Utah
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:October 5, 2015
Worked good!
"I used it for cleaning up some property, which had tall weeds and grass. It worked great for that. I didn't have any problems."
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChristopherRyan
Location:Chesapeake, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:September 19, 2015
Poor durability
"I was initially pleased with my purchase but I have only used this lawnmower 4 times and have already had to replace the battery and now I have to replace a tire. It appears that before it is a year old the price I have to pay for the mower will be doubled. Also, it is a shame that as I am in the navy I rely on products to last since I deploy for 6-12 months and my family has to live without me."
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VonValvoline
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:September 15, 2015
A Billygoat of a mower
"The reason I bought this was because bad knees couldn't operate foot pedals this machine you don't have to push any petals I've always loved Kohler engines they start easy and run hard I've got a lot of sweetgum trees on my acres and was ruining blades weekly on my old mower which still runs fine by the way but with this new machine I haven't hit a root due to the wheels on the mower deck only problem I've had changing directions to fast you'll pop the belt mower turns on a dime compared to my old one excellent price for what you get looks as tuff as it is"
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mell
Location:Tennessee, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:September 10, 2015
Troy Bilt Horse
"This machine IS a work horse. I bought it to replace a smaller mower and in using it the first time I was pleasantly surprised. I have had it for two months now and am completely happy with it. I have hilly terrain and it works excellently for me. It takes those hills no problem - and also does not bog down when cutting thick/dense grass. It is so easy to drive and so easy to use. The price was also a big issue for me when searching for the right mower.... and I found the price for this TroyBilt very reasonable for the machine you are getting. The lawn tractor also looks good too. I am thrilled to have found this lawn tractor and would recommend it to anyone."
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Bossman256
Location:Dayton, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:September 8, 2015
Troy-Built XP review
"lacks sufficient power to go up small hills. Belts stretch easily, and ordering parts takes 8-10 days to receive, so your down time can be a problem. Does start everytime. you just have to stop to put deck belt back on to continue to mow. if you have a very flat lawn, dont need much pulling power and can wait two weeks to get parts orders this is your tractor, price is reasonable, but tractor isnt"
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
charliet704
Location:Dover, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2015
troy bilt horse tractor
"so far the troy bilt horse tractor has been a great mower ,I haven't had any problems ."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oldman71
Location:Pass Christian, MS, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:September 3, 2015
Nice Lawn Mower. I have a horse.
"Good riding lawn mower. I like hydrostatic transmission. Maneuvering is easy. Creep forward or backward real slow or can go plenty fast. Tight turns and can cut forward and backwards. I can't say how durable it is cause it's only been a few weeks so far. Past experience with Troy-Bilt tends to make me think it'll last a long time. I was concerned about a noise it makes when it's shut down. A clank clank clank clank type thing. I took it to the authorized dealer and he said it was normal. Anyone else have this?"
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OzziesPapa51
Location:Central Arkansas Wonderview Area..
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2015
Great Choice in Riding Mower
"I recently bought the Horse XP model and thus far am very satisfied with it's performance. I only have two issues with regard to this machine:
1) Wish the mower deck were easier to clean the gunk off the top by the Pulley's , Stuff gets trapped in that area and it's tough to remove.
2) Wish the Deck anti-scalp wheels performed their function a bit better, when turning tight the deck has a tendency to allow one or more blades to dig into the turf creating a scalped portion..
I love the Deck wash system the unit has, I use it quite often, Though I tend to try and wait till the Dew & moisture is pretty much off the lawn before mowing , Sometimes this isn't an option however..
Keeping the mower clean is of great importance to me and love the deck wash feature.
Love the New style steering wheel , It really aides in less vibration to my arms & hands
Love the step through design & ease of getting onto & off the mower,
Hydrostatic Drive is super! . The controls are easy to engage & operate..
One last thing.. In designing the cup holder, It may be fine for a 12 oz bottle or can but, it needs to be larger to hold a two-liter or larger bottle ...IMHO this is one fly in the ointment with regard to carrying capacity of water or other ....
Love Troy Bilt....!~!! 46 inch cutting deck sure cuts down mowing time!"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>