Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Horse XP Lawn Tractor

46 Hydro Riding Lawn Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.279 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (140 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
43
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
3
86%121 of 140reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doogiew
Location:Easton, MO 64443, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:June 28, 2015
Feature flaw
"The lack of a gear/speed control is very unhandy. Using the throttle control to control speed also decreases the rpm of the blades. Sometimes, (many times), I need to go slow for obstacles or depth of grass, terrain, etc and yet keep the rpm up. If I realized this when I examined the mower I would have moved on hoping to find a mower that does not have this "new feature". I last bought a Craftsman 6 yrs ago but bought at Lowes this time because I have an account there. Otherwise I like the mower overall. Durabililty?, let's wait and see longer than 3 weeks. Thanks R.W."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crazyman45
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
Lawn Mower
"Bought the xp horse riding mower it is a great machine"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snow
Location:Williston, FL 32696, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:9
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:June 18, 2015
Steering Problems
"The overall performance of the machine is fine...however, from day one it has been extremely hard to steer, and is not good at going around corners. I do not understand why the steering is so tight....any suggestions?"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeBAVP
Location:Horseheads, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:June 11, 2015
Great Purchase
"This riding mower has been a life saver and back saver for me. Everything works perfectly thus far. I like the fact you can hook a hose up to clean the mower deck and the mow in reverse feature."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eric122
Location:Blairsville, GA 30512, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:June 9, 2015
Disappointed with this one!
"I am a Troy-Bilt fan and a HUGE fan of Kohler engines as I have used both of these products not just here in the USA but also in South America where I was a Project Manager. But, this one has been a real let down. I am mowing a 1.1 acre lawn and I am today ordering 2 new spindle assemblies after only 2 years of service AND I have already replaced the guts in each assembly a year ago. The lack of durability/reliability is stunning. I hope I bought a lemon and that yours is doing fine."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tovar
Location:Montgomery, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:May 29, 2015
Extremely Pleased
"I have had my Horse XP mower for over three years and have never had a single problem. The 22 HP engine is more than enough power to cut through the tough St Augustine grass on my 1.5 acres. Much better performer than its predecessor."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FAYE
Location:VA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:May 28, 2015
TROYBILT
"I LOVE MY TROYBILT RIDING MOWER.IT IS THE GREATEST.THE ONLY THING I DON'T LIKE IS THE PEDDLE YOU HAVE TO PUSH IS TO FAR AWAY."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Booger1973
Location:Georgia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:May 27, 2015
Great Mower - It Cuts Grass
"I love this Mower I've owned it for about 3 seasons. It cuts Grass. It pulls my dump cart. Most of all it cuts grass.
I do wish it would reverse at higher speed, but I don't cut grass in reverse so it's great. I also wish it came with mulching blades and guards. I purchased the after market mulching kit, and the cover was destroyed within one season. The blades still mulch well, with the factor guard.
It's powerful motor helps me cut tall grass, and climb hills with heavy loads in the dump cart. The deck leaves a beautiful even cut through the yard. The transmission is smooth and makes Cutting Grass easier and faster. Forward to reverse very easy, which is necessary when Cutting Grass. It has never failed to start or Cut Grass. Keep the steering greased and the steering is easier for Cutting Grass.
I mostly like it because it Cuts Grass, and it was reasonably priced for what it comes with.
It does what mowers are supposed to do, Cut Grass Evenly.
The seat is comfortable when I Cut Grass, and holds me securely while Cutting the Grass. I have no fear of falling off the mower while Cutting Grass.
Oh Yeah! It does a great job of piling up pine needles, and leaves in the fall. It makes it easy to tidy the yard.
I love Cutting Grass with it."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grey1
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2015
I like it
"It cuts well. It has enough power to climb hills.
I like the larger rear tires.
I like the front wheels on the blade housing.
I can't believe there is no 12volt utility plug.
I don't know about durability as I just bought it this summer.
"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mynameismike
Location:Houston Texas
Gender:Male
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:May 10, 2015
like my horse
"I bought this mower because we wanted the left side hand control lever for the hydrostatic drive. We are very pleased with the smooth constant drive speeds and easy transition from fwd. to rev. The speed control is so precise that we only use the brake pedal to start the engine. This mower cuts very smooth and seems to be a product we will be happy with for several years."
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Airhorn
Location:Catlett, VA 20119, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:May 10, 2015
Not a good purchase
"I brought my Troy Bilt xp Horse from my local Lowe's in 4/25/2013 and during my1st year of use I had to replace the valve cover gasket 2nd year had to replaced all bearings in both spindles and now I am having to replace belt tension pulley and blades. The mower itself was manufactured in 03/2013 which was a month before I bought it. I'm very disappointed with my Horse. I am not rough on my equipment and do not mow rough ground. I don't think all this should be happening so soon. This is 22 hp Kohler Courage 46 in cut"
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
john0913
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:May 3, 2015
good but needs work
"overall it is a nice mower, however having speed control drop back to near neutral when you use the brake is annoying, thr mower seams to freewheel on downgrade, and the seat spring is to strong a slight weight shift when applying brake causes the switch to interrupt the ignition."
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tennisist
Location:Michigan, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:December 18, 2014
Happy with this Tractor
"After 6 times of use belt was shattered and destroyed. I call Lowe’s for warranty repair and was asked to bring tractor to the repair center 5 miles away from my house. I don’t have trailer and didn’t want to rent one and go through hassle of delivering and pick up my tractor; I called “TROY-BILT” and had a very pleasant conversation with parts/repair representative. Before calling “TROY-BILT”, I have had tractor inspected and determine that deck wasn’t assembled and installed (at Low’s) correctly and improper installation and alignment of deck caused damage to the belt. “TROY-BILT” representative shipped to me all parts at no charge; I had deck removed and reinstalled the way it supposed to be mounted and alignment. Now I can cut grass in three (3) different positions of the deck, it became quieter, and grass looks like cut with scissors."
+36points
38out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JOEBILL
Location:South Carolina, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:December 12, 2014
WHAT I THINK ABOUT YOUR MOWER
"I've been mowing the lawn since I was 10 years old, now 74. I've worn out several dozen mowers taking care of our yards in MO, TN, FLA, GA, KY. and SC. In all kinds of grass and weather. In the fall, leaves have to be mulched while spreading lime and aerating the soil.
From our local Lowe's I purchased the Troy-Bilt Horse. I am delighted with the performance of my mower.
The engine is quick starting, powerful and adequately mufflered away from the seat. This engine power is responsive without faltering. With the hood raised Fueling and Oil checking is easy and available. The air filter is large and readily accessible for cleaning after use in dusty conditions.
The duel blades cut precisely and mulch with authority. The use of two blades giving a forty-six inch cut not only provides a higher blade tip speed but simplifies maintenance sharpening and balancing.
The high-back seat is unusually comfortable. A much appreciated feature of this mower is the ease of use functions for engine speed, blade engagement, mower height, and unlimited attack speed. Steering sensitivity with turning almost on itself provides confident control.
Cleaning the external body as well as engine compartment is easily done with a leaf blower and a water hose. Much emphasis has been provided in the safety systems. From the interrelated ignition switch, direction movement control, parking break and operating seat sensitivity. This is the finest collection of mower features machined into an extraordinarily beneficial mowing machine."
+31points
36out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Becky
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:December 4, 2014
Troy-bilt Horse Riding Mower
"I have had the Troy-Bilt Horse mower for nearly 6 months and have been very pleased with its performance. Like the walk-behind Troy-Bilt mower that I have the performance has been dependable. The mower handles very easily, with a good turning radius. I would like a little more power for going up hills, but always get where I am going, although a little slower."
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OleJoe
Location:Huron County, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:November 30, 2014
46" Horse Hydro Mower
"First thing after closing on my first home, I purchased a Troy-Bilt tiller, going strong after 24 years! Buying5 acres and building my dream home I bought a Troy-Bilt riding mower working it hard for 12 years until the transmission went. I then researched for other riding mowers and decided to purchase the 46" Hydro Riding Lawn Mower Tractor. It cuts wider than my old 46", more responsive to overall operations: cutting grass, pulling a wagon full of dirt, stones and rocks and pulling a spike aerator with a hunk of heavy train rale to dig into the turf. I have even tied an old steel/spring matteress frame to regrade the driveway. This machine is truly a workhorse and fun to drive. I highly recommend this to anyone."
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
harley1964
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:November 13, 2014
Very Surprised
"This is my first riding lawnmower and there is NOTHING it cannot do. I do not have a level 1 acre and it handles the grades perfectly. I would like an accelerator pedal to control speed but other than that I am totally impressed."
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hopalong
Location:Shepherd, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:October 30, 2014
better than my last one
"Cuts great and easy to use. So far I am extremely happy with my purchase. Only negative is that I wish the gas tank was easier to access."
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jhindo123
Location:Buffalo ny
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:October 30, 2014
rider troybuilt
"Nice smothered ride except cutting smothered running machine"
-10points
1out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ddub
Location:Nebraska, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (140 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2014
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"I have never owned a riding lawn mower before so I have nothing to compare this one to. Things I like: It does start very easy, rides nice, travels at a nice speed, it does a very nice job of cutting the grass, it has a water hose connection to the deck so cleaning under the deck after one mows is easy. Things I don't like: the hand control for forward and reverse the hand control slips back towards Neutral if I don't keep ahold of it driving up hill, it could use a little more weight in the back, it brakes traction quit a bit, My wife is shorter than I am and to adjust the seat is not real easy and takes sometime, the only cup holder on this model is on the same side as the hand control and bumps into my coffee cup when I try to put it in reverse."
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>