Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Horse XP Lawn Tractor

46 Hydro Riding Lawn Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.244 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (115 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
39
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
2
89%102 of 115reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrStu
Location:Lakeland, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2014
good mower
"Over all this is a well built and good performing mower. The only thing that I do not like are the cheesy head lamp sockets. They are poorly made and are not sealed. I like to hose down my mower after every use to keep it clean, but if you want to clean the motor and under the hood you will blow your head lamp bulbs if they are on or still hot."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BillA
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:September 9, 2014
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"Great little tractor could use a little more speed."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryMak
Location:Swanton, OH 43558, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:September 7, 2014
husband loves it
"My husband cuts the grass most of the time but with the ease and ability of this mower I can do it too! There was an issue with a belt that kept breaking but we took it to the repair shop and it was fixed in less than a week! (Anderson's you rock!) There was no charge for the repair. We are total fans of Troy-Bilt...we have a walk behind mower, leaf blower, trimmer and gas-powered chainsaw. I'm sure another Troy-Bilt purchase is right around the corner!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sully1297
Location:Shelbyville, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:September 5, 2014
Troy built lawn tractor
"I purchased my mower about 3 years ago. I bought a troy built because I had a push mower and still do that has started on the 1st pull everytime even after sitting all winter. The Riding mower has proved to be equal to the quality and dependability of the push mower. Even though I have had to exceed the designed function by mowing a small pasture it has held up great other than 1 belt broken by a stick stuck up in side(my fault) and yearly tune up it has run great and started on the first try."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beverly1975
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:10
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2014
One of the best products.
"We've owned a number of lawn tractors over the years and not one has preformed the job this one has done. We have 37 acers and with this bad boy the job gets done. I must say it has held its end up. This one is out-performing them all. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a lawn tractor."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mduncan123
Location:Monticello, AR 71655, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2014
Made my job easy
"We have about a 2 acre yard. This mower made it a much easier job."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RIDDICK
Location:Beaver Falls, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:August 31, 2014
another TROY BILT added to my collection
"So far impressed. If it works half as good as all my other troy bilt products. and i have no doubt that it will. then im sure i will be happy with my new addition !!!"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sgent68
Location:Alabama, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2014
So far so good
"Powerful mower. No problems as of yet. I have attached the bagging accessory which is adequate."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wilky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:August 26, 2014
First Lawn Tractor
"Bought our first house. It has 0.7 acres. I had been push mowing it for over a year. Having a limited budget I got the Horse XP 46" hydrstatic drive. It is my first riding mower. After my research I knew I wanted the hydro drive. Being an engineer, I have several complaints about the mower. I went through the entire manual and checked everything before firing it up the first time. This is important because the assembly folks at Lowes are not concerned with doing it right, just doing it fast. I found several items not properly lubricated (every grease fitting was dry), battery terminals were loose, and the deck was not level front to back or side to side. I am 6 foot 3 so I also feel very cramped on the mower due to little seat adjustment. The biggest concern I have is that I keep the deck setting on the highest level (5). My yard stays greener being a little on the long side, but the adjustment holes for the mower deck front rollers are not close enough to the ground on their lowest setting to provide support for the front of the deck. This causes the deck to bounce and occassionally bottom out creating bare spots in my yard. The tabs to bolt the rollers to are welded to the deck so the easy solution would be to have larger diameter rollers. An hours of operation meter would be very helpful as well to determine when to do the periodic maintenance."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jimd
Location:Georgia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2014
Too soon to fairly rate
"Seems like a good tractor. I had some problems but mostly due to an unseen obstruction under the mower. Support was very good and if I needed to send it in for repair they were willing to include the cost of pickup. I hope the problem is resolved but next couple of mowings will tell. This mower has a very good turning radius but I wish it could backup easier, Instructions says it can but I haven't been able to do it yet.
I like Troy Bilt products especially since they still manufactured in USA ."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hunterstanford
Location:Weatherford, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2014
amazing mower
"this mower is amazing stronger than most mowers that i sold."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gambler062
Location:Oologah, OK 74053, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2014
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"This is my second Horse XP. I used the first one for over 3 years before giving it to my son. This an excellent Lawn Tractor. It is a very well built, easy to use, and comfortable to operate."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
InTheSouth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:August 14, 2014
Great Riding Mower
"We have about 1 1/2 acres of grass and this mower handles it well."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappyTrimmer
Location:Aiken, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:August 8, 2014
Goodbye Push Behinds...Hello Ride Ons!!!
"With the Sears store in town recently closing its doors, and not knowing how much longer they will be in business to honor a warranty, I decided on this Troy Bilt over Craftsman after carefully reviewing it.
Now I've owned a walk-behind self propelled Troy Bilt mower for seven years and have put it through the ringer and yet still manages to start and mow with gusto. So I figured, what the heck, I'll give this one a try.
With about half an acre to mow, my first impression what took me so long to get one of these? What used to be a 3 hour walking marathon (in the heat) has turned into a 45 minute leisurely ride. The first afternoon I had it I tore through the yard then tackled all the weeds at the back of the property. The machine cut it all down with no issues.
My opinion is this mower is well engineered and a quality built product. The engine offers more than enough power to mow through tall grass, at a respectable speed. And the built in safety feature, for reverse mowing, is appreciated since I have kids who may get too close while I'm mowing and may not be aware of their presence due to engine noise.
I highly recommend purchasing the optional bagger. The first use left tons of grass trimmings on my lawn. The bagger is a tremendous help as it allows easier management of trimmings, leaving behind a clean and well manicured lawn.
Overall I'm pleased and recommend this product for folks with a large lawn and who are sick of walking behind a mower.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Riverboy
Location:Rural Virginia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:June 5, 2014
Very good mower
"I was looking for a place to enter manufacturing improvements and ended up in reviews instead. My review would be that this is a very good mower except for the two changes I believe it needs."
-26points
2out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaveColley
Location:Oklahoma, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:June 2, 2014
Tackles my moderately rough terrain with ease
"I recently purchased this mower as a replacement to my Poulan Pro which died of engine failure. I have approx. 1 acre of grass to mow around the house which in parts is quite rough with a fair amount of weeds and tough grass in it. The Horse never broke a sweat as it cut through it all and as long as you are sensible and don't try to cut the thick long stuff down in one pass the motor won't even drop revs. Due to being unable to mow for almost a month my grass/weeds were about 6 inches tall but one pass at grass height 5 followed by one at height 2 brought the yard looking back to very tidy. So far I am highly satisfied with my lawn tractor and would recommend it to anyone."
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PrincessRedWing
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:June 1, 2014
Get the Horse XP Lawn Tractor For lawn horse power
"I have a rough lawn and it is hard to keep up with, very thick grass and my horse has not had a problem stepping up to the challenge."
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BobStoneSr
Location:Central City, KY, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2014
Horse 51" Rider
"I've had my horse 51" cut rider since 2009 and the biggest repair was a new drive belt, I have well over a acre to mow and my horse gets the job done in great shape."
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BobbyH
Location:Athens, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:May 24, 2014
troybuilt horse 48 inch riding mower
"Absolutely the WORST riding mower I've had ever. I had a Troy built 42 inch and loved it. So I decided to just get the larger mower. What a MISTAKE> hard to steer, especially if you are changing speed. 3 times in the shop the first year. Bad bed belts, a bad pulley, steering problem. Finally traded it for a zero turn, that was the best decision. Lost half my money, but worth it to get rid of it. The new owner didn't like it either and sold soon after. DON'T BUY THE HORSE, it's a dog."
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stan2091
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (115 Reviews)
Date:May 23, 2014
mowing
"This is a grass eating machine. Love it. I am really happy with this lawn mower."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>