Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Horse XP Lawn Tractor

46 Hydro Riding Lawn Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (166 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
49
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
6
85%133 of 156reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Review 21 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
davmel1
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:March 31, 2010
Riding mower
"This is a good product. It does the job and gets it done fast."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snow
Location:Williston, FL 32696, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:9
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:June 18, 2015
Steering Problems
"The overall performance of the machine is fine...however, from day one it has been extremely hard to steer, and is not good at going around corners. I do not understand why the steering is so tight....any suggestions?"
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yankeefan31569
Location:rensselaer,ny
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
wow is all i can say
"i bought my xp on june 10th i couldnt wait to jump on and mow my lawn, all i can say is wow.
why didnt i buy it last summer..my xp mower is a beast all my guy neighbors are approaching me surprised by how well it cuts and the engine is powerfull.
"
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HUNT04
Location:Headland, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:August 2, 2015
Poor Quality
"I have own the Horse XP for less than 3 cutting seasons. I cut about an acre to an acre and a half. I service my mower on a REAL regular basis. I have had a blown head gasket,the PTO worked on twice,the steering column worked on, and I have lost count at how many deck bearings I've replaced(no kidding) it has to be anywhere between 15 and 20.I feel fortunate if I get 2 cuttings before a bearing goes out. I've never run this mower fast. Its always slow to moderate.I also had the fuel system worked on#replacing fuel filter,fuel lines) because it kept spitting and sputtering. I use non-ethenol fuel. The only way to keep it running smooth is to keep fuel tank 3/4 to almost full. Very Dissappointed!!!!!"
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lawnmower
Location:Ky
Gender:Male
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:June 26, 2010
poorcut
"uneven cut put new blades on it still still cuts BAAAADDDD."
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BOSSC351
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:August 4, 2012
JUNK
"This mower is junk. Complete and total. The deck design is junk. The belt system is junk. The ignition child safety pain in the rear is junk. Buy something ELSE."
0points
28out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ddub
Location:Nebraska, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2014
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"I have never owned a riding lawn mower before so I have nothing to compare this one to. Things I like: It does start very easy, rides nice, travels at a nice speed, it does a very nice job of cutting the grass, it has a water hose connection to the deck so cleaning under the deck after one mows is easy. Things I don't like: the hand control for forward and reverse the hand control slips back towards Neutral if I don't keep ahold of it driving up hill, it could use a little more weight in the back, it brakes traction quit a bit, My wife is shorter than I am and to adjust the seat is not real easy and takes sometime, the only cup holder on this model is on the same side as the hand control and bumps into my coffee cup when I try to put it in reverse."
+1point
9out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrBridgewater
Location:Westville, IL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:October 21, 2015
Don't buy unless your yard is 100% flat and even
"I bought this mower this spring because it takes me 2 hours to push mow my yard. My yard has a few hills and slopes here and there. This mower doesn't have any torque what so ever. At the slightest grade it gets stuck, it literally gets stuck on mole hills. I have to sit and rock the thing back and forth and hope it'll move. I have a slight slope to my concrete drive way and this thing has trouble going up it. There goes the plans of putting a snow plow on it..... want to use a yard cart? Hope your yard is 100% flat and level otherwise you aren't going anywhere. I absolutely hate this mower and have only used it 5 times since I bought it. Completely disappointed with my purchase."
+2points
13out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kawasakibike
Location:Wyoming-Utah
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:October 5, 2015
Worked good!
"I used it for cleaning up some property, which had tall weeds and grass. It worked great for that. I didn't have any problems."
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doogiew
Location:Easton, MO 64443, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:June 28, 2015
Feature flaw
"The lack of a gear/speed control is very unhandy. Using the throttle control to control speed also decreases the rpm of the blades. Sometimes, (many times), I need to go slow for obstacles or depth of grass, terrain, etc and yet keep the rpm up. If I realized this when I examined the mower I would have moved on hoping to find a mower that does not have this "new feature". I last bought a Craftsman 6 yrs ago but bought at Lowes this time because I have an account there. Otherwise I like the mower overall. Durabililty?, let's wait and see longer than 3 weeks. Thanks R.W."
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sniperx4
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:August 4, 2013
Great Mower
"very happy with this mower. No issues, starts right up and cuts like a champ. Love it!"
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grampy
Location:Summerfield, Fl
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:July 25, 2012
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"Purchased 07-2012....Very satisfied after using a 42" for years.....Used three times so far and performance is great.....but I find it uses quite a bit of gas in the rabbit/cutting mode....but because of it's power I don't have to cut so often and the gas consumption probably evens out...So far I am totally pleased and not spending as much time cutting as before."
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BobbyH
Location:Athens, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:May 24, 2014
troybuilt horse 48 inch riding mower
"Absolutely the WORST riding mower I've had ever. I had a Troy built 42 inch and loved it. So I decided to just get the larger mower. What a MISTAKE> hard to steer, especially if you are changing speed. 3 times in the shop the first year. Bad bed belts, a bad pulley, steering problem. Finally traded it for a zero turn, that was the best decision. Lost half my money, but worth it to get rid of it. The new owner didn't like it either and sold soon after. DON'T BUY THE HORSE, it's a dog."
+3points
10out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mikejr
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:April 13, 2010
Good power
"Has good power and handling. I would buy this one again"
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChristopherRyan
Location:Chesapeake, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:September 19, 2015
Poor durability
"I was initially pleased with my purchase but I have only used this lawnmower 4 times and have already had to replace the battery and now I have to replace a tire. It appears that before it is a year old the price I have to pay for the mower will be doubled. Also, it is a shame that as I am in the navy I rely on products to last since I deploy for 6-12 months and my family has to live without me."
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bobh
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2012
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"Really like this tractor. Starts quikly and easily. the 22hp Koeler enginge runs great. It does a great job on the lawn. With the hydrostatic drive it and short turning radius it handles great. it a pleasure to mow the grass."
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
painterman
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:October 9, 2010
Long time
"Have had the Horse since 2001, love it. got 2.5 acres. Does the job. Can't wait for my next one. I don't know when that will be. This one keeps going and going."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coop
Location:Springfield,Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:10
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:April 22, 2010
EXCELLENT
"I have owned many lawn tractors before, but this so far is excellent. If it can out last my old wheel horse, than it is a keeper. I love all TROY-BILT products. Every piece of equipment I own is a TROY-BILT."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stan2091
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:May 23, 2014
mowing
"This is a grass eating machine. Love it. I am really happy with this lawn mower."
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Z0M8I3
Location:West Liberty. KY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (166 Reviews)
Date:May 7, 2011
Great!
"This is the first lawn tractor I've owned and couldn't be happier. The seat was a MAJOR selling point for me with a bad back and mowing for 4 - 6 hours. I love everything about this mower, It's simplicity and design are by far the best I've seen.
I've even had friends comment that I have the "Fast and Furious Mower on the block" because of the stylish hood."
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>