Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Horse XP Lawn Tractor

46 Hydro Riding Lawn Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (133 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
42
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
3
88%117 of 133reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Review 21 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ddub
Location:Nebraska, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2014
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"I have never owned a riding lawn mower before so I have nothing to compare this one to. Things I like: It does start very easy, rides nice, travels at a nice speed, it does a very nice job of cutting the grass, it has a water hose connection to the deck so cleaning under the deck after one mows is easy. Things I don't like: the hand control for forward and reverse the hand control slips back towards Neutral if I don't keep ahold of it driving up hill, it could use a little more weight in the back, it brakes traction quit a bit, My wife is shorter than I am and to adjust the seat is not real easy and takes sometime, the only cup holder on this model is on the same side as the hand control and bumps into my coffee cup when I try to put it in reverse."
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yankeefan31569
Location:rensselaer,ny
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
wow is all i can say
"i bought my xp on june 10th i couldnt wait to jump on and mow my lawn, all i can say is wow.
why didnt i buy it last summer..my xp mower is a beast all my guy neighbors are approaching me surprised by how well it cuts and the engine is powerfull.
"
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BOSSC351
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:August 4, 2012
JUNK
"This mower is junk. Complete and total. The deck design is junk. The belt system is junk. The ignition child safety pain in the rear is junk. Buy something ELSE."
0points
25out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BobbyH
Location:Athens, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:May 24, 2014
troybuilt horse 48 inch riding mower
"Absolutely the WORST riding mower I've had ever. I had a Troy built 42 inch and loved it. So I decided to just get the larger mower. What a MISTAKE> hard to steer, especially if you are changing speed. 3 times in the shop the first year. Bad bed belts, a bad pulley, steering problem. Finally traded it for a zero turn, that was the best decision. Lost half my money, but worth it to get rid of it. The new owner didn't like it either and sold soon after. DON'T BUY THE HORSE, it's a dog."
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grampy
Location:Summerfield, Fl
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:July 25, 2012
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"Purchased 07-2012....Very satisfied after using a 42" for years.....Used three times so far and performance is great.....but I find it uses quite a bit of gas in the rabbit/cutting mode....but because of it's power I don't have to cut so often and the gas consumption probably evens out...So far I am totally pleased and not spending as much time cutting as before."
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sniperx4
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:August 4, 2013
Great Mower
"very happy with this mower. No issues, starts right up and cuts like a champ. Love it!"
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bobh
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2012
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"Really like this tractor. Starts quikly and easily. the 22hp Koeler enginge runs great. It does a great job on the lawn. With the hydrostatic drive it and short turning radius it handles great. it a pleasure to mow the grass."
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
69z28
Location:Williams, IN 47470, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:August 17, 2013
Off the truck
"cut uneven, after adjusting mower deck it was ok. after mowing 8 times this summer the idler pulley on mower deck seized up. getting a new one next to impossible without sending off. the pulleys are cheaply made. don't think I will ever buy any box store mowers again."
+6points
14out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
davmel1
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:March 31, 2010
Riding mower
"This is a good product. It does the job and gets it done fast."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
painterman
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:October 9, 2010
Long time
"Have had the Horse since 2001, love it. got 2.5 acres. Does the job. Can't wait for my next one. I don't know when that will be. This one keeps going and going."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coop
Location:Springfield,Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:10
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:April 22, 2010
EXCELLENT
"I have owned many lawn tractors before, but this so far is excellent. If it can out last my old wheel horse, than it is a keeper. I love all TROY-BILT products. Every piece of equipment I own is a TROY-BILT."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Z0M8I3
Location:West Liberty. KY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:May 7, 2011
Great!
"This is the first lawn tractor I've owned and couldn't be happier. The seat was a MAJOR selling point for me with a bad back and mowing for 4 - 6 hours. I love everything about this mower, It's simplicity and design are by far the best I've seen.
I've even had friends comment that I have the "Fast and Furious Mower on the block" because of the stylish hood."
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeMc
Location:Yukon, OK
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:September 12, 2013
So Far, So Good
"I really like this mower overall. Great cut, comfortable ride, ease of use etc. My only two complaints are the gas tank is too small and its location under the hood allows dirt and stray grass cuttings to get up and around the filler cap. You have to be very careful to clean around it between each fill up or debris may get into the tank. My second issue is on the slightest grade the engine tends to cut out.......not sure if this is due to the lack of a fuel pump or if the seat sensor is overly sensitive. To mow along the ditch in front of my house I have to drive so that I'm going up and down the slope instead of sideways like I could on my old mower (its not a steep slope). Other than these issues I'm fine with the unit overall."
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PrincessRedWing
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:June 1, 2014
Get the Horse XP Lawn Tractor For lawn horse power
"I have a rough lawn and it is hard to keep up with, very thick grass and my horse has not had a problem stepping up to the challenge."
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kplanner
Location:Kentucky
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:March 21, 2012
Good, but busy Lawn Mower
"I have only used this mower for 2 mowings, I have a very steep front yard (8-12% grade) and this mower works okay on a hillside. I find that the hydrostatic shifter requires you to have a hand on it all just about all times when you're on a hill, b/c you'll be constantly slowing yourself while going down and pushing the lever up to speed up when going up the hill. My backyard is flat and this lawnmower is perfect for that, you can set your speed and just go. It mows well, albeit a bit loud. If you have hills and a lot of tree's, go with a zero turn or at the very least set speed lawnmower, unless you like mowing with one hand. I gave it 4 stars b/c it is a good mower, but the hydrostatic transmission has a pretty good learning curve to get used to."
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brezzi
Location:Ashland City, Tennessee
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:September 20, 2012
Excellent purchase
"Bought this to replace an older rider. I have really been surprised at how well this mower performs overall. from the handy cup holder to how well it maneuvers on our small 1 acre lot. Great buy!!!"
+19points
32out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hs0021
Location:North Kingstown, RI
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"Received from Lowes started right up, controls work relatively smooth turning radius for a big tractor is very good, had a little issue with the right side scalping but fixed it by adjusting the deck wheels bought the mulching kit blades work well but the plug doesn't lot of grass come through, the top of the mower deck is a little difficult to clean the hose connection for underneath works good, so far I like it. I will be purchasing the plow blade hopefully it will be good"
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kleanride
Location:Elk River, MN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:April 23, 2012
WOW! HP to spare!
"Having limited (not 'none') experience with tractors, I can easily say this is the route to take! I read all the reviews (for this and many other riders) and found that, pound for pound, this was the most bang for the buck. 22HP Kohler is one of the most liked engines available. I have only had this rider for 2 or 3 days and have hauled logs and wood in the trailer, and cut at least 1 acre of grass and so far, so good. For peace of mind, I did buy the extended warrenty as I plan on having this rider for some time. The hydrostatic transmission DOES take getting use to - my last rider was a regular transmission - so I managed to 'kill' this one on the first few tries. Overall, I was making it much harder then it had to be, and after 1 day I was an ol' pro! Highly recommend this one - my friends and family are wildly jealous! ;)"
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mduncan123
Location:Monticello, AR 71655, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2014
Made my job easy
"We have about a 2 acre yard. This mower made it a much easier job."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mikejr
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (133 Reviews)
Date:April 13, 2010
Good power
"Has good power and handling. I would buy this one again"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>