Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Horse XP Lawn Tractor

46 Hydro Riding Lawn Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.218 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
2
88%89 of 101reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Review 21 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bobh
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2012
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"Really like this tractor. Starts quikly and easily. the 22hp Koeler enginge runs great. It does a great job on the lawn. With the hydrostatic drive it and short turning radius it handles great. it a pleasure to mow the grass."
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tobby100000
Location:midwest Illinois
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:April 16, 2012
mower to do the job
"This mower does a great job and makes easy work of the mowing, the hydro is great and makes reverse much easier, The mower is durable, but headlights mount pretty cheap, mine fell out first time mowing. Love the deck wash ease."
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
burd50
Location:NC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:May 31, 2011
So far, so good
"Just bought this mower and have used it one time. So far it's been a great mower, I've had no problems and am very happy with the purchase. I love the hydrostatic transmission and deck wash system that's built in. It has plenty of power and I also like the ability to mow in reverse by simply turning the key to reverse mode and pushing a yellow button. The 46 inch deck also makes quick work of my half acre lot, saving valuable time. The only negative thing I can see right now is that it seems to throw a lot of debris long distances. Other than that I'm a very happy customer right now. Great product."
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brezzi
Location:Ashland City, Tennessee
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:September 20, 2012
Excellent purchase
"Bought this to replace an older rider. I have really been surprised at how well this mower performs overall. from the handy cup holder to how well it maneuvers on our small 1 acre lot. Great buy!!!"
+20points
31out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stan2091
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:May 23, 2014
mowing
"This is a grass eating machine. Love it. I am really happy with this lawn mower."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nate
Location:Heflin, Alabama
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:May 10, 2011
Great Buy
"I chose this mower over many and couldn't be happier. Cut uneven at first, but with a quick adjustment, problem fixed. Cuts fast and drives smooth."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mowerman2
Location:Akron, Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:3
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2011
Like this Mower
"I bought this mower last fall to replace an old White tractor mower that I had for several years I bought used. I liked this new one, however, today I took it out of storage from last fall and it started once and now the battery is dead. Expected the battery to last longer than 10 hrs. Otherwise, it works great."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sniperx4
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:August 4, 2013
Great Mower
"very happy with this mower. No issues, starts right up and cuts like a champ. Love it!"
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BKelley
Location:Medicine Park, Oklahoma
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:July 5, 2012
Highly recomended
"Bought my Horse XP Lawn Tractor back in April 2012 I have mowed my 1 acre lot 6 or 7 times since then and let me say it has been a real pleasure! Love the hydrostatic transmission, it's a real gem. The deck wash system is great, easy to keep the deck clean. I would highly recommend this purchase."
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kevin16
Location:Pooler, GA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:April 17, 2012
Very nice mower
"I have driven alot of mowers before i decided to get this one. I was going with a zero turn but decided to wait awhile and got this one and i am very happy with it. It has more power and cuts better than other mowers similar to it. I recommend this mower to anyone."
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Countrygirl
Location:St. Louis area
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:April 21, 2010
Great mower
"Glad I had reconsidered and upgraded to the horse. I initially thought I wouldn't need to mow in reverse, but with the crazy layout of my lawn it comes in handy. The only problem I have is my legs are barely long enough to engage the brake completely in order to set the parking brake, even with seat all the way forward."
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
susan
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:July 26, 2012
Good choice
"I shopped around for quite a while. I've been using this mower for two years. It's a tough machine. I cut 4 acres and occasionally use it to pull a 4 x 8 trailer that I use to haul limbs and debris. It's a little difficult for me to start because I'm short. To fully depress the park brake I have to move to the front edge of the seat, which causes it to come up in the back and trigger the safety kill switch. Otherwise I am extremely pleased with my choice."
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soolice
Location:Tullahoma, TN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:May 11, 2012
Uneven cutting
"Literally an half an hour after having my Horse XP delivered I was mowing and hit a high spot in the lawn... The right blade (if i remember right) dug into the soil and stopped rotating creating a tension on the drive belt sheering the pully and bending the pully support. It was my mistake, so I sucked it up, dropped the deck and bought and installed a new pully. However, I couldn't bend the support back to the original specs (and haven't bought a replacement yet) so I've been leaving uneven streaks through my yard everytime I mow... It was my fault, but I was surprized that the damage was so easily incurred, and frustrated that my new mower needed to be worked on so soon."
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kleanride
Location:Elk River, MN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:April 23, 2012
WOW! HP to spare!
"Having limited (not 'none') experience with tractors, I can easily say this is the route to take! I read all the reviews (for this and many other riders) and found that, pound for pound, this was the most bang for the buck. 22HP Kohler is one of the most liked engines available. I have only had this rider for 2 or 3 days and have hauled logs and wood in the trailer, and cut at least 1 acre of grass and so far, so good. For peace of mind, I did buy the extended warrenty as I plan on having this rider for some time. The hydrostatic transmission DOES take getting use to - my last rider was a regular transmission - so I managed to 'kill' this one on the first few tries. Overall, I was making it much harder then it had to be, and after 1 day I was an ol' pro! Highly recommend this one - my friends and family are wildly jealous! ;)"
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MEEE1
Location:Salem, AL
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:May 19, 2011
Horse
"we bought our horse several years ago; although it has been to the shop a couple of times it is well worth the money. It has been used for just about every thing, even towing our garden cart. We have approx 5 grassy acres with hills, valleys and slopes. Handles well on on all. Cuts the pasture as well as it cuts around the pool. We bought the bagger attachement to pick up leaves in the fall and winter, then just dump the leaves into our chipper shredder for mulch. Let's put a bucket on it... Love it!"
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
michaelman
Location:Ripley, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:March 24, 2013
Best for the $$$$$
"When you compare features and other models to the horse, well the horse stands alone on price and features. all steel for one thing, good turning radius,built good, NO plastic!!! just wish the hydrostatic drive was foot pedel instead of lever but not that big of a deal. Cuts fast, comfortable. my first koler engine! ive owned several briggs and made a point to get briggs, so well see on the koler.... good cut, spreads grass like a cub cadet."
+18points
25out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cutup
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:May 12, 2011
general products
"I have had Troy equiptment since 1973 <Troy Horse And Poney tillers>.I have the rideing lawn mower now .Have used it for a year love the way it cuts .Would and have recomended it to friends.
Cutup"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
painterman
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:October 9, 2010
Long time
"Have had the Horse since 2001, love it. got 2.5 acres. Does the job. Can't wait for my next one. I don't know when that will be. This one keeps going and going."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coop
Location:Springfield,Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:10
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:April 22, 2010
EXCELLENT
"I have owned many lawn tractors before, but this so far is excellent. If it can out last my old wheel horse, than it is a keeper. I love all TROY-BILT products. Every piece of equipment I own is a TROY-BILT."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
XsmokeyBear
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (101 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2012
Great Mower
"I read several reviews before I decided to purchase the XP Horse. I have used several mowers over the last 50 years and this one is right up there with the high dollar ones. So far it has done everything with ease and no problems. Plenty of power for a lawn tractor."
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>