Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Horse XP Lawn Tractor

46 Hydro Riding Lawn Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.265 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (147 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
46
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
4
86%127 of 147reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Review 21 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crazyman45
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2015
Lawn Mower
"Bought the xp horse riding mower it is a great machine"
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ranger838
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:April 14, 2010
Great Tractor
"tough steel, easy to use, cuts anything, economical"
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
davmel1
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:March 31, 2010
Riding mower
"This is a good product. It does the job and gets it done fast."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HUNT04
Location:Headland, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:August 2, 2015
Poor Quality
"I have own the Horse XP for less than 3 cutting seasons. I cut about an acre to an acre and a half. I service my mower on a REAL regular basis. I have had a blown head gasket,the PTO worked on twice,the steering column worked on, and I have lost count at how many deck bearings I've replaced(no kidding) it has to be anywhere between 15 and 20.I feel fortunate if I get 2 cuttings before a bearing goes out. I've never run this mower fast. Its always slow to moderate.I also had the fuel system worked on#replacing fuel filter,fuel lines) because it kept spitting and sputtering. I use non-ethenol fuel. The only way to keep it running smooth is to keep fuel tank 3/4 to almost full. Very Dissappointed!!!!!"
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yankeefan31569
Location:rensselaer,ny
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
wow is all i can say
"i bought my xp on june 10th i couldnt wait to jump on and mow my lawn, all i can say is wow.
why didnt i buy it last summer..my xp mower is a beast all my guy neighbors are approaching me surprised by how well it cuts and the engine is powerfull.
"
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BOSSC351
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:August 4, 2012
JUNK
"This mower is junk. Complete and total. The deck design is junk. The belt system is junk. The ignition child safety pain in the rear is junk. Buy something ELSE."
+1point
27out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ddub
Location:Nebraska, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2014
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"I have never owned a riding lawn mower before so I have nothing to compare this one to. Things I like: It does start very easy, rides nice, travels at a nice speed, it does a very nice job of cutting the grass, it has a water hose connection to the deck so cleaning under the deck after one mows is easy. Things I don't like: the hand control for forward and reverse the hand control slips back towards Neutral if I don't keep ahold of it driving up hill, it could use a little more weight in the back, it brakes traction quit a bit, My wife is shorter than I am and to adjust the seat is not real easy and takes sometime, the only cup holder on this model is on the same side as the hand control and bumps into my coffee cup when I try to put it in reverse."
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BobbyH
Location:Athens, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:May 24, 2014
troybuilt horse 48 inch riding mower
"Absolutely the WORST riding mower I've had ever. I had a Troy built 42 inch and loved it. So I decided to just get the larger mower. What a MISTAKE> hard to steer, especially if you are changing speed. 3 times in the shop the first year. Bad bed belts, a bad pulley, steering problem. Finally traded it for a zero turn, that was the best decision. Lost half my money, but worth it to get rid of it. The new owner didn't like it either and sold soon after. DON'T BUY THE HORSE, it's a dog."
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sniperx4
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:August 4, 2013
Great Mower
"very happy with this mower. No issues, starts right up and cuts like a champ. Love it!"
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grampy
Location:Summerfield, Fl
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:July 25, 2012
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"Purchased 07-2012....Very satisfied after using a 42" for years.....Used three times so far and performance is great.....but I find it uses quite a bit of gas in the rabbit/cutting mode....but because of it's power I don't have to cut so often and the gas consumption probably evens out...So far I am totally pleased and not spending as much time cutting as before."
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mikejr
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:April 13, 2010
Good power
"Has good power and handling. I would buy this one again"
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doogiew
Location:Easton, MO 64443, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:June 28, 2015
Feature flaw
"The lack of a gear/speed control is very unhandy. Using the throttle control to control speed also decreases the rpm of the blades. Sometimes, (many times), I need to go slow for obstacles or depth of grass, terrain, etc and yet keep the rpm up. If I realized this when I examined the mower I would have moved on hoping to find a mower that does not have this "new feature". I last bought a Craftsman 6 yrs ago but bought at Lowes this time because I have an account there. Otherwise I like the mower overall. Durabililty?, let's wait and see longer than 3 weeks. Thanks R.W."
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bobh
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2012
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"Really like this tractor. Starts quikly and easily. the 22hp Koeler enginge runs great. It does a great job on the lawn. With the hydrostatic drive it and short turning radius it handles great. it a pleasure to mow the grass."
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
69z28
Location:Williams, IN 47470, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:August 17, 2013
Off the truck
"cut uneven, after adjusting mower deck it was ok. after mowing 8 times this summer the idler pulley on mower deck seized up. getting a new one next to impossible without sending off. the pulleys are cheaply made. don't think I will ever buy any box store mowers again."
+7points
15out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
painterman
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:October 9, 2010
Long time
"Have had the Horse since 2001, love it. got 2.5 acres. Does the job. Can't wait for my next one. I don't know when that will be. This one keeps going and going."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coop
Location:Springfield,Ohio
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:10
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:April 22, 2010
EXCELLENT
"I have owned many lawn tractors before, but this so far is excellent. If it can out last my old wheel horse, than it is a keeper. I love all TROY-BILT products. Every piece of equipment I own is a TROY-BILT."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stan2091
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:May 23, 2014
mowing
"This is a grass eating machine. Love it. I am really happy with this lawn mower."
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Z0M8I3
Location:West Liberty. KY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:May 7, 2011
Great!
"This is the first lawn tractor I've owned and couldn't be happier. The seat was a MAJOR selling point for me with a bad back and mowing for 4 - 6 hours. I love everything about this mower, It's simplicity and design are by far the best I've seen.
I've even had friends comment that I have the "Fast and Furious Mower on the block" because of the stylish hood."
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PrincessRedWing
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:June 1, 2014
Get the Horse XP Lawn Tractor For lawn horse power
"I have a rough lawn and it is hard to keep up with, very thick grass and my horse has not had a problem stepping up to the challenge."
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tovar
Location:Montgomery, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (147 Reviews)
Date:May 29, 2015
Extremely Pleased
"I have had my Horse XP mower for over three years and have never had a single problem. The 22 HP engine is more than enough power to cut through the tough St Augustine grass on my 1.5 acres. Much better performer than its predecessor."
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>