Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Horse XP Lawn Tractor

46 Hydro Riding Lawn Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.282 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (124 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
41
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
2
89%110 of 124reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
harley1964
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:November 13, 2014
Very Surprised
"This is my first riding lawnmower and there is NOTHING it cannot do. I do not have a level 1 acre and it handles the grades perfectly. I would like an accelerator pedal to control speed but other than that I am totally impressed."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hopalong
Location:Shepherd, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:October 30, 2014
better than my last one
"Cuts great and easy to use. So far I am extremely happy with my purchase. Only negative is that I wish the gas tank was easier to access."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jhindo123
Location:Buffalo ny
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:October 30, 2014
rider troybuilt
"Nice smothered ride except cutting smothered running machine"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ddub
Location:Nebraska, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2014
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"I have never owned a riding lawn mower before so I have nothing to compare this one to. Things I like: It does start very easy, rides nice, travels at a nice speed, it does a very nice job of cutting the grass, it has a water hose connection to the deck so cleaning under the deck after one mows is easy. Things I don't like: the hand control for forward and reverse the hand control slips back towards Neutral if I don't keep ahold of it driving up hill, it could use a little more weight in the back, it brakes traction quit a bit, My wife is shorter than I am and to adjust the seat is not real easy and takes sometime, the only cup holder on this model is on the same side as the hand control and bumps into my coffee cup when I try to put it in reverse."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BubbaT
Location:Iowa, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:October 28, 2014
I have a Horse XP
"I purchased a Horse several months ago and have had no problems and enjoy using as often as I can.
I would recommend it to anyone that ask me about it, especially my friends and family.
I wished I had got it years ago.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Sambo66
Location:Middleburg, PA 17842, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2014
Great tractor
"Really happy with this tractor. Great power! Only drawback I have found is I wish there was more deck settings, 5 is too high 4 too low for my yard. Other than that it mows overs 2 1/2 acres with ease."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luther
Location:Athens, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:October 21, 2014
Troy Built Lawn Tractor
"Was a very good purchase and has been a very reliable mower."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jj420
Location:Colorado, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:October 12, 2014
good price, great riding mower...
"it has been a really great riding mower, I have no complaints with it yet..."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TexanHP
Location:Texarkana, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:September 20, 2014
Very Satisfied
"I have been very satisfied with the mower. Easy to operate and does an excellent job of cutting the lawn. Close turning ratio and plenty of power."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrStu
Location:Lakeland, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2014
good mower
"Over all this is a well built and good performing mower. The only thing that I do not like are the cheesy head lamp sockets. They are poorly made and are not sealed. I like to hose down my mower after every use to keep it clean, but if you want to clean the motor and under the hood you will blow your head lamp bulbs if they are on or still hot."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BillA
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:September 9, 2014
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"Great little tractor could use a little more speed."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryMak
Location:Swanton, OH 43558, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:September 7, 2014
husband loves it
"My husband cuts the grass most of the time but with the ease and ability of this mower I can do it too! There was an issue with a belt that kept breaking but we took it to the repair shop and it was fixed in less than a week! (Anderson's you rock!) There was no charge for the repair. We are total fans of Troy-Bilt...we have a walk behind mower, leaf blower, trimmer and gas-powered chainsaw. I'm sure another Troy-Bilt purchase is right around the corner!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sully1297
Location:Shelbyville, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:September 5, 2014
Troy built lawn tractor
"I purchased my mower about 3 years ago. I bought a troy built because I had a push mower and still do that has started on the 1st pull everytime even after sitting all winter. The Riding mower has proved to be equal to the quality and dependability of the push mower. Even though I have had to exceed the designed function by mowing a small pasture it has held up great other than 1 belt broken by a stick stuck up in side(my fault) and yearly tune up it has run great and started on the first try."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beverly1975
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:10
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2014
One of the best products.
"We've owned a number of lawn tractors over the years and not one has preformed the job this one has done. We have 37 acers and with this bad boy the job gets done. I must say it has held its end up. This one is out-performing them all. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a lawn tractor."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mduncan123
Location:Monticello, AR 71655, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2014
Made my job easy
"We have about a 2 acre yard. This mower made it a much easier job."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RIDDICK
Location:Beaver Falls, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:August 31, 2014
another TROY BILT added to my collection
"So far impressed. If it works half as good as all my other troy bilt products. and i have no doubt that it will. then im sure i will be happy with my new addition !!!"
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sgent68
Location:Alabama, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2014
So far so good
"Powerful mower. No problems as of yet. I have attached the bagging accessory which is adequate."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wilky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:August 26, 2014
First Lawn Tractor
"Bought our first house. It has 0.7 acres. I had been push mowing it for over a year. Having a limited budget I got the Horse XP 46" hydrstatic drive. It is my first riding mower. After my research I knew I wanted the hydro drive. Being an engineer, I have several complaints about the mower. I went through the entire manual and checked everything before firing it up the first time. This is important because the assembly folks at Lowes are not concerned with doing it right, just doing it fast. I found several items not properly lubricated (every grease fitting was dry), battery terminals were loose, and the deck was not level front to back or side to side. I am 6 foot 3 so I also feel very cramped on the mower due to little seat adjustment. The biggest concern I have is that I keep the deck setting on the highest level (5). My yard stays greener being a little on the long side, but the adjustment holes for the mower deck front rollers are not close enough to the ground on their lowest setting to provide support for the front of the deck. This causes the deck to bounce and occassionally bottom out creating bare spots in my yard. The tabs to bolt the rollers to are welded to the deck so the easy solution would be to have larger diameter rollers. An hours of operation meter would be very helpful as well to determine when to do the periodic maintenance."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jimd
Location:Georgia
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2014
Too soon to fairly rate
"Seems like a good tractor. I had some problems but mostly due to an unseen obstruction under the mower. Support was very good and if I needed to send it in for repair they were willing to include the cost of pickup. I hope the problem is resolved but next couple of mowings will tell. This mower has a very good turning radius but I wish it could backup easier, Instructions says it can but I haven't been able to do it yet.
I like Troy Bilt products especially since they still manufactured in USA ."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hunterstanford
Location:Weatherford, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (124 Reviews)
Date:August 21, 2014
amazing mower
"this mower is amazing stronger than most mowers that i sold."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>