Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Horse XP Lawn Tractor

46 Hydro Riding Lawn Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (132 reviews)
5 stars
70
4 stars
42
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
3
88%116 of 132reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grey1
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:May 14, 2015
I like it
"It cuts well. It has enough power to climb hills.
I like the larger rear tires.
I like the front wheels on the blade housing.
I can't believe there is no 12volt utility plug.
I don't know about durability as I just bought it this summer.
"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mynameismike
Location:Houston Texas
Gender:Male
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:May 10, 2015
like my horse
"I bought this mower because we wanted the left side hand control lever for the hydrostatic drive. We are very pleased with the smooth constant drive speeds and easy transition from fwd. to rev. The speed control is so precise that we only use the brake pedal to start the engine. This mower cuts very smooth and seems to be a product we will be happy with for several years."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Airhorn
Location:Catlett, VA 20119, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:May 10, 2015
Not a good purchase
"I brought my Troy Bilt xp Horse from my local Lowe's in 4/25/2013 and during my1st year of use I had to replace the valve cover gasket 2nd year had to replaced all bearings in both spindles and now I am having to replace belt tension pulley and blades. The mower itself was manufactured in 03/2013 which was a month before I bought it. I'm very disappointed with my Horse. I am not rough on my equipment and do not mow rough ground. I don't think all this should be happening so soon. This is 22 hp Kohler Courage 46 in cut"
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
john0913
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:May 3, 2015
good but needs work
"overall it is a nice mower, however having speed control drop back to near neutral when you use the brake is annoying, thr mower seams to freewheel on downgrade, and the seat spring is to strong a slight weight shift when applying brake causes the switch to interrupt the ignition."
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tennisist
Location:Michigan, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:December 18, 2014
Happy with this Tractor
"After 6 times of use belt was shattered and destroyed. I call Lowe’s for warranty repair and was asked to bring tractor to the repair center 5 miles away from my house. I don’t have trailer and didn’t want to rent one and go through hassle of delivering and pick up my tractor; I called “TROY-BILT” and had a very pleasant conversation with parts/repair representative. Before calling “TROY-BILT”, I have had tractor inspected and determine that deck wasn’t assembled and installed (at Low’s) correctly and improper installation and alignment of deck caused damage to the belt. “TROY-BILT” representative shipped to me all parts at no charge; I had deck removed and reinstalled the way it supposed to be mounted and alignment. Now I can cut grass in three (3) different positions of the deck, it became quieter, and grass looks like cut with scissors."
+35points
37out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JOEBILL
Location:South Carolina, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:December 12, 2014
WHAT I THINK ABOUT YOUR MOWER
"I've been mowing the lawn since I was 10 years old, now 74. I've worn out several dozen mowers taking care of our yards in MO, TN, FLA, GA, KY. and SC. In all kinds of grass and weather. In the fall, leaves have to be mulched while spreading lime and aerating the soil.
From our local Lowe's I purchased the Troy-Bilt Horse. I am delighted with the performance of my mower.
The engine is quick starting, powerful and adequately mufflered away from the seat. This engine power is responsive without faltering. With the hood raised Fueling and Oil checking is easy and available. The air filter is large and readily accessible for cleaning after use in dusty conditions.
The duel blades cut precisely and mulch with authority. The use of two blades giving a forty-six inch cut not only provides a higher blade tip speed but simplifies maintenance sharpening and balancing.
The high-back seat is unusually comfortable. A much appreciated feature of this mower is the ease of use functions for engine speed, blade engagement, mower height, and unlimited attack speed. Steering sensitivity with turning almost on itself provides confident control.
Cleaning the external body as well as engine compartment is easily done with a leaf blower and a water hose. Much emphasis has been provided in the safety systems. From the interrelated ignition switch, direction movement control, parking break and operating seat sensitivity. This is the finest collection of mower features machined into an extraordinarily beneficial mowing machine."
+28points
33out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Becky
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:December 4, 2014
Troy-bilt Horse Riding Mower
"I have had the Troy-Bilt Horse mower for nearly 6 months and have been very pleased with its performance. Like the walk-behind Troy-Bilt mower that I have the performance has been dependable. The mower handles very easily, with a good turning radius. I would like a little more power for going up hills, but always get where I am going, although a little slower."
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OleJoe
Location:Huron County, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:November 30, 2014
46" Horse Hydro Mower
"First thing after closing on my first home, I purchased a Troy-Bilt tiller, going strong after 24 years! Buying5 acres and building my dream home I bought a Troy-Bilt riding mower working it hard for 12 years until the transmission went. I then researched for other riding mowers and decided to purchase the 46" Hydro Riding Lawn Mower Tractor. It cuts wider than my old 46", more responsive to overall operations: cutting grass, pulling a wagon full of dirt, stones and rocks and pulling a spike aerator with a hunk of heavy train rale to dig into the turf. I have even tied an old steel/spring matteress frame to regrade the driveway. This machine is truly a workhorse and fun to drive. I highly recommend this to anyone."
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
harley1964
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:November 13, 2014
Very Surprised
"This is my first riding lawnmower and there is NOTHING it cannot do. I do not have a level 1 acre and it handles the grades perfectly. I would like an accelerator pedal to control speed but other than that I am totally impressed."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hopalong
Location:Shepherd, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:October 30, 2014
better than my last one
"Cuts great and easy to use. So far I am extremely happy with my purchase. Only negative is that I wish the gas tank was easier to access."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jhindo123
Location:Buffalo ny
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:October 30, 2014
rider troybuilt
"Nice smothered ride except cutting smothered running machine"
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ddub
Location:Nebraska, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2014
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"I have never owned a riding lawn mower before so I have nothing to compare this one to. Things I like: It does start very easy, rides nice, travels at a nice speed, it does a very nice job of cutting the grass, it has a water hose connection to the deck so cleaning under the deck after one mows is easy. Things I don't like: the hand control for forward and reverse the hand control slips back towards Neutral if I don't keep ahold of it driving up hill, it could use a little more weight in the back, it brakes traction quit a bit, My wife is shorter than I am and to adjust the seat is not real easy and takes sometime, the only cup holder on this model is on the same side as the hand control and bumps into my coffee cup when I try to put it in reverse."
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BubbaT
Location:Iowa, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:October 28, 2014
I have a Horse XP
"I purchased a Horse several months ago and have had no problems and enjoy using as often as I can.
I would recommend it to anyone that ask me about it, especially my friends and family.
I wished I had got it years ago.
"
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Sambo66
Location:Middleburg, PA 17842, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:October 23, 2014
Great tractor
"Really happy with this tractor. Great power! Only drawback I have found is I wish there was more deck settings, 5 is too high 4 too low for my yard. Other than that it mows overs 2 1/2 acres with ease."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luther
Location:Athens, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:October 21, 2014
Troy Built Lawn Tractor
"Was a very good purchase and has been a very reliable mower."
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jj420
Location:Colorado, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:October 12, 2014
good price, great riding mower...
"it has been a really great riding mower, I have no complaints with it yet..."
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TexanHP
Location:Texarkana, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:September 20, 2014
Very Satisfied
"I have been very satisfied with the mower. Easy to operate and does an excellent job of cutting the lawn. Close turning ratio and plenty of power."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrStu
Location:Lakeland, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:September 11, 2014
good mower
"Over all this is a well built and good performing mower. The only thing that I do not like are the cheesy head lamp sockets. They are poorly made and are not sealed. I like to hose down my mower after every use to keep it clean, but if you want to clean the motor and under the hood you will blow your head lamp bulbs if they are on or still hot."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BillA
Location:Ohio, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:September 9, 2014
Horse XP Lawn Tractor
"Great little tractor could use a little more speed."
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryMak
Location:Swanton, OH 43558, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (132 Reviews)
Date:September 7, 2014
husband loves it
"My husband cuts the grass most of the time but with the ease and ability of this mower I can do it too! There was an issue with a belt that kept breaking but we took it to the repair shop and it was fixed in less than a week! (Anderson's you rock!) There was no charge for the repair. We are total fans of Troy-Bilt...we have a walk behind mower, leaf blower, trimmer and gas-powered chainsaw. I'm sure another Troy-Bilt purchase is right around the corner!"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>