Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Troybilt Horse XP Lawn Tractor

46 Hydro Riding Lawn Mower Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.241 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (162 reviews)
5 stars
86
4 stars
49
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
5
85%133 of 156reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
danb
Location:South Carolina, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2016
So far so good
"So far the mower has performed exceptionally well. I am very satisfied with it."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bob14
Location:Lexington, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:April 28, 2016
Satisfied owner
"I have only used this mower 4 times and so far been very satisfied with the preformance. I have to set the cut depth lower than on my other mowers but cuts good. The speed control is different than on any of the other mowers, but I will get used to this. So far so good."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kino
Location:Watertown, TN 37184, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:April 27, 2016
STEERING
"NOT EVEN A YEAR OLD AND IT LOOKS LICK I HAVE TO REPLACE THE STEERING GEARS TRYING TO TURN IS SO HARD I REGRET BUYING IT NOW."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bigdave1
Location:Ernul, NC 28527, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:April 14, 2016
Excellent lawn mower
"I had to replace my previous Troy-bilt riding lawn mower and since I love your products I bought another one - The speed control on this one takes a little time to get use to, but I think I will like this system. Very good product."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bubba61
Location:Austin, AR, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:April 7, 2016
Outstanding
"Power, power, power, and did I say POWER? This machine performs! Have used it to pull lawn tools like sweepers and aerators. No problems"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
briggsie
Location:Cedar Rapids, IA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:March 24, 2016
Solid Mower
"Going into my 3rd season with this "Horse" Troy-built riding mower. We have appox 3/4 acre and it has some serious hills. Backyard is U shaped, sides not that steep though...more like 15 degrees on either side of the valley. This mower has tackled it every time, no problem. I worry about it lasting as hard as I have used it going up and down these hills and riding it sideways. But it runs like a champ. Time will tell but I've been very happy with this mower, owned another MTD, 42" rider with a briggsie 18 HP, ran for 18 years and was still running when I sold it. Not sure why some people in here saying their mower can't tackle hills? They must be doing something wrong, this puppy has plenty of power. Maybe they need to disengage the blade, although even that shouldn't matter. Surprised to see bad reveiews in here, my experience has been very good with this product."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hammerhead
Location:pa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:October 29, 2015
Tough choice made easy
"I have a larger 2ac lot to mow. I considered a zero turn but really couldn't see spending so much on a single use machine, even if they built their reputation on speed.
I purchased a "HORSE" riding mower/tractor and could not be happier with the purchase. It is fast, has a wide cut, and has plenty of power.
It is also a hydrostatic and is very easy to run.
I would absolutely recommend this machine."
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrBridgewater
Location:Westville, IL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:5
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:October 21, 2015
Don't buy unless your yard is 100% flat and even
"I bought this mower this spring because it takes me 2 hours to push mow my yard. My yard has a few hills and slopes here and there. This mower doesn't have any torque what so ever. At the slightest grade it gets stuck, it literally gets stuck on mole hills. I have to sit and rock the thing back and forth and hope it'll move. I have a slight slope to my concrete drive way and this thing has trouble going up it. There goes the plans of putting a snow plow on it..... want to use a yard cart? Hope your yard is 100% flat and level otherwise you aren't going anywhere. I absolutely hate this mower and have only used it 5 times since I bought it. Completely disappointed with my purchase."
+2points
12out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kawasakibike
Location:Wyoming-Utah
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:October 5, 2015
Worked good!
"I used it for cleaning up some property, which had tall weeds and grass. It worked great for that. I didn't have any problems."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChristopherRyan
Location:Chesapeake, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:September 19, 2015
Poor durability
"I was initially pleased with my purchase but I have only used this lawnmower 4 times and have already had to replace the battery and now I have to replace a tire. It appears that before it is a year old the price I have to pay for the mower will be doubled. Also, it is a shame that as I am in the navy I rely on products to last since I deploy for 6-12 months and my family has to live without me."
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VonValvoline
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:September 15, 2015
A Billygoat of a mower
"The reason I bought this was because bad knees couldn't operate foot pedals this machine you don't have to push any petals I've always loved Kohler engines they start easy and run hard I've got a lot of sweetgum trees on my acres and was ruining blades weekly on my old mower which still runs fine by the way but with this new machine I haven't hit a root due to the wheels on the mower deck only problem I've had changing directions to fast you'll pop the belt mower turns on a dime compared to my old one excellent price for what you get looks as tuff as it is"
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mell
Location:Tennessee, USA
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:September 10, 2015
Troy Bilt Horse
"This machine IS a work horse. I bought it to replace a smaller mower and in using it the first time I was pleasantly surprised. I have had it for two months now and am completely happy with it. I have hilly terrain and it works excellently for me. It takes those hills no problem - and also does not bog down when cutting thick/dense grass. It is so easy to drive and so easy to use. The price was also a big issue for me when searching for the right mower.... and I found the price for this TroyBilt very reasonable for the machine you are getting. The lawn tractor also looks good too. I am thrilled to have found this lawn tractor and would recommend it to anyone."
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Bossman256
Location:Dayton, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:September 8, 2015
Troy-Built XP review
"lacks sufficient power to go up small hills. Belts stretch easily, and ordering parts takes 8-10 days to receive, so your down time can be a problem. Does start everytime. you just have to stop to put deck belt back on to continue to mow. if you have a very flat lawn, dont need much pulling power and can wait two weeks to get parts orders this is your tractor, price is reasonable, but tractor isnt"
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
charliet704
Location:Dover, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:September 4, 2015
troy bilt horse tractor
"so far the troy bilt horse tractor has been a great mower ,I haven't had any problems ."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oldman71
Location:Pass Christian, MS, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:September 3, 2015
Nice Lawn Mower. I have a horse.
"Good riding lawn mower. I like hydrostatic transmission. Maneuvering is easy. Creep forward or backward real slow or can go plenty fast. Tight turns and can cut forward and backwards. I can't say how durable it is cause it's only been a few weeks so far. Past experience with Troy-Bilt tends to make me think it'll last a long time. I was concerned about a noise it makes when it's shut down. A clank clank clank clank type thing. I took it to the authorized dealer and he said it was normal. Anyone else have this?"
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OzziesPapa51
Location:Central Arkansas Wonderview Area..
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:August 28, 2015
Great Choice in Riding Mower
"I recently bought the Horse XP model and thus far am very satisfied with it's performance. I only have two issues with regard to this machine:
1) Wish the mower deck were easier to clean the gunk off the top by the Pulley's , Stuff gets trapped in that area and it's tough to remove.
2) Wish the Deck anti-scalp wheels performed their function a bit better, when turning tight the deck has a tendency to allow one or more blades to dig into the turf creating a scalped portion..
I love the Deck wash system the unit has, I use it quite often, Though I tend to try and wait till the Dew & moisture is pretty much off the lawn before mowing , Sometimes this isn't an option however..
Keeping the mower clean is of great importance to me and love the deck wash feature.
Love the New style steering wheel , It really aides in less vibration to my arms & hands
Love the step through design & ease of getting onto & off the mower,
Hydrostatic Drive is super! . The controls are easy to engage & operate..
One last thing.. In designing the cup holder, It may be fine for a 12 oz bottle or can but, it needs to be larger to hold a two-liter or larger bottle ...IMHO this is one fly in the ointment with regard to carrying capacity of water or other ....
Love Troy Bilt....!~!! 46 inch cutting deck sure cuts down mowing time!"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StormChaserTim
Location:Milton, KS
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:August 23, 2015
TroyBilt Horse XP mower
"Honestly, not a bad piece of hardware. I have a full acre that backs up to 500 acres of farmland. My grass here is about like wire, and it can grow 6 inches in a week. The powertrain on the XP is fantastic. It always fires right up, and runs smooth and strong. The biggest issue I have had with the Horse is possibly due to me. I have had the Horse for a full year now, and I have burned down three deck belts. I realize that you shouldn't cut wet, thick grass, but sometimes in the Heartland, we don't have a choice. I bought two of the belts from the local Orschelyn, a farming store, and they carried Jason brand replacement belts. These do not last! ALWAYS buy the Troy-Bilt replacement parts. Apart from that, this mower has been an outright TANK. I clean it after every use, and aside from some dust collecting inside the headlights, you would be hard pressed to tell it from a brand new sitting at Lowe's. Cleaned up, it still shines like new, and runs like new. Getting the hang of the hydrostatic transmission is a little awkward at first, but once you get it, it's also pretty nice to have."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IronmanXP
Location:Clayton, DE, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:August 18, 2015
Cutting height lever
"I'm 61 years old and ever since I was at least 8 years old I have loved mowing grass. It was my first job. Over the past 20 years I would mow our Church lawn(for free) and my father-in laws before he passed away. I've bought almost all of my riding mowers from Lowes and when I would buy a new one I would give my last one to my oldest son. It has been running for at least 10 to 12 years now. It's 18 hp. 36 in. cut. The Troy-bilt I have now is great! The only problem I have is in the past 10 years I have had 3 spinal surgeries and my right arm and hand aren't as strong as they use to be. I've to think up a design where the cutting lever could be lengthened so the deck would not feel so heavy. Maybe extending it by about 6 to 10 inches with the same curvature in it might help. But to drill and bolt a longer lever to it I feel would weaken the original lever. On my older mower the handle was on the side of the I guess you would call it the dash near the key switch. The I'm having now started after my third operation and even though it's painful and very hard to raise the deck up and down I can't see myself giving up mowing my own grass and helping my son who has a little over an acre. I'd feel useless and move into a retirement home. Can your company or someone come up with an idea that would help me enjoy doing what I've been doing all these years? Thank you for your time and consideration with this."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
USMCdan
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:August 6, 2015
Outstanding Mower
"I am disabled (combat Marine) and I had no trouble mowing over 2 acres with my new Horse from Troy Bilt... it cranked on the first turn of the key, ran flawlessly through tough, tall grass, and had a good running time (I did run out of gas once, but that is to be expected when mowing for long periods of time).."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Horse XP Lawn Tractor
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HUNT04
Location:Headland, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:8
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (162 Reviews)
Date:August 2, 2015
Poor Quality
"I have own the Horse XP for less than 3 cutting seasons. I cut about an acre to an acre and a half. I service my mower on a REAL regular basis. I have had a blown head gasket,the PTO worked on twice,the steering column worked on, and I have lost count at how many deck bearings I've replaced(no kidding) it has to be anywhere between 15 and 20.I feel fortunate if I get 2 cuttings before a bearing goes out. I've never run this mower fast. Its always slow to moderate.I also had the fuel system worked on#replacing fuel filter,fuel lines) because it kept spitting and sputtering. I use non-ethenol fuel. The only way to keep it running smooth is to keep fuel tank 3/4 to almost full. Very Dissappointed!!!!!"
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>