Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

29cc, 4-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer / Weed Trimmer, Attachment-Capable
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
5
50%14 of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Review 1 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rpianoman
Location:Logan, UT
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:May 19, 2009
First Gas Trimmer
"This being my first gas trimmer, I was concerned about picking a 2-stroke trimmer. i didn't want to have a can of mixed fuel around just for that. So I shopped around the 4-strokers and this one caught my eye because of the brand and the price. I will be honest... i fought with the Speedspool for 2 hours my first night. I would start to trim and bump the head to extend the line and it seemed the line would come out too much and the little knife on the end of the shield wouldn't cut the line. So it would just suck all the line back into the head and I would have to rewind it. Wierd... But then after messing with it I determined that I needed to let the line get as short as possible before bumping the line out. Then it would avoid the knife. Just make sure when you bump the line out that you are at full throttle. It starts very easy. Even after sitting for a week. Two pulls on full choke, one on middle, and then after it is running switch the choke off. Let it warm up for more than a minute before hitting full throttle though. Can't wait to try some accessories in the future. I think there will be plenty of torque in the motor to run any of the accessories. Thanks"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ede2008
Location:Richmond, VA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:October 3, 2008
Nice trimmer
"I bought this after getting tired of how difficult my old trimmer (not a Troy-Bilt) was to start.
Have owned it for over 6 months and no problems. Easy to start. Runs great. I like that I do not have to have a gas/oil mix for this - that way - one can covers all my power tools. No problems with the spool or line release. Like the other reviewers, I would like to have a strap attachment on the Troy-Bilt.
I use it to trim around a fence which surrounds my property, trim around the house, and 2 ditches - each week during the growing season.
I normally do a lot of research before buying - that way - I can avoid buying a product that requires a lot of repairs. Have done this for years. I have noticed that on every item (not just Troy-Bilt products) at least 10% of the buyers have problems. This almost made me not buy several brands until I realized there is no 100% satisfaction. Even the best manufacturers occassionaly have a lemon to get past their quality inspections.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
one4fun
Location:Van Buren, AR
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:April 12, 2009
Not as expected
"Purchased the Horse TB525CS string trimmer with the hedge clipper attachment. Trimmer was hard to start from the first use. Ran fine after warmed up. Lower flexible shaft broke during the second use and it took over a month to get a replacement. Meanwhile, I bought an electric trimmer just to get by. The unit is heavy for uses longer than 30 minutes unless you jury-rig a harness for it. Also, I have wasted more line than I have used trying to load the spool. Out of 10 feet of line I am lucky to get 6 feet to spool up. Hedge trimmer attachment has worked okay for the few times I have needed it, but if you are primarily looking for a trimmer, I would not suggest this unit."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ez2Plez
Location:Titusville, FL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:9
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:May 6, 2009
Trouble from the start
"TB525CS
I bought this trimmer because my neighbor had on and he was pleased with it.
Mine was always difficult to start.
The string trimmer head was difficult to get the string to extend so I eventually replaced it with a Grasshopper head and it worked great.
I got the blower and the edger attachements with the trimmer. No complaints about these two items.
The last time I used the trimmer the engine started shaking alot and was hard to hold and control. It has never worked since.
I disassembled the engine and found that the crankshaft wouldn't turn. The piston was stuck in the cylinder.
To use my attachments I'll have to buy a new engine."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mindnova
Location:canvas,wv
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:May 10, 2008
weedeater attachment
"I agree with the previous post, needs shoulder strap.
My biggest problem has been with the feed head. The teeth wear out and it will not stop feeding string. I have taken 3 head attachments back to the store for replacement.
The reason I have not returned all of it is I seem to have gotten one of the best running engines. It starts easily and runs quietly and smoothly.
It's a terrible shame the weed eating attachment is poorly made. Not only that but getting just a replacement head appears to not be possible so the store gives me a complete attachment each time. Which is good for me but seems wasteful.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dissapointed
Location:Manassas, VA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:September 20, 2008
Caveat emptor
"This was the first and last Troy-bilt product I will ever own. My first attempt at using it resulted in a broken starter on the very first pull. I had owned the machine for more than 30 days so had to take it to be repaired only to find out the starter isn't covered under the warranty. After getting it back, it took roughly 15 minutes to get started. It ran great. . . for about 10 minutes when the spool jammed. After about 2 hours of messing with the reel and bump knob I decided not to waste anymore time or money on it.
Take my advice spend the extra money up front and get a decent machine."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BrokenStringLostBushins
Location:Connecticut
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:October 1, 2009
"Gear box and String spooler are bad. Numerous times the cover popped off or the string had to be rewound. I have yet to complete my yard (a 20 minute job) with this terrible product. The first time I used the product I lost a bushing from the spooler housing. A Lowe's person gave me a replcement. Today, the thrid time I used the product. The spooler popped off and I lost another bushing. Now, where do I get another bushing, they do't sell them at Lowes.
If this wasn't a gift from my children, I would have sent it back after the first time I used it.
Very disappointing product!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gary
Location:Burlington Iowa
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:June 25, 2009
4 cycle engine
"This is a superb product. I've got the cultivator and edger attachments to go along with it. This is the best weedeater I've owned. Lots of power and durability. It does it all. I've owned this unit for 2-3 months and not had a problem at all. I must admit I was alittle spectical about a 4 cycle engine but this is great. I would highly recommend this unit to anyone. I feel its the best on the market. If your looking for a good, hardworking, and very dependable weedeater this is it."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Johnnyb
Location:Hiram Maine
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:June 28, 2009
As Good As Its Weakest Link
"I've had this machine for about a year. The first year I had no problems. This year the head jammed and I could not get the string out. I could not remove the head per the instructions in the manual. It looks like I will have to destroy the head to remove it and then I will have to buy a replacement head if I want to use this equipment again. Looking at the other reviews I am not too confident that a new head will perform any better than the last one that crapped the bead."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Darin
Location:Gainesville, FL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:July 29, 2009
Nothing "speedy" about awful spool.
"I was thrilled to purchase my Troy-Bilt trimmer, until I had to re-load the "speed" spool. I followed step-by-step instructions every time, even straightened the string out, spent hours trying to make it work - the full line does not fit. The engine works well, my edger attachment works well - the string and spool re-load are a nightmare! Get a trimmer that does not have a "speed spool." Plus, the string did not hold up well in St. Augustine grass."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GGoose
Location:Avon, OH
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:August 5, 2009
Love It!
"Purchased at the beginning of the Summer to replace the electric one I have. Tired of lugging the cord around the 15,000 of lawn I need to take care of.
Anyway, Love the trimmer. So much easier than the electric. Again, a harness would be nice, but it's ok. Done in 1/4 the time.
Also have the tiller attachement - excellent!! My neighbors all want one.
Still waiting to use the edger, but I have it.
Overall - I love the trimmer!!
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
louie
Location:oklahoma city
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:July 8, 2008
not bad
"like other reviews, the unit needs a way to attach a shoulder strap.
starts easily, but after you stip the engine to change attachments, although you don't have to prime the engine again, you must start over with the choke. my last two cycle engine would start without having to do that. maybe that is because this is a 4 cycle. doesn't seem to have the same amount of power as the two cycle, but has enough to do a good job.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
soccerdave
Location:Sacramento, CA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:July 8, 2008
Nice piece of equip
"Just like the last post; I too had to dial in my starting routine, and now it startes on the second or third pull. This is the first gas trimmer I have owned, and I bought this one because I did not have to have a second can for mixed gas. The only problem I've had with this trimmer is on some big projects the trimmer does seem to get bogged down at times. Yet, for around the house this has worked wonders."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DADOF2GIRLS
Location:kansas city, mo
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:May 26, 2008
FINALLY!!
"Best ever! Love straight gas operation. Seems to have more power than my old 2-cycle. Owned another brand before and it turned out to be worth exactly what I paid for it (not much, I had it for only one season and it blew the piston). The attachments are worth the money. I got the pole saw and it is awesome! I will never buy a 2-cycle again! Also it sounds like a miniature lawnmower in my hand (HAHA)."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grandpa
Location:Kansas City KS
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:July 11, 2008
Great pick
"I was not sure about this at first BUT after I got it home and used it I have never been happer. This is the easyest trimer I have ever used.1 or 2 pulls and go to work. Can't say to much about this trimmer. Not only what I have said already but NO MORE MIXING GAS & OIL. People buy this trimmer and don't worry any more. You won't be sorry.
Thanks Troy- bilt
Randy from Kansas City
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Xiver1972
Location:Houston Tx
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:9
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:August 22, 2009
Very dissapointed
"This is my second troy-bilt. Both of them lasted about 2 years and then something simple on them broke that was too difficult to fix. Last time is was one of the gas lines, this time the throttle trigger. The web site is difficult to navigate and requires me to put in the model and serial number every time I try to look something up.
I won't buy another troy-bilt product."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Salem, OR
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:October 9, 2009
Weak clutch
"I like the power of this horse but it has torn up 3 centrifugal clutches in about 2 hours total use.
I have tried it with the cultivator attachment--first clutch failure--and with the edger attachment--2 more failures.
The clutches fall apart. The toy is useless for anything other than spinning a ball of string.
I am done with Troy-Bilt.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Papa
Location:San Antonio, Texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:September 6, 2008
Junk
"I can trim my yard faster by hand. It takes forever to get the string back on the trimmer, and once you do it works great, for about 10 feet. Then it stops advancing the string and you have to spend time trying to reload the string. It takes me days to trim my small yard. However, I love my troy-bilt lawnmower, just HATE the trimmer."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mainecodes
Location:Lubec, Maine
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:5
3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:June 21, 2009
NEW STYLE SPEED HEAD
"This head needs to be redesigned. It keeps sucking the line inside. The rest of the machine is excellent and has adequate power to run any of the attachments. I have used the brush cutter and the chainsaw with this machine and was very impressed. I would recommend this machine to anyone if it were not for the new style speed spool."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TB525CS Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bendystraw
Location:Wyandotte, MI
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (28 Reviews)
Date:May 9, 2008
Great machine
"Awesome, once you figure out that there is a little variance to the starting procedure. I,m sure it varies, machine to machine. But once you dial in to yours, whether priming a different # of times or whatever, starts on my second pull, AND, stays running til I'm finished. Oh, and no more mixing gas. One can for all equipment."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>