Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter

29cc, 4-Cycle Gas Weed Trimmer / Brushcutter, Attachment-Capable
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
84%16 of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Review 1 for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RonK
Location:Birmingham, AL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:1
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Date:February 7, 2009
Skip this Item
"Light duty, the bolt in shaft will strip out if you use it for medium brush cutting and the attachment will rotate during use. The multiple attachments are nice, but the coupling will start to disengage during use, appears the thrust bearing gets quickly worn and allows the drive shaft to move towards the engine and disengage. The only way to get it to reengage is to shut it off an then restart it. If your just trimming weeds is probably ok but if you need to knock down some small brush it isn't the machine for you."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
troyboy1
Location:ontario canada
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:7
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Date:September 28, 2012
"I bought this trimmer about 6 months ago and I've used it aprox. 12 times. Each time I've had difficulty starting it. I need to leave it on half choke or it will stall.
I bought it because of the Troy-Bult name, but I'm not happy with the performance.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OMalley
Location:Wilson, NC
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Date:March 26, 2010
Light Duty ONLY
"The 4 stroke engine is powerful but VERY loud
Good for string trimming and light attachment work. If you use the attachments much like the tiller, be prepared for the attachment shaft coupler to wear out VERY Quickly. After the coupler rounds out the shaft just spins and the trimmer becomes unusable. Bought a replacement shaft and had the same result. Got frustrated and bought a a competing trimmer and have had no more problems. For the value that is placed on a "Troy-Bilt" I was very surprised at how quickly this part wore out with no possibility of an upgrade. Stay away from this product.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
plowdogg
Location:Barnesville, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Date:October 9, 2012
Great product
"I needed a good brush cutter, a young lady showed me the Troy-Built line up. I got the string and the blade attachment. What a team they make so glad this young lady introduced them to me."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thebuzzard
Location:new york
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Date:May 15, 2012
multi-tasker
"if you want to get more done with one machine this is the machine to add to your tool shed. brush hog, string trimmer, even saplings this gets the job done everytime"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shorty
Location:otsego, mn
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Date:June 23, 2010
"lots of power, is very ease to start. It is easy to change line"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mrshillbilly
Location:Doylestown,Ohio
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Date:October 11, 2012
Best Trimmer Ever
"We have over an acre which includes a pool, jaccuzzi, creek, and many yards of mulch/flower beds. Needless to say we have quite a bit of trimwork that needs done at least once a week. This trimmer cuts trough all the wild harsh growth around our creek and yet has the precision around our flower beds. It is easy to string and start. It is the only trimmer we have ever owned that I can use on my own. I will never own any other than Troy-Bilt."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RWHPI
Location:Upstate,NY
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Date:July 27, 2012
3 years later -- Still satisfied
"I purchased this trimmer 3 years ago for the cottage and it's been a great yard tool. I bought this trimmer, specifically for cutting the thick grass along our river bank. Most of the time I use just the line (with layer cuts, to prevent power loss) and don't even have to use the brush cutter. Best of all -- no mixing gas and oil!
It starts up with ease after a few easy pulls with the start-assist. It maintains it's impressive power each year and the attachment capability is great. I use my edger and cultivator interchangeably with my TB 2 cycle trimmer at home, saving a bunch of money on extra yard tools.
For Winter storage, after a thorough cleaning, I drain the gas and run the carburetor dry. Then a squirt or 2 of oil in the plug port. Reinstall the plug and pack it away. I have to say that the engine takes a beating during storage because the temp in the 1000 Island region of NY reaches minus 30 degrees. In the Spring, I fill it with gas and it's ready to go for another season.
I've never owned a yard tool before, with such continued satisfaction."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glynn
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Date:July 24, 2012
4-cycle gas weed trimmer
"I replaced a Ryobi with the TB590 4-cycle trimmer and it is without a doubt, the best and easiest starting unit I have ever owned. I have multiple heads to go on the motor unit to include the blower, blade edger, cultivator and weed trimmer and my neighbors come over to see the reason my yard looks so good. I explain the ability to avoid mixing gas and oil and the flexibility of having multiple tools with one power source to use in the yard. Best setup ever. I should be a salesman for your products."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AZ5150
Location:Phx
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Date:June 20, 2012
Work Horse
"This unit is great, Using the start assist is the way to go, this is a great innovation in the small engine technology troy-built got it right with this one."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Leicester, North Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Date:December 31, 2011
4 Cycle TB 590-EC String Trimmer
"I have used the Brush Cutter blade and the String head. It works great. I did sharpen the brush blade before using the machine. It is taking a little bit getting used to the sound of the 4 cycle engine on a string trimmer. But, with 29CCs there is plenty of power. I like the heaver string; 0.105. With 1.3 acres there is going to plenty of places to use this machine."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TroyBiltIsAwesome
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Date:May 16, 2011
Trimmer/Brushcutter
"This new and improved model is amazing its all new attachment-capable makes it easier and less expensive to use."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
hhillpeople
Gender:Female
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Date:April 11, 2010
Great Product
"I have this trimmer and its lightweight, easy to use and always starts right up"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Littleono1966
Location:Montrose,Colorado
Gender:Female
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Date:March 30, 2010
long lasting
"I've had my trimmer for over 3 years and it still works great."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for TB590 EC String Trimmer / Brushcutter
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5 stars (19 Reviews)
Would recommend? Yes 5 out of 5
Durability
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Performance
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5