Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Troy-Bilt.

Troybilt Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower

42" Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower / Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.135 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
88%46 of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike52
Location:Kokomo, IN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:October 31, 2010
Great buy for rural home
"In summary, it is a great buy. I have owned this mower 4 seasons and it just gets better and better.
Pros: Bang for the buck is excellent. It is lite weight which makes deck removal easy. Blade design improves cut and clipping exhaust and minimizes engine damage. Engine is very durable. Blade speed is high improving cut.
Cons: The durability is its biggest flaw. The mower deck is lite steel which may reduce its life. My biggest problem has been the tires loosing pressure. I fixed that by installing inner tube, which was well worth the expense. Inner tubes permit running the rear tires at lower pressure increasing the traction. Next was the throttle lever screws and muffler bolts vibrating out often. Both needed toothed lock washers or Loctite. The blade design has a steep angle and thin metal which results in bent blades. This requires early blade replacement to regain dynamic balance. These blades are rather expensive, so I suggest keeping a spare set bought online. Last, but not least, the feature I miss the most on this mower is a hitch for a lawn sweep or trailer.
I do love this mower. It cuts much better than my older mowers because the blade rotation speed is high and the blade design does a great job at exhausting the cuttings."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Seth
Location:Lake Charles, LA
Gender:Male
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:February 5, 2010
COMPLETELY DISSATISFIED
"When i fist purchased this mower, i was very excited because i found one within my budget and it had a kholer engine, but it wasnt long before i felt the complete opposite. FIRST the blade bent when i mowed through an ant bed, SECOND the tires went flat, THIRD the muffler fell off (embarrasing), FOURTH the PTO safety reverse blade dissengage switches went out. I brought the mower back to its retailer and exchanged it out for a new one just like it...... NOW the muffler fell off and the blade engagement clutch and the PTO safety switches are bad. I am completely dissatisfied and have learned a very important lesson in life... "YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR." These features had good intensions but were faulty in the long run. The mower itself ran great with a kholer engine that is when it wasnt broken."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BHALL54
Location:EDWARDSVILE IL.
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
Zone:6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:July 17, 2009
I HONESTLY CANT RECOMEND THIS MOWER
"I HAVE HAD MY Z-TURN TROY-BILT FOR 1 YEAR. STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS FROM THE START. FIRST THE FRONT WHEELS ARE POORLY DESIGNED, AND THE TIRES ARE TOO THIN. THE STEEL WHEELS HAVE A SMALL LIP, AND TIRE IS HARD TO KEEP ON. I HAVE HAD CLUTCH FOR BLADE INGAGE-DISINGAGE WORKED ON 3 TIMES, AND SITS AT THIS MOMENT BROKE. MUFFLER FELL OFF, POOR DESIGN AND PLACEMENT. PAINT PEELING NUMEROUS PLACES. RUBBER MATTING IS POORLY GLUED DOWN AND WILL COME OFF IF MOWER GETS WET. BELLY BELT IS A MONSTER TO GET OFF AND ON.JUST 1 YEAR AND WAY TO MANY PROBLEMS. I REALLY DID LOOK FORWARD TO PURCHASING MY FIRST TROY-BILT Z-TURN . BUT I CANT RECOMEND, AND WOULD GO AS FAR TO SAY STAY CLEAR OF THIS MOWER. I HAVE ASK AROUND AN SAME PROBLEMS FROM MANY OTHER BUYERS."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TriCity
Location:Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:February 27, 2010
Do NOT BUY!
"Bought the mower last May 2009, it was in my budget. Had it less than 3 weeks, maybe put 9 hours on it and the electric pto went out something happened which i don't understand that blew my motor, the mower was in the shop for 6 weeks before i got it back. I took it right back to lowes for my money back. The tires in the front kept deflating, the stering is very jerky, not tracting with the tires. So i went and invested in a commercial zero turn, 3 times the amount of money , but not a single problem. This mower needs some work. IT is a horrible mower, stay away from it, do not buy it, it will happen to you too."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LovesJesus
Location:Dime box, TX
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:August 3, 2010
solid machine
"First up, when you bring this rig home, don't put it to work right away. Get your tool box out and tighten every screw and nut that you can locate. Make certain that you locate the two screws that hold the throttle lever to the plastic shroud. (get to them from underneath the plastic). You MUST tighten the throttle screws or they'll vibrate out. I had so much trouble keeping those two screws in place, that I eventually put JBWeld on the screw threads, that did the trick.
No other problems to report. This thing is a workhorse. Do the preventive maintenance and you'll be more than happy with this unit.
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
howlingwolf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:March 23, 2009
"Bought the RZT 42 last year, it's a fantastic, hard working mower. Just have to minor complaints about it. 1st the front tires seem to be rather thin rubber, I had to have a tube put in the left front last year and now I am having to tube the right one. 2nd followed the directions on dropping the mower deck, to sharpen the blades, no problems until I had to work the belt back on the motor pulley, the heat shield for the muffler is in the way so it's very hard to be able to use both hands, to hold the belt in place and spin the pulley. Other than these two minor problems it's a great mower."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WayneW
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1/2 acre but less than 1 acre
Zone:7
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:July 8, 2008
A Great Mower!
"I bought the Colt online and got a great deal saving a couple hundred dollars, and it was delivered to my driveway!
After some very simple assembly and deck-height adjustments, I put gas in it and it fired right up! Since I had been using a conventional riding mower for 30 years, it took a little practice before I got the hang of the ZTR steering, but now I'm mowing in 1/2 the time and my lawn has never looked better! The mower is very well built and all the controls are easy to operate, I love it, and my neighbor says it makes him think of a sports car when he sees me mowing.
"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Murph
Location:Girard Ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:November 23, 2009
"I mow commercially but bought this mower to use in small back yards and such. It is a good little mower but has flat tires all the time. If you put a tube in the tires it seems to work better. I have had problems as the muffler fell off, the parking brake switches give me trouble all the time, making it hard to start, I have to adjust the deck 3-4 times a year to keep it level, but overall have over 50 hrs and still mows OK. For the price it is still a good deal if you do not mind working on it every now and then."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Fort Smith, AR
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:May 8, 2009
Breaks Down To Easily
"I like the mower for the ease of operation but, I've had mine for less than 3 months now and only mow an acre. Everytime that I go to mow I find it has a broken part or something needs to be fixed. I've used it for less than 10hrs and have had to replace 3 different parts. I don't think that it is b/c of my use, the parts that break seem to look like they are defected or old. Other than that the mower is great. I guess once I've replaced everything that breaks, I'll have an excellent mower."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flyfish
Location:arkansas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:5
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:August 10, 2011
Good zero turn
"used this hard for one season, so far no problems other than front tires losing air pressure, helps to keep them at 35 psi. Starts and runs great, is fast, turns on a dime, mows great, cuts way down on mowing time. Have replaced the belly belt when I went through some really tough stuff that had not been mowed all year and the belt broke Make the necessary adjustments, keep up maintenance, just take care of the mower and you'll be satisfied like me."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unhappy2
1 out of 5
1 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:February 8, 2010
Horrible product
"1. Just like everybody else says, the front tires deflate or fall off immediately.
2. One belt has popped off and the second belt snapped in half.
3. The steering has now locked up. The piece of junk is now sitting in our front yard covered by a tarp.
We have had this for less than a year and EVERY SINGLE TIME we use it something breaks. For the love of God, run away! Do not purchase!"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Temple, Texas
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:5
2 out of 5
2 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:November 5, 2009
"I purchased this mower in May 2009. I have been having issues with the front tires. They will just go flat for no reason. I think the design is bad. If you bump anything the front tires will deflate. This is a pain. For this reason I would not recommend this mower. If you choose to still purchase this mower I would recommend purchasing a spare tire and rim to keep with you all the time."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gardenfriendly
Location:East Berlin, PA
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
Zone:6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:April 13, 2010
Not sorry on purchase
"My zero steer cuts mowing time in half. Wish they would put swivel wheels on mower deck. Wheels sometimes drags on turns leaving skid marks on lawn in quick turns. And don't tell me to slow down. If I wanted to do that I'd buy a regular steer mower that's cheaper."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Starting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
USN1970
Location:Virgina Beach
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:May 21, 2012
Colt XP
"Only had the mower a short time but it seems to be a good fit for my yard (1+ac). Would be a five star but it is hard to start right off the bat, no problems restarting once its warm but the first start up of the day is difficult."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AKARAY
Location:MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN
Gender:Male
Lot Size:More than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:August 4, 2012
THE GO GETTER
"Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
42" Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower / Tractor
IS THE ONE YOU NEED FOR FOOT BALL STADIUM SIZED LAWNS, IT GETS JOB DONE QUICK AND WITH QUALITY.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TroyBiltIsAwesome
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:May 6, 2011
Riding Lawn Mower
"This new and improved Riding Lawn Mower has a new 42" cutting Width and it can maneuver any were with it's Zero-Turning system!!!"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
troybilt1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:May 6, 2011
Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
"Wow this thing is amazing it is a improved product and with it's new cutting width of 42" it now is bigger and better!!!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jess
4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:June 16, 2010
Good for the price
"Troy Bilt has the best products for the price. I really think this is just as good as lawn mowers 3 times this price"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
w9707
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Greater than 1 acre but less than 2 acres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:May 24, 2010
WOW
"The 42 in cut is convenient for my yard. This machine starts with just a choke and turn of the key."
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Colt XP Zero-Turn Riding Lawn Mower
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Starting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pricillaelvis
Location:myrtle creek oregon
Gender:Male
Lot Size:Less than 1/2 acre
Zone:8
5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (52 Reviews)
Date:June 6, 2012
Colt xp riding lawn mower
"i love the feature of this lawn mower great turning features- helps in tight spots-great engine!!"
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>